Tracy Banghart - Grace and Fury - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444941968
    • Publication date:26 Jul 2018

Grace and Fury

By Tracy Banghart

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

Bold, brutal and beautiful, this is a must-read with the glitter and romance of The Selection and the thrilling action and intrigue of Red Queen.

Bold, brutal and beautiful, this is a must-read with the glitter and romance of The Selection and the thrilling action and intrigue of Red Queen.

In a world where women have no rights, sisters Serina and Nomi face two very different fates: one in the palace, the other on an island prison where women must fight to survive.

Serina has spent her whole life preparing to become a Grace - selected to stand by the heir to the throne as a shining example of the perfect woman.

But her headstrong and rebellious younger sister has a dangerous secret, and one wrong move could cost both sisters everything.

Can Serina fight? And will Nomi win?

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444941951
  • Publication date: 26 Jul 2018
  • Page count: 320
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Grace and Fury is fast-paced, feminist, and a perfect summer read. — Bustle
Hodder Children's Books

SLAY

Brittney Morris
Authors:
Brittney Morris

'We are different ages, genders, tribes, tongues, and traditions ... but tonight we all SLAY'Black Panther meets Ready Player One. A fierce teen game developer battles a real-life troll intent on ruining the Black Panther-inspired video game she created and the safe community it represents for black gamers.By day, seventeen-year-old Kiera Johnson is an honors student, a math tutor, and one of the only black kids at Jefferson Academy. By night, she joins hundreds of thousands of black gamers who duel worldwide as Nubian personas in the secret multiplayer online role-playing card game, SLAY.No one knows Kiera is the game developer, not her friends, her family, not even her boyfriend, Malcolm.But when a teen in Kansas City is murdered over a dispute in the SLAY world, news of the game reaches mainstream media, SLAY is labeled a racist, exclusionist, violent hub for thugs and criminals.Driven to save the only world in which she can truly be herself, Kiera must preserve her secret identity. But can she protect her game without losing herself in the process?

Franklin Watts

Remembering the Fallen of the First World War

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley

Hodder Children's Books

Queen of Ruin

Tracy Banghart
Authors:
Tracy Banghart

The breathtaking sequel to Grace and Fury. A fierce tale of sisterhood, courtly intrigue, and heart pounding action, perfect for fans of Red Queen and The Selection.Nomi and Malachi find themselves powerless and headed towards their all-but-certain deaths. Now that Asa sits on the throne, he will stop at nothing to make sure Malachi never sets foot in the palace again. Nomi's sister, Serina, is far away on the prison island of Mount Ruin - but it is in the grip of revolution and Serina leads. The women there have their sights set on revenge beyond the confines of their island prison. They will stop at nothing to gain freedom for the entire kingdom. But first they'll have to get rid of Asa, and only Nomi knows how.Separated once again, this time by choice, Nomi and Serina must forge their own paths as they aim to tear down the world they know, to build something better in its place.

Hodder Children's Books

Arrowheart 2

Rebecca Sky
Authors:
Rebecca Sky
Orion Children's Books

A Strange Kind of Brave

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Hodder Children's Books

The Boxer

Nikesh Shukla
Authors:
Nikesh Shukla

Told over the course of the ten rounds of his first fight, this is the story of amateur boxer Sunny. A seventeen year old feeling isolated and disconnected in the city he's just moved to, Sunny joins a boxing club to learn to protect himself after a racist attack. He finds the community he's been desperately seeking at the club, and a mentor in trainer Shobu, who helps him find his place in the world. But racial tensions are rising in the city, and when a Far Right march through Bristol turns violent, Sunny is faced with losing his new best friend Keir to radicalisation.A gripping, life-affirming YA novel about friendship, radicalisation and finding where you belong.

Hodder Children's Books

The Sharp Edge of a Snowflake

Sif Sigmarsdottir
Authors:
Sif Sigmarsdottir

The captivating, feminist, Nordic YA thriller from Sif Sigmarsdottir. The snow is falling thick and fast now. Snow in Iceland is dangerous. Hannah Eiríksdóttir has been banished from her home in London to a place of eternal punishment for the wicked. No, not Hell, but close: Iceland. There, she faces a new life working as a journalist for her father's newspaper - a man she barely knows.Imogen Collins has the perfect life as a social media influencer, showing off her glamorous London existence to adoring fans. But behind the filters lies a dark secret. She thought she'd buried it: But the Beast is back - a ghost from her past who's threatening to ruin her future.When a man is found murdered at the edge of the road in snowy Iceland the girls' lives collide. Imogen had the motive. Can Hannah find out the truth, and discover the reality of the girl beneath the filters?Behind perfection often lies unbearable ugliness.

Wren & Rook

You Got This

Bryony Gordon
Authors:
Bryony Gordon
Orchard Books

The Boy Who Steals Houses

C. G. Drews
Authors:
C. G. Drews

Can two broken boys find their perfect home? By turns heartbreaking and heartwarming, this is a gorgeously told, powerful story.Sam is only fifteen but he and his autistic older brother, Avery, have been abandoned by every relative he's ever known. Now Sam's trying to build a new life for them. He survives by breaking into empty houses when their owners are away, until one day he's caught out when a family returns home. To his amazement this large, chaotic family takes him under their wing - each teenager assuming Sam is a friend of another sibling. Sam finds himself inextricably caught up in their life, and falling for the beautiful Moxie. But Sam has a secret, and his past is about to catch up with him.Heartfelt storytelling, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Jennifer Niven.

Orion Children's Books

Izzy + Tristan

Shannon Dunlap
Authors:
Shannon Dunlap
Orchard Books

Fated

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry
Hodder Children's Books

The Colour of the Sun

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond

A darkly twisted detective ghost tale, from the winner of the Guardian Children's Book Prize.Davie travels his small town in search of a supposed murderer. But the landscape soon starts to blur into something dark and twisted. He must make sense of the landscape, if he has any chance of finding answers. The people he encounters on his travels don't seem entirely real either. Then he meets the victim of the murder ... but, is he dead, or alive?

Hodder Children's Books

Arrowheart

Rebecca Sky
Authors:
Rebecca Sky

What if you had the power to make any boy fall in love with you? Addictive romance with a fantasy twist for fans of Holly Smale, Ally Carter, and Zoe Sugg.The gods are gone. The people have forgotten them. But sixteen-year-old Rachel Patel can't forget - the gods control her life, or more specifically, her love life.Being a Hedoness, one of a strong group of women descended from Greek God Eros, makes true love impossible for Rachel. She wields the power of that magical golden arrow, and with it, the promise to take the will of any boy she kisses. But the last thing Rachel wants is to force someone to love her . . .When seventeen-year-old Benjamin Blake's disappearance links back to the Hedonesses, Rachel's world collides with his, and her biggest fear becomes a terrifying reality. She's falling for him - a messy, magnetic, arrow-over-feet type of fall.Rachel distances herself, struggling to resist the growing attraction, but when he gives up his dream to help her evade arrest, distance becomes an insurmountable task. With the police hot on their trail, Rachel soon realises there are darker forces hunting them - a group of mortals recruited by the gods who will stop at nothing to preserve the power of the Hedonesses - not to mention Eros himself, who is desperate to reverse the curse . . .Prepare to fall under the spell of Wattpad star Rebecca Sky, in this compulsive romance.

Wayland

Vote for Me!

Louise Spilsbury, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Louise Spilsbury, Mike Gordon

From ancient Greek philosophy to modern governments, find out how different systems and beliefs have developed across the globe.Introduce children to the concept of politics and find out who's in charge across the world from presidents, prime ministers and dictators, to kings and queens.This book will look at different systems of leadership that exist globally, looking in particular at how democracies work and what voting and elections are.It looks at the seven main types of governments/ways of ruling - Anarchy; Dictatorship; Monarchy; Theocracy; Totalitarian; Republic; Democracy. It looks at the set-up of democratic governments, in particular the UK and US and what they do, for example making laws, funding armies, providing services and how they make these things happen and why we pay taxes.We talk about the different political ideologies that different governments have, such as capitalism and communism, and the spectrum of ideologies from the far left to the far right, including liberalism, socialism, conservatism and fascism - and in between. How do elections work? What types of elections are there, for example, local, state, for a leader, or national/general, how candidates are chosen, what voting systems are in place, such as PPR and FPP, who is entitled to vote and how votes are cast and counted. Finally, find out what it takes to become a leader and get people to vote for you. Learn how to get involved by joining school councils or running school elections.For children aged 9+ and a useful resource for children studying PSHE and Citizenship.

Wayland

What is Humanism? How do you live without a god? And Other Big Questions for Kids

Michael Rosen, Annemarie Young
Authors:
Michael Rosen, Annemarie Young
Orion Children's Books

The One Dollar Horse: Fire Storm

Lauren St John
Authors:
Lauren St John

Orchard Books

Shattered

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry
Franklin Watts

Space Exploration

Giles Sparrow
Authors:
Giles Sparrow
Franklin Watts

The Outer Planets

Giles Sparrow
Authors:
Giles Sparrow
Hodder Children's Books

Speak

Laurie Halse Anderson
Authors:
Laurie Halse Anderson