David Almond - The Colour of the Sun - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £12.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444919554
    • Publication date:03 May 2018

The Colour of the Sun

By David Almond

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

This is a moving, funny and inspirational novel from the bestselling author of Skellig.

This is a moving, funny and inspirational novel from the bestselling author of Skellig.

"The day is long, the world is wide, you're young and free."

One hot summer morning, Davie steps boldly out of his front door. The world he enters is very familiar - the little Tyneside town that has always been his home - but as the day passes, it becomes ever more mysterious.

A boy has been killed, and Davie thinks he might know who is responsible. He turns away from the gossip and excitement and sets off roaming towards the sunlit hills above the town.

As the day goes on, the real and the imaginary start to merge, and Davie knows that neither he nor his world will ever be the same again.

This an outstanding novel full of warmth and light, from a multi-award-winning author. David Almond says: 'I guess it embodies my constant astonishment at being alive in this beautiful, weird, extraordinary world.'

Biographical Notes

David Almond is the author of Skellig, My Name is Mina, Counting Stars, The Savage, Island, A Song for Ella Grey, The Colour of the Sun and many other novels, stories, picture books, opera librettos, songs and plays. His work is translated into 40 languages, and is widely adapted for stage and screen. His major awards include the Carnegie Medal, two Whitbread Awards, the Eleanor Farjeon Award, the Michael L Printz Award (USA), Le Prix Sorcières (France) and the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize. In 2010 he won the Hans Christian Andersen Award, the world's most prestigious prize for children's authors.

David speaks at festivals and conferences around the world. He is Professor of Creative Writing at Bath Spa University. He is widely regarded as one of the most exciting, inspirational and innovative children's authors writing today. He has one amazing daughter. He lives in Bath and in Newcastle, the city in which he was born.

www.davidalmond.com

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444941807
  • Publication date: 03 May 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
The book explores liminal spaces: the edgelands between child and adult, being and seeming, life and death and the human and natural worlds. — The Guardian
brilliantly suspenseful until the end...He [David Almond] is that rare thing - a writer of lucid, mature elegance, who can still see the world through adolescent eyes. — Emily Bearn, The Daily Telegraph
David Almond at his finest...this is a lyrical and moving story about a boy on the cusp of manhood...There is a touching innocence to this book and a warmth that glows from every page. — Beth Goodyear, The Scotsman
Hodder Children's Books

Arrowheart 2

Rebecca Sky
Authors:
Rebecca Sky

What if you had the power to make any boy fall in love with you? Addictive romance with a fantasy twist for fans of Holly Smale, Ally Carter, and Zoe Sugg.The gods are gone. The people have forgotten them. But sixteen-year-old Rachel Patel can't forget - the gods control her life, or more specifically, her love life.Being a Hedoness, one of a strong group of women descended from Greek God Eros, makes true love impossible for Rachel. She wields the power of that magical golden arrow, and with it, the promise to take the will of any boy she kisses. But the last thing Rachel wants is to force someone to love her and for refusing to use her powers the Hedoness Committee has taken her captive.Now, Rachel is being held in a secret facility. As she struggles to find a way to escape, Rachel must figure out who she can trust, rescue her family and friends, and maybe, just maybe...even find a way to fall in love.

Orion Children's Books

Untitled Annabel Pitcher 1

Annabel Pitcher
Authors:
Annabel Pitcher

Hodder Children's Books

Mystery of the Theatre Ghost

Pamela Butchart, Enid Blyton
Authors:
Pamela Butchart, Enid Blyton

Another adventure beckons for the mystery-solving friends who meet in the shed at the bottom of the garden. Enid Bllyton's much-loved detective club are back in a brilliantly entertaining new adventure story. Pamela Butchart, bestselling and prize-winning author of the Baby Aliens series, is a huge Enid Blyton fan and has created a fabulous new mystery for the Secret Seven to solve.Set in the same world as the original books, this fabulous new story brings fresh new humour and excitement to the series, sure to be loved by fans old and new. And don't miss Pamela Butchart's first Secret Seven book - The Mystery of the Skull.

Hodder Children's Books

You Can't Hide

Sarah Mussi
Authors:
Sarah Mussi
Orion Children's Books

A Strange Kind of Brave

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

To Kill a Mockingbird with an angelic twist - a novel about the tragedy of fear, the courage of love, and the heroism of everyday kindness. A new poignant and big-hearted novel from bestselling Waterstones Children's Book Prize shortlisted author Sarah Moore Fitzgerald.Allie has made a terrible mistake - one with enormous consequences, something she can't tell anyone about. Except for Dylan, the strange new boy who vows to help her in every way he can. Dylan believes they can fix it all. Tragedy is in store, but in ways neither can ever begin to see...

Orion Children's Books

Thief in the Night

Abie Longstaff
Authors:
Abie Longstaff

The third book in The Trapdoor Mysteries, a series about Tally, a code-breaking, animal-loving servant girl and her best friend, a squirrel named Squill, who solve mysteries with the help of a secret library...Orphan Tally is the servant girl at Mollett Manor - and she's also the Secret Keeper of the magical library hidden beneath a trapdoor, underneath the manor's grounds. Along with Squill the squirrel, she uses the enchanted books to solve crimes. So when ghostly noises start haunting the lady of the manor in the middle of the night, she's terrified and turns to Tally for help. But can the library help Tally catch something that no one can see?

Orchard Books

Grandma Dangerous and the Egg of Glory

Kita Mitchell
Authors:
Kita Mitchell
Hodder Children's Books

War is Over

David Almond, David Litchfield
Contributors:
David Almond, David Litchfield

From the bestselling author of SKELLIG comes a powerful, vivid and moving story set during the first world war.Newcastle, 1918. It seems like the war could last forever. John's an ordinary Tyneside lad and he's desperate for peace. His dad is fighting in the trenches and his mam works in the town's munitions factory, the biggest in the world. John meets a German boy, Jan, who is just like himself; they play war games in the woods beyond the town, and see the ugliness of weapons contrasting with the beauty of the world around them.John dreams of a better, more beautiful world. His dreams will speak to all of us, and his questions resonate with children of today. Is war ever really over? Why do children see the truths from which adults seem to hide? Why do we need wars at all? Gorgeously illustrated by David Litchfield, this is a book to treasure.

Orchard Books

Phantom

Leo Hunt
Authors:
Leo Hunt
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Where Do You Go, Birdy Jones?

Joanna Nadin
Authors:
Joanna Nadin
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Scent of Danger

Abie Longstaff
Authors:
Abie Longstaff

The second book in The Trapdoor Mysteries, a series about Tally, a code-breaking, animal-loving servant girl and her best friend, a squirrel named Squill, who solve mysteries with the help of a secret library...Orphan Tally is the servant girl at Mollett Manor - and she's also the Secret Keeper of the magical library hidden beneath a trapdoor, underneath the manor's grounds. Along with Squill the squirrel, she uses the enchanted books to solve crimes. So when Lady Mollett's new puppy, Widdles, is kidnapped, Tally and Squill head straight to the library. But will they be able to catch the dognapper or is it already too late?

Hodder Children's Books

A Boy Called Ocean

Chris Higgins
Authors:
Chris Higgins
Orion Children's Books

Ghost Boys

Jewell Parker Rhodes
Authors:
Jewell Parker Rhodes

A New York Times BestsellerThis was one of my most anticipated 2018 books and I was not disappointed. A must read." -Angie Thomas, No. 1 New York Times bestselling author of The Hate U Give'tender, timely ... surprising and hopeful' - ObserverA heartbreaking and powerful story about a black boy killed by a white police officer, drawing connections with real-life history, from award-winning author Jewell Parker Rhodes.ALIVETwelve-year-old Jerome doesn't get into trouble. He goes to school. He does his homework. He takes care of his little sister. Then Jerome is shot by a police officer who mistakes his toy gun for a real threat.DEADAs a ghost, watching his family trying to cope with his death, Jerome begins to notice other ghost boys. Each boy has a story and they all have something in common...Bit by bit, Jerome begins to understand what really happened - not just to him, but to all of the ghost boys.A poignant and gripping story about how children and families face the complexities of race in today's world.

Orchard Books

Frances the Royal Family Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Franklin Watts

Survivors of the Holocaust

Kath Shackleton
Authors:
Kath Shackleton
Hodder Children's Books

Five Go Adventuring Again

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Meet Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timothy. Together they are THE FAMOUS FIVE - Enid Blyton's most popular adventure series. All 21 titles also available as audiobooks!In their second adventure, the Famous Five find a thief at Kirrin Cottage. They think they know who it is, but need to prove it. Will the discovery of a very old map help uncover the true culprit?Fantastic new cover art by Laura Ellen Anderson will draw young readers into this accessible timeless classic.

Hodder Children's Books

Five Run Away Together

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Hodder Children's Books

Five Go To Smuggler's Top

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Meet Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timothy. Together they are THE FAMOUS FIVE - Enid Blyton's most popular adventure series. All 21 titles also available as audiobooks!In book four, the Famous Five stay at the large old house at Smuggler's Top. They discover secret hiding places, underground tunnels, and one night they catch people signalling out to sea!Are there still smugglers at Smuggler's Top?Fantastic new cover art by Laura Ellen Anderson will draw young readers into this accessible timeless classic.

Hodder Children's Books

Island

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond
Hodder Children's Books

Counting Stars

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond