David Almond - War is Over - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £10.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444946574
    • Publication date:01 Nov 2018

War is Over

By David Almond
Illustrated by David Litchfield

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

From the bestselling author of SKELLIG comes a powerful, vivid and moving story set during the first world war.

From the bestselling author of SKELLIG comes a powerful, vivid and moving story set during the first world war.

Newcastle, 1918. It seems like the war could last forever.

John's an ordinary Tyneside lad and he's desperate for peace. His dad is fighting in the trenches and his mam works in the town's munitions factory, the biggest in the world. John meets a German boy, Jan, who is just like himself; they play war games in the woods beyond the town, and see the ugliness of weapons contrasting with the beauty of the world around them.

John dreams of a better, more beautiful world. His dreams will speak to all of us, and his questions resonate with children of today. Is war ever really over? Why do children see the truths from which adults seem to hide? Why do we need wars at all?

Gorgeously illustrated by David Litchfield, this is a book to treasure.

Biographical Notes

David Almond (author)
David Almond is the author of Skellig, My Name is Mina, Counting Stars, The Savage, Island, A Song for Ella Grey, The Colour of the Sun and many other novels, stories, picture books, opera librettos, songs and plays. His work is translated into 40 languages, and is widely adapted for stage and screen. His major awards include the Carnegie Medal, two Whitbread Awards, the Eleanor Farjeon Award, the Michael L Printz Award (USA), Le Prix Sorcières (France) and the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize. In 2010 he won the Hans Christian Andersen Award, the world's most prestigious prize for children's authors.

David speaks at festivals and conferences around the world. He is Professor of Creative Writing at Bath Spa University. He is widely regarded as one of the most exciting, inspirational and innovative children's authors writing today. He has one amazing daughter. He lives in Bath and in Newcastle, the city in which he was born. www.davidalmond.com

David Litchfield (illustrator)
David Litchfield first started to draw when he was very young, creating comics for his older brother and sister. Since then his work has appeared in magazines, newspapers, books and on T-shirts. David's first picture book The Bear and the Piano won the Waterstones Children's Book Prize. He lives in Bedfordshire.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444940329
  • Publication date: 01 Nov 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Hodder Children's Books

The Colour of the Sun

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond

This is a moving, funny and inspirational novel from the bestselling author of Skellig."The day is long, the world is wide, you're young and free."One hot summer morning, Davie steps boldly out of his front door. The world he enters is very familiar - the little Tyneside town that has always been his home - but as the day passes, it becomes ever more mysterious. A boy has been killed, and Davie thinks he might know who is responsible. He turns away from the gossip and excitement and sets off roaming towards the sunlit hills above the town.As the day goes on, the real and the imaginary start to merge, and Davie knows that neither he nor his world will ever be the same again. This an outstanding novel full of warmth and light, from a multi-award-winning author. David Almond says: 'I guess it embodies my constant astonishment at being alive in this beautiful, weird, extraordinary world.'

Hodder Children's Books

Island

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond
Orchard Books

Karixa the Diamond Warrior

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Tikron the Jungle Master

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Tempra the Time Stealer

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Pixie Spell

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Orchard Books

Mermaid Magic

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

Queen Malice has cast her most dangerous spell yet! The wicked queen has cursed the Magic Hourglass and when the sand runs out, all the magic will be gone from the Secret Kingdom forever! Jasmine, Ellie and Summer must find the four Enchanted Objects to break Queen Malice's spell, but the second one is deep in an undersea cavern. Can they get the Silver Shell before the Storm Sprites do?

Hodder Children's Books

A Song for Ella Grey

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond

Winner of the Guardian children's book prize 2015I'm the one who's left behind. I'm the one to tell the tale. I knew them both... knew how they lived and how they died. Claire is Ella Grey's best friend. She's there when the whirlwind arrives on the scene: catapulted into a North East landscape of gutted shipyards; of high arched bridges and ancient collapsed mines. She witnesses a love so dramatic it is as if her best friend has been captured and taken from her. But the loss of her friend to the arms of Orpheus is nothing compared to the loss she feels when Ella is taken from the world. This is her story - as she bears witness to a love so complete; so sure, that not even death can prove final.

Orchard Books

Skor the Winged Stallion

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

The Dark Wizard has sent six fearsome Beasts to capture the good Beasts of Avantia.They are imprisoned in the Dark Realm, and it is Tom's Quest to save them. He and his companions must undertake a perilous journey and defeat Skor the Winged Stallion.Dont miss:TORGOR THE MINOTAUR - NARGA THE SEA MONSTER - KAYMON THE GORGON HOUND - TUSK THE MIGHTY MAMMOTH - STING THE SCORPION MAN

Orchard Books

Narga the Sea Monster

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

In the perilous Black Ocean lurks Narga the Sea Monster. As well as preying on the rebels fighting evil wizard Malvel, Narga is holding one of the good Beasts of Avantia captive. Can Tom set the good Beast free, or will it remain trapped in the Dark Realm for ever?Don't miss:TORGOR THE MINOTAUR - SKOR THE WINGED STALLION - KAYMON THE GORGON HOUND - TUSK THE MIGHTY MAMMOTH - STING THE SCORPION MAN

Orchard Books

Kaymon the Gorgon Hound

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

In a ruined castle in the Dark Realm prowls Kaymon the Gorgon Hound. Kaymon is one of six fearsome Beasts unleashed by the wicked wizard, Malvel, to capture the good Beasts of Avantia. Join Tom on his quest to save the good Beasts and avoid being captured himself...Don't miss:TORGOR THE MINOTAUR - SKOR THE WINGED STALLION - NARGA THE SEA MONSTER - TUSK THE MIGHTY MAMMOTH - STING THE SCORPION MAN

Orchard Books

Sting the Scorpion Man

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

The good Beasts of Avantia are imprisoned in the kingdom of Malvel the evil wizard. Each is guarded by a terrible new Beast. Tom's quest to free the good Beasts takes him to the tunnels under Malvel's castle, where Sting the Scorpion Man is waiting...Don't miss:TORGOR THE MINOTAUR - SKOR THE WINGED STALLION - NARGA THE SEA MONSTER - KAYMON THE GORGON HOUND - TUSK THE MIGHTY MAMMOTH

Orchard Books

Skolo the Bladed Monster

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

My Sticker Book Collection

Orchard Books

Sapphire Spell

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

Orion Children's Books

Ruin and Rising

Leigh Bardugo
Authors:
Leigh Bardugo

Enter the Grishaverse with book three of the Shadow and Bone Trilogy by number one New York Times-bestselling author Leigh Bardugo. Perfect for fans of Laini Taylor and Sarah J. Maas. Soldier. Summoner. Saint.The nation's fate rests with a broken Sun Summoner, a disgraced tracker, and the shattered remnants of a once-great magical army.The Darkling rules from his shadow throne while a weakened Alina Starkov recovers from their battle under the dubious protection of the zealots who worship her as a Saint. Now her hopes lie with the magic of a long-vanished ancient creature and the chance that an outlaw prince still survives.As her allies and enemies race toward war, only Alina stands between her country and a rising tide of darkness that could destroy the world. To win this fight, she must seize a legend's power - but claiming the firebird may be her ruin. Praise for the Grishaverse: "Utterly, extremely bewitching." The Guardian "There's a level of emotional and historical sophistication within Bardugo's original epic fantasy that sets it apart." Vanity Fair "Unlike anything I've ever read." Veronica Roth, bestselling author of Divergent "This is a great choice for teenage fans of George R.R. Martin and J.R.R. Tolkien." RT Book Reviews Read all the books in the Grishaverse! The Shadow and Bone Trilogy (previously published as The Grisha Trilogy) Shadow and Bone Siege and Storm Ruin and Rising The Six of Crows Duology Six of Crows Crooked Kingdom The Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic

Orchard Books

Okawa the River Beast

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Evil never rests in Avantia, and a deadly new enemy lies in wait for our heroes. Okawa the River Beast lurks in his muddy lair, ready to trap unsuspecting travellers. Can Tom and Elenna escape the Beast's clutches, or will they meet a watery end?The latest action-packed bumper special edition in this hugely popular adventure series.

Orchard Books

Vislak the Slithering Serpent

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Falra the Snow Phoenix

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Hodder Children's Books

Counting Stars

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond

In Counting Stars David Almond tackles the themes common to his work - joy, darkness, love, death and identity - with exquisite sensitivity and tenderness. David's childhood in the north of England was the inspiration for much of his work, and in these beautiful stories he creates a tangible picture of growing up in a large Catholic family. But the sense of mystery and wonderment we have come to expect from David is also present, and it is fascinating to see the kernels of his novels revealed. A must-read for Almond fans everywhere.A stunning collection of stories from the author of the modern children's classic Skellig - winner of the Carnegie Medal and the Whitbread Children's Book Award. David Almond is also winner of the 2010 Hans Christian Andersen award.