Jean Reagan - How to Scare a Ghost - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444939446
    • Publication date:06 Sep 2018

How to Scare a Ghost

By Jean Reagan
Illustrated by Lee Wildish

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

Filled with humour, energy, and warmth and illustrated by the winner of the Red House Children's Book Award.

From the author-illustrator team behind the bestselling How to Babysit a Grandad comes a funny and vibrant picture book perfect for reading out loud at Halloween!

This humorous new book in the beloved HOW TO . . . series takes readers through a spooky Halloween. Written in tongue-in-cheek instructional style, two trick-or-treaters give tips for scaring a ghost!

Praise for How to Babysit a Grandad: 'Youngsters will thoroughly enjoy the tongue-in-cheek role reversal.' - School Library Journal

Illustrated by the winner of the Red House Children's Book Award and a New York Times bestselling artist.

Biographical Notes

Jean Reagan (Author)
Jean Reagan was born in Alabama but spent most of her childhood in Japan. She now lives in Salt Lake City in America with her husband. In the summers, they serve as backcountry volunteers in Grand Teton National Park in Wyoming. To learn more about Jean and her work, please visit JeanReagan.com

Lee Wildish (Illustrator)
Lee Wildish is an acclaimed illustrator. His Spooky, Spooky House won the Overall Red House Children's Book Award in 2013, his Spaghetti with the Yeti was shortlisted for the Roald Dahl Funny Book Prize in 2013, and he has been shortlisted for the Kate Greenaway Award and the Sheffield Children's Book Award.


  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444939439
  • Publication date: 04 Oct 2018
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Hodder Children's Books

How to Get Your Teacher Ready for School

Jean Reagan, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Jean Reagan, Lee Wildish

Celebrate the school year with the author-illustrator team behind the bestselling How to Babysit a Grandad.Follow a class of adorable students as they make sure their teacher is ready all year round. Written in a tongue-in-cheek instructional style, this book is a playful and heartwarming celebration of teachers and school.Praise for How to Babysit a Grandad: 'Youngsters will thoroughly enjoy the tongue-in-cheek role reversal.' - School Library Journal Illustrated by the winner of the Red House Children's Book Award and a New York Times bestselling artist.

Orchard Books

Grandma Dangerous and the Dog of Destiny

Kita Mitchell
Authors:
Kita Mitchell
Hodder Children's Books

How to Raise a Mum

Jean Reagan, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Jean Reagan, Lee Wildish
Orion Children's Books

The Cloak of Feathers

Nigel Quinlan
Authors:
Nigel Quinlan

Every hundred years, in the magical town of Knowmealldown, fairies known as the Good Folk join the villagers for a Great Festival. It's a raucous, beautiful, enchanted celebration.Well, it's supposed to be.Except every time Brian helps to organise the Great Festival it's a disappointment. Worse, this time the Folk Princess has been stolen. Can Brian thwart the Princess's evil captor in time to avoid the wrath of the Folk King and Queen, and finally deliver a Festival to remember?A magical adventure filled with myth, mischief and misunderstandings, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Diana Wynne Jones and those who love modern fairy tales with a comic twist.

Hodder Children's Books

Goodnight, Mr Panda

Steve Antony
Authors:
Steve Antony

'An ideal book for kids to learn about the importance of good manners.' Sun 'There's a new pre-school politeness tsar in town.' The Times Mr Panda and his friends are getting ready for bed. But some won't brush their teeth, others won't have a bath, and one won't even wear pyjamas! It's down to Mr Panda to show them how to do bedtime properly. Steve Antony's Mr Panda has taken the children's book world by storm, selling over 600,000 copies since it was first published.

Orchard Books

Dino Duckling

Alison Murray
Authors:
Alison Murray

A funny and touching celebration of difference, based on Hans Christian Andersen's The Ugly Duckling.Dino Duckling can dive, swim and fish just like his duckling brothers and sisters. But when the time comes for the family fly south for the winter, Dino Duckling finds he really is different ... Can this very special family find a way to stick together?Alison Murray's stylish adaptions of popular nursery rhymes and fables have been shortlisted twice for the prestigious Scottish Book Trust Children's Book Award. Look out for these other delightful retellings of classic rhymes and fables from Alison Murray: Apple Pie ABCHare and TortoiseHickory Dickory DogLittle MouseThe House That Zack BuiltOne, Two, That's My Shoe

Orchard Books

Nat's Naughty Nits

Giles Andreae, Jess Mikhail
Contributors:
Giles Andreae, Jess Mikhail
Hodder Children's Books

How to Catch Santa

Jean Reagan, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Jean Reagan, Lee Wildish

Don't you have a zillion questions to ask Santa? So you need a plan to catch him. Remember: be crafty! Be clever! Be gentle!From the author-illustrator team behind the bestselling How to Babysit a Grandad and How to Babysit a Grandma comes a funny picture book about ways to catch Santa - and what to do with him when you've caught him!Illustrated by the winner of the Red House Children's Book Award 2013 and a New York Times bestselling artist.

Hodder Children's Books

How to Surprise a Dad

Jean Reagan, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Jean Reagan, Lee Wildish
Hodder Children's Books

A Tale of Two Beasts

Fiona Roberton
Authors:
Fiona Roberton

There are two sides to every story. A little girl finds a strange beast in the woods and takes it home as a pet. She feeds it, shows it off to her friends and gives it a hat. But that night it escapes. Then the beast tells the story of being kidnapped by the girl, who forcefed it squirrel food, scared it with a group of beasts and wrapped it in wool. Can the two beasts resolve their differences?An eye-opening story that makes you look at things from a different perspective.'Roberton's premise is as sublime as it is simple, with a subtle message. [...] Totally delightful.' - Kirkus Reviews

Hodder Children's Books

Kipper's Beach Ball

Mick Inkpen
Authors:
Mick Inkpen
Orchard Books

Mad About Mega Beasts!

Giles Andreae, David Wojtowycz
Contributors:
Giles Andreae, David Wojtowycz
Hodder Children's Books

Naughtiest Girl Marches On

Anne Digby
Authors:
Anne Digby

In Enid Blyton's bestselling school series Elizabeth Allen is sent away to boarding school and makes up her mind to be the naughtiest pupil there's ever been.In book ten, Elizabeth is overjoyed to be appointed monitor again. But one of the second form boys is turning all the other boys against her, starting with a nasty note in her desk and ending with a false tip-off about a midnight pillow fight in the boys' dormitory. Can she find out who has a grudge against her - and why?Between 1940 and 1952, Enid Blyton wrote four novels about Naughtiest Girl, Elizabeth Allen. Books 5-10 are authorised sequels of the series written by Anne Digby in 1999. Both cover and inside illustrations were created by Kate Hindley in 2014. Bonus material: A rare, complete serial story about a very special school. An interview with Enid Blyton about her school days. Enid Blyton's experiences as a teacher. A timeline of the author's life. Photos from Enid Blyton's younger days.

Orchard Books

Mad About Dinosaurs!

Giles Andreae, David Wojtowycz
Contributors:
Giles Andreae, David Wojtowycz

Join all your favourite dinosaurs in this colourful, rhyming picture book, from the author of international bestseller, Giraffes Can't Dance!Silly Diplodocus, fierce T-Rex, Brontosaurus, Stegosaurus and more - they're all here in this bright, bold book! Packed with lively rhymes, fun facts and colourful pictures (plus handy pronunciation guides) this is perfect for young dinosaur fans everywhere.Previously published under the title Dinosaurs Galore.

Hodder Children's Books

Naughtiest Girl Saves The Day

Anne Digby
Authors:
Anne Digby

In Enid Blyton's bestselling school series Elizabeth Allen is sent away to boarding school and makes up her mind to be the naughtiest pupil there's ever been.In book seven, the school's strawberry plants are vandalised and a lost blazer button at the scene of the crime leads straight to the Naughtiest Girl. It is hers, but how did it get there - and why would anyone want to pin the blame on Elizabeth?Between 1940 and 1952, Enid Blyton wrote four novels about Naughtiest Girl, Elizabeth Allen. Books 5-10 are authorised sequels of the series written by Anne Digby in 1999. Both cover and inside illustrations were created by Kate Hindley in 2014. Bonus material: A rare, complete serial story about a very special school. An interview with Enid Blyton about her school days. Enid Blyton's experiences as a teacher. A timeline of the author's life. Photos from Enid Blyton's younger days.

Orchard Books

Clarice Bean, That's Me

Lauren Child
Authors:
Lauren Child

The very first classic Clarice Bean picture book, from Children's Laureate Lauren Child."This book is about me, Clarice Bean. It's a very funny book and all of the pages have pictures, mostly of me. There are some annoying bits when my little brother barges in on pages 8 and 9, so you might want to miss them out . . ."All Clarice Bean wants is a bit of peace and quiet. But that can be hard to find in a house where your little brother is being utterly annoying, your big brother is in the dark tunnel of adolescence and your grandad's pouring soup on his cornflakes.Clarice introduces us to her life and family in the original book that launched the hugely successful, critically-acclaimed Clarice Bean series. This multi award-winning, bestselling picture book is a classic tale of family life that will have you laughing out loud.Lauren Child is a Kate Greenaway Medal winner and the creator of the bestselling Charlie and Lola series.

Hodder Children's Books

How to Babysit a Grandma

Jean Reagan, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Jean Reagan, Lee Wildish
Hodder Children's Books

How to Babysit a Grandad

Jean Reagan, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Jean Reagan, Lee Wildish
Orchard Books

The Super Swooper Dinosaur

Martin Waddell, Leonie Lord
Contributors:
Martin Waddell, Leonie Lord

Here comes the super swooper dinosaur - he's flying in for some fun! But just what games can Hal, Billy and the dino play when they're all so different?From the talented team that brought you the bestselling The Dirty Great Dinosaur, this action-packed story shows how true friendship can overcome all differences.Praise for The Dirty Great Dinosaur:"Irresistible to preschool boys." THE BOOKSELLER"A very funny story . . . fabulous." THE BOOKBAG

Orchard Books

May Cause Irritation

Jonathan Meres
Authors:
Jonathan Meres