Jo Weaver - Little Whale - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £12.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444937497
    • Publication date:11 Jan 2018
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444937510
    • Publication date:11 Jan 2018

Little Whale

By Jo Weaver

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

A heartwarming celebration of the love between parent and child.

Told through the eyes of a whale and her calf, this mesmerisingly beautiful book is a story of migration, family and the strength of parental love.

"We're going home, Little Whale," said her mother.

Travelling from the warm weather of the south, through coral reefs, kelp forests and glittering shoals of fish, Little Whale follows her mother north. For in the icy north is their family - but also great danger...

With its evocative charcoal drawings and lyrical storytelling, Jo Weaver's illustrations have the feel of an instant classic celebrating the tender relationship between parent and child.

Jo Weaver was shortlisted for the AOI Illustration New Talent Awards 2014.

Biographical Notes

Jo Weaver had a career as a support worker in the non-profit sector before retraining as an illustrator. She completed an MA degree in Children's Book Illustration at the Cambridge School of Art in 2014, where she discovered a love of working in charcoal. Shortly afterwards she was shortlisted for the Association of Illustrator's newcomer's Awards. Jo lives with her young family in north London, and when she's not drawing she can be found escaping the city to walk and explore in the wild outdoors.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444937503
  • Publication date: 05 Apr 2018
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
all depicted in stunning charcoal drawings in grey and blue... really makes you feel you are deep in the ocean. — Sarah Brew, Parents in Touch
beautiful picture book, with dreamlike, almost monochrome illustrations — Bookwitch blog
Little Whale by Jo Weaver is a gorgeous, grown-up migration story, shadowy charcoal drawings evoking every ripple of the great whales' world. — Guardian
Evocative charcoal drawings bring the underwater world to stunning life; fans of Blue Planet will be mesmerised. — The Bookseller
The evocative blue tinged charcoal drawings and the lyrical story adds to the wonder and mystery of the ocean. This is perfect for Mother's Day and those who enjoyed Blue Planet. Mesmerising. — South Wales Evening Post
Lyrical text is complemented by subtle charcoal drawings which evoke the motion of the waves and darkness of the deep sea journey in this striking new picture book. — Evening Echo (Cork)
This book should find a ready place at home or in school. Weaver's almost monochrome illustrations are full of fascinating detail too. — The School Librarian
Pat-a-Cake

Fancy Dress

Pat-a-Cake
Authors:
Pat-a-Cake
Hodder Children's Books

Little Tigers

Jo Weaver
Authors:
Jo Weaver

Mother Tiger and her two cubs journey through their jungle habitat, searching high and low for the perfect new home where they will be safe. A beautifully illustrated celebration of the love between parent and child and the wonders of the natural world. With its mesmerising, atmospheric charcoal drawings and lyrical storytelling, Jo Weaver's new picture book has the feel of an instant classic. Perfect for fans of BBC's Planet Earth.Jo Weaver was shortlisted for the AOI Illustration New Talent Awards.

Hodder Children's Books

Toto the Ninja Cat and the Incredible Cheese Heist

Dermot O’Leary, Nick East
Contributors:
Dermot O’Leary, Nick East

Toto is no ordinary cat, and she can't wait for you to join her on her second ninja adventure! A funny animal escapade written and read by one of the UK's best-loved broadcasters. For fans of The Aristocats, The Secret Life of Pets, 101 Dalmatians and Atticus Claw Breaks the Law. A hilarious story for all animal-loving kids, with gentle themes of friendship, inclusivity and winning in the face of adversity.Toto, the amazing ninja cat, is back and cooler than ever!Something CAT-ASTROPHIC has happened: ALL the cheese in the world has been stolen. Join Toto, her brother Silver and their best-friend Catface on a secret mission to save the day. Toto is going to need all her ninja skills to defeat the fur-midable cheese thief ...Dermot says: 'The idea for Toto first came to me when my wife and I rescued two stray cats from an olive grove in Italy. One of them, Toto, has been blind from birth, but we quickly realised she had ninja-like reactions. Like a lot of cat owners (or cat servants), we like to imagine our pets having secret lives when we're out or asleep. So before I knew it I was writing about Toto and her brother Silver's nocturnal adventures around London. I really hope that children who pick it up enjoy reading the adventures of our little Italian underdog (cat).'(P) 2018 Hodder Children's Books

Pat-a-Cake

Mermicorns

Pat-a-Cake, Richard Merritt
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Richard Merritt
Orchard Books

A Dog With Nice Ears

Lauren Child
Authors:
Lauren Child
Pat-a-Cake

Big Stickers for Tiny Hands

Pat-a-Cake
Authors:
Pat-a-Cake
Orchard Books

Belle & Boo Friends Make Everything Better

Mandy Sutcliffe
Authors:
Mandy Sutcliffe
Hodder Children's Books

Shipwreck

Jenny Oldfield
Authors:
Jenny Oldfield
Hodder Children's Books

Lost at Sea

Jenny Oldfield
Authors:
Jenny Oldfield
Hodder Children's Books

Attack of the Snack

Julian Gough, Jim Field
Contributors:
Julian Gough, Jim Field

Gorgeously illustrated and with a classic feel, this is a brilliantly funny story of a rabbit and a bear who discover that things are always better when they're shared with a friend. Ideal for readers moving on from picture books. 'A perfect animal double-act.' (The Times, Book of the Week)SPLASH! A Mysterious Thing lands in Rabbit and Bear's peaceful summer lake. Is it exciting, or terrifying? Is it a tiny fluffy owl, or a huge hungry monster? And has Rabbit finally met a creature with worse habits than himself? Rabbit's SURE he can solve this mystery. But when he accidentally turns the Best Day Ever into the Worst Day Ever, he needs Bear's help ... From novelist and playwright Julian Gough, and the winner of the Roald Dahl Funny Prize, Jim Field, this is a tale of friendship, acceptance, and what you can do with blueberry poo.'Rabbit's Bad Habits is a breath of fresh air in children's fiction, a laugh-out-loud story of rabbit and wolf and bear, of avalanches and snowmen. The sort of story that makes you want to send your children to bed early, so you can read it to them.' Neil Gaiman

Hodder Children's Books

Goodnight, Mr Panda

Steve Antony
Authors:
Steve Antony
Hodder Children's Books

Pegasus and the End of Olympus

Kate O'Hearn
Authors:
Kate O'Hearn
Hodder Children's Books

Oi Dog!

Kes Gray, Claire Gray, Jim Field
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Claire Gray, Jim Field
Orchard Books

Down By The Cool Of The Pool

Tony Mitton, Guy Parker-Rees
Contributors:
Tony Mitton, Guy Parker-Rees

From the creators of the hugely popular Bumpus Jumpus Dinosaurumpus comes some poolside fun that will keep your child's attention unitl it's time to say goodnight! Join sprightly Frog and his energetic farmyard friends frolicking down by the cool of the pool - flipping and flopping, splishing and splashing in the watery wonderland. In the latest edition of a much-loved book, animal-fans everywhere will enjoy this watery romp - with its read-aloud rhyming text and exuberant illustrations and lots of noises for joining in this is a sure-fire winner from the popular duo, Tony Mitton and Guy Parker-Rees, illustrator of the bestselling Giraffes Can't Dance - for pure clap-along, dance-along fun. Celebrating 15 years in print - come and copy the animals and join in the fun of reading with excellent rhyme and rhythm and bright bold illustrations! A book you will keep coming back to.

Hodder Children's Books

Little One

Jo Weaver
Authors:
Jo Weaver
Orchard Books

Mad About Mega Beasts!

Giles Andreae, David Wojtowycz
Contributors:
Giles Andreae, David Wojtowycz

Discover the world's biggest, most magnificent animals in this colourful, rhyming picture book.Have you ever seen a squid that weighs more than a car? Or a dinosaur that's as big as eighteen elephants? Packed with incredible creatures, from the cuddly St Bernard dog to the ferocious Siberian tiger, this bright, bold book is perfect for young animal fans everywhere! With lively rhymes and fascinating facts.From the author of international bestseller, Giraffes Can't Dance.

Hodder Children's Books

Pegasus and the Rise of the Titans

Kate O'Hearn
Authors:
Kate O'Hearn
Orion Children's Books

The One Dollar Horse: Race the Wind

Lauren St John
Authors:
Lauren St John

The second romantic thriller in the gripping One Dollar Horse series in which Casey and her horse Storm face the challenge of the Kentucky Three Day Event.From the prize-winning author of the BLUE PETER BOOK OF THE YEAR AWARD, the second romantic thriller in the gripping One Dollar Horse equestrian series in which Casey and her horse Storm face the challenge of the Kentucky Three Day Event.When Casey Blue's victory at the Badminton Horse Trials earns her and Storm an invitation to the prestigious Kentucky Three Day Event, it is a dream come true. But that dream is about to turn into a nightmare.After her father is arrested for a crime Casey is convinced he didn't commit, she finds herself the victim of a vicious blackmailer. To make matters worse, Storm is behaving like the wild horse he once was. Faced with losing everything she loves, she needs the help of her farrier boyfriend, Peter, to win in Kentucky, one of the most challenging riding competitions there is. But is he for her or against her?

Franklin Watts

Starting School

Caryn Jenner, Arthur Robins
Contributors:
Caryn Jenner, Arthur Robins
Orchard Books

Commotion In The Ocean

Giles Andreae, David Wojtowycz
Contributors:
Giles Andreae, David Wojtowycz

Dive into the ocean for a noisy, rhyming animal adventure in this colourful read-aloud picture book!Little ones will love looking at all the colourful pictures and joining in with all the rhymes, as they discover lots of amazing sea creatures. Including blue whales, sea turtles, jellyfish, dolphins and more!"Fast moving and great to read aloud" IndependentFrom the author of international bestseller, Giraffes Can't Dance.