Jo Weaver - Little Whale - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444937510
    • Publication date:11 Jan 2018
  • Paperback £6.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444937503
    • Publication date:05 Apr 2018

Little Whale

By Jo Weaver

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

Stunning illustrations and a heartwarming story celebrate the beauty of a whale's ocean habitat, and the love between parent and child.

Told through the eyes of a whale and her calf, this mesmerisingly beautiful book is a story of migration, family, the strength of parental love and the wonders of nature.

Little Whale has never seen the cold, rich waters of the north. She and her mother travel from the warm southern ocean, passing coral reefs, kelp forests and shoals of shimmering fish - with her mother guiding her and protecting her all the way home.

With its lyrical storytelling and evocative charcoal drawings shot through with blue, Jo Weaver's story has the feel of an instant classic, celebrating the tender relationship between parent and child and the majesty of their underwater world. Perfect for fans of BBC's Blue Planet.

Jo's previous book, Little One, was longlisted for the Kate Greenaway Medal 2016. Jo Weaver was shortlisted for the AOI Illustration New Talent Awards 2014.

Biographical Notes

Jo Weaver had a career as a support worker in the non-profit sector before retraining as an illustrator. She completed an MA degree in Children's Book Illustration at the Cambridge School of Art in 2014, where she discovered a love of working in charcoal. Shortly afterwards she was shortlisted for the Association of Illustrator's newcomer's Awards. Jo lives with her young family in north London, and when she's not drawing she can be found escaping the city to walk and explore in the wild outdoors.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444937497
  • Publication date: 11 Jan 2018
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
all depicted in stunning charcoal drawings in grey and blue... really makes you feel you are deep in the ocean. — Sarah Brew, Parents in Touch
beautiful picture book, with dreamlike, almost monochrome illustrations — Bookwitch blog
Little Whale by Jo Weaver is a gorgeous, grown-up migration story, shadowy charcoal drawings evoking every ripple of the great whales' world. — Guardian
Evocative charcoal drawings bring the underwater world to stunning life; fans of Blue Planet will be mesmerised. — The Bookseller