Nick Lake - Satellite - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444936780
    • Publication date:05 Oct 2017

Satellite

By Nick Lake

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

An epic space story with gripping adventure, real science and a deep emotional heart. This is The Martian for teens.

The Martian for teens - an epic, highly original space thriller with real science and heartbreaking beauty.

Leo has never set foot on Earth. Born and raised with twins Orion and Libra on the Moon 2 Space Station, they have grown up together in the most extraordinary of ways.

Now, they are preparing to make their first trip home - their first journey to Earth. But Leo, Orion and Libra cannot possibly imagine the irreversible consequences that their return will set into motion...

Biographical Notes

Nick Lake was born in Britain but grew up in Luxembourg, where his father worked for the European Parliament. Nick works in publishing by day and writes in every spare moment he can find. He has won the prestigious Printz Award for his novel In Darkness, and has been twice-shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal.

Nick lives in a picture-postcard village in Oxfordshire with his wife and family. His long commute to work gives his imagination time to explore places he's never visited.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444936773
  • Publication date: 05 Oct 2017
  • Page count: 480
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
I love Nick Lake's writing. I would read anything he wrote - grocery list, email etc., because his writing, always, is so real and so brave. He takes on subjects other writers might avoid, and he writes the hell out of them. — Jennifer Niven, New York Times bestselling author
Orion Children's Books

Lane of the Lost

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

A new poignant and big-hearted story from bestselling Waterstones Children's Book Prize shortlisted author Sarah Moore Fitzgerald.Allie has brought danger and ruin to her family because of a range of terrible decisions. She is hiding out on a mountain with a sack full of tinned food, an opener, a pen and a lighter and from this vantage point we hear who's coming to get her, what she has done and why.

Hodder Children's Books

I Am Fugitive

Sif Sigmarsdottir
Authors:
Sif Sigmarsdottir

What if finding out the meaning of life meant destroying peace on Earth - would you still seek out the answers? Perfect for fans of Michael Grant, Suzanne Collins and Robert Muchamore.Back on Earth, after rescuing thousands of teenagers from a gruelling regime in space, Amy Sullivan must try to make sense of home, as it is now. But after an invasion of such colossal proportions, it seems Earth won't be going back to normal any time soon. And when Amy is made Ambassador for Solidarity at the newly created Earth Council, she must defend Earth against new attacks from Visitors. Working day and night to protect planet Earth, Amy still dreams of Caeser, the boy with the dimples, from another planet - she is convinced he can help her. But Caeser is still in space, where conflict is the only thing on agenda. Are two teenagers from different galaxies able to make those in power choose peace ... over the very meaning of life itself?

Orion Children's Books

The Haunting

Margaret Mahy
Authors:
Margaret Mahy

A brand-new edition of the Carnegie Medal-winning THE HAUNTING - written by internationally bestselling author, Margaret Mahy.'Strong and terrifying . . . The novel winds up like a spring. A psychological thriller' - Times Literary SupplementEight-year-old Barney has been haunted before. He thought it was something he'd just grow out of, like the imaginary friends his step-mother believes he has. But this time it's different. Footsteps follow him, there's a demanding voice barking orders and Barney begins to feel that sometimes his body is not his own at all . . .With the help of his sisters, Tabitha and Troy, Barney sets out to uncover the truth about their family secrets and to find out once and for all who it is who's haunting him.A thrilling ghost story about a 'mostly ordinary' family and a secret legacy.

Orion Children's Books

The Changeover

Margaret Mahy
Authors:
Margaret Mahy
Wayland

Making with Living Things

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne
Wayland

Making with Sound

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne
Quercus Children's Books

Anassa

Josh Martin
Authors:
Josh Martin
Orchard Books

Deception

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry
Orion Children's Books

The Language of Thorns

Leigh Bardugo, Sara Kipin
Contributors:
Leigh Bardugo, Sara Kipin

From bestselling author of SIX OF CROWS, Leigh Bardugo, comes a lavishly illustrated collection of short stories filled with betrayals, revenge, sacrifice and love. Inspired by myth, fairy tale and folklore, THE LANGUAGE OF THORNS will transport you to both lands familiar and strange that millions have visited through the novels of the Grishaverse.Love speaks in flowers. Truth requires thorns.Travel to a world of dark bargains struck by moonlight, of haunted towns and hungry woods, of talking beasts and gingerbread golems, where a young mermaid's voice can summon deadly storms and where a river might do a lovestruck boy's bidding but only for a terrible price.Inspired by myth, fairy tale, and folklore, no. 1 New York Times-bestselling author Leigh Bardugo has crafted a deliciously atmospheric collection of short stories filled with betrayals, revenge, sacrifice, and love.Perfect for new readers and dedicated fans of the Grishverse.This collection of six stories includes three brand-new tales, all of them beautifully illustrated with art by Sara Kiplin that changes with each turn of the page, culminating in six stunning full-spread illustrations as rich in detail as the stories themselves.

Hodder Children's Books

Moxie

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu
Hodder Children's Books

I Am Traitor

Sif Sigmarsdottir
Authors:
Sif Sigmarsdottir

At the end of the world, who can you trust? The story of one teen's fight against an extra-terrestrial invasion. For fans of Michael Grant, Suzanne Collins and Robert Muchamore.London has been targeted by extra-terrestrial life and victims are transported to a terrifying other world.Amy Sullivan is an unwilling hero. She runs until she can't run any more. Then, she is taken. To have a chance of saving herself, and her planet, Amy will have to put faith in those she fears the most. But what if it means becoming a traitor to everyone she has ever loved? A modern-day War of the Worlds from one of Iceland's bestselling authors.

Orchard Books

Contagion

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry

Don't miss this startling first book in a breathtaking new trilogy from Teri Terry, queen of the teen psychological thriller and author of the bestselling Slated trilogy!URGENT!An epidemic is sweeping the country.You are among the infected. There is no cure; and you cannot be permitted to infect others. You are now under quarantine. The very few of the infected who survive are dangerous and will be taken into the custody of the army.Young runaway Callie survived the disease, but not the so-called treatment. Her brother Kai is still looking for her. And his new friend Shay may hold the key to uncovering what truly happened. From the author of the international sensation Slated comes the first book in a powerful new story of survival and transformation; love and power.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Seven Days of You

Cecilia Vinesse
Authors:
Cecilia Vinesse
Franklin Watts

I love this tree

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne

I love this tree is a book which looks at the life of an old living deciduous tree and through it explores the amazing life of a tree and the creatures that inhabit it. Using a mixture of photos and artwork the book shows how the tree has changed and how it acts as a habitat for other life. This beautiful book explores how important trees are to the planet. Packed with information and pictures it provides a wealth of information about trees and their importance and inspires a love of these amazing plants. It's a fantastic resource for the Science Curriculum with its emphasis on plants, classification and habitats, for children aged 8+. Shortlisted for the 2016 SLA information book award in the 7-12 category and the 2016 English 4-11 picture book awards.'Close to my house, there's a beautiful, huge, spreading tree. I see it every day. We walk past it on the way to school, and hear the wind rustling through it at night. How long has that tree been standing there? If the tree wasn't there any more, I would miss it all the time. But it's not just me - so many animals depend on it too...''A really thorough, charming exploration of the lives of trees and their importance in the world' - School Librarian

Orchard Books

Shattered

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry
Orion Children's Books

My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece

Annabel Pitcher
Authors:
Annabel Pitcher
Orion Children's Books

Chomp

Carl Hiaasen
Authors:
Carl Hiaasen
Orchard Books

Fractured

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry
Orchard Books

Slated

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry

The first book in the bestselling and multi award-winning SLATED trilogy.Kyla's memory has been erased,her personality wiped blank,her memories lost for ever.She's been Slated.The government claims she was a terrorist, and that they are giving her a second chance - as long as she plays by their rules. But echoes of the past whisper in Kyla's mind. Someone is lying to her, and nothing is as it seems. Who can she trust in her search for the truth?Book 1 in the acclaimed SLATED trilogy.

Quercus Children's Books

Bracelet of Bones

Kevin Crossley-Holland, Kevin Crossley-Holland
Authors:
Kevin Crossley-Holland, Kevin Crossley-Holland