Lydia Ruffles - The Taste of Blue Light - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444936742
    • Publication date:07 Sep 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444936759
    • Publication date:07 Sep 2017

The Taste of Blue Light

By Lydia Ruffles

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

'If Sylvia Plath wrote a novel for young adults, The Taste of Blue Light would be it' Louise O'Neill, author of Asking For It

'If Sylvia Plath wrote a novel for young adults, The Taste of Blue Light would be it' Louise O'Neill, author of Asking For It

What happened to me?
Why can't I remember?

Weeks after blacking out and waking up in hospital, Lux still has no memory of what happened.
She doesn't know why her days are consumed by pain and her nights by terrifying dreams; why her parents won't stop shouting and her friends stop talking when she walks into the room.

All she knows is that the Lux she once was is gone - and that if she can't uncover the truth, everything she loves will be taken away too.

'Devastating and brilliant' Stylist

'Truly unforgettable' Heat

Biographical Notes

Lydia Ruffles read theatre and performance studies at Warwick university and took a post-graduate diploma in public relations. She describes herself as an eternal student and recently completed a creative writing course at the Faber Academy. When she's not writing, she works in communications. Lydia lives in West London.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444936766
  • Publication date: 08 Feb 2018
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
If Sylvia Plath wrote a novel for young adults, The Taste of Blue Light would be it... Beautiful. Visceral. Gripping. I loved it — Louise O'Neill, author of Asking For It
A gripping Bell Jar-type narrative of mental distress and confusion — Financial Times

Remember the name Lydia Ruffles: this devastating and brilliant YA book goes to the most
unexpected of places and will leave you mulling it over for days, weeks and months after

— Stylist
This gripping thriller will stay with you long after you finish the last page — The Sun on Sunday
dark and affecting...a truly unforgettable debut — Heat Magazine
An original take on trauma and memory loss...Lux's voice engages readers on issues that are timely, absorbing and perceptively related — Irish Times
A game-changing exploration of mental health — Emerald Street
If Sylvia Plath wrote a novel for young adults, The Taste of Blue Light would be it... Beautiful. Visceral. Gripping. I loved it
A gripping Bell Jar-type narrative of mental distress and confusion

Remember the name Lydia Ruffles: this devastating and brilliant YA book goes to the most
unexpected of places and will leave you mulling it over for days, weeks and months after

This gripping thriller will stay with you long after you finish the last page
dark and affecting...a truly unforgettable debut
An original take on trauma and memory loss...Lux's voice engages readers on issues that are timely, absorbing and perceptively related
A game-changing exploration of mental health
Hodder Children's Books

Book 2

Simon Lelic
Authors:
Simon Lelic
Hodder Children's Books

Contender: The Chosen

Taran Matharu
Authors:
Taran Matharu
Orion Children's Books

A Strange Kind of Brave

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

To Kill a Mockingbird with an angelic twist - a novel about the tragedy of fear, the courage of love, and the heroism of everyday kindness. A new poignant and big-hearted novel from bestselling Waterstones Children's Book Prize shortlisted author Sarah Moore Fitzgerald.Allie has made a terrible mistake - one with enormous consequences, something she can't tell anyone about. Except for Dylan, the strange new boy who vows to help her in every way he can. Dylan believes they can fix it all. Tragedy is in store, but in ways neither can ever begin to see...

Hodder Children's Books

The Dark Lady

Akala
Authors:
Akala
Orchard Books

The Boy Who Steals Houses

C. G. Drews
Authors:
C. G. Drews

Can two broken boys find their perfect home? By turns heartbreaking and heartwarming, this is a gorgeously told, powerful story.Sam is only fifteen but he and his autistic older brother, Avery, have been abandoned by every relative he's ever known. Now Sam's trying to build a new life for them. He survives by breaking into empty houses when their owners are away, until one day he's caught out when a family returns home. To his amazement this large, chaotic family takes him under their wing - each teenager assuming Sam is a friend of another sibling. Sam finds himself inextricably caught up in their life, and falling for the beautiful Moxie. But Sam has a secret, and his past is about to catch up with him.Heartfelt storytelling, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Jennifer Niven.

Orion Children's Books

Izzy + Tristan

Shannon Dunlap
Authors:
Shannon Dunlap

This isn't a story about anything new. It's about the oldest thing in the world. It's about love.Tristan, a sixteen-year-old chess genius, lives with his Trinidadian aunt in a rapidly changing section of Brooklyn and uses his talent to earn money for his hustling cousin, Marcus. His world is turned upside-down when Izzy, a bright aspiring doctor raised on the Lower East Side, moves to the neighbourhood with her family, the first white family to settle on the block. A passionate romance springs up between the two, but they're soon swept up in a series of escalating misfortunes: violent conflict between Marcus and Izzy's twin brother; a twisted scheme of romantic deception devised by Izzy's best friend, Brianna; and a secret that tests the bond of family loyalty and forces them to face impossible decisions.

Orchard Books

Fated

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry
Franklin Watts

Spring

Rita Storey
Authors:
Rita Storey
Franklin Watts

Summer

Rita Storey
Authors:
Rita Storey
Orchard Books

My Little Pony Annual 2019

Discover a year of magical My Little Pony fun with the official annual 2019!Twilight Sparkle and her best friends are on a mission to bring the Magic of Friendship to Equestria and beyond. Join them for adventure, magic and fun in the all-new MLP Annual 2019 - and meet a host of exciting new characters too! Packed with brilliant games, puzzles, stories, activities, colouring and much, much more ... this is the THE must-have gift for My Little Pony fans of any age.

Hodder Children's Books

Colour Me In

Lydia Ruffles
Authors:
Lydia Ruffles
Orchard Books

Evolution

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry

Into the fire ...Don't miss the final part of this breathtaking trilogy from Teri Terry, multi award-winning author of the SLATED trilogy. Shay has followed Xander and joined his mysterious scientific cult at their remote Scottish compound. She's desperately searching for Callie, who went missing before the start of the epidemic that kills 95% of cases, and leaves a tiny number of survivors with astonishing new powers.Can Shay uncover the truth about the origins of the epidemic, find Callie and perhaps even rekindle her relationship with Kai? Or will Xander's grand plans destroy them all for ever?

Hodder Children's Books

Grace and Fury

Tracy Banghart
Authors:
Tracy Banghart

Bold, brutal and beautiful, this is a must-read with the glitter and romance of The Selection and the thrilling action and intrigue of Red Queen.In a world where women have no rights, sisters Serina and Nomi face two very different fates: one in the palace, the other on an island prison where women must fight to survive. Serina has spent her whole life preparing to become a Grace - selected to stand by the heir to the throne as a shining example of the perfect woman. But her headstrong and rebellious younger sister has a dangerous secret, and one wrong move could cost both sisters everything. Can Serina fight? And will Nomi win?

Hodder Children's Books

Run, Riot

Nikesh Shukla
Authors:
Nikesh Shukla

From the editor of The Good Immigrant, an adrenaline-fuelled, powerful YA novel about young people taking charge of their own destiny. A novel about standing up and being counted.Aspiring MC Taran and her twin brother Hari never wanted to move to Firestone House. But when the rent was doubled overnight and Dad's chemo meant he couldn't work, they had to make this tower block their home. It's good now though; they feel part of something here.When they start noticing boarded-up flats and glossy fliers for expensive apartments, they don't think much of it - until Hari is caught up in a tragedy, and they are forced to go on the run. It's up to these teenagers to uncover the sinister truth behind what's going on in the block, before it blows their world apart.

Hodder Children's Books

A Boy Called Ocean

Chris Higgins
Authors:
Chris Higgins
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Summer of Us

Cecilia Vinesse
Authors:
Cecilia Vinesse

Five friends. Five cities. Two complicated love stories . . . The perfect read for fans of Jennifer E Smith and Sara Barnard.Aubrey and Rae have been planning their European tour since the moment they met. It was meant to be the perfect way to spend their last summer together before university, but now it's not just the two of them . . .There's Jonah, Aubrey's seemingly perfect boyfriend, and Gabe, who Aubrey may have accidentally kissed. Then there's Clara, the friend Rae is crushing on, hard, even though there's no hope because Clara is into guys, not girls. And on top of all that Aubrey and Rae's friendship appears to be falling apart. Things are more complicated at eighteen than they were at ten.Set off on a romantic adventure that embraces warm summer nights, the thrill of first kisses and the bittersweet ache of saying goodbye to the past.

Orchard Books

A Thousand Perfect Notes

C. G. Drews
Authors:
C. G. Drews
Quercus Children's Books

Clean

Juno Dawson
Authors:
Juno Dawson
Hodder Children's Books

Words in Deep Blue

Cath Crowley
Authors:
Cath Crowley
Orion Children's Books

The Astonishing Colour of After

Emily X. R. Pan
Authors:
Emily X. R. Pan