Lydia Ruffles - The Taste of Blue Light - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444936742
    • Publication date:07 Sep 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444936759
    • Publication date:07 Sep 2017

The Taste of Blue Light

By Lydia Ruffles

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

'If Sylvia Plath wrote a novel for young adults, The Taste of Blue Light would be it' Louise O'Neill, author of Asking For It

'If Sylvia Plath wrote a novel for young adults, The Taste of Blue Light would be it' Louise O'Neill, author of Asking For It

What happened to me?
Why can't I remember?

Weeks after blacking out and waking up in hospital, Lux still has no memory of what happened.
She doesn't know why her days are consumed by pain and her nights by terrifying dreams; why her parents won't stop shouting and her friends stop talking when she walks into the room.

All she knows is that the Lux she once was is gone - and that if she can't uncover the truth, everything she loves will be taken away too.

'Devastating and brilliant' Stylist

'Truly unforgettable' Heat

Biographical Notes

Lydia Ruffles read theatre and performance studies at Warwick university and took a post-graduate diploma in public relations. She describes herself as an eternal student and recently completed a creative writing course at the Faber Academy. When she's not writing, she works in communications. Lydia lives in West London.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444936766
  • Publication date: 08 Feb 2018
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
If Sylvia Plath wrote a novel for young adults, The Taste of Blue Light would be it... Beautiful. Visceral. Gripping. I loved it — Louise O'Neill, author of Asking For It
A gripping Bell Jar-type narrative of mental distress and confusion — Financial Times

Remember the name Lydia Ruffles: this devastating and brilliant YA book goes to the most
unexpected of places and will leave you mulling it over for days, weeks and months after

— Stylist
This gripping thriller will stay with you long after you finish the last page — The Sun on Sunday
dark and affecting...a truly unforgettable debut — Heat Magazine
An original take on trauma and memory loss...Lux's voice engages readers on issues that are timely, absorbing and perceptively related — Irish Times
A game-changing exploration of mental health — Emerald Street
If Sylvia Plath wrote a novel for young adults, The Taste of Blue Light would be it... Beautiful. Visceral. Gripping. I loved it
A gripping Bell Jar-type narrative of mental distress and confusion

Remember the name Lydia Ruffles: this devastating and brilliant YA book goes to the most
unexpected of places and will leave you mulling it over for days, weeks and months after

This gripping thriller will stay with you long after you finish the last page
dark and affecting...a truly unforgettable debut
An original take on trauma and memory loss...Lux's voice engages readers on issues that are timely, absorbing and perceptively related
A game-changing exploration of mental health
Hodder Children's Books

SLAY

Brittney Morris
Authors:
Brittney Morris

The Hate U Give meets Ready Player One. A fierce teen game developer battles a real-life troll intent on ruining the Black Panther-inspired video game she created and the safe community it represents for black gamers.By day, seventeen-year-old Kiera Johnson is an honors student, a math tutor, and one of the only black kids at Jefferson Academy. By night, she joins hundreds of thousands of black gamers who duel worldwide as Nubian personas in the secret multiplayer online role-playing card game, SLAY.No one knows Kiera is the game developer, not her friends, her family, not even her boyfriend, Malcolm.But when a teen in Kansas City is murdered over a dispute in the SLAY world, news of the game reaches mainstream media, SLAY is labeled a racist, exclusionist, violent hub for thugs and criminals.Driven to save the only world in which she can truly be herself, Kiera must preserve her secret identity. But can she protect her game without losing herself in the process?

Hodder Children's Books

The Dark Lady

Akala
Authors:
Akala

Henry is an orphan, a thief and a genius.Raised by a powerful witch, Henry is a master pickpocket and spends much of his time reading at the magical apothecary.But Henry's extraordinary gifts haven't gone unnoticed and when caught stealing, he's forced to work for an influential duke and his secret society of intellectuals.Working hard to fulfil the duke's relentless pursuit for knowledge, Henry finds solace and a friend in his idol, the young playwright, William Shakespeare.But it's his mother Henry longs for most.The Dark Lady is calling - will Henry be able to resist?Featuring Shakespeare himself and many of his key characters, bringing to life through fresh eyes the visceral, violent and daring world of the Renaissance.Inspired by the Dark Lady, the black woman at the centre of Shakespeare's sonnets 127-154.Written by award-winning rapper, poet and writer Akala, founder of the renowned Hip-hop Shakespeare Company.

Orion Children's Books

A Strange Kind of Brave

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Hodder Children's Books

Arrowheart 2

Rebecca Sky
Authors:
Rebecca Sky

What if you had the power to make any boy fall in love with you? Addictive romance with a fantasy twist for fans of Holly Smale, Ally Carter, and Zoe Sugg.The gods are gone. The people have forgotten them. But sixteen-year-old Rachel Patel can't forget - the gods control her life, or more specifically, her love life.Being a Hedoness, one of a strong group of women descended from Greek God Eros, makes true love impossible for Rachel. She wields the power of that magical golden arrow, and with it, the promise to take the will of any boy she kisses. But the last thing Rachel wants is to force someone to love her and in retribution for refusing to use her powers, the Hedoness Committee has taken her captive.Now, Rachel is being held in a secret facility. As she struggles to find a way to escape, Rachel must figure out who she can trust, rescue her family and friends, and maybe, just maybe...even find a way to fall in love.

Orchard Books

Evermore

Sara Holland
Authors:
Sara Holland

Jules confronts the girl who is both her oldest friend and greatest enemy in the highly anticipated sequel - and conclusion - to the Top Ten Bestseller Everless.Jules Ember was raised hearing legends of the ancient magic of the wicked Alchemist and the good Sorceress. But she has just learned the truth: She is the Alchemist, and Caro - a woman who single-handedly murdered the Queen and Jules's first love, Roan, in cold blood - is the Sorceress.The whole kingdom believes that Jules is responsible for the murders, and a hefty bounty has been placed on her head. And Caro is intent on destroying Jules, who stole her heart twelve lifetimes ago. Now Jules must piece together the stories of her past lives to save the person who has captured her heart in this one.Perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard, Stephanie Garber and Kendare Blake, Evermore is the high-stakes, star-crossed follow up to Everless that fans have been waiting for.

Hodder Children's Books

Colour Me In

Lydia Ruffles
Authors:
Lydia Ruffles
Orion Children's Books

The List of Real Things

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Wayland

Making with Light

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne
Quercus Children's Books

The Darkest Minds

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken

The first book in the heart-stopping The Darkest Minds trilogy, for fans of Divergent and The Hunger Games. The movie adaptation from Twentieth Century Fox will be in cinemas in August 2018. Ruby is sixteen. She is dangerous. And she is alive. For now.A mysterious disease has killed most of America's children. Ruby might have survived, but she and the others have emerged with something far worse than a virus: frightening abilities they cannot control. Pressured by the government, Ruby's parents sent her to Thurmond, a brutal state 'rehabilitation camp', where she has learned to fear and suppress her new power. But what if mastering it is a whole generation's only chance for survival?'A riveting emotional read that kept me on the edge.' - Melissa Marr, author of Wicked LovelyAlexandra Bracken is the New York Times bestselling author of Passenger, Wayfarer and The Darkest Minds series. Visit her online at www.alexandrabracken.com and on Twitter @alexbracken.

Orion Children's Books

Saint Death

Marcus Sedgwick
Authors:
Marcus Sedgwick

Orion Children's Books

A Very Good Chance

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Hodder Children's Books

Orangeboy

Patrice Lawrence
Authors:
Patrice Lawrence
Orchard Books

Think Twice

Sarah Mlynowski
Authors:
Sarah Mlynowski
Orion Children's Books

Burn

Paula Weston
Authors:
Paula Weston

Gaby thought her life couldn't get more complicated. She was wrong.She's not the teenage backpacker she thought she was. She is one of the Rephaim, descended from fallen angels. The brother she thought she'd lost is alive. And the heavenly war is escalating.Now Gaby's remembered everything. But as she struggles to come to terms with her new memories, will what she knows save the people she loves . . . or doom them?If you loved Becca Fitzpatrick's HUSH, HUSH, this is the perfect book for you.

Orion Children's Books

The Double Shadow

Sally Gardner
Authors:
Sally Gardner
Orion Children's Books

The Apple Tart of Hope

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

'A moving and poignant tale about the redemptive power of friendship' - Louise O'Neill, bestselling author of Asking for ItOscar Dunleavy is missing, presumed dead. His bike was found at sea, beyond the pier, and everyone in town has accepted this as a teenage tragedy. Except for his best friend, Meg. Oscar's kind, always cheerful, and makes the world's best apple tarts. Meg knows he isn't dead ... ...and she's is going to prove it.

Orion Children's Books

The One Safe Place

Tania Unsworth
Authors:
Tania Unsworth
Orion Children's Books

Hate

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons

Eve's older sister, Rosie, was bright and alive and always loved being the centre of attention. Then one day, she is brutally murdered. Six months later, Eve meets Antony and discovers that he was there the night Rosie died and did nothing to help. Is there any way she can ever get past that?Inspired by the tragic murder of Sophie Lancaster, which saw Sophie and her partner Rob viciously attacked in Stubbylee Park, Bacup, Lancashire because of the way they dressed, this is a hard-hitting real-life thriller about friendship, courage, loss, forgiveness and about our society and communities.

Orion Children's Books

Back to Blackbrick

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Hodder Children's Books

This Lullaby

Sarah Dessen
Authors:
Sarah Dessen