Sif Sigmarsdottir - The Sharp Edge of a Snowflake - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444935318
    • Publication date:14 Jun 2018

The Sharp Edge of a Snowflake

By Sif Sigmarsdottir

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

The captivating, feminist, Nordic YA thriller from Icelandic author Sif Sigmarsdottir

The captivating, feminist, Nordic YA thriller from Icelandic author Sif Sigmarsdottir

Hannah Black has visited Iceland every summer of her life, but when her mother dies, she is forced to go and live with her dad in Iceland for good. She dreams of a perfect life where everything that the Instagram filters tell the world about her is true.

Imogen Collins is a social media influencer with the perfect glossy life in London, but she has moved to Iceland to confront someone out to ruin her career.

In snow-capped Iceland, the girl's lives collide. Imogen is arrested on suspicion of murder - and Hannah becomes embroiled in the murder case.

Hannah must fight for what she believes - and decide whether she ever really knew the meaning of perfect after all ...

Nancy Drew meets The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo for a YA audience

Biographical Notes

Sif Sigmasdottir is an author and a journalist from Iceland.

Sif has been writing children's books for ten years and her novels for teenagers and young adults are bestsellers in Iceland. Her most recent book, Freya's Saga, was nominated for the Icelandic Literary Prize, the most prestigious literary award in Iceland.

Having obtained an MA in children's literature from the University of Reading in 2003, Sif now lives in London. This is her English debut.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444935301
  • Publication date: 13 Jun 2019
  • Page count: 292
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Hodder Children's Books

The Liars

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu

The highly anticipated new novel from Jennifer Mathieu. Two siblings wrestle with the secrets and lies that threaten to destroy their future. Perfect for fans of We Were Liars.How can one family have so many secrets?It's the summer of 1986. Joaquin and Elena, two teenage siblings live in a toxic environment with their alcoholic mother on an island off the Texas Gulf Coast. Elena falls for a new boy who has just arrived from California. Joaquin must wrestle with his decision to stay on Mariposa Island to protect his sister or flee from his mother's abuse. As both teenagers struggle to figure out who they are and want to be, they are caught in a web of family dysfunction and secrets from their mother's past. Can fierce love save them, or will their truth tear them apart?

Orion Children's Books

A Strange Kind of Brave

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

To Kill a Mockingbird with an angelic twist - a novel about the tragedy of fear, the courage of love, and the heroism of everyday kindness. A new poignant and big-hearted novel from bestselling Waterstones Children's Book Prize shortlisted author Sarah Moore Fitzgerald.Allie has made a terrible mistake - one with enormous consequences, something she can't tell anyone about. Except for Dylan, the strange new boy who vows to help her in every way he can. Dylan believes they can fix it all. Tragedy is in store, but in ways neither can ever begin to see...

Hodder Children's Books

The Haven

Simon Lelic
Authors:
Simon Lelic

An adrenaline-fuelled adventure in a new series by top thriller writer Simon Lelic. Ollie Turner isn't sure he's ready to be a hero ...Our city. Our secret. Our rules. Snatched from his bed in the middle of the night, Ollie Turner is thrust into a world of danger and excitement.Below the streets of London he discovers a secret city: a network of tunnels that lead him to the Haven, a sanctuary for kids run by kids, and the headquarters of an organisation that fights for justice everywhere.Soon Ollie is caught up in the Haven's battle: a quest to stop 'Mad Maddy' Sikes from destroying the city. But time is running out for Ollie and his new friends. Will they manage to stop Sikes before it is too late? And who is the traitor in their midst?A book for teens and above from the writer of adult thrillers THE HOUSE, THE LIAR'S ROOM and RUPTURE.

Orchard Books

Rainbow Magic: Shannon the Ocean Fairy - Narwhal Special

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Shannon the Ocean Fairy needs Rachel and Kirsty's help! Naughty Jack Frost has stolen her three enchanted pearls, and this is causing chaos in the oceans. To stop him, the girls must explore an underwater world and meet some very special friends...the narwhals!

Hodder Children's Books

The Cherry Tree Farm Story Collection

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Enid Blyton's timeless collection of farm stories, perfect for holidays or rainy days, and an ideal gift for anyone who loved the stories during their own childhood to pass on to the next generation of readers.Benjy, Penny, Rory and Sheila are spending the holidays with their aunt and uncle at Cherry Tree Farm. They play with the animals and learn to feed them, roam the countryside and hunt for the mysterious Tammylan, who lives deep in the woods. Everywhere is teeming with adventure and the children are bound to get into mischief!This collections brings together some of Enid Blyton's earliest and most imaginative stories - The Children of Cherry Tree Farm (1940) and two further stories about the same children, The Children of Willow Farm (1942) and More Adventures at Willow Farm (1943).(P) 2019 Hodder Children's Books

Hodder Children's Books

Nowhere on Earth

Nick Lake
Authors:
Nick Lake
Orchard Books

Grandma Dangerous and the Egg of Glory

Kita Mitchell
Authors:
Kita Mitchell
Orchard Books

The Secret Jungle

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Evermore

Sara Holland
Authors:
Sara Holland

Jules confronts the girl who is both her oldest friend and greatest enemy in the highly anticipated sequel to the Top Ten Bestseller Everless.Jules Ember was raised hearing legends of the ancient magic of the wicked Alchemist and the good Sorceress. But she has just learned the truth: She is the Alchemist, and Caro - a woman who single-handedly murdered the Queen and Jules's first love, Roan, in cold blood - is the Sorceress.The whole kingdom believes that Jules is responsible for the murders, and a hefty bounty has been placed on her head. And Caro is intent on destroying Jules, who stole her heart twelve lifetimes ago. Now Jules must piece together the stories of her past lives to save the person who has captured her heart in this one.Perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard, Stephanie Garber and Kendare Blake, Evermore is the high-stakes, star-crossed follow up to Everless that fans have been waiting for.

Orchard Books

Ospira the Savage Sorceress

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Hodder Children's Books

That's Not What Happened

Kody Keplinger
Authors:
Kody Keplinger
Hodder Children's Books

Colour Me In

Lydia Ruffles
Authors:
Lydia Ruffles
Orchard Books

Everless

Sara Holland
Authors:
Sara Holland
Orchard Books

Deception

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry

Some lies can't be forgiven ...Don't miss this startling second book in a breathtaking new trilogy from Teri Terry, queen of the teen thriller and author of the bestselling SLATED trilogy.An epidemic is sweeping the country.You are among the infected. There is no cure, and you cannot be permitted to infect others. You are now under quarantine. The 5% of the infected who survive are dangerous and will be taken into the custody of the army.As the epidemic spreads, survivors are being hunted like witches, for the authorities fear their strange new powers. Kai is desperate to trace Shay, who tricked him and disappeared. Meanwhile, Shay is searching for the truth behind the origins of the epidemic ... but danger finds them wherever they go. Can they outrun the fire? From the author of the international sensation Slated comes the second book in a powerful new story of survival and transformation; love and power.

Franklin Watts

Understanding Transgender

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Franklin Watts

Understanding Sexuality

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head

This book looks at the issues around sexuality - what it means, being lesbian, gay or bisexual, coming out, homophobia and accepting yourself and being happy in your own skin. It includes talking and debating points and is perfect for someone starting to question their sexuality or for PSHE lessons.It is part of the series My Life, Your Life, which takes a sensitive and positive look at some of the issues that concern children aged 10+. It explores issues including sexuality, gender, self-esteem, prejudice and discrimination and promotes and encourages discussion. By thinking creatively and critically, children can learn to accept their differences, embrace diversity and improve their sense of self and how they fit into the bigger picture. Each title also provides advice in the form of practical ways to cope with distressing or difficult situations.

Hodder Children's Books

I Am Traitor

Sif Sigmarsdottir
Authors:
Sif Sigmarsdottir
Hodder Children's Books

Eight O'Clock Tales

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Eleven magical short stories to enjoy round the clock from one of the world's best-loved children's authors, Enid Blyton.Join Twiddle the gnome on his search for his grumpy runaway donkey Kick-up. Find out what happens when the rocking-horse, teddy and all the other toys come alive. And laugh at Twisty the Brownie as he learns the hard way why it's unwise to pull nasty faces.Ideal for bedtime, reading aloud or alone, these magical short stories for 5-8 year-olds will enchant a new generation of children.Look out for more O'Clock tales: Five O'Clock Tales, Six O'Clock Tales, Seven O'Clock Tales and Eight O'Clock Tales.Enid Blyton has been delighting readers for more than seventy years with her endless summers of fun, adventure and magic. Enid's best-loved characters include Noddy the wooden boy, Timmy the dog from The Famous Five and the mischievous twins Pat and Isabel O'Sullivan from the much-loved boarding school series St Clare's!First published in 1944, this edition contains the original text, illustrations and the following stories: The Good Turn; The Boy Who Heard Too Much; The Skittle-Policeman; Tick-Tock's Tea-Party; The Runaway Donkey; The Surprise Party; The Enchanted Doll; When the Toys Came Alive; The Brownie Who Pulled Faces; All the Way to Toy-Town; Poor Old Scarecrow!

Orchard Books

The Ethan I Was Before

Ali Standish
Authors:
Ali Standish
Hodder Children's Books

Mr Galliano's Circus Story Collection

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

A classic selection of stories to read and share by one of the world's best-loved children's authors, Enid Blyton.Mr Galliano's famous circus has come to town! Join young Jimmy Brown and his family as they enter a thrilling world of incredible animals, colourful clowns and daring acrobats. Meet cheeky chimps, kindly elephants, fearsome tigers and one very special little dog called Lucky, as Jimmy discovers what it takes to become part of Mr Galliano's Circus.This book was previously published as The Circus Collection. It comprises three full-length books: Mr. Galliano's Circus (1938), Hurrah for the Circus! (1939) and Circus Days Again (1942), containing 26 stories in total.