Cressida Cowell - The Story of Tantrum O'Furrily - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £6.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444933819
    • Publication date:06 Sep 2018

The Story of Tantrum O'Furrily

By Cressida Cowell
Illustrated by Mark Nicholas

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A lyrical new text from the bestselling author of the How To Train Your Dragon series, Cressida Cowell, with striking illustrations from a talented, debut artist, Mark Nicholas.

Written by Cressida Cowell, creator of the bestselling How to train Your Dragon series and with beautiful illustrations by Mark Nicholas, winner of the Carmelite Prize, comes a lyrical fable of a curious kitten who ventures out for the first time.

'One wild and windy night a stray cat called Tantrum O'Furrily and her three hungry kittens were dancing across the roof tops.'

Tantrum O'Furrily's kittens are hungry and doubt that a story can ease a stray cat's rumbling stomach. They soon learn that stories are powerful, and that if you're courageous you might find a saucer of milk at the end of that story.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444933826
  • Publication date: 05 Apr 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
The latest from bestselling author Cressida Cowell is such a lip-smacking pleasure to read, so playfully told, that you may well find yourself wanting to swallow it whole. Newcomer Mark Nicholas provides the dark and smudgy illustrations — The Observer
The muted colours of the illustrations are perfect for the text. The story is lovely and heart-warming, gentle and upbuilding. — Parents in Touch
It's a book about courage, having the temerity to explore and being brave enough to 'write your own story'. Mark Nicholas' award winning illustrations are suitably atmospheric. — Press and Journal UK
Orchard Books

The Dark Wizard

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once 3

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell

From the bestselling author of How to Train Your Dragon comes an exciting high-adventure series - set in an ancient, magical time, full of Wizards, Warriors, Giants and Sprites.

Orchard Books

Help! I Smell a Monster

Justin Davies, Kim Geyer
Contributors:
Justin Davies, Kim Geyer

This book STINKS . . . of monsters! A hilariously funny debut, perfect for fans of Pamela Butchart and David Solomons.When Alice is sent to stay with her Uncle Magnus, she soon realises that his job agency isn't quite ... normal. It helps monsters find work that makes the most of their unique talons - er, talents. Alice is shocked to discover that monsters are EVERYWHERE. There's even a Cyclops working in the castle as a pastry chef! But when he suddenly disappears, Alice smells something fishy. Can she and her uncle sniff out the missing monster before it's too late?

Orchard Books

Daddy Fartypants

Emer Stamp, Matt Hunt
Contributors:
Emer Stamp, Matt Hunt
Orchard Books

The Frozen Fortress

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

X-Men meets Beast Quest at the school for superheroes! An epic adventure series from bestselling author Adam BladeOrdinary kids with extraordinary powers gather in a secret school to be trained to fight the forces of darkness.

Orion Children's Books

Emily Windsnap and the Pirate Prince

Liz Kessler
Authors:
Liz Kessler

Meet Emily Windsnap! Ordinary girl on land, magical mermaid in water... Bubbling with magic, fun, friendship and oceans of adventure. A must-read for girls aged 8+.When Emily Windsnap's boyfriend Aaron is captured by pirates there's only one option - join a rival pirate crew and persuade them to help rescue him. The Pirate Prince agrees, as long as Emily assists in finding the Trident's Treasure first.But as if boarding a pirate ship weren't dangerous enough, Emily soon discovers that pirates hate mermaids. If her true identity is revealed, her life - and Aaron's - will be at risk.How will Emily keep her secret when the only way to win the treasure is by turning into a mermaid?

Orchard Books

Querzol the Swamp Monster

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Battle Beasts and fight Evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up!The kingdom of Avantia is shocked by the return of the king's brother, Prince Angelo, believed killed in battle many years ago. But when he banishes Tom and Elenna from Avantia they travel to the Wildlands in search of the truth about Prince Angelo. First of all they must tackle Querzol, a man-eating mangrove tree! There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out!

Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Fiction: Old Friends New Battles

Franklin Watts

My Dad's in Prison

Jackie Walter
Authors:
Jackie Walter
Hodder Children's Books

The Night Before the Night Before Christmas

Kes Gray, Claire Powell
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Claire Powell
Hodder Children's Books

Emily Brown and Father Christmas

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Orchard Books

Etta the Elephant Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Priya the Polar Bear Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty on an animal rescue adventure!Priya the Polar Bear Fairy looks after polar bears throughout the human and fairy worlds. But when Jack Frost steals her magical pet, polar bears everywhere are in danger! Can Kirsty and Rachel help save this very special endangered animal?

Orchard Books

Selma the Snow Leopard Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty on an animal rescue adventure!Kirsty and Rachel are helping out at a safari park that looks after endangered animals. But when Selma the Snow Leopard Fairy's magical pet goes missing, the safety of the park is in jeopardy. Can the girls help find him and look after endangered animals everywhere?

Orchard Books

Chelsea the Chimpanzee Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once: Twice Magic

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell

No.1 Bestselling Series from the Blue Peter Award winning author of How To Train Your Dragon. Enter a land of wizards, warriors, mythical creatures and powerful magic in an exciting new fantasy adventure.Witches are creating havoc in the Wildwoods and danger lurks behind every tree trunk. Wish is in possession of a powerful, Magic Spelling Book; Xar has a dangerous Witchstain on his hand. Together they can save the Wildwoods from the curse of the Witches but they are separated by the highest wall imaginable, and time is running out ...It was unlikely that these heroes should meet in the first place. Is it possible they are destined to meet TWICE?'A rollercoaster of suspense and surprise' GUARDIAN'Cowell is moving towards national treasure' BIG ISSUE'Another coup from Cowell' SUNDAY TIMES

Orchard Books

Nersepha the Cursed Siren

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Ten Little Robots

Mike Brownlow, Simon Rickerty
Contributors:
Mike Brownlow, Simon Rickerty

Learn to count from ten to one and back again with this rhythmic, rhyming robot adventure! "This factory looks exciting. Shall we take a peep?" Ten little robots all say, "BEEEP!" Ten little robots set off on a hilarious adventure through a fantastical factory in this wonderfully wacky rhyming romp - with NEEE-NAAAAH-ing sirens, KER-BOOOOMG-ing engines, and plenty of gadgets, levers and utter chaos along the way!Look out for the other books in the bestselling, award-winning Ten Little series:Ten Little PiratesTen Little PrincessesTen Little MonstersTen Little DinosaursTen Little ElvesPraise for the other Ten Little books:'a rollicking read with an easy rhythm and jaunty illustrations...excellent' - Guardian'jaunty verse with lots of humorous details to discover on every page' - Time Out'roaringly funny rhymes' - Independent

Hodder Children's Books

The Survival Game

Nicky Singer
Authors:
Nicky Singer

'A wonderful, surprisingly delicate story about a teenager making her way home to Scotland in a world remade by climate change (aimed at YA readers but, like all good children's books, good for adults too)' Lucy Mangan, i WeekendIn a world full of checkpoints and controls, can love and hope defy the borders? A searing, timely story, as arresting as it is beautiful. Imagine a world ... Where there are too many people on a too-hot earth and your only chance of salvation is to journey north.Where you must prove yourself worthy of existence at every turn, at every checkpoint.Where your instincts become your most powerful weapon - even more than the gun in your pocket.Where you find out what it takes to survive.An extraordinary story about survival and what it costs, about the power of small kindnesses to change everything.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Scent of Danger

Abie Longstaff
Authors:
Abie Longstaff

The second book in The Trapdoor Mysteries, a series about Tally, a code-breaking, animal-loving servant girl and her best friend, a squirrel named Squill, who solve mysteries with the help of a secret library...Orphan Tally is the servant girl at Mollett Manor - and she's also the Secret Keeper of the magical library hidden beneath a trapdoor, underneath the manor's grounds. Along with Squill the squirrel, she uses the enchanted books to solve crimes. So when Lady Mollett's new puppy, Widdles, is kidnapped, Tally and Squill head straight to the library. But will they be able to catch the dognapper or is it already too late?