Kody Keplinger - Run - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444932706
    • Publication date:14 Jul 2016

Run

By Kody Keplinger

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

From the author of New York Times bestseller and major motion picture The DUFF, comes Thelma and Louise for a YA audience.

Bo Dickinson is a girl with a wild reputation, a deadbeat dad, and an alcoholic mom. Everyone in town knows the Dickinsons are a bad lot, but Bo doesn't care what anyone thinks.

Agnes Atwood has never stayed out past ten p.m., never gone on a date and never broken any of her parents' overbearing rules. Rules that are meant to protect their legally blind daughter - but Agnes isn't quite sure what they are protecting her from.

Despite everything, Bo and Agnes become best friends. And it's the sort of friendship that runs truer and deeper than anything else.
So when Bo shows up in the middle of the night, police sirens wailing in the distance, desperate to get out of town, Agnes doesn't hesitate to take off with her. But running away and not getting caught will require stealing a car, tracking down Bo's dad, staying ahead of the authorities, and - worst of all - confronting some ugly secrets.
A story about the ferocity of friendship and the risks we'll take to save our friends ... And ourselves.

Biographical Notes

Kody Keplinger was born and raised in a small Kentucky town. She wrote her first novel, The DUFF (Designated Ugly Fat Friend) when she was only 17.

Kody is the cofounder of Disability in Kidlit, a website devoted to the representation of disabilities in children's literature.

Currently, Kody lives in New York City, where she teaches writing workshops and continues to write books for kids and teens. Kody's website is kodykeplinger.com

'I always felt like the "ugly girl" in high school - my best friends are insanely gorgeous - so when I was introduced to the word during my senior year, I knew I was the Duff. The idea of writing a book with "Duff" in the title started as a joke, but when I realized that my friends felt like Duffs, too, I knew I had to write this story.'

The DUFF is now a major motion picture starring Bella Thorne, Mae Whitman and Alison Janney.

Kody writes for YA Highway, a blog devoted to the young adult publishing industry. She is also a featured writer for Poptimal.com, a popular pop culture blog, where she reviews TV shows and movies.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444932713
  • Publication date: 14 Jul 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
The powerful friendship is what sings in Keplinger's novel, even as secrets start emerging — Bustle.com
Hodder Children's Books

The Big Race

David Barrow
Authors:
David Barrow

Aardvark is only small and the Big Race is long and hard. But Aardvark is going to join in and give it everything she's got!A heart-warming, stylish and delightfully funny celebration of taking part rather than winning from Sebastian Walker Award winner David Barrow.Visit David at davebarrowillustration.co.uk and follow him at @DaveBarrow3.

Hodder Children's Books

Emily Brown and Father Christmas

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell

Emily Brown and her side-kick rabbit, Stanley, are back! And who's that outside the window ... it's Father Christmas!With an important message about cherishing traditions that children will understand, this is storytelling at its best, from an exciting creative team in children's books.'Will both delight fans, and give them something to reflect on. Layton's illustrations are a joy, matching the text perfectly.' - BooksellerWritten by Cressida Cowell, the bestselling author of the How to Train Your Dragon series. http://www.cressidacowell.co.uk/Illustrated by award winning Neal Layton, creator of Stanley's Stick and illustrator of Danny McGee Drinks The Sea, shortlisted for the 2017 Laugh Out Loud Picture Book Award.http://www.neallayton.co.uk/

Hodder Children's Books

Claude All at Sea

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith
Hodder Children's Books

Claude Adventures

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith

An exciting paperback treasury of Alex T. Smith's bestselling, award-winning canine hero, containing three much-loved stories. Follow Claude and Sir Bobblysock as they dance and bottom-wiggle their way into the spotlight, head off in hot pursuit of a gold cup, and stumble onto a film set to become movie stars! Includes: Lights! Camera! Action!, Going for Gold and Claude in the Spotlight. Claude has been selected for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize, the Richard and Judy Book Club and the 5-9 fiction Sainsbury's Children's Book Award, and is soon to be a TV star on Disney Junior! '...illustrated with humour and elegance...' - The Times'With quirky illustrations and plenty of humour...' - MetroFollow the author at http://alextsmith.blogspot.co.uk and http://twitter.com/Alex_T_Smith

Hodder Children's Books

That's Not What Happened

Kody Keplinger
Authors:
Kody Keplinger
Quercus Children's Books

The Life and Death Parade

Eliza Wass
Authors:
Eliza Wass

Strange rituals, hauntings and the occult collide in this darkly memorable YA thriller. Perfect for fans of Louise O'Neill, Sarah Waters and Donna Tartt.One year ago, Kitty's boyfriend Nikki Bramley visited a psychic who told him he had no future. Now, he's dead. With the Bramleys grieving inside their rural English home, Kitty sets out to find the psychic who read Nikki his fate.Instead she finds Roan, an enigmatic medium claiming he can speak to the dead. He belongs to the Life and Death Parade - a group that explore the thin veil between this world and the next. Kitty is convinced he's a charlatan - but the 'magic' seems to work. The darkness is lifting.But there are things Kitty can't ignore - evidence of strange rituals, shadows of the boy she lost, and Kitty begins to suspect that this boy had something to do with Nikki's death. More, that he may have the very real power to bring him back ...'Haunting, unexpected, beautifully written. One of the best books I've read this year' LOUISE O'NEILL on In the Dark, In the Woods

Orchard Books

Amelia Sparklepaw

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

The Island of Doom

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Daisy Tappytoes Dares to Dance

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

An enchanting series full of adorable animals, magic and friendship - from the creator of RAINBOW MAGIC, the UK's bestselling series for girls aged 5-7.Best friends Lily and Jess are excited to be going to a musical show in Friendship Forest! But when they get there, the wicked witch Grizelda puts a curse on the place, knocking everything out of sync. Can adorable fawn Daisy Tappytoes help Friendship Forest regain its rhythm?

Orchard Books

Bobbi the Bouncy Castle Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty on their sweetest-ever fairy adventure!Bobbi the Bouncy Castle Fairy is the bubbliest of all the Funfair Fairies! But when Jack Frost steals her magical object, even she is a bit deflated. Can Kirsty and Rachel help bring back the bounce before the funfair goes flat?

Orchard Books

Rae the Rollercoaster Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty on their sweetest-ever fairy adventure!Rae the Rollercoaster Fairy makes sure that rollercoasters everywhere are lots of fun. But when Jack Frost steals her magical object, she's in for a bumpy ride! Can Kirsty and Rachel help get things running smoothly again?

Hodder Children's Books

Whoever You Are

Diana Hendry
Authors:
Diana Hendry

From the Costa award-winning author of Harvey Angell, comes the sequel to Out of the Clouds.Pa is off again to work on his world-changing scientific discovery, leaving the rest of the Coggins family behind at their hidden clifftop home, Dizzy Perch. Oliver is in charge, with strict instructions about no visitors, in order to protect Pa's top-secret location. But Ma doesn't listen, and invites her favourite author to say.When a woman arrives at Dizzy Perch claiming to be the author, the whole family are enchanted by their guest. All apart from Oliver, that is. A good job too, because the woman is really the sister of Pa's Sworn Enemy Mac, whose mission it is to bring Pa down and steal his research. How is Oliver going to be able to keep his promise to Pa and protect his family, when they simply refuse to listen to him...?A classic mystery adventure perfect for fans of Enid Blyton.

Hodder Children's Books

Midnight Sun

Trish Cook
Authors:
Trish Cook

Katie can't leave her house during the day: she has a rare disease that makes even the smallest amount of sunlight deadly. But everything changes when one night, singing her heart out on a deserted station platform, she meets Charlie.Before the night is out, Katie is smitten. But she hasn't told Charlie her secret. She just wants to have her normal love story, before reality kicks in. Lost in her night-time summer romance, Katie knows that love will light the way.

Hodder Children's Books

Toto the Ninja Cat and the Great Snake Escape

Dermot O’Leary, Nick East
Contributors:
Dermot O’Leary, Nick East
Quercus Children's Books

In the Dark, In the Woods

Eliza Wass
Authors:
Eliza Wass

'Haunting, unexpected, beautifully written. One of the best books I've read this year' LOUISE O'NEILLAn unforgettable thriller from an incredible new author, for fans of We Were Liars and Half Bad, reminiscent of The Virgin Suicides.Father wants sixteen-year-old Castley and her five siblings to hide from the world. Living in a falling-down house deep in the woods, he wants to bury their secrets where noone will ever find them. Father says they are destined to be together forever. In heaven. Father says the sooner they get there, the better. But Castley wants to be normal. She wants to kiss boys and wear jean shorts. CASTLEY WANTS TO LIVE. 'A breathtaking, gut-wrenching coming-of-age saga from all sides. Readers will be swept into the Cresswells' claustrophobic world and ache for them long after it's set aflame' - Kirkus'A haunting family portrait centered on the power of belief' - Publishers Weekly

Orchard Books

Badly Drawn Beth

Jem Packer, Duncan McCoshan
Authors:
Jem Packer, Duncan McCoshan

Winner of the Laugh Out Loud book awards!Badly Drawn Beth is officially the funniest book for 6-8 year olds in 2016! Beth is a hilarious new heroine who just can't help getting in trouble ...So, I'm surrounded by crocodiles, holding a briefcase full of fish fingers, I'm wearing a swamp monster mask AND MISS PRIMULA IS ABOUT TO CALL MY PARENTS!Meet Beth - and all of her fantastically crazy family and friends - and be prepared to laugh your socks off!A hilarious new diary series from the creators of Fleabag Monkeyface.

Orchard Books

Fairy Charm

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Orchard Books

Genie Wish

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

Queen Malice has cast her most dangerous spell yet! The wicked queen has cursed the Magic Hourglass. When the sand runs out, all the magic will be gone from the Secret Kingdom forever! Jasmine, Ellie and Summer must find the four Enchanted Objects to break Queen Malice's spell. Can the girls get the Glitter Lamp and save Gina the genie?

Orchard Books

Pixie Spell

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

Queen Malice has cast her most dangerous spell yet!The wicked queen has cursed the Magic Hourglass. When the sand runs out, all the magic will be gone from the Secret Kingdom forever! Jasmine, Ellie and Summer have collected almost all the four Enchanted Objects to break Queen Malice's spell, but there's one left to find, and Queen Malice won't let them have it without a fight. Will the magic of the Secret Kingdom be lost forever?

Orchard Books

Mermaid Magic

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks