Kody Keplinger - Run - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444932706
    • Publication date:14 Jul 2016

Run

By Kody Keplinger

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

From the author of New York Times bestseller and major motion picture The DUFF, comes Thelma and Louise for a YA audience.

Bo Dickinson is a girl with a wild reputation, a deadbeat dad, and an alcoholic mom. Everyone in town knows the Dickinsons are a bad lot, but Bo doesn't care what anyone thinks.

Agnes Atwood has never stayed out past ten p.m., never gone on a date and never broken any of her parents' overbearing rules. Rules that are meant to protect their legally blind daughter - but Agnes isn't quite sure what they are protecting her from.

Despite everything, Bo and Agnes become best friends. And it's the sort of friendship that runs truer and deeper than anything else. So when Bo shows up in the middle of the night, police sirens wailing in the distance, desperate to get out of town, Agnes doesn't hesitate to take off with her. But running away and not getting caught will require stealing a car, tracking down Bo's dad, staying ahead of the authorities, and - worst of all - confronting some ugly secrets.

A story about the ferocity of friendship and the risks we'll take to save our friends ... And ourselves.

Biographical Notes

Kody Keplinger was born and raised in rural western Kentucky. She always enjoyed writing and began working on novels when she was eleven. She wrote her first published work, THE DUFF, at seventeen. Since then, Kody has written two other novels, SHUT OUT and A MIDSUMMER'S NIGHTMARE.

Kody currently lives in NYC and writes full time. She enjoys Thai food, Converse tennis shoes, and way too much television.

Kody writes for YA Highway, a blog devoted to the young adult publishing industry. She is also a featured writer for Poptimal.com, a popular pop culture blog, where she reviews TV shows and movies.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444932713
  • Publication date: 14 Jul 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
The powerful friendship is what sings in Keplinger's novel, even as secrets start emerging — Bustle.com
Franklin Watts

Hold on to the Mat

Sue Graves, Maarten Lenoir
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Maarten Lenoir
Orchard Books

Verak the Storm King

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Lair of the Fire Lizard

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Franklin Watts

Oolaf the Hero

Andy Elkerton
Authors:
Andy Elkerton

Franklin Watts

Where Are We Going?

Elizabeth Dale, Amanda Gulliver
Contributors:
Elizabeth Dale, Amanda Gulliver

Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.Independent Reading Yellow stories are perfect for children aged 4+ who are reading at book band 3 (Yellow) in classroom reading lessons.In this story, the family is on a train ride and the children are disappointed not to be able to get off and do all the things they can see from the window. But when they arrive at the seaside, they will be able to do everything!

Wayland

Worried

Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon

This lovely picturebook story tells the story of a small child helping others who are worried, before finding out that they're worried too.Illustrating scenarios of why children become frightened will help readers to identify their feelings and work out the best way to deal with this emotion.Ideal for home or classroom, this book contains notes for parents and teachers with suggestions of ways to help children deal with this feeling.This book is part of a series of stories about feelings and emotions for children aged between 4 and 8. Other titles are: Feeling Angry, Feeling Frightened, Feeling Jealous, Feeling Sad and Feeling Shy.Illustrated by the ever-popular and award-winning illustrator Mike Gordon.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Ascension

Olivia Chase
Authors:
Olivia Chase

For fans of Cassandra Clare and Buffy the Vampire Slayer, the second book in this kick-ass new series will keep you on the edge of your seat . . .Diana, Minerva and Vesta are Demon Hunters, gifted with amazing powers to help them fight against supernatural evil. But they're also normal teenagers, with normal things to worry about such as school, relationships, and getting to judo practice on time.When a creepy fog cloaks Edinburgh and the girls find a boy, bloodied and confused, they suspect a demon is up to no good. Suddenly they're plunged into unknown danger, and have to use the united strength of their Trinity to survive once more.

Franklin Watts

Sam's Super Family

Damian Harvey, Paul Davidson
Contributors:
Damian Harvey, Paul Davidson

Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.Independent Reading Yellow stories are perfect for children aged 4+ who are reading at book band 3 (Yellow) in classroom reading lessons.Sam's family is anything but ordinary - in fact, it is super! But what about Sam?

Quercus Children's Books

The Starman and Me

Sharon Cohen, Sharon Cohen
Authors:
Sharon Cohen, Sharon Cohen

E.T. meets Stig of the Dump in a page-turning adventure for fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce and David AlmondHe wasn't an alien, I was sure of that. It was more like he'd walked in through an ancient door from the past ... except he was here, in my bedroom and his misty forest was somewhere real on Planet Earth.Twelve-year-old Kofi first spots the prehistoric human on a supermarket roundabout. He is small and dark and curled into a tight ball. His name is Rorty Thrutch and he has zero memory of how he ended up in the unexceptional village of Bradborough, or why he's being hunted... Kofi soon finds out that Rorty can do amazing things. He can copy, paste and delete objects, using only the power of his mind. This is the discovery of the century and mad, greedy scientists will stop at nothing to track him down.Kofi and best friend Janie are on a mission. Not only must they protect Rorty, but they have to find his missing girlfriend Pogsy Blue, too. Our prehistoric ancestors have crashed headlong into the 21st century and time is running out to save them...THE STARMAN AND ME explores where we have come from and where we are moving to - it's about the magic of DNA, the power of identity, and the importance of caring for each other.

Wayland

Sad

Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon
Wayland

Frightened

Kay Barnham
Authors:
Kay Barnham
Wayland

Angry

Katie Douglass
Authors:
Katie Douglass
Wayland

Jealous

Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon
Orchard Books

Must End Soon

Jonathan Meres
Authors:
Jonathan Meres
Orchard Books

The Hawkweed Legacy

Irena Brignull
Authors:
Irena Brignull
Orchard Books

Contagion

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry

Don't miss this startling first book in a breathtaking new trilogy from Teri Terry, queen of the teen psychological thriller and author of the bestselling Slated trilogy!URGENT!An epidemic is sweeping the country.You are among the infected. There is no cure; and you cannot be permitted to infect others. You are now under quarantine. The very few of the infected who survive are dangerous and will be taken into the custody of the army.Young runaway Callie survived the disease, but not the so-called treatment. Her brother Kai is still looking for her. And his new friend Shay may hold the key to uncovering what truly happened. From the author of the international sensation Slated comes the first book in a powerful new story of survival and transformation; love and power.

Wayland

Proud to be Deaf

Ava Beese, Lilli Beese, Nick Beese, Romina Martí
Contributors:
Ava Beese, Lilli Beese, Nick Beese, Romina Martí

Ava is like any other 7-year-old. She likes to talk and laugh with her friends, is obsessed with dogs and loves being active. Ava is also deaf - and she's proud of it. She loves her Deaf community, that she's bilingual, and that she experiences the world differently from hearing people. In this book, Ava welcomes her hearing peers to her daily life, the way technology helps her navigate the world and explains common misconceptions about deaf people - and introduces some of her deaf heroes who have achieved amazing things. She talks about her experiences at school making friends with hearing children, and teaches readers the BSL alphabet and BSL phrases. Featuring photos of Ava, her friends and family throughout, plus illustrations of hand signs.

Orchard Books

The Magic Necklace – Bumper Special Book!

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

A gorgeous new series about magical princesses and best friends. Book one is a special long adventure for even more magical fun! Best friends Charlotte and Mia can't bear it when Charlotte's family moves far away. But when they're given magic necklaces, they begin an amazing adventure together - and they can see each other whenever they like! When their magic necklaces whisk them to Wishing Star Palace, Charlotte and Mia meet the Secret Princesses, magical princesses who make wishes come true for girls just like them. Best of all, Charlotte and Mia have what it takes to become Secret Princesses themselves! But when the girls go to grant their first wish they're in for a nasty surprise - horrid Princess Poison is determined to stop the wish from coming true... Can Charlotte and Mia grant Olivia's wish and save Wishing Star Palace? Plus...* Special campaign with Monsoon Children's - win the same princess outfits as Charlotte and Mia for you and your best friend!* Collect the tokens for a exclusive Best Friends necklace designed by Monsoon!

Hodder Children's Books

Lying Out Loud

Kody Keplinger
Authors:
Kody Keplinger
Orchard Books

Zepha the Monster Squid

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

The Evil Wizard Malvel has stolen the magical suit of golden armour and scattered it throughout Avantia. Tom vows to find the pieces - but they are guarded by six terrifying new Beasts! Will Tom survive an underwater battle with Zepha the Monster Squid and collect the first piece of armour?Don't missCLAW THE GIANT MONKEY, SOLTRA THE STONE CHARMER, VIPERO THE SNAKE MAN, ARACHNID THE KING OF SPIDERS, TRILLION THE THREE-HEADED LION