Jeanne Willis - The Diary of the Naughtiest Girl - Hachette Children's Group

The Diary of the Naughtiest Girl

By Jeanne Willis
Illustrated by Alex T. Smith

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

Written by Jeanne Willis and illustrated by Alex T. Smith, this book is inspired by one of Enid Blyton's best-loved series.

Inspired by Enid Blyton's bestselling school series The Naughtiest Girl - this is the hilarious diary of the naughtiest pupil there's ever been. Fans of Tom Gates will love this!

'Mum says pupils aren't allowed to take mobile devices to Whyteleafe ... excuse me? It's the twenty-first century! What next? Ride to school on a penny-farthing?'

When Elizabeth Allen is packed off to boarding school, armed with nothing but a journal to write in for entertainment, she is NOT impressed. How will she survive without her home comforts, especially her pony Ross (the only boy she has ever truly loved)? Elizabeth comes up with a cunning plan: she will be so naughty that she gets sent home . . .

But then Elizabeth discovers a love for music and makes her first ever friend ... perhaps school life might not be as bad as she thought?

The Diary of the Naughtiest Girl is written by bestselling author Jeanne Willis and illustrated by Alex T. Smith, acclaimed creator of the Claude books.

Biographical Notes

Jeanne Willis (Author)
Jeanne Willis is an award-winning, internationally bestselling author, whose titles include I Hate School, I Want to Be a Cowgirl and Don't Let Go. Jeanne lives in London.

Alex T. Smith (Illustrator)
After briefly considering careers in space travel, cookery and being a rabbit, Alex T. Smith finally decided to become an illustrator. Soon after he graduated from art school he won second place in the Macmillan Prize for Children's Illustration and has gone on to have a stellar career, creating such favourite picture book characters as Claude from Claude in the City, Claude on Holiday and Claude Going for Gold.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444932577
  • Publication date: 08 Sep 2016
  • Page count: 160
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Top marks must go to The Diary of the Naughtiest Girl, an imaginative reworking of Enid Blyton's Forties classic The Naughtiest Girl in the School. The spoilt Elizabeth turns out to be a witty and eagle-eyed diarist, capable of some gentle self-parody — The Daily Telegraph
Willis manages to transplant the story into modern day without losing the charm of the original book. — Sentinel (Stoke-on-Trent)
Hodder Children's Books

Mrs Blackhat and the ZoomBroom

Mick Inkpen, Chloe Inkpen
Authors:
Mick Inkpen, Chloe Inkpen

Mrs Blackhat returns in a hilarious new story from the bestselling creators of I Will Love You Anyway and Hole in the Zoo. Mrs Blackhat the witch has a new broom. And it's not just any broom: it's a whizzy new ZoomBroom, with buttons and bleeps and its very own high-tech app! But when the battery on the ZoomBroom starts to run low, Mrs Blackhat discovers that while technology is great, there sometimes a place for good old-fashioned magic too.

Orion Children's Books

The Wishing Bones

Michelle Lovric
Authors:
Michelle Lovric
Hodder Children's Books

The Paper & Hearts Society

Lucy Powrie
Authors:
Lucy Powrie

A brand new series from "the Zoella of books" - all about what happens when you give up on trying to fit in in and let your weird out! You're invited to join The Paper & Hearts Society ... get ready to find your people! Tabby Brown is tired of trying to fit in with her classmates. She doesn't want to go to parties at the weekend - in fact, she would much rather snuggle up on the sofa with her favourite book. It's like she hasn't found her people ...That is until she moves to a new town where a book club, The Paper & Hearts Society, is recruiting. Tabby might just be in luck. Enough of her old "friends" who only talk to her when they need something. It's time for Quidditch themed fancy dress parties, games like "shut up and Shakespeare" ... and LOTS of chocolate. Perfect for fans of Holly Smale and Super Awkward.

Orchard Books

Grandma Dangerous and the Toe of Treachery

Kita Mitchell
Authors:
Kita Mitchell
Orion Children's Books

Viper

Bex Hogan
Authors:
Bex Hogan

Marianne has been training to be the Viper for her entire life - to serve and protect the King and the citizens of The Twelve Isles - but to become the Viper and protect the islands she loves she must find the strength to defeat her father. A new fantasy trilogy perfect for fans of Sarah J Maas.He will make me a killer.Or he will have me killed.That is my destiny.Seventeen-year-old Marianne is fated to one day become the Viper, defender of the Twelve Isles.But the reigning Viper stands in her way. Corrupt and merciless, he prowls the seas in his warship, killing with impunity, leaving only pain and suffering in his wake.He's the most dangerous man on the ocean . . . and he is Marianne's father.She was born to protect the islands. But can she fight for them if it means losing her family, her home, the boy she loves - and perhaps even her life?A brave heroine. An impossible dilemma. An epic new fantasy trilogy set on the high seas.

Hodder Children's Books

The Colour of the Sun

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond

A darkly twisted detective ghost tale, from the winner of the Guardian Children's Book Prize.Davie travels his small town in search of a supposed murderer. But the landscape soon starts to blur into something dark and twisted. He must make sense of the landscape, if he has any chance of finding answers. The people he encounters on his travels don't seem entirely real either. Then he meets the victim of the murder ... but, is he dead, or alive?

Hodder Children's Books

Frockodile

Jeanne Willis, Stephanie Laberis
Contributors:
Jeanne Willis, Stephanie Laberis

Celebrating acceptance and being who you really are, this joyful story is about Cliff, the crocodile who wants to wear a dress.When the hyenas laugh at Cliff, he pretends he's dressing up for a play. But no play exists! Luckily his friend Freddy comes to the rescue and creates a show for Cliff to star in. But what will his dad say when he sees him?A funny story about inclusion and supporting your friends and family illustrated with exuberance.Jeanne Willis is an award-winning author who has written over 150 books, including The Bog Baby, the Paddington Movie novelisation and Tadpole's Promise.

Orchard Books

Princess Prom: Two magical adventures in one!

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

Secret Princesses is a gorgeous series about magical princesses and best friends. Princes Prom is a special bumper long book with two stories for even more magical fun! Will Charlotte and Mia finally get their princess wands? Best friends Shelley and Kat are desperate to put on the perfect Jingle Bells Ball. Their whole school is counting on them and they wish everything could go well. And if Charlotte and Mia grant their wishes, they'll finally become fully-fledged Secret Princesses! But mean Princess Poison hates Christmas, hates fun and most of all hates happiness. Can the girls defeat her one last time?Join Charlotte and Mia in this brilliant adventure full of princess sparkle and Christmas excitement!

Orchard Books

Enchantimals: Best Friends Forever

Meet the Enchantimals of Wonderwood and their animal besties! Keepers of their forest home, they maintain balance, peace and harmony amongst all living things.When Patter Peacock and her bestie, Flap, get washed away from their home, they end up in Wonderwood. They meet four new friends who show them the sights and make Patter feel right at home. Flap feels homesick and doesn't want to stay, but Patter doesn't seem to notice. When Flap tries to make his way home alone, Patter and her new friends race to find him, and realise that home is where your friends are. Based on the Enchantimals animated special, Finding Home.

Wayland

What is Feminism? Why do we need It? And Other Big Questions

Bea Appleby, Louise Spilsbury
Authors:
Bea Appleby, Louise Spilsbury
Orion Children's Books

The Secret of Supernatural Creek

Lauren St John
Authors:
Lauren St John

Hodder Children's Books

Tell Me a Story, Rory

Jeanne Willis, Holly Clifton Brown
Contributors:
Jeanne Willis, Holly Clifton Brown

A touching, timeless story about love and growing-up from bestselling author Jeanne Willis and rising star Holly Clifton-Brown.Rory the lion can't sleep without a bedtime story and the little girl never forgets to tell him one. But one day the girl - not so little now - goes away. If Rory tells his own bedtime story will it somehow come true? Will it bring his little girl back?Jeanne Willis is an award-winning author who has written over 150 books, including The Bog Baby, the Paddington Movie novelisation and Tadpole's Promise.

Quercus Children's Books

Never Fade

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken
Orion Children's Books

The White Giraffe Series: Operation Rhino

Lauren St John, David Dean
Contributors:
Lauren St John, David Dean
Orchard Books

Lila and Myla the Twins Fairies

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Kirsty and Rachel are invited to a special birthday celebration organised for twins! At the party, the two friends meet Tilly the Twins Fairy but Jack Frost has stolen her magical items! Now the girls must help Tilly get them back, before Jack Frost creates his very own twin! Can the girls help their fairy friend to get her magical items back before it's too late?There's a heart necklace and a Gemini ring to find in this book.

Orchard Books

Florence the Friendship Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Beyond the Kingdoms

Chris Colfer
Authors:
Chris Colfer

Fairy tales are just the beginning.The Masked Man is on the loose in the Land of Stories, and it's up to Alex and Conner Bailey to stop him . . . except Alex has been thrown off the Fairy Council, and no one will believe they're in danger.With only the help of the ragtag group of Goldilocks, Jack, Red Riding Hood, and Mother Goose and her gander, Lester, the Bailey twins discover the Masked Man's secret scheme: he possesses a powerful magic potion that turns every book it touches into a portal, and he is recruiting an army of literature's greatest villains!So begins a race through the magical Land of Oz, the fantastical world of Neverland, the madness of Wonderland, and beyond. Can Alex and Conner catch up to the Masked Man, or will they be one step behind until it's too late?Fairy tales and classic stories collide in the fourth adventure in the bestselling Land of Stories series as the twins travel beyond the kingdoms!

Orchard Books

Maisie Dappletrot Saves the Day

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Hodder Children's Books

Five Go Adventuring Again

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timmy the dog find excitement and adventure wherever they go in Enid Blyton's most popular series. In their second adventure, the Famous Five find a thief at Kirrin Cottage. They think they know who it is, but need to prove it. Will the discovery of a very old map help uncover the true culprit?The text in this edition has been sensitively edited for today's reader and is unillustrated.

Hodder Children's Books

Five Go Off To Camp

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timmy the dog find excitement and adventure wherever they go in Enid Blyton's most popular series. In book seven, the Famous Five investigate spook trains in the dead of night. The trains seem to vanish into thin air, but where do they go? The Five discover an unusual underground tunnel system and a secret train-service.If they follow the tracks, will they solve the mystery?The text in this edition has been sensitively edited for today's reader and is unillustrated.