David Melling - Knight Tales - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Knight Tales

By David Melling

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

This collection includes three classic stories from David Melling, full of quests, magic, humour and bedtime kisses.

From the bestselling creator of Hugless Douglas, this classic collection features three stories in one and is filled with quests, magic, humour and bedtime kisses.

The king is in a hurry and blows his son a bedtime kiss... but it misses. The kiss flies out of the window and a brave knight and his horse are sent on a quest to bring it back. This loveable duo find themselves heading on more quests in their other adventures.

David Melling is one of the UK's best-loved author-illustrators and his stories combine brilliantly imaginative illustrations and unforgettable characters.

Includes:
The Kiss That Missed
Good Knight Sleep Tight
The Three Wishes

'Melling's illustrations are as snazzy and snappy as his prose.' Guardian

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444931785
  • Publication date: 05 Oct 2017
  • Page count: 96
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
A 'wonderfully comic little charmer... Melling's illustrations are as snazzy and as snappy as his prose.' — The Guardian
It's funny and original and an absolute delight to read aloud - a perfect bedtime read. — The Parents Guide
The text is lively but it is the comic book style illustrations that steal the show. — Junior
An ideal bedtime book. This delightful tale is a true charmer. Warm, funny and not the least bit soppy, it will be enjoyed by both boys and girls. — The Scotsman
A touching tale about the power of love. — Waterstone's Book Quarterly
Hodder Children's Books

You Can't Cuddle a Crocodile

Diana Hendry, Edward Eaves
Contributors:
Diana Hendry, Edward Eaves

A little girl takes an imaginative romp through the animal kingdom in this delightful tale from award-winning author Diana Hendry!Everyone knows that little sisters can be a handful. But this little sister is more - she's a zoo-ful! She's a monkey, a bear, a camel, a penguin, a crocodile... If only she'd be a little girl now and again. After all, you can't cuddle a crocodile...A fresh and funny picture book from much-loved author Diana Hendry.Read more about Diana Hendry at dianahendry.co.uk

Hodder Children's Books

The Colour of Happy

Laura Baker, Angie Rozelaar
Contributors:
Laura Baker, Angie Rozelaar

A beautiful explanation of feelings shown through colour as one little boy navigates a range of emotions - from happiness and excitement to hope and love, all on his way to present a gift to his mum. Blue is for the calm I feel wandering in the spring.Yellow is for happy when I spot a special thing.This book is the perfect introduction to both emotions and colours.

Hodder Children's Books

Little Tigers

Jo Weaver
Authors:
Jo Weaver

Told through the eyes of a tiger and her two cubs, this beautiful book is a story of nature, migration, family and the strength of parental love.Mother Tiger and her two cubs journey through their jungle habitat, searching high and low for the perfect new home where they will be safe. A beautifully illustrated celebration of the love between parent and child and the wonders of the natural world. With its mesmerising, atmospheric charcoal drawings and lyrical storytelling, Jo Weaver's new picture book has the feel of an instant classic. Perfect for fans of BBC's Planet Earth.Jo Weaver was shortlisted for the AOI Illustration New Talent Awards.

Hodder Children's Books

Smile with Splosh Board Book

David Melling
Authors:
David Melling
Hodder Children's Books

A Day with Splosh Board Book

David Melling
Authors:
David Melling

Join Splosh on his busy day in this fun story from the bestselling creator of Hugless Douglas. Splosh has a busy day at Little School planned - there's all his fluffy duck friends to see, kites to fly and painting to be done. Will he be able to do everything?This adorable story will introduce the daily routine to the youngest of readers.

Hodder Children's Books

Amazing

Steve Antony
Authors:
Steve Antony
Hodder Children's Books

Hugless Douglas and the Baby Birds

David Melling
Authors:
David Melling

Join Douglas for springtime magic in a new adventure. This bestselling series has sold over 1.6 million copies to date in 26 languages!When a nest full of eggs comes crashing down Hugless Douglas offers to look after them until Swoopy Bird has built a new home. But Douglas soon discovers a hug is not enough to keep a little egg safe. David Melling is one of the UK's best-loved author-illustrators and his ninth book about Douglas the brown bear is as funny and compelling as the first. It combines brilliantly imaginative illustrations with an endearing sense of what it is like to be a small child learning about the world.'A new Hugless Douglas book is always a cause for celebration.' - Daily Mail

Hodder Children's Books

The Summoner's Handbook

Taran Matharu
Authors:
Taran Matharu

Delve deeper into the world of Summoner, with this beautifully designed Summoner's Handbook, complete with bumper Demonology and an exclusive new story. A must-have for all Summoner fans!Read the journal that started it all, and rediscover Vocans Academy through the eyes of the commoner, James Baker. The guide contains a fully illustrated and complete demonology and spellbook, with assorted drawings, maps, diagrams and sketches throughout! You'll learn everything a Summoner should and more.Beautifully rendered in two tone colours and full of detailed sketches, this hardback is the perfect treat for new and old fans of the New York Times bestselling SUMMONER series.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Scent of Danger

Abie Longstaff
Authors:
Abie Longstaff

The second book in The Trapdoor Mysteries, a series about Tally, a code-breaking, animal-loving servant girl and her best friend, a squirrel named Squill, who solve mysteries with the help of a secret library...Orphan Tally is the servant girl at Mollett Manor - and she's also the Secret Keeper of the magical library hidden beneath a trapdoor, underneath the manor's grounds. Along with Squill the squirrel, she uses the enchanted books to solve crimes. So when Lady Mollett's new puppy, Widdles, is kidnapped, Tally and Squill head straight to the library. But will they be able to catch the dognapper or is it already too late?

Hodder Children's Books

Once Upon a Bedtime

David Melling
Authors:
David Melling
Hodder Children's Books

Rain or Shine

David Melling
Authors:
David Melling

This bright, bold, rhyming story from the creator of the bestselling Hugless Douglas is a wonderfully funny introduction to weather for the very young and great to read aloud.Follow the hilarious pogo-stick loving bunnies through rain, wind, ice and snow. Whatever the weather, the funny bunnies always play together!Don't miss Funny Bunnies: Up and Down - a brilliant introduction to opposites.Praise for Hugless Douglas: 'A new Hugless Douglas book is always a cause for celebration. Daily Mail

Hodder Children's Books

Merry Christmas, Hugless Douglas

David Melling
Authors:
David Melling
Hodder Children's Books

Hugless Douglas Goes to Little School

David Melling
Authors:
David Melling

A new edition of this bestselling story with a striking new cover.Hugless Douglas is very excited to be going to Little School. There is so much to do - and lots of hugs to be given out!This is the sixth adventure in the hugely popular series, which has sold over 1.4 million copies in 26 languages to date. David Melling is one of the UK's best-loved author-illustrators and his stories combine brilliantly imaginative illustrations with an endearing sense of what it is like to be a small child learning about the world.Hello, Hugless Douglas! was a World Book Day picture book in 2014 and a number one bestseller, selling over 450,000 copies.'A new Hugless Douglas book is always a cause for celebration.' Daily Mail'Winningly executed' The Sunday Times

Hodder Children's Books

To the Rescue!

Vivian French, David Melling
Contributors:
Vivian French, David Melling

A funny, exciting series for younger readers, by the bestselling Vivian French and David Melling.Sam J. Butterbiggins has one wish: to become a Very Noble Knight. But he's been packed off to his aunt and uncle's castle where knightly activities are not allowed. Sam's final quest is the hardest yet. With his cousin Prune by his side, he's going to have to use all his knightly skills as he heads into the Fearsome Forest. The wolves live there - and, high in the trees, even more terryifying creatures ...Beautifully illustrated throughout by David Melling.

Hodder Children's Books

Colour with Splosh!

David Melling
Authors:
David Melling
Hodder Children's Books

D is for Duck!

David Melling
Authors:
David Melling
Hodder Children's Books

Splosh!

David Melling
Authors:
David Melling
Hodder Children's Books

Hugless Douglas and the Great Cake Bake

David Melling
Authors:
David Melling

Join Douglas on a honey hunt in the seventh Hugless Douglas adventure. This bestselling series has sold over 1.4 million copies to date in 26 languages!The sheep are baking honey cakes and Douglas can't wait to try them. He's sure that food without honey just isn't yummy. Can he ever be tempted to try something new?David Melling is one of the UK's best-loved author-illustrators and his seventh book about Douglas the brown bear is as funny and compelling as the first. It combines brilliantly imaginative illustrations with an endearing sense of what it is like to be a small child learning about the world.Hello, Hugless Douglas! was a World Book Day picture book in 2014. 'A new Hugless Douglas book is always a cause for celebration.' - Daily Mail

Hodder Children's Books

Up and Down

David Melling
Authors:
David Melling
Hodder Children's Books

Just Like My Mum

David Melling
Authors:
David Melling

One mischievous little lion cub is keen to show how he can act just like his mum. But when it comes to bedtime, there's no one as good as her!From the bestselling creator of Hugless Douglas, this humorous, touching tale is a celebration of mums everywhere.David Melling is one of the UK's best-loved author-illustrators and his stories combine brilliantly imaginative illustrations with an endearing sense of what it is like to be a small child learning about the world.