Caryl Hart - Knock Knock Pirate - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £6.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444928525
    • Publication date:05 Apr 2018
Books in this series

Knock Knock Pirate

By Caryl Hart
Illustrated by Nick East

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A pirate counting book that's full of surprises, from award-winning author Caryl Hart and bestselling illustrator Nick East!

A rhyming pirate counting book with a difference - the follow up to the hilarious Knock Knock Dinosaur - from award-winning author Caryl Hart, creator of How to Grow a Dinosaur, and bestselling illustrator Nick East.

A visit from a pirate might sound like fun . . . but when the Captain's whole crew turn up too - causing mayhem and chaos - it's time for this little girl to panic. What is Dad going to say when he gets home?!

Caryl Hart has won the Stockport Children's Book Award, the Oldham Brilliant Books Award, the Rotherham Children's Book Award, and has been shortlisted for the Red House Children's Book Award.

Follow Caryl at carylhart.com and @carylhart1

Find Nick at nickeastillustration.com

Biographical Notes

Caryl Hart (Author)
Caryl Hart is the author of many bestselling books for children, including the hugely successful How to Grow A Dinosaur and The Princess and the Peas. She is the winner of the Stockport Children's Book Award, the Sheffield Children's Book Award and the Lancashire Share a Story Award. Caryl lives on the top of a windy hill in the Peak District with her guitar-playing husband, two cheeky daughters, one extremely fluffy black cat, a goldfish, four hens and an invisible dog called Paddy.

Follow Caryl at carylhart.com and @carylhart1


Nick East (Illustrator)
Nick East is the illustrator of the bestselling Toto the Ninja Cat as well as the Goodnight Digger and Knock Knock series. He has been working as a museum designer for the past 16 years but has always been a storyteller, whether as a child, filling sketchbooks with quirky characters, or as a designer displaying a collection of ancient artefacts. Nick lives near York with his wife and two children and, when he isn't drawing, he is out riding bikes and spending time with his family.

Find Nick at nickeastillustration.com

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444928518
  • Publication date: 11 Jan 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
A rip-roaring story, with pirates young and old, and packed with fun and laughs. — Sarah Brew, Parents in Touch
his fun counting book is exciting and pacy and will keep the little ones heartily entertained. Bold and energetic illustrations with lots to discover that will keep children and adults amused. — South Wales Evening Post
A rip-roaring story, with pirates young and old, and packed with fun and laughs.
his fun counting book is exciting and pacy and will keep the little ones heartily entertained. Bold and energetic illustrations with lots to discover that will keep children and adults amused.
Pat-a-Cake

Space

Pat-a-Cake, Maria Neradova
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Maria Neradova

This brilliant book is full of out-of-this-world space scenes and activities. The big stickers are easy for little fingers to find, peel off and stick, putting an end to the frustration of fiddly stickers. From rocket ships and astronauts, to shooting stars and aliens, there is plenty to spot, talk about and do inside. Words and sounds that match the scenes help build vocabulary and a huge, fold-out picture to decorate will keep little ones entertained for hours. Also available: Big Stickers for Tiny Hands: Things That Go, On the Farm, Dinosaurs, Out and About, Wild Animals, Big Machines

Hodder Children's Books

Super Snail

Elys Dolan
Authors:
Elys Dolan
Pat-a-Cake

Show and Tell

Pat-a-Cake
Authors:
Pat-a-Cake
Pat-a-Cake

Bestest Friends

Pat-a-Cake
Authors:
Pat-a-Cake
Pat-a-Cake

Icky Sticky Stickers

Pat-a-Cake
Authors:
Pat-a-Cake
Pat-a-Cake

Big Machines

Pat-a-Cake, Genie Espinosa
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Genie Espinosa
Pat-a-Cake

Fancy Dress

Pat-a-Cake
Authors:
Pat-a-Cake

Perfect for celebrating all things fancy dress, and great for World Book Day! Create crazy costume combinations as you flip the flaps/ Mix and match fun fancy dress costumes to make lots of new flip flap friends with this colourful split-page book. Watch as spacesuits, tiger costumes and footballers get all mixed up in this rainbow book of new fancy dress friends. With 72 possible combinations s to mix and match, children will keep coming back for more flip flap fun.

Hodder Children's Books

Oi Cat! Board Book

Kes Gray, Jim Field
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Jim Field
Hodder Children's Books

Lots of Frogs

Howard Calvert, Claudia Boldt
Contributors:
Howard Calvert, Claudia Boldt

Tommy Fox has a box - a box full of frogs. And when they all jump out at school, that's when the fun begins! There is chaos in the classroom and high jinks in the hall. Can Tommy get the frogs back in the box?You'll want to hop along with this fun, rhyming text by debut author Howard Calvert with deliciously bright and bold illustrations from Claudia Boldt!

Hodder Children's Books

Knock Knock Alien

Caryl Hart, Nick East
Contributors:
Caryl Hart, Nick East

Aliens at the door can only mean trouble in this hilarious rhyming counting book that is out of this world! A little girl is in for an interstellar adventure when the noisy space invaders hijack her house to get home. Can she get back down to Earth - without waking Gran?!The follow-up to the hilarious Knock Knock Dinosaur and Knock Knock Pirate - from award-winning author Caryl Hart, creator of Supermarket Zoo, and bestselling illustrator Nick East.

Orchard Books

Rainbow Magic Early Reader: Alyssa the Snow Queen Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

This cheerful and inviting Early Reader brings the blast of colour that Rainbow Magic's youngest fans have been waiting for!Alyssa the Snow Queen Fairy makes sure that everyone is happy throughout winter in both the human and fairy worlds. But when nasty Jack Frost steals her magical objects, everything becomes an icy misery! Can Rachel and Kirsty help get them back before Fairyland freezes over?

Hodder Children's Books

Frockodile

Jeanne Willis, Stephanie Laberis
Contributors:
Jeanne Willis, Stephanie Laberis

Celebrating acceptance and being who you really are, this joyful story is about Cliff, the crocodile who wants to wear a dress.When the hyenas laugh at Cliff, he pretends he's dressing up for a play. But no play exists! Luckily his friend Freddy comes to the rescue and creates a show for Cliff to star in. But what will his dad say when he sees him?A funny story about inclusion and supporting your friends and family illustrated with exuberance.Jeanne Willis is an award-winning author who has written over 150 books, including The Bog Baby, the Paddington Movie novelisation and Tadpole's Promise.

Pat-a-Cake

Supermoon Adventure

Pat-a-Cake
Authors:
Pat-a-Cake
Orchard Books

The Snow Queen Classic Pop-up and Play

Hans Christian Andersen, Laura Barrett
Contributors:
Hans Christian Andersen, Laura Barrett

The ultimate gift edition of Hans Christian Andersen's classic tale, with intricate silhouette artwork and a pop-up-and-play theatre finale.Unfold the concertina pages to follow Gerda's epic journey to the palace of the Snow Queen to rescue her best friend Kai, bewitched by a splinter of ice from an enchanted mirror. Reveal a beautiful pop-up palace on the final page and interact using the stand-up play figures. Discover enchanting silhouette artwork from artist Laura Barrett alongside a simple, evocative retelling of this famous tale. With a decorative foiled cover, this lavish gift book is a must-have addition to any child's bookshelf.

Hodder Children's Books

King Flashypants and the Snowball of Doom

Andy Riley
Authors:
Andy Riley
Hodder Children's Books

Toto the Ninja Cat and the Incredible Cheese Heist

Dermot O’Leary, Nick East
Contributors:
Dermot O’Leary, Nick East
Orchard Books

Cinderella

Ursula Jones, Jessica Courtney Tickle
Contributors:
Ursula Jones, Jessica Courtney Tickle

Rediscover the magic of Cinderella and enter a world of enchantment and romance with this exquisite picture book retelling. Award-winning author Ursula Jones breathes new life into this enduring and best-loved fairytale with her characteristic blend of warmth, humour and charm. Paired with dazzlingly intricate illustrations, this is a wonderfully evocative, beautiful and contemporary edition of this timeless classic

Orchard Books

Ten Little Robots

Mike Brownlow, Simon Rickerty
Contributors:
Mike Brownlow, Simon Rickerty
Orion Children's Books

Embassy of the Dead

Will Mabbitt
Authors:
Will Mabbitt

The first book in a spookily funny new series, where the living meets the dead and survival is a race against time. Perfect for fans of Skulduggery Pleasant and Who Let the Gods Out.Welcome to the Embassy of the Dead. Leave your life at the door. (Thanks.)When Jake opens a strange box containing a severed finger, he accidentally summons a grim reaper to drag him to the Eternal Void (yep, it's as fatal as it sounds) and now he's running for his life! But luckily Jake isn't alone - he can see and speak to ghosts.Jake and his deadly gang (well dead, at least) - Stiffkey the undertaker, hockey stick-wielding, Cora, and Zorro the ghost fox - have one mission: find the Embassy of the Dead and seek protection. But the Embassy has troubles of its own and may not be the safe haven Jake is hoping for . . .

Orchard Books

Ten Little Elves

Mike Brownlow, Simon Rickerty
Contributors:
Mike Brownlow, Simon Rickerty

Ten little elves set off on a mission to rescue Christmas. But what will the little elves do when they meet a growling polar bear, a yowling yeti and a scary Ice Queen? Will the little eleves save the day?Count from ten to one, and back again, with this fabulously festive picture book. With lots of things to spot and count on every page, this noisy rhyming story from the creators of the bestselling Ten Little Pirates is perfect for sharing again and again. (And comes complete with a shimmering foiled cover!)Praise for the Ten Little series:"Roaringly funny rhymes" - Independent"A rollicking read with an easy rhythm and jaunty illustrations ... excellent" - Guardian"Hilarious. Will have both child and reader laughing out loud" - Angels & Urchins"Brilliant to help teach children to recognise numbers" - New Statesman