Kody Keplinger - Lying Out Loud - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444928174
    • Publication date:02 Jul 2015
Books in this series

Lying Out Loud

A companion novel to The DUFF

By Kody Keplinger

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

Can't get enough of Bianca and Wesley from The DUFF? Kody Keplinger returns to the world of Hamilton High in this companion novel.

Revisit Hamilton High in this MUST READ for all fans of The DUFF - co-starring Bianca and Wesley.

Sonny Ardmore is an excellent liar. She lies about her dad being in prison. She lies about her mom kicking her out. And she lies about sneaking into her best friend's house every night because she has nowhere else to go.

Amy Rush might be the only person Sonny shares everything with - secrets, clothes, even a nemesis named Ryder Cross.

Ryder's the new kid at Hamilton High and everything Sonny and Amy can't stand - a prep-school snob. But Ryder has a weakness: Amy. So when Ryder emails Amy asking her out, the friends see it as a prank opportunity not to be missed.

But without meaning to, Sonny ends up talking to Ryder all night online. And to her horror, she realizes that she might actually 'like' him. Only there's one small catch: he thinks he's been talking to Amy. So Sonny comes up with an elaborate scheme to help Ryder realize that she's the girl he's really wanted all along. Can Sonny lie her way to the truth, or will all her lies end up costing her both Ryder and Amy?

From the author of The Duff - now a major film starring Bella Thorne, Mae Whitman and Alison Janney, out in DVD in Summer 2015.

Biographical Notes

Kody Keplinger was born and raised in a small Kentucky town. She wrote her first novel, The DUFF (Designated Ugly Fat Friend) when she was only 17.

Kody is the cofounder of Disability in Kidlit, a website devoted to the representation of disabilities in children's literature.

Currently, Kody lives in New York City, where she teaches writing workshops and continues to write books for kids and teens. Kody's website is kodykeplinger.com

'I always felt like the "ugly girl" in high school - my best friends are insanely gorgeous - so when I was introduced to the word during my senior year, I knew I was the Duff. The idea of writing a book with "Duff" in the title started as a joke, but when I realized that my friends felt like Duffs, too, I knew I had to write this story.'

The DUFF is now a major motion picture starring Bella Thorne, Mae Whitman and Alison Janney.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444928167
  • Publication date: 02 Jul 2015
  • Page count: 368
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Orchard Books

Trixie and the Terrible Trick

G M Berrow
Authors:
G M Berrow

Join all your My Little Pony friends in these brilliant original adventures, inspired by the hit TV show.Trixie is on a mission - to impress the legendary Starmane Society of Magicians with a spectacular feat of magic. She can't believe her luck when she develops a mysterious glowing hoof, transforming everything she touches into precious gems! This is sure to do the trick ...But when the glow starts to spread Trixie's in trouble! Can the My Little Pony friends reverse the curse before it's too late?

Hodder Children's Books

That's Not What Happened

Kody Keplinger
Authors:
Kody Keplinger
Hodder Children's Books

Colour Me In

Lydia Ruffles
Authors:
Lydia Ruffles

The breathtaking second book from the author of The Taste of Blue Light. THE CATCHER IN THE RYE meets LOST IN TRANSLATION in this feverish story about trying to outrun yourself. Praise for The Taste of Blue Light:"Beautiful. Visceral. Gripping." Louise O'NeillArlo is restless. Having quit his latest acting job, he fills his days following people for character inspiration, hanging out with his flatmate, and wondering how quickly his fandom will forget him. But when a new project ends in tragedy, Arlo is reminded of a past loss and risks his future by fleeing 5,000 miles to outrun his pain.Lost in a neon city, Arlo is just another foreigner who can't communicate. He begins following people, leading him to befriend a mysterious environmentalist called Mizuki who reveals her obsession with finding an image that nobody has photographed before. Together they seek out abandoned places- he wanting to be as lost as possible and she in search of the perfect, never-captured image.

Orchard Books

Evolution

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry
Orion Children's Books

Lane of the Lost

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Hodder Children's Books

Grace and Fury

Tracy Banghart, Tracy Banghart
Authors:
Tracy Banghart, Tracy Banghart
Hodder Children's Books

The Love Curse: Arrowheart

Rebecca Sky
Authors:
Rebecca Sky
Hodder Children's Books

Run, Riot

Nikesh Shukla
Authors:
Nikesh Shukla

A powerful novel about young people standing up for themselves and their community, from the editor/author of The Good Immigrant.When teenagers Hari and Jamal film the police shooting an unarmed young man from their estate, they find themselves hunted by the very people who should be protecting them. But as they go on the run with Hari's twin sister, Taran, and Jamal's girlfriend, Anna, the teenagers discover that the truth behind the shooting goes so much deeper, with terrible personal consequences for them all. A hard-hitting YA crime thriller dealing with timely themes of youth helplessness, gentrification and police brutality.

Franklin Watts

The Toxic Cookie Monster

Tony Bradman, Wil Overton
Contributors:
Tony Bradman, Wil Overton

Kid Force 3 are Jayden, Layla and Caleb. They aren't regular kids, they're super kids - each with an amazing superhero power.In Toxic Cookie Monster a bad bag of cookies turns a teacher into a monster, and Kid Force 3 have to save the town from her chocolate chip craving.This title is published by Franklin Watts EDGE, which produces a range of books to get children reading with confidence. This series is suitable for guided reading with children aged 5+, but also for older readers with low reading confidence or struggling to enjoy books.

Franklin Watts

Dr Vlogger

Tony Bradman, Wil Overton
Contributors:
Tony Bradman, Wil Overton

Kid Force 3 are Jayden, Layla and Caleb. They aren't regular kids, they're super kids - each with an amazing superhero power.In this adventure, Dr Vlogger has taken over control of all electrical gadgets, and wants to take over the world. Kid Force 3 fly out to put in bug in his plansThis title is published by Franklin Watts EDGE, which produces a range of books to get children reading with confidence. This series is suitable for guided reading with children aged 5+, but also for older readers with low reading confidence or struggling to enjoy books.

Orchard Books

A Thousand Perfect Notes

C. G. Drews
Authors:
C. G. Drews

An emotionally charged story of music, abuse and, ultimately, hope.Beck hates his life. He hates his violent mother. He hates his home. Most of all, he hates the piano that his mother forces him to play hour after hour, day after day. He will never play as she did before illness ended her career and left her bitter and broken. But Beck is too scared to stand up to his mother, and tell her his true passion, which is composing his own music - because the least suggestion of rebellion on his part ends in violence.When Beck meets August, a girl full of life, energy and laughter, love begins to awaken within him and he glimpses a way to escape his painful existence. But dare he reach for it?Thrilling and powerfully written, this is an explosive debut for YA readers.

Orion Children's Books

The Haunting

Margaret Mahy
Authors:
Margaret Mahy

A brand-new edition of the Carnegie Medal-winning THE HAUNTING - written by internationally bestselling author, Margaret Mahy.'Strong and terrifying . . . The novel winds up like a spring. A psychological thriller' - Times Literary SupplementEight-year-old Barney has been haunted before. He thought it was something he'd just grow out of, like the imaginary friends his step-mother believes he has. But this time it's different. Footsteps follow him, there's a demanding voice barking orders and Barney begins to feel that sometimes his body is not his own at all . . .With the help of his sisters, Tabitha and Troy, Barney sets out to uncover the truth about their family secrets and to find out once and for all who it is who's haunting him.A thrilling ghost story about a 'mostly ordinary' family and a secret legacy.

Orion Children's Books

The Changeover

Margaret Mahy
Authors:
Margaret Mahy

A brand-new edition of the Carnegie Medal-winning THE CHANGEOVER - written by internationally bestselling author, Margaret Mahy.'A gorgeous, strange, unforgettable story . . . I more than loved it' Laini Taylor - author of Daughter of Smoke and Bone'A clammy hand pressed Laura down onto her knees beside Jacko's bed. It was the hand of terror, nothing less.'It was a warning. Laura felt it when she looked in the mirror that morning. There had been others: the day her father left home, the day she met Sorensen - the boy with the strange silver eyes.But nothing had prepared Laura for the horror of today. And now her little brother, Jacko, was fighting for his life after being sucked dry of his youth by the sinister Carmody Braque.Laura knows there is only one way to save Jacko; she must join Sorensen and use his supernatural powers to change over if there is to be any hope for her little brother.An unforgettable, supernatural romance.

Quercus Children's Books

We Are Young

Cat Clarke
Authors:
Cat Clarke

It starts with a wedding. And a car crash. An unforgettable story from the queen of emotional suspense, for fans of Jodi Picoult, Megan Abbott and Courtney Summers.'A new Cat Clarke novel is always something to celebrate' JUNO DAWSONOn the same night Evan's mother marries local radio DJ 'Breakfast Tim', Evan's brand-new step-brother Lewis is found unconscious and terribly injured, the only survivor of a horrific car crash.A media furore erupts, with the finger of blame pointed firmly at stoner, loner Lewis. Everyone else seems to think the crash was drugs-related, but Evan isn't buying it. With the help of her journalist father, Harry, she decides to find out what really happened that night.As Evan delves deeper into the lives of the three teenagers who died in the crash, she uncovers some disturbing truths and a secret that threatens to tear her family - and the community - apart for ever...

Hodder Children's Books

The Outcast

Taran Matharu
Authors:
Taran Matharu
Quercus Children's Books

Clean

Juno Dawson
Authors:
Juno Dawson
Orion Children's Books

The Astonishing Colour of After

Emily X. R. Pan
Authors:
Emily X. R. Pan
Hodder Children's Books

The Truth About Alice

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu
Hodder Children's Books

Midnight Sun

Trish Cook
Authors:
Trish Cook

Discover a summer love story like no other: soon to be a major motion picture starring Bella Thorne and Patrick Schwarzenegger, and perfect for fans of The Fault in our Stars and Everything, Everything.Katie can't leave her house during the day: she has a rare disease that makes even the smallest amount of sunlight deadly. But everything changes when one evening, singing her heart out on a deserted station platform, she meets Charlie.Before the night is out, Katie is smitten. But she hasn't told Charlie her secret. She just wants to have her normal love story, before reality kicks in. Lost in her night-time summer romance, Katie knows that love will light the way.A heartbreaking tale of love, loss and one nearly perfect summer.

Quercus Children's Books

The Black Ribbon

Eliza Wass
Authors:
Eliza Wass