Sheila O'Flanagan - Shield of Lies - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £6.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444927122
    • Publication date:08 Mar 2018
Books in this series

Shield of Lies

Book 2

By Sheila O'Flanagan

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A children's novel from the Sunday Times and Irish Times No. 1 bestselling author.

The gripping follow-up to The Crystal Run from the Sunday Times and Irish Times No. 1 bestselling author, for fans of Cornelia Funke, Susan Cooper and Philip Pullman.

'I know how much you love Carcassia. You were prepared to die for it. It must be terrible to realise that you have been betrayed.'

Kaia is from a world in which blind sacrifice is a virtue, and a Runner's life expendable.

It took Joe, an outsider, to show her that she must question the truth.

Now, Kaia and Joe have been taken prisoner.

Trusting her sworn enemies is the only way out.

Kaia and Joe must risk their lives and return to Carcassia to prevent more Runners from racing to their death.


Praise for The Crystal Run:

'Brims with all the hallmarks of a classic fantasy quest - a vividly evoked world, heart-rending conflict, compelling action' - LoveReading4Kids

'Will appeal to youngsters who enjoy reading about dangerous quests' - Sunday Independent

'Well-written, with a strong plot and excellent characters, this book gives us an
exciting, classic-style fantasy filled with intrigue' - Inis

'O'Flanagan's writing is crisp and concise and her plotting deft' - Belfast Telegraph

Biographical Notes

Sheila is an ex-bond dealer and financial journalist whose novels have all been immediate No 1 Irish bestsellers and Sheila also writes a weekly column for the Irish Times. Her books have been described 'as necessary to women as chocolate, and just as addictive!' Her last three novels have sold in excess of 1,000,000 copies in their British editions. With each publication she breaks her record of weeks at No 1. She was the recipient of the prestigious Irish Tatler Literary Woman of the Year award in 2003.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444927115
  • Publication date: 08 Mar 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Orchard Books

Elsie the Engineer Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Wayland

What is Race? Who are Racists? Why Does Skin Colour Matter? And Other Big Questions

Nikesh Shukla, Claire Heuchan
Authors:
Nikesh Shukla, Claire Heuchan
Wayland

Surrealism

Susie Brooks
Authors:
Susie Brooks

The Surrealist moment turned the art world on its head with bold, strange works of art that celebrated the subconscious and the power of dreams, and delighted in defying convention. With artists as celebrated as Salvador Dalí and Renè Magritte amongst them, the Surrealists' legacy lives on today, influencing media from art and music to film and advertising. An accessible and in-depth guide to some of the most popular and significant art movements, Inside Art Movements explores their origins, evolution and legacy in today's world. For readers aged 9 and up.

Wayland

Cubism

Susie Brooks
Authors:
Susie Brooks
Franklin Watts

The Toxic Cookie Monster

Tony Bradman, Wil Overton
Contributors:
Tony Bradman, Wil Overton
Franklin Watts

Dr Vlogger

Tony Bradman, Wil Overton
Contributors:
Tony Bradman, Wil Overton

Kid Force 3 are Jayden, Layla and Caleb. They aren't regular kids, they're super kids - each with an amazing superhero power.In this adventure, Dr Vlogger has taken over control of all electrical gadgets, and wants to take over the world. Kid Force 3 fly out to put in bug in his plans.This title is published by Franklin Watts EDGE, which produces a range of books to encourage children's reading development. This series is suitable for guided reading with children aged 5+, and contains accessible storylines in a familiar setting with science fiction themes. It can also be used with older, independent readers who have low reading confidence or who are struggling to enjoy books.

Hodder Children's Books

The Night Before the Night Before Christmas

Kes Gray, Claire Powell
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Claire Powell

A brilliantly funny picture book about what happens the night before Christmas Eve - from the bestselling author of Oi Frog!'Twas the night before the night before Christmas (That's Christmas Eve Eve). And Santa was wiping his brow on his sleeve.Green elves were sewing, Blue elves were counting, Red elves were carving, The pressure was mounting! It's the day before Christmas Eve and Santa is ever so busy ... he's got presents to wrap, reindeer to wake and a sleigh to start. But has he forgotten something? And, more importantly, will he be ready in time?Inspired by Clement C. Moore's classic festive poem, this hilarious, rhyming picture book is sure to have you ho ho ho-ing!

Hodder Children's Books

The Crystal Run

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

The gripping children's debut from the Sunday Times and Irish Times No. 1 bestselling author is a page-turning fantasy quest novel for fans of Cornelia Funke, Susan Cooper and Philip Pullman.'I am proud to die for Carcassia,' said Kaia. 'All Runners have a special place in our world, in our history.'Kaia Kukura has been awarded the great honour of protecting her country, and is determined to bring wealth and glory to her family. She must travel through enemy territory to replace the precious Kerala crystals that power Carcassia's protective shield. But no Runner is permitted to return after their mission. When Kaia hasfulfilled her Runner's oath, she knows her life must end.But sometimes it takes an outsider, someone from a different world, to question the truth.Fourteen-year-old Joe can barely outrun the school bullies who torment him daily. Cornered yet again, he tries to escape - and finds himself falling through a portal into another world. There, he meets fierce and strong Kaia. Together they discover that not everyone in Carcassia can be trusted - and that there are terriblelies at the heart of Kaia's beloved home.Can their combined strength and skill help Kaia save her country and herself? And will Joe ever find a way back to his own world?

Wayland

Amir Khan

Clive Gifford
Authors:
Clive Gifford

Amir Khan is a world champion boxer, who, in 2004 at the age of just 17, won a silver medal at the Athens Olympics. He is involved in several charitable projects, in Britain and around the world. Let his amazing story inspire you! Top tips give advice on how you can succeed in sport. Inspiration panels show who and what motivated Amir to reach his goals. A Day in the Life feature gives an insight into how Amir might spend his time.Discover more about key figures in the public eye with the Inspirational Lives series. These fascinating biographies focus on influential people, important for their achievements and contribution to their time and industry.Other titles in the series: Andy Murray, David Attenborough, Malala Yousafzai, Nelson Mandela, Stephen Hawking, Tim Berners-Lee and many more.

Wayland

Malala Yousafzai

Claudia Martin
Authors:
Claudia Martin
Wayland

Andy Murray

Clive Gifford
Authors:
Clive Gifford
Wayland

Usain Bolt

Simon Hart
Authors:
Simon Hart

The series focuses on the people who inspire children today. Each book looks at the background, life and achievements of a personality, their impact on popular culture as well as detailing the everyday facets of their job and how they have gained such success.

Anita Ganeri

Anita Ganeri is an award-winning author of children's information books. She has been a writer for 20 years, after working in-house for Usborne Publishing and Walker Books. She specialises in the natural world, religion and mythology but is always looking for new challenges. Among her many titles are the best-selling 'Horrible Geography' series for Scholastic Children's Books which won the Blue Peter Book Award for the Best Book with Facts in 2009 and the Tivy Education Medal from the Royal Scottish Geographical Society for an outstanding contribution to geographical education. Anita lives in northern England with her husband, children, dogs and cat. She enjoys reading, walking the Moors, playing tennis and dreaming of winning Wimbledon.

Chris Oxlade

Chris Oxlade, is an experienced writer of information books for children. He specializes in science and technology, and has written more than sixty titles, on subjects ranging from kites to virtual reality as well as books on various forms of transport.

Clare Hibbert

Clare specializes in non-fiction books for children of pre- and primary school age. Her favourite subjects are animals, history, art and culture. She has been shortlisted for the prestigious Aventis Junior Science Prize, and won a dozen Practical Pre-School Gold Awards. When she's not writing, Clare likes spending time with her family, taking long walks, going to the theatre and watching contemporary dance - her favourite dancer is Akram Khan.

Colin Hynson

Colin Hynson is an experienced children's and educational writer and broadcaster. He also acts as an educational consultant for museums and heritage sites.

Jen Green

Jen Green received a doctorate from the University of Sussex (Dept of English and American Studies) in 1982. She worked in publishing for 15 years and is now a full-time writer, who has written over 150 books for children. Her book 'Your Feelings: I'm Special' was short-listed for the NASEN Special Needs Award.

Jillian Powell

Jillian Powell has an MA in English from Cambridge University and an M.Phil in Art History from the Courtauld Institute, London. She is an experienced writer of children's fiction and non-fiction, and has written on many social issues.

Julia Adams

Julia Adams is an author and editor of children's books. She has an MA in Children's Literature.

Liz Gogerly

Liz Gogerly is a writer and editor of children's information books and a former teacher. She has worked on a wide variety of books and has a specialist knowledge of history and biographies.