Sheila O'Flanagan - Shield of Lies - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £6.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444927122
    • Publication date:08 Mar 2018
Books in this series

Shield of Lies

Book 2

By Sheila O'Flanagan

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A children's novel from the Sunday Times and Irish Times No. 1 bestselling author.

The gripping follow-up to The Crystal Run from the Sunday Times and Irish Times No. 1 bestselling author, for fans of Cornelia Funke, Susan Cooper and Philip Pullman.

'I know how much you love Carcassia. You were prepared to die for it. It must be terrible to realise that you have been betrayed.'

Kaia is from a world in which blind sacrifice is a virtue, and a Runner's life expendable.

It took Joe, an outsider, to show her that she must question the truth.

Now, Kaia and Joe have been taken prisoner.

Trusting her sworn enemies is the only way out.

Kaia and Joe must risk their lives and return to Carcassia to prevent more Runners from racing to their death.


Praise for The Crystal Run:

'Brims with all the hallmarks of a classic fantasy quest - a vividly evoked world, heart-rending conflict, compelling action' - LoveReading4Kids

'Will appeal to youngsters who enjoy reading about dangerous quests' - Sunday Independent

'Well-written, with a strong plot and excellent characters, this book gives us an
exciting, classic-style fantasy filled with intrigue' - Inis

'O'Flanagan's writing is crisp and concise and her plotting deft' - Belfast Telegraph

Biographical Notes

Sheila is an ex-bond dealer and financial journalist whose novels have all been immediate No 1 Irish bestsellers and Sheila also writes a weekly column for the Irish Times. Her books have been described 'as necessary to women as chocolate, and just as addictive!' Her last three novels have sold in excess of 1,000,000 copies in their British editions. With each publication she breaks her record of weeks at No 1. She was the recipient of the prestigious Irish Tatler Literary Woman of the Year award in 2003.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444927115
  • Publication date: 08 Mar 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Hodder Children's Books

The Crystal Run

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

Chris d'Lacey

Chris d'Lacey is the author of the The Last Dragon Chronicles and the Dragons of Wayward Crescent series. He likes dragons. He was born in Malta, but now lives in Devon with his wife, Jay, and about three hundred teddy bears. He likes teddy bears, too. After graduating from York University with a Biology degree, he went to Leicester University where he worked for twenty-eight years as a research scientist, mainly looking down microscopes. He now writes full time.In his spare moments, he likes to watch TV and walk by the sea - though not necessarily at the same time. His passion is writing and recording songs. His ultimate ambition is to write a song that will feature on the soundtrack of a movie of the dragon books, always assuming a movie is made.Presently, he is working on two new projects, both of which feature dragons to some extent.

Clare Hibbert

Clare specializes in non-fiction books for children of pre- and primary school age. Her favourite subjects are animals, history, art and culture. She has been shortlisted for the prestigious Aventis Junior Science Prize, and won a dozen Practical Pre-School Gold Awards. When she's not writing, Clare likes spending time with her family, taking long walks, going to the theatre and watching contemporary dance - her favourite dancer is Akram Khan.

Claudia Renton

CLAUDIA RENTON trained as a choral singer. Without any formal training Claudia won a part in the BBC dramatisation of THE CAZALETS - her favourite book since she was ten. Her natural talent and enthusiasm have ensured frequent appearances on stage and screen since: she is a regular in the Granada series DISTANT SHORES, and has appeared in the films 1969, YOU'RE IN THERE, EXTRA PEPPER and DEAD BOLT DEAD. She recently appeared on stage in the RSC's production of Thomas Middleton's WOMEN BEWARE WOMEN: it was her singing as Ganymede in this which drew attention to her suitability for the challenge of reading (and singing) GATTY¿S TALE.

Craig Simpson

Born: In the same year as the Cuban Missile Crisis (1962). Craig figures he's lucky to be alive!Place of Birth: Just a few miles from Beaulieu, the location of the real wartime school for spies.Previous Occupations: Mad scientist.Currently Living: Classified.Additional: Craig does all sorts of events throughout the UK including talks, writing workshops, activities (e.g. coding challenges), literary festivals and quizzes.

Damian Harvey

Damian Harvey lives in North Wales with his lovely wife, Vicky. He has three wonderful daughters, one brilliant boy and a cat called Polly. He has written more than 60 books for children and is busy writing more. Although Damian loves sitting at home writing stories, he also loves visiting schools and libraries where he shares stories, talks about writing and generally gets people excited about books and reading. You can find out more about Damian by visiting www.damianharvey.co.uk.

David Dean

David Dean studied illustration at Manchester Metropolitan University and has been working as an illustrator since 1999. He has to date created covers for nearly 40 books including Lauren St. John's THE WHITE GIRAFFE and DOLPHIN SONG (both Orion), as well as many other illustrations for books, magazines, CDs, posters and advertisements. He lives (with his cat) in Cheshire.

David Melling

David Melling has been shortlisted for the Kate Greenaway Medal, the Smarties Book Award and the Independent Booksellers Award. His Hugless Douglas books have sold over 1.4 million copies worldwide, and the loveable brown bear has starred in a World Book Day book as well as his own theatre show. Before becoming an internationally acclaimed author-illustrator, David worked as an animation artist for films including the much-loved Father Christmas by Raymond Briggs. One of his most popular picture books The Tale of Jack Frost was animated and shown on BBC1 on Christmas Day.

David West

David West is a graphic designer, illustrator and author of children's information books. He has produced over 500 titles on subjects ranging from dinosaurs and mythology to technology and science. Some of his best known titles include Brain Surgery for Beginners, Fifty Three and a Half Things that Changed the World and Dinosaurs in My Street. David went to art school in Kingston-upon-Thames and Harrow, where he specialised in information graphics. He lives in south west London with his wife, two sons, a cat and a goldfish who's over 14 years old.When he's not illustrating, writing and designing he can be found fishing for salmon in Scottish rivers or painting portraits for fun.

Diane Marwood

Diane lives deep in the countryside in Cornwall. She enjoys all kinds of stories, but particularly those about animals.

Emma Marriott

Emma Marriott, is an experienced writer and editor of non-fiction for young people, specialising in history, popular culture and current affairs.

Gary Crew

Gary Crew is well known for his rich, multi-layered and intensely suspenseful bestselling novels for young adults. Four times the winner of the CBC Book of the Year Award, as well as other numerous awards, Gary was a high school English teacher for eighteen years, before turning to university lecturing and full-time writing. He lives in Queensland.

Jan Burchett

Jan and Sara were already friends when one day they decided they wanted to write children's stories and it would be more fun to write them together. That was 18 years ago. Since then they've written over 160 stories - including some about ghosts, football, ghosts playing football and naughty gargoylz. Jan lives in Essex with her family and Sara lives in London with hers. They both have black cats who completely rule their lives. For more information, please visit Jan and Sara's website www.burchettandvogler.co.uk and follow them on Twitter at https://twitter.com/BurchettVogler. Keep up-to-date with the Sam Silver: Undercover Pirate blog at http://samsilverundercoverpirate.blogspot.co.uk.

Jane Bingham

Jane Bingham is an experienced children's author and editor. She specializes in history and contemporary issues.

Jennifer Miles

Jennifer Miles studied Children's Book Illustration at Cambridge School of Art. She lives in South London with her family including her two children and her dog and cat.

Jenny Oldfield

Born and brought up in Harrogate, Yorkshire, Jenny Oldfield went on to study English at Birmingham University, where she did research on the Brontë Novels and on Children's Literature. She then worked as a teacher, before deciding to concentrate on writing. She writes novels for both children and adults and, when she can escape from her desk, likes to spend time outdoors. She loves the countryside and enjoys walking, gardening, playing tennis, riding and travelling with her two daughters, Kate and Eve.

Jill Paton Walsh

Jill Paton Walsh is a distinguished writer, best-known for her adult novel, Knowledge of Angels, which was shortlisted for the 1994 Booker Prize. Among her many children's titles are The Dolphin Crossing (widely acknowledged as a modern classic); Gaffer Samson's Luck (Winner of the Smarties Prize); The Emperor's Winding Sheet (Winner of the Whitbread Award) and Thomas and the Tinners (Winner of the Smarties Prize).

John Malam

John Malam studied Ancient History and Archaeology at the University of Birmingham, after which he worked as an archaeologist at the Ironbridge Gorge Museum in Shropshire. He is now an author specialising in information books for children and is a National Literacy Trust Reading Champion. He lives in Cheshire with his wife, a teacher, and has two grown-up children.

John Marsden

John Marsden is Australia's bestselling author for teenagers and a highly acclaimed picture book writer.

John Parke Davis

Husband and wife Carrie Ryan & John Parke Davis have been in love with each other's writing (and with each other) since meeting in law school a decade ago. Carrie is the New York Times bestselling author of the critically acclaimed and multi-award winning Forest of Hands and Teeth series. J.P. is an Assistant Federal Defender in the Western District of North Carolina as well as a published author of short fiction. Though they've been important parts of each other's writing for years, The Pirate Stream is their first full collaboration. J.P. and Carrie currently live in Charlotte, North Carolina, with their two ornery cats and one gullible dog.