Jennifer Donnelly - Deep Blue - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £6.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444921205
    • Publication date:01 Jan 2015
Books in this series

Deep Blue

Book 1

By Jennifer Donnelly

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Destined to be a global phenomenon, an exciting new mermaid series - Percy Jackson for girls.

When Serafina, a mermaid of the Mediterranean Sea, awakens on the morning of her betrothal, her biggest worry should be about reuniting with handsome Prince Mahdi, her childhood crush. Instead she finds herself haunted by strange dreams foretelling the return of an ancient evil, and dealing with the deaths of her parents as assassins storm the betrothal ceremony, plunging the city into chaos.

Led only by her shadowy dreams and pursued by the invading army, Serafina and her best friend Neela embark on a quest to avenge her parents' death and prevent a war between the mer nations. In the process they discover a plot that threatens their - and our - world's very existence.

Biographical Notes

Jennifer Donnelly is a bestselling writer for adults and children. Her first young adult novel, A Gathering Light, won the Carnegie Medal in 2003, as well as receiving several awards in the US including the Los Angeles Times Book Prize. Her adult work includes The Tea Rose, The Winter Rose and The Wild Rose.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444921199
  • Publication date: 01 May 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Review — Girlfriend
There's a sisterhood of friendship and loyalty in this book — Dolly
Filled with the wonders of mermaids, witches and atery monsters. Donnelly has masterfully created an aquatic wonderland; filled with intrigue...This book has wide appeal — School Librarian
A book about strong bonds, sisterhood and mermaids — Kiss
A completely captivating world beneath the waves which is set to become an exciting new Disney project. — The Guardian
Quercus Children's Books

The Lost Magician

Piers Torday
Authors:
Piers Torday
Orion Children's Books

The Boy At the Back of the Class

Onjali Q. Rauf
Authors:
Onjali Q. Rauf

Told with heart and humour, The Boy at the Back of the Class is a child's perspective on the refugee crisis, highlighting the importance of friendship and kindness in a world that doesn't always make sense.There used to be an empty chair at the back of my class, but now a new boy called Ahmet is sitting in it.He's nine years old (just like me), but he's very strange. He never talks and never smiles and doesn't like sweets - not even lemon sherbets, which are my favourite!But then I learned the truth: Ahmet really isn't very strange at all. He's a refugee who's run away from a War. A real one. With bombs and fires and bullies that hurt people. And the more I find out about him, the more I want to help.That's where my best friends Josie, Michael and Tom come in. Because you see, together we've come up with a plan. . .

Hodder Children's Books

Survival

Jenny Oldfield
Authors:
Jenny Oldfield

A family marooned on an island finds loveable dolphins to help them survive: classic adventure from million-copy-selling Jenny Oldfield. Shipwrecked near a tiny island in a vast ocean, the Fisher family are guided to safety by a small pod of dolphins. Fleur, Alfie, Mia and their parents must learn to build shelter, find fresh water and hunt for food. Each of the children forms a special bond with one of the family of dolphins. Fleur adores the fun-loving, tail-walking Jazz. Mia names her dark-grey dolphin friend Stormy. And Alfie is saved from the shipwreck by Pearl, who always looks out for him. Alfie and Mia don't realise how much they rely on their older sister until she is taken ill with a mysterious sickness. They'll do anything to save her - and perhaps the dolphins, too, can help Fleur pull through. Jenny Oldfield strikes gold in this beautifully illustrated, exciting adventure story, the third in the Dolphin Island series.The full series: Shipwreck, Lost at Sea, Survival, Fire!, Missing, Storm Clouds.

Hodder Children's Books

Fire!

Jenny Oldfield
Authors:
Jenny Oldfield

A family marooned on an island finds loveable dolphins to help them survive: classic adventure from million-copy-selling Jenny Oldfield. Shipwrecked near a tiny island in a vast ocean, the Fisher family are guided to safety by a small pod of dolphins. Fleur, Alfie, Mia and their parents must learn to build shelter, find fresh water and hunt for food. Each of the children forms a special bond with one of the family of dolphins. Fleur adores the fun-loving, tail-walking Jazz. Mia names her dark-grey dolphin friend Stormy. And Alfie is saved from the shipwreck by Pearl, who always looks out for him. Danger is on the island: from sharks near shore, to a mystery presence on the island itself. Day-to-day survival is everything ... and the dolphins are there to help! Jenny Oldfield strikes gold in this beautifully illustrated, exciting adventure story, the fourth in the Dolphin Island series.The full series: Shipwreck, Lost at Sea, Survival, Fire!, Missing, Storm Clouds.

Orion Children's Books

Escape

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay

Don't stop running . . . the second edge-of-your-seat thriller with bite from international bestselling author Linwood Barclay for ages 9+12-year-old Jeff and genetically engineered spy dog Chipper are on the run from the mysterious and sinister government organisation knows only as The Institute. Due to a combination of bravery, luck and some of Chipper's more useful modifications, they've managed to evade their pursuers so far. But The Institute is closing in and Chipper and Jeff will have to be stay one step ahead if they want to stay alive..Danger, secrets and thrilling suspense collide in Linwood Barclay's action-packed series for children.

Orion Children's Books

The Cloak of Feathers

Nigel Quinlan
Authors:
Nigel Quinlan
Hodder Children's Books

Third Year

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

For new girl Darrell Rivers, there are friends to be made, pranks to be played and fun to be had at Malory Towers in Enid Blyton's best-loved boarding school series.In book three, there are lots of new students, including sophisticated Zerelda from America. This year, not only the girls face challenges - Bill's poor horse, Thunder, suffers from collic. Will Zerelda and Darrell become friends, and will Thunder survive?There's more drama at Malory Towers!Between 1946 and 1951, Enid Blyton wrote six novels set at Malory Towers. This edition features the original text and is unillustrated.

Hodder Children's Books

Sea Spell

Jennifer Donnelly
Authors:
Jennifer Donnelly

Six mermaids battle to save their hidden world in Disney's epic series finale for fans of Percy Jackson and The Girl of Ink & Stars.The mermaids prepare for war. The powerful Volneros is invading all the mer realms and in a foolish attempt to stop him, founding father Orfeo plans to unleash an ancient and dangerous monster from its icy prison. While Astrid faces her powerful ancestors to steal the black pearl talisman from Orfeo's stronghold, Ava must travel to the treacherous swamps of the Mississippi where the evil Okwa Naholo spirits kill with a single glance.In an epic battle, the Black Fin resistance, lead by Serafina, must defeat both Voleneros and Orfeo and prevent the destruction of their world.

Hodder Children's Books

Second Form

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

For new girl Darrell Rivers, there are friends to be made, pranks to be played and fun to be had at Malory Towers in Enid Blyton's best-loved boarding school series.In book two, there is a thief about. Purses and jewellery are missing in the North Tower. Meanwhile Darrell is caught in the middle when her friend Sally is made head girl instead of Alicia. Will they find the thief and will Alicia and Sally make up?There's drama at Malory Towers!Between 1946 and 1951, Enid Blyton wrote six novels set at Malory Towers. This edition features the original text and is unillustrated.

Hodder Children's Books

Dark Tide

Jennifer Donnelly
Authors:
Jennifer Donnelly

Six mermaids battle to save their hidden world.Leaders of a resistance to the barbaric new regime, Serafina and Neela, are working hard to destabilise Vallerio, the new ruler of Cerulea. Becca, Ava and Ling are still hunting for their ancestors' talismans; the keys to keeping an ancient evil locked in its icy prison. Astrid finally returns home to Ondalina to find that all is not as she left it, and a sinister human with empty, black eyes offers her power she never dreamed of ...The third book in the Waterfire Saga.

Hodder Children's Books

The Valley of Adventure

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Enid Blyton's much-loved classic series, packed full of adventure and mystery.Philip, Dinah, Lucy-Ann and Jack are going for a night flight on Bill's plane and soon find themselves flying into a truly amazing adventure. What has happened to Bill? Who are the two strange pilots, and what is the secret treasure hidden somewhere in the lonely valley the children have landed in?First published in 1947, this edition contains the original text and is unillustrated.

Hodder Children's Books

The Sea of Adventure

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Enid Blyton's much-loved classic series, packed full of adventure and mystery. A mysterious trip to the desolate northen isles leads to another exciting adventure for Philip, Dinah, Lucy-Ann and Jack. Bill is kidnapped, and the children are marooned far from the mainland. Will they rescue Bill in a dangerous game of hide-and-seek with an unknown enemy?First published in 1948, this edition contains the original text and is unillustrated.

Hodder Children's Books

The Mountain of Adventure

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Hodder Children's Books

The Ship of Adventure

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Hodder Children's Books

The Circus of Adventure

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Hodder Children's Books

The River of Adventure

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Hodder Children's Books

The Island of Adventure

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Enid Blyton's much-loved classic series, packed full of adventure and mystery. Philip, Dinah, Lucy-Ann and Jack escape their tutor for a lovely holiday in Cornwall, right by the sea. They can see the sinister Isle of Gloom from their window, covered in mist and harbouring strange secrets. Are they prepared for the dangerous adventure that awaits them there?First published in 1944, this edition contains the original text and is unillustrated.

Hodder Children's Books

Rogue Wave

Jennifer Donnelly
Authors:
Jennifer Donnelly
Hodder Children's Books

Five Go Down To The Sea

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Hodder Children's Books

Five Have Plenty Of Fun

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Meet Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timothy. Together they are THE FAMOUS FIVE - Enid Blyton's most popular adventure series. All 21 titles also available as audiobooks!In book fourteen, George is not pleased when Berta, a spoilt American girl, turns up at Kirrin Cottage in the dead of night. But George hasn't got time to be jealous, Berta is in hiding from kidnappers. The Famous Five are the only ones who can protect her - but will they take on dangerous criminals to help out a stranger?This edition features the original cover art and inside illustrations by Eileen Soper.