Jennifer Donnelly - Deep Blue - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £6.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444921205
    • Publication date:01 Jan 2015
Books in this series

Deep Blue

Book 1

By Jennifer Donnelly

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Destined to be a global phenomenon, an exciting new mermaid series - Percy Jackson for girls.

When Serafina, a mermaid of the Mediterranean Sea, awakens on the morning of her betrothal, her biggest worry should be about reuniting with handsome Prince Mahdi, her childhood crush. Instead she finds herself haunted by strange dreams foretelling the return of an ancient evil, and dealing with the deaths of her parents as assassins storm the betrothal ceremony, plunging the city into chaos.

Led only by her shadowy dreams and pursued by the invading army, Serafina and her best friend Neela embark on a quest to avenge her parents' death and prevent a war between the mer nations. In the process they discover a plot that threatens their - and our - world's very existence.

Biographical Notes

Jennifer Donnelly is a bestselling writer for adults and children. Her first young adult novel, A Gathering Light, won the Carnegie Medal in 2003, as well as receiving several awards in the US including the Los Angeles Times Book Prize. Her adult work includes The Tea Rose, The Winter Rose and The Wild Rose.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444921199
  • Publication date: 01 May 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Review — Girlfriend
There's a sisterhood of friendship and loyalty in this book — Dolly
Filled with the wonders of mermaids, witches and atery monsters. Donnelly has masterfully created an aquatic wonderland; filled with intrigue...This book has wide appeal — School Librarian
A book about strong bonds, sisterhood and mermaids — Kiss
A completely captivating world beneath the waves which is set to become an exciting new Disney project. — The Guardian
Hodder Children's Books

A Boy Called Ocean

Chris Higgins
Authors:
Chris Higgins

One boy stranded at sea. One girl back on land. One ocean between them. The only thing willing him to survive is the thought of her. A romance with bite, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Nicola Yoon. Sometimes you have to lose yourself, to find each other.Kai has always been best friends with Jen; ever since he and his mum moved to Cornwall when he was small. But now his feelings are deepening. It's ridiculous to imagine Jen would feel the same, especially since she has been hanging out with surf-pro Macca, the guy everyone fancies. Frustrated by his feelings, Kai makes a snap decision that will put his life in great danger. Stranded at sea, time is running out. With only his thoughts to occupy him, he must face some buried truths about his past. And confront his future with the girl back on shore, if he can reach it ... if the ocean doesn't take him first.

Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Hodder Children's Books

Shield of Lies

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Quercus Children's Books

The Starman and Me

Sharon Cohen
Authors:
Sharon Cohen
Hodder Children's Books

Sea Spell

Jennifer Donnelly
Authors:
Jennifer Donnelly
Hodder Children's Books

The Crystal Run

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Hodder Children's Books

St Clare's Collection 2

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Schooldays at St Clare's are never dull for twins Pat and Isabel O'Sullivan in Enid Blyton's much-loved boarding school series.The Second Form at St Clare'sThe twins have made it to second form. New girls Gladys and Mirabel have great talents for acting and music, and Elsie, the form's unpopular Head Girl, learns to be less spiteful.The Third Form at St Clare'sIt's time for a new head girl. There are plenty of candidates, but after a terrible accident, and an hilarious school play, the true leaders are revealed.Kitty at St Clare'sPat breaks her arm and misses the first weeks of term. Will Pat be upset when new girl Amanda becomes Isabel's new best friend?There'll be mischief at St Clare's!Between 1941 and 1946, Enid Blyton wrote six novels set at St Clare's. Books 5, 6 and 9 are authorised sequels of the series written by Pamela Cox and feature storylines set in between the original Blyton novels. These books were published in 2000/2008 and are unillustrated.

Hodder Children's Books

Dark Tide

Jennifer Donnelly
Authors:
Jennifer Donnelly
Hodder Children's Books

Rogue Wave

Jennifer Donnelly
Authors:
Jennifer Donnelly

Six mermaids battle to save their hidden world.Serafina, Neela and four others have successfully escaped Captain Traho and his men after their hideout with the river witches was stormed. They must stop an ancient evil from escaping its icy prison by finding six talismans hidden by Serafina's ancestor hundreds of years before. With all the Mer nations looking for them and no clue where to start, will the mermaids find the talismans before the monster is released?The second book in the Waterfire Saga.

Carrie Ryan

Husband and wife Carrie Ryan & John Parke Davis have been in love with each other's writing (and with each other) since meeting in law school a decade ago. Carrie is the New York Times bestselling author of the critically acclaimed and multi-award winning Forest of Hands and Teeth series. J.P. is an Assistant Federal Defender in the Western District of North Carolina as well as a published author of short fiction. Though they've been important parts of each other's writing for years, The Pirate Stream is their first full collaboration. J.P. and Carrie currently live in Charlotte, North Carolina, with their two ornery cats and one gullible dog. Visit Carrie's website at http://carrieryan.com, read her blogs at http://carrie-me.blogspot.co.uk and http://carrieryan.tumblr.com, follow her on Twitter @carrieryan and like her on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/AuthorCarrieRyan.

Chris Colfer

Chris Colfer is a #1 New York Times bestselling author and a Golden Globe-winning actor. He was honored as a member of the TIME 100, Time magazine's annual list of the one hundred most influential people in the world, and his books include Struck By Lightning: The Carson Phillips Journal, the books of the Land of Stories series: The Wishing Spell, The Enchantress Returns, A Grimm Warning and Beyond the Kingdoms, and the companion books The Mother Goose Diaries, Queen Red Riding Hood's Guide to Royalty, The Land of Stories: A Treasury of Classic Fairy Tales and The Curvy Tree.

Claire O'Brien

Claire is the author of the Cordelia Codd stories. These follow Cordelia's comic and touching misadventures as she struggles to deal with the difficult issues faced by many pre-teen children. Claire is a former teacher who has worked in the UK, USA and Colombia. Her favourite books at the moment arePrivate Peaceful by Michael MorpurgoKrindlekrax by Philip RidleyCoram Boy by Jamila GavinArtichoke Hearts by Sita BrahmachariHer favourite films are currentlyPandora and the Flying Dutchman, 1951Billy Elliot, 2000The Belles of St.Trinian's, 1954The Artist, 2011Claire has been writing since Miss Fox, her year four teacher, sat her in a corner for talking too much and told her to get on with some handwriting. She realised that she was happiest sitting alone with a pencil and her thoughts, but her own stories came much later.

Claudia Martin

Claudia Martin has worked in book publishing for 17 years. She is the author of several books and websites for children and young people. Her favourite subjects are history, current affairs and technology.

David Melling

David Melling has been shortlisted for the Kate Greenaway Medal, the Smarties Book Award and the Independent Booksellers Award. His Hugless Douglas books have sold over 1.4 million copies worldwide, and the loveable brown bear has starred in a World Book Day book as well as his own theatre show. Before becoming an internationally acclaimed author-illustrator, David worked as an animation artist for films including the much-loved Father Christmas by Raymond Briggs. One of his most popular picture books The Tale of Jack Frost was animated and shown on BBC1 on Christmas Day.

David Tennant

David Tennant is a respected classical actor who has performed numerous starring roles for the Royal Shakespeare Company.He was nominated for a 2003 Laurence Olivier Theatre Award for Best Actor.He also has numerous TV credits, including Mr Gibson in 'He Knew he was Right', DI Carlisle in 2004's 'Blackpool', and his film roles include Barty Crouch Jnr in 'Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire' (2005). From the end of 2005, he will be appearing as Dr Who in the series of that name.His audiobook readings for Hodder include How To Train Your Dragon, How to be a Pirate.

David West

David West is a graphic designer, illustrator and author of children's information books. He has produced over 500 titles on subjects ranging from dinosaurs and mythology to technology and science. Some of his best known titles include Brain Surgery for Beginners, Fifty Three and a Half Things that Changed the World and Dinosaurs in My Street. David went to art school in Kingston-upon-Thames and Harrow, where he specialised in information graphics. He lives in south west London with his wife, two sons, a cat and a goldfish who's over 14 years old.When he's not illustrating, writing and designing he can be found fishing for salmon in Scottish rivers or painting portraits for fun.

Emilia Fox

Emilia Fox appeared in the BBC's PRIDE AND PRJUDICE whilst still at university, and has gone on to star in REBECCA, DAVID COPPERFIELD, BBC's 2009 MERLIN series and in 2012 starred as Lady Portia Alresford in UPSTAIRS DOWNSTAIRS. She also reads regularly on Radio 4 and has taken over the role as Dr Nikki Alexander in the TV series SILENT WITNESS. Emilia has read numerous audiobooks including the MAGICAL CHILDREN series, THE SWEETNESS AT THE BOTTOM OF THE PIE by Alan Bradley and SECRETS OF THE TIDES by Hannah Richell for Orion.

Emma Marriott

Emma Marriott, is an experienced writer and editor of non-fiction for young people, specialising in history, popular culture and current affairs.

Emma Thomson

Emma Thomson is a fine artist with over twelve years' experience of illustrating products for all of the major high street chains and has close links with M&S for whom she has launched two extremely successful merchandise properties in the 1990s! Emma is now co-founder of White Lion Publishing which publishes her cards - in particular the Felicity Wishes range...

Fiona Dunbar

Fiona Dunbar was born in Hertfordshire. She grew up trailing around jazz clubs with her jazz musician stepfather and left school when she was sixteen to go to Art College. Fiona was a regular at the Camden Palace, her and a friend would spend all Thursday night making their clothes for the Friday night's clubbing. When Fiona realised she wouldn't be a famous artist, she began a commercial art career in TV and advertising. After a stint doing illustration for Punch, which she really enjoyed, Fiona began illustrating for picture books by other authors. It was at this time that she met her lovely American lawyer husband Pano. After living in New York for a number of years, where her two children were born, Fiona settled back in North London and began to write for children instead of drawing for them!Fiona now lives in North London and is an active fundraiser for her children's primary school. She loves helping out with the Christmas pantomime and puts her eighties dressmaking skills to good use by making costumes! When she's not writing, painting or gardening, Fiona loves nothing better than to cook. Her creations might not be as magical as Lulu's but they bring just as much pleasure in the end!