Helen Dennis - Zenith - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444920468
    • Publication date:02 Jun 2016
Books in this series

Zenith

Book 2

By Helen Dennis
Illustrated by Bonnie Kate Wolf

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

It began with the mystery boy who emerged from the River Thames. It will end in a race against time itself ... Book 2 in an action-packed series full of adventure and mystery.

Jed must confront the revelation of his true identity: he is the alchemist Fulcanelli who discovered the elixir of life and used it to become young again. He must take the elixir one more time in order to live for ever. If he doesn't take it he will die. But Jed only has nine months left to take the elixir. And he has absolutely no idea how to make it.

The challenge is clear. Jed, Kassia and co. must hunt down the secret recipe.Their quest takes them to Prague and then on to Paris - but hot on their heels are NOAH, the secret organisation that will do anything to get their hands on the secret to eternal life.

Jed has everything to live for. But who can he trust?

The second in an action-packed series full of adventure, this book has an illustrated narrative running through it, helping readers to solve the mystery alongside the characters in the story.

Biographical Notes

Helen Dennis was born in Brighton and was a teacher for twenty years. Her writing draws on huge universal questions, and River of Ink was inspired by the question: is it good to want to live forever?

Helen worked as a student at two schools for deaf children as well as Brighton Deaf Centre: one of the main characters in River of Ink is a deaf boy who uses BSL, and it is important to her that his character is strong, funny and integral to the plot and emotional arc of the story.

Helen now writes full time but enjoys making school visits, where she runs code-cracking and creative writing sessions. Previous books include the Secret Breakers series, written under the name H L Dennis, book three of which was nominated for the Carnegie Award.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444920451
  • Publication date: 02 Jun 2016
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Quercus Children's Books

The Impossible: Just Got Real

Mark Illis
Authors:
Mark Illis

Nothing is impossible in Hector Coleman's world - not even aliens ... A comic-book inspired adventure with a graphic novel twist, for fans of Joe Cowley, Joe Sugg and Charlie Higson.Last year, Hector Coleman survived the craziest week of his boring teenage life. His mates genetically mutated in impossible ways, an alien egg landed in his pathetic home town, and everyone nearly died...Now, the egg is back. Can life get any more impossible for Hector? And more importantly, will he at least get more Twitter followers?

Wayland

In Engineering and Industry

Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Contributors:
Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle

Following a narrative chain throughout every book in the series Cause Effect and Chaos!, each spread focuses on a different action, process or phenomenon with illustrations and arrows guiding the reader through the chain of events. A highly visual approach with simple text makes this a perfect series for imparting important concepts and consequences to struggling readers.With information on the probability of each of the extreme (chaotic) reactions presented as an infographic, the reader will be reassured that chaos is not the most likely outcome. The series reaches into different core areas of the science, geography and history curriculum. Perfect for reader aged 9 and up.

Wayland

In the Rainforest

Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Contributors:
Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Wayland

Incredible Sporting Champions

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, Rita Petruccioli
Contributors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, Rita Petruccioli

Curious, provocative, engaging, brave, and funny - women who change the world are diverse, intriguing and brilliant. Filled with wonderful illustrations, and engaging activities that will nurture your own varied skills, the Brilliant Women series compiles the stories of inspiring women from every field. Retelling their triumphs and adversities, this beautiful series of four books reveals and celebrates the women who have shaped the world we live in now. Perfect reading for the next generation of brilliant girls and boys.

Wayland

Heroic Leaders and Activists

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, Rita Petruccioli
Contributors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, Rita Petruccioli

Curious, provocative, engaging, brave, and funny - women who change the world are diverse, intriguing and brilliant. Filled with wonderful illustrations, and engaging activities that will nurture your own varied skills, the Brilliant Women series compiles the stories of inspiring women from every field. Retelling their triumphs and adversities, this beautiful series of four books reveals and celebrates the women who have shaped the world we live in now. Perfect reading for the next generation of brilliant girls and boys.

Wayland

In Outer Space

Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Contributors:
Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Wayland

In the Human Body

Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Contributors:
Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle

Following a narrative chain throughout every book in the series Cause Effect and Chaos!, each spread focuses on a different action, process or phenomenon with illustrations and arrows guiding the reader through the chain of events. A highly visual approach with simple text makes this a perfect series for imparting important concepts and consequences to struggling readers.With information on the probability of each of the extreme (chaotic) reactions presented as an infographic, the reader will be reassured that chaos is not the most likely outcome. The series reaches into different core areas of the science, geography and history curriculum. Perfect for reader aged 9 and up.

Hodder Children's Books

The Little Broomstick

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

First published 45 years ago, this is a beautiful new edition of Mary Stewart's beloved magical classic illustrated by Shirley Hughes - soon to be adapted into an animated film by the producer of The Tale of The Princess Kaguya.'The little broomstick gave a leap, a violent twist, a kick like the kick of a pony.'Mary's been exiled to her deaf great-aunt deep in the English countryside. Miserable and lonely, she befriends strange black cat Tib who leads her deep into the forest to a clump of unusual purple flowers and an ordinary looking little broomstick. Before Mary can gather her wits, the broomstick jumps into action, whisking her over the treetops, above the clouds, and in to the grounds of Endor College, school of witchcraft.But something is terribly wrong at Endor. Students are taught spells that are petty and ill-wishing, and when Mary discovers evidence of a terrible and cruel experiment in transformation, she decides to leave. But the moment her broomstick takes off, she realises that Tib the cat has been captured ...Mary Stewart is the bestselling author of fourteen romantic thrillers, including the classic novelsThis Rough Magic and The Moon-Spinners, and five historical fantasy novels of Arthurian Britain. The animated film, called Mary and the Witch's Flower will be released in cinemas in 2017 by Yoshiaki Nishimura, producer of The Tale of The Princess Kaguya and When Marnie Was There.

Hodder Children's Books

Easter Stories

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Delight in this collection of 25 short stories, full of the buzz and excitement of spring - the perfect Easter present! The stories are an ideal length for reading aloud in a classroom or at bedtime. With lots of humour and fantastic characters, this collection will appeal to newly confident readers to read alone as well as to younger children being read to.Enid Blyton remains one of Britain's favourite children's authors and her bumper short story collections are perfect for introducing her to the latest generation of readers.

Wayland

Goundbreaking Pioneers of Science and Technology

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, Rita Petruccioli
Contributors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, Rita Petruccioli
Wayland

Amazing Artists and Designers

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, Rita Petruccioli
Contributors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, Rita Petruccioli
Franklin Watts

Romans

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason

The fearful Romans are coming! Invaders and Raiders: Romans describes the Roman invasion and settlement of Britain from the viewpoint of a native Celt. The all-conquering Roman army, Roman daily life and customs are all explored against a backdrop of fierce fighting, surrender and life under Roman rule. The book concludes with a look at the Roman legacy in Britain and the eventual fall of the Roman Empire.Illustrated with a mix of illustrations and found objects, each book describes a great civilisation, its customs and organisations, how it began and expanded, and finally how it ended.

Hodder Children's Books

Illegal

Eoin Colfer, Andrew Donkin, Giovanni Rigano
Contributors:
Eoin Colfer, Andrew Donkin, Giovanni Rigano
Orchard Books

Sleepover School

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

A magical series where best friends become Secret Princesses! This book is a special long length for even more magical fun. Best friends Charlotte and Mia can't bear it when Charlotte's family moves far away. But when they become trainee Secret Princesses they begin an amazing adventure together - and they can see each other whenever they like!Once in a blue moon, a tiara shaped constellation forms high in the sky above Wishing Star Palace. The four girls that make a wish on these special stars get their wishes granted by the Secret Princesses ... but Princess Poison is determined that this year the wishes won't come true ...Have you read all four books in series four: The Moonstone Collection?

Franklin Watts

Create Computer Games with Scratch

Kevin Wood
Authors:
Kevin Wood
Orchard Books

Early Reader Movie Tie-In

Be the first to find out what happens in the My Little Pony Movie with this gorgeous full-colour Early Reader, perfect for young pony fans. In this Early Reader, the story of the movie is told simply for young pony fans just starting their reading adventure.Join Twilight Sparkle and all her friends in their biggest adventure yet as they meet BRAND-NEW characters and explore amazing new places. With your pony friends, reading is magic!Collect all the My Little Pony Early Readers:My Little Pony: Twilight Sparkle's Princess SpellMy Little Pony: Rainbow Dash's Big RaceMy Little Pony: Pinkie Pie's Perfect PartyMy Little Pony: Applejack's Sister SurpriseThere are My Little Pony books for all ages! Have fun with colour, activity and sticker books, and continue the reading adventure with the My Little Pony chapter books!

Hodder Children's Books

The Rainmaker Danced

John Agard, Satoshi Kitamura
Contributors:
John Agard, Satoshi Kitamura
Orchard Books

Must End Soon

Jonathan Meres
Authors:
Jonathan Meres
Wayland

The International Space Station

Clive Gifford, Dan Schlitzkus
Contributors:
Clive Gifford, Dan Schlitzkus
Hodder Children's Books

Immortal

Helen Dennis, Bonnie Kate Wolf
Contributors:
Helen Dennis, Bonnie Kate Wolf

Jed has been hunted across the world in his quest for immortality. Now his time is nearly up. This is the fourth and final book in a thrilling series. Jed is back in London, where it all began. But there's no time to draw breath. The hunt continues: by the river Thames, during New Year's Eve fireworks, and into the secret heart of St Paul's Cathedral. If Jed can't complete his quest within the year, he will die. Is his time really up ... or just beginning?This action-packed book has an illustrated narrative running through it, helping readers to solve the mystery alongside the characters in the story.