Carla Spradbery - The 100 Society - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444920093
    • Publication date:04 Sep 2014

The 100 Society

By Carla Spradbery

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

Six teenagers participate in a dangerous game that goes very wrong ...
Friendships unravel and lives are risked in this suspenseful debut thriller where no one is above suspicion.

For sixth-form student Grace Becker, The 100 Society is more than just a game; it's an obsession. Having convinced her five friends at Clifton Academy to see it through to the end, Grace will stop at nothing to carry out the rules of the game: tagging 100 locations around the city. With each step closer to the 100-mark they get, the higher the stakes become. But when the group catches the attention of a menacing stalker - the Reaper - he seems intent on exposing their illegal game, tormenting Grace with anonymous threats and branding their dormitory doors with his ominous tag.
As the once tight-knit group slowly unravels, torn apart by doubt and the death of a student, they no longer know who to trust.
With time running out, Grace must unmask the Reaper before he destroys everything she cares about for ever...

With its mix of horror and mystery The 100 Society is perfect for fans of Point Horror and James Dawson.

'A pleasingly dark teen thriller with fun, fresh characters. Spradbery is a debut author to watch.' James Dawson

Biographical Notes

After working with teenagers for more than a decade, Carla decided to start writing for and about them. Having had a lifelong obsession with dark literature, it only seemed natural to write stories that would thrill, scare and maybe make her readers think twice about reading alone in the dark.
Carla lives in Hampshire with her husband and two children. She still enjoys working with teenagers, although she finds it harder and harder to understand why the music they like has to be quite so loud.
The 100 Society is her first novel.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444920086
  • Publication date: 04 Sep 2014
  • Page count: 320
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Will have you on the edge of your seat and your nails bitten down to the quick... I just loved this adrenalin, white knuckle ride of a book. — Bath Chronicle
A really excellent first novel. — Books for Keeps
A first novel for the author and it is fair to say that we hope it will not be her last. — Books For Keeps
This fast-moving and suspenseful novel is a real page-turner — School Librarian
Well written with very believable characters and an amazing ending — Carousel
Hodder Children's Books

SLAY

Brittney Morris
Authors:
Brittney Morris
Hodder Children's Books

The Black Flamingo

Dean Atta
Authors:
Dean Atta
Franklin Watts

Black History Matters

Robin Walker
Authors:
Robin Walker

Black history matters, today and always.An important and hard-hitting account of the history of black people, looking at African kingdoms, slavery, apartheid, the battle for civil rights and much more. Important and inspiring black personalities, from Olaudah Equiano to Oprah Winfrey, are highlighted throughout, while achievements and progress are balanced alongside a look at the issues that continue to plague black communities. #Blacklivesmatter is a powerful international movement, designed to raise awareness of and end ongoing injustice towards black people. This book is designed to connect with that movement and offer an important resource for all young readers during Black History Month and beyond.

Franklin Watts

Forced to Flee

Refugee children explain in their own words and pictures their thoughts, feelings and experiences about having to flee from their home countries. Produced in association with UNHCR (United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees) and with a foreword from Cate Blanchett, Goodwill Ambassador for UNHCR, this highly emotive title focuses on three current refugee crises in Syria, South Sudan and Central America. Aimed at readers age 14+, the book gives background information about how each crisis came about, why families had to flee and what life is like for them now is given in a clear and easy-to-understand way. Children from refugee camps were asked to draw about their experiences of having to flee their home countries. The children's artwork is incredibly powerful and harrowing, and vividly highlights the impact that conflict, war and atrocities has on people's lives.

Hodder Children's Books

Colour Me In

Lydia Ruffles
Authors:
Lydia Ruffles

FIX ME. DRAW ME WHOLE. COLOUR ME IN. "A dream of a novel"Buzz feed"Dark, vivid and totally original. I loved it." Lisa Williamson, author of The Art of Being Normal"Remember the name Lydia Ruffles" StylistThe Catcher in the Rye meets Turtles All the Way DownNineteen-year-old actor Arlo likes nothing more than howling across the skyline with best friend Luke.But when something irreparable happens and familiar black weeds start to crawl inside him, Arlo flees to the other side of the world, taking only a sketchbook full of maps.There, he meets fellow traveller Mizuki and they decide to get lost together. But how far can you run before you lose yourself completely?

Wayland

What is Race? Who are Racists? Why Does Skin Colour Matter? And Other Big Questions

Nikesh Shukla, Claire Heuchan
Authors:
Nikesh Shukla, Claire Heuchan

An important and timely book on race and racism, encouraging children to think for themselves about the issues involved.Talk about race is often discouraged, but this book aims to bring everyone into the conversation. It explores the history of race and society, giving context to how racist attitudes come into being. It looks at belonging and identity, the damaging effects of stereotyping and the benefits of positive representation. The authors talk sensitively about how to identify and challenge racism, and how to protect against and stop racist behaviour.Aimed at young people aged 10 and upwards.Part of the groundbreaking and important 'And Other Big Questions' series, which offers balanced and considered views on the big issues we face in the world we live in today.Other titles in the series include:What is Humanism? How do you live without a god?What is Feminism? Why do we need it?Who are Refugees and Migrants? What makes people leave their homes?What is Consent? Why is it important?What is Right and Wrong? Who Decides? Where Do Values Come From?

Hodder Children's Books

Girl at Sea

Lucy Courtenay
Authors:
Lucy Courtenay

Prepare to fall in love this summer and join Precious and Harry on their road trip to the end of the world and back ... Your summer crush starts here! For fans of Zoella, Geek Girl and Holly Bourne.Precious is spending an awkward August in an Algarve villa while her parents fight dirty over an expensive divorce. When she misses her plane home, Precious finds herself on the run along the coast of Portugal. Along the way she meets Harry, travelling Europe before he starts uni. But Precious and her problems are the last thing Harry needs as he struggles to shake off the ghost of his drowned father and get back to something resembling a life. As it turns out, Precious is EXACTLY what Harry needs. Until the complicated but dreamy Nathan shows up, and matters take a darker turn ... Join Precious, Harry and Nathan on a summer road trip with a twist!

Orchard Books

What Manor of Murder?

Christopher William Hill
Authors:
Christopher William Hill
Quercus Children's Books

The Impossible: On the Run

Mark Illis
Authors:
Mark Illis
Orion Children's Books

Ruin and Rising

Leigh Bardugo
Authors:
Leigh Bardugo
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Summer of Us

Cecilia Vinesse
Authors:
Cecilia Vinesse
Wren & Rook

You Are Awesome

Matthew Syed
Authors:
Matthew Syed
Franklin Watts

Understanding Transgender

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head

A sensitive book that explores the issue of people who feel they do belong to the gender they were born with. It looks at what this means for the person and their family, issues around school policy, bullying and discrimination and explores the journey of transitioning. The book was produced with a consultant from the Tavistock and Portman Trust - the primary gender clinic in the UK.It is part of the series My Life, Your Life, which takes a sensitive and positive look at some of the issues that concern children aged 10+. It explores issues including sexuality, gender, self-esteem, prejudice and discrimination and promotes and encourages discussion. By thinking creatively and critically, children can learn to accept their differences, embrace diversity and improve their sense of self and how they fit into the bigger picture. Each title also provides advice in the form of practical ways to cope with distressing or difficult situations.

Franklin Watts

Self-Esteem and Confidence

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Wayland

From Prejudice to Pride: A History of LGBTQ+ Movement

Amy Lamé
Authors:
Amy Lamé

From Prejudice to Pride looks at the rise and achievements of the LGBTQ+ movement and the different communities, pioneers and stories of heartbreak and courage that have marched alongside it. Perfect for readers aged 11 and upwards, this book will inspire courage and pride in young LGBTQ+ people and help answer questions for all readers interested in gender and identity.Follow LGBTQ+ history from ancient civilisations to the present-day, and learn about key events including the trial of Oscar Wilde, the Stonewall riots, the AIDS crisis, same-sex marriage and changing laws that have impacted on LGBTQ+ life. Gain insight into the shifting attitudes that have challenged lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people and the experiences that help us understand what it means to be LGBTQ+ today.Filled with photographs documenting LGBTQ+ life from the past and present, and from around the world.

Wayland

The Chinese Empire

Ellis Roxburgh
Authors:
Ellis Roxburgh

The Shang disappeared from history for millennia before chance discoveries in the early 20th century revealed a glimpse of China's first great dynasty. More than 3,500 years ago, the Shang created a state on the Yellow River from where they came to dominate an extensive empire. As this book reveals, over the last 100 years, historians have built a detailed picture of a highly sophisticated civilisation, which laid the foundations for much of modern Chinese life.Each book in the Great Empires series covers a particular empire or regional series of empires, charting its history from its rise to its eventual fall. Concise text and supporting boxes explore the reasons for the empire's success-and its failure-and explain the mechanics of governing the empire and the experience of living under it.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Seven Days of You

Cecilia Vinesse
Authors:
Cecilia Vinesse
Franklin Watts

20th Century Russia

Heather Maisner
Authors:
Heather Maisner

Wayland

The Egyptian Empire

Ellis Roxburgh
Authors:
Ellis Roxburgh

Travel back in time and explore Egypt's New Kingdom, an empire that lasted from around 1550 to 1070 BCE. Find out about the key rulers of the empire including Akhenaten and his chief wife Nefertiti and his son Tutankhamen and find out how Egypt's armies pushed the frontiers of the empire further than ever before.Each book in this series covers a particular empire or regional series of empires, charting its history from its rise to its eventual fall. Concise text and supporting boxes explore the reasons for the empire's success and its failure and explain the mechanics of governing the empire and the experience of living under it.

Wayland

The British Empire

Ellis Roxburgh
Authors:
Ellis Roxburgh