Nicholas Fisk - Evil Eye - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Evil Eye

Book 4

By Nicholas Fisk

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Hodder's Silver list brings back into print classic science fiction from the masterful author of Trillions, Grinny and A Rag, a Bone and a Hank of Hair.

Once again forced to flee from the wicked Octopus Emperor in their junkyard spaceship, the four Starstormers crashland on the planet of Moloch - otherwise known as the planet of the Evil Eye. They soon begin to wonder if this unwelcoming planet as its terrifying - yet somehow almost familiar - inhabitants, hold anything for them except death. Then strange voices reveal to Vawn that the hostile planet is linked with an early space experiment from Earth that went horribly wrong. The Starstormers may be able to help restore a balance between good and evil - but can Vawn convince her friends that she is not imagining things? And have they really arrived in time to destroy the evil of Moloch?

Biographical Notes

Nicholas Fisk - the author of over 50 books, many of which are modern classics - recently celebrated his 90th birthday. His starting point for a story is an IF ...IF we had a domestic robot, IF we could talk to animals, IF we could move back and forth in time. On such premises he places people - recognisable people living ordinary lives - until the IF explodes. 'I believe that almost any imaginable possibility may become a reality within the lifetime of a young person today: the previous century saw more changes and discoveries than any other and change gets faster every day.'

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444919516
  • Publication date: 07 Aug 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Hodder Children's Books

The Sharp Edge of a Snowflake

Sif Sigmarsdottir
Authors:
Sif Sigmarsdottir

What if finding out the meaning of life meant destroying peace on Earth - would you still seek out the answers? Perfect for fans of Sarah J Maas, The Hunger Games and Divergent After rescuing thousands of teenagers from a gruelling regime in space, Amy Sullivan must try to make sense of home, as it is now. But after an invasion of such colossal proportions, it seems Earth won't be going back to normal any time soon. And when Amy is made Ambassador for Solidarity at the newly created Earth Council, she must defend Earth against new attacks from Visitors. Working day and night to protect planet Earth, Amy still dreams of Caeser, the boy with the dimples, from another planet - she is convinced he can help her. But Caeser is still in space, where conflict is the only thing on agenda. Are two teenagers from different galaxies able to make those in power choose peace ... over the very meaning of life itself?

Hodder Children's Books

The Dark Lady

Akala
Authors:
Akala

Henry Shakespeare is a street boy searching for his parents - his dark skin and curious name are his only clues.A thrilling new series set in a magical realist Shakespearean world, written by award-winning rapper, poet and writer Akala, founder of the renowned Hip-hop Shakespeare Company.When a rich family catch Henry stealing a book, it emerges that the young street boy, raised as an orphan, can read. Astounded, the family take him in as their servant. They soon become fond of Henry and allow him to develop a passion for literature and plays, attending those of his favourites such as Marlowe, Kyd and most of all Shakespeare. But then Henry inherits a vast sum from a mysterious source. Overwhelmed by the desire to find his parents, Henry leaves his adopted family and embarks on an amazing adventure.Perfect for introducing secondary school readers to Shakespeare and the Renaissance, The Dark Lady contains poems, rhymes and songs.Inspired by the Dark Lady (the fierce, independent black woman alluded to in Shakespeare's sonnets 127-154) and featuring Shakespeare himself and many of his key characters, this exciting new series brings to life through fresh eyes the visceral, violent and daring world of the Renaissance.

Hodder Children's Books

The Outcast

Taran Matharu
Authors:
Taran Matharu

The highly anticipated prequel to the New York Times bestselling Summoner trilogy - if you like Pokemon and wish you went to Hogwarts, you'll love this fantasy world from Wattpad sensation Taran Matharu.Arcturus is just an orphaned stable boy when he accidentally summons a demon. As Hominum's first common summoner, he becomes the key to a secret that the powerful nobility would do anything to keep hidden.He is immediately whisked away to Vocans Academy where the lost arts of summoning, spell craft and demonology are taught to the noble children of the Empire. In no time, Arcturus finds himself surrounded by enemies as noble teachers and students question his right to be there.But before he can even attempt to make friends, his life is turned upside down once again, for the Empire is in turmoil. Rebellion is simmering among the masses, and it will not be long before it boils over. Arcturus must choose a side . . . or watch the Empire crumbleSet before the events of SUMMONER: The Novice this is the perfect introduction to the New York Times bestselling SUMMONER series.

Hodder Children's Books

The Other Side of Lost

Nick Lake
Authors:
Nick Lake
Orchard Books

Grandma Dangerous and the Egg of Glory

Kita Mitchell
Authors:
Kita Mitchell

Franklin Watts

Mutant

Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Authors:
Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow

Take on the role of the Monster Hunter in this fully interactive, flick-through-the pages, choose-your-own-destiny adventure story.YOU are an agent of G.H.O.S.T. - protecting the world from creatures in the shadows. Dr Omega is creating mutanthumans - turning them into monsters. Your mission is to stop her experiments.Written by the award-winning duo Steve Barlow and Steve SkidmoreAge appropriate for 8+. Also suitable for reluctant readers and less confident older readers. Printed using a font approved by the British Dyslexia Association.

Franklin Watts

Alien

Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Authors:
Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow

Take on the role of the Monster Hunter in this fully interactive, flick-through-the pages, choose-your-own-destiny adventure story.YOU are the Monster Hunter, protector of the living, and nightmare of the paranormal. Aliens have landed and your specialist services are urgently required...Written by the award-winning duo Steve Barlow and Steve SkidmoreAge appropriate for 8+. Also suitable for reluctant readers and less confident older readers. Printed using a font approved by the British Dyslexia Association.

Hodder Children's Books

Grace and Fury

Tracy Banghart
Authors:
Tracy Banghart

Bold, brutal and beautiful, this is a must-read with the glitter and romance of The Selection and the thrilling action and intrigue of Red Queen.In a world where women have no rights, sisters Serina and Nomi face two very different fates: one in the palace, the other on an island prison where women must fight to survive. Serina has spent her whole life preparing to become a Grace - selected to stand by the heir to the throne as a shining example of the perfect woman. But her headstrong and rebellious younger sister has a dangerous secret, and one wrong move could cost both sisters everything. Can Serina fight? And will Nomi win?

Quercus Children's Books

The Darkest Minds

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken
Franklin Watts

The Home Front

John C. Miles
Authors:
John C. Miles

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Summer of Us

Cecilia Vinesse
Authors:
Cecilia Vinesse

Five friends. Five cities. Two complicated love stories . . . The perfect read for fans of Jennifer E Smith and Sara Barnard.Aubrey and Rae have been planning their European tour since the moment they met. It was meant to be the perfect way to spend their last summer together before university, but now it's not just the two of them . . .There's Jonah, Aubrey's seemingly perfect boyfriend, and Gabe, who Aubrey may have accidentally kissed. Then there's Clara, the friend Rae is crushing on, hard, even though there's no hope because Clara is into guys, not girls. And on top of all that Aubrey and Rae's friendship appears to be falling apart. Things are more complicated at eighteen than they were at ten.Set off on a romantic adventure that embraces warm summer nights, the thrill of first kisses and the bittersweet ache of saying goodbye to the past.

Hodder Children's Books

A Boy Called Ocean

Chris Higgins
Authors:
Chris Higgins
Orchard Books

A Thousand Perfect Notes

C. G. Drews
Authors:
C. G. Drews
Hodder Children's Books

The Colour of the Sun

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond
Wren & Rook

You Are Awesome

Matthew Syed
Authors:
Matthew Syed
Orion Children's Books

The Astonishing Colour of After

Emily X. R. Pan
Authors:
Emily X. R. Pan

A New York Times bestseller.'This brilliantly crafted novel portrays the vast spectrum of love and grief with heart-wrenching beauty and candor. A very special book' - JOHN GREEN, author of The Fault in Our StarsLife, loss, love and art explode in a kaleidoscope of emotions as one girl must learn the truth about her family's past in order to bring peace to the present. For fans of John Green, Jennifer Niven, Jandy Nelson and Nicola Yoon.Leigh Chen Sanders is sixteen when her mother dies by suicide, leaving only a scribbled note: 'I want you to remember'. Leigh doesn't know what it means, but when a red bird appears with a message, she finds herself travelling to Taiwan to meet her maternal grandparents for the first time. Leigh is far away from home and far away from Axel, her best friend, who she stupidly kissed on the night her mother died - leaving her with a swell of guilt that she wasn't home, and a heavy heart, thinking she may have destroyed the one good thing left in her life. Overwhelmed by grief, Leigh retreats into her art and into her memories, where colours collide and the rules of reality are broken. The only thing Leigh is certain about is that she must find out the truth. She must remember.With lyrical prose and magical elements, Emily X.R. Pan's stunning debut novel alternates between past and present, romance and despair, as one girl attempts to find herself through family history, art, friendship, and love.

Orion Children's Books

Six of Crows: Crooked Kingdom

Leigh Bardugo
Authors:
Leigh Bardugo
Hodder Children's Books

Gone Wild

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore
Orion Children's Books

Six of Crows

Leigh Bardugo
Authors:
Leigh Bardugo

Nominated for the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2017, this fantasy epic from the No. 1 NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author of the Grisha trilogy is gripping, sweeping and memorable - perfect for fans of George R. R. Martin, Laini Taylor and Kristin Cashore. Criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams - but he can't pull it off alone. A convict with a thirst for revenge. A sharpshooter who can't walk away from a wager.A runaway with a privileged past. A spy known as the Wraith. A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums. A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes. Six dangerous outcasts. One impossible heist. Kaz's crew is the only thing that might stand between the world and destruction - if they don't kill each other first.An epic new exploration of the Grisha universe from the writer of SHADOW AND BONE, SIEGE AND STORM and RUIN AND RISING, totally consuming for both old fans and new.

Orion Children's Books

The Glory

Lauren St John
Authors:
Lauren St John