Joan Aiken - Midnight is a Place - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444919035
    • Publication date:01 May 2014

Midnight is a Place

By Joan Aiken

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

A masterful, compelling story from an award-winning author, this is the anniversary edition of a story every child and parent will love.

Lucas is lonely. Orphaned and sent to live with his formidable guardian in a vast mansion, he longs for a friend.

Then Anna-Marie arrives. She's spoilt and wilful - and practically half his age. Lucas feels more alone than ever.

But one night something terrible happens. Lucas and Anna-Marie face a terrifying and treacherous ordeal, alone in the hostile city streets. Together, they must fight to survive ...

The 40th anniversary edition of a compelling tale of villainy and suspense - from the best-selling author of THE WOLVES OF WILLOUGHBY CHASE.

Biographical Notes

Joan Aiken is the author of over a hundred books for adults and children, many of them classics. She worked on the magazine ARGOSY and wrote hundreds of short stories before her first novel THE WOLVES OF WILLOUGHBY CHASE was published in the early '60s. It was highly praised in Time magazine and its success allowed Joan to write full-time thereafter. She has said, 'I would never want to do anything but write stories. It is inventing your own world, using all the bits of the real one that you like best. And that is something you can do anywhere, at any time.'

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444919028
  • Publication date: 01 May 2014
  • Page count: 368
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Joan Aiken is one of the most remarkable writers in modern children's fiction. — The Sunday Times
An old-fashioned rattling good yarn, full of extraordinary characters and gloriously rich language — Adele Geras, TES
Joan Aiken is a superb storyteller. Even when her stories touch on the dark, mystical side, they pull children with with fascination, not fear — Sainsbury's Magazine
Fog Hounds: 'Spellbinding adventures which are modern fairy tales.' — Aldershot Mail
A gem from the top-class author of The Wolves of Willoughby Chase — Birmingham Post
A collection of manageably short but grippingly exciting tales that will have (children) coming back for more. — The Lady
Hodder Children's Books

Queen of Ruin

Tracy Banghart, Tracy Banghart
Authors:
Tracy Banghart, Tracy Banghart

The breathtaking sequel to Grace and Fury. A fierce tale of sisterhood, courtly intrigue, and heart pounding action, perfect for fans of Red Queen and The Selection.Nomi and Malachi find themselves powerless and headed towards their all-but-certain deaths. Now that Asa sits on the throne, he will stop at nothing to make sure Malachi never sets foot in the palace again. Nomi's sister, Serina, is far away on the prison island of Mount Ruin - but it is in the grip of revolution and Serina leads. The women there have their sights set on revenge beyond the confines of their island prison. They will stop at nothing to gain freedom for the entire kingdom. But first they'll have to get rid of Asa, and only Nomi knows how.Separated once again, this time by choice, Nomi and Serina must forge their own paths as they aim to tear down the world they know, to build something better in its place.

Orion Children's Books

A Strange Kind of Brave

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

To Kill a Mockingbird with an angelic twist - a novel about the tragedy of fear, the courage of love, and the heroism of everyday kindness. A new poignant and big-hearted novel from bestselling Waterstones Children's Book Prize shortlisted author Sarah Moore Fitzgerald.Allie has made a terrible mistake - one with enormous consequences, something she can't tell anyone about. Except for Dylan, the strange new boy who vows to help her in every way he can. Dylan believes they can fix it all. Tragedy is in store, but in ways neither can ever begin to see...

Quercus Children's Books

Meat Market

Juno Dawson
Authors:
Juno Dawson

Jana Novak's history sounds like a classic model cliché: tall and gangly, she's uncomfortable with her androgynous looks until she's unexpectedly scouted and catapulted to superstardom. But the fashion industry is as grimy as it is glamorous. And there are unexpected predators at every turn. Jana is an ordinary girl from a south London estate, lifted to unimaginable heights. But the further you rise, the more devastating your fall ... Honest and raw, this is a timely exposé of the dark underbelly of the fashion industry in an era of #TimesUp and #MeToo. It might just be Juno Dawson's most important book yet.

Quercus Children's Books

A Girl Called Justice

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths
Orchard Books

The Boy Who Steals Houses

C. G. Drews
Authors:
C. G. Drews

Can two broken boys find their perfect home? By turns heartbreaking and heartwarming, this is a gorgeously told, powerful story.Sam is only fifteen but he and his autistic older brother, Avery, have been abandoned by every relative he's ever known. Now Sam's trying to build a new life for them. He survives by breaking into empty houses when their owners are away, until one day he's caught out when a family returns home. To his amazement this large, chaotic family takes him under their wing - each teenager assuming Sam is a friend of another sibling. Sam finds himself inextricably caught up in their life, and falling for the beautiful Moxie. But Sam has a secret, and his past is about to catch up with him.Heartfelt storytelling, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Jennifer Niven.

Orchard Books

Evermore

Sara Holland
Authors:
Sara Holland
Hodder Children's Books

The Colour of the Sun

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond
Wren & Rook

You Are Awesome

Matthew Syed
Authors:
Matthew Syed
Wayland

What is Right and Wrong? Who Decides? Where Do Values Come From? And Other Big Questions

Michael Rosen, Annemarie Young
Authors:
Michael Rosen, Annemarie Young
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Trinity

Olivia Chase
Authors:
Olivia Chase

For fans of Cassandra Clare, this kick-ass new series will keep you on the edge of your seat . . .With an occult detective for a dad, Diana's normal life has never been too normal. Uprooted by investigations, she finds herself on a long train journey to Edinburgh, sitting next to a boy who makes her heart melt. Or something melt. Anyway, she's melting. Maybe a new life in Scotland won't be so bad after all.But when Di's recurring nightmares start to come true, her destiny changes for ever. After her dad goes missing, she becomes part of a Trinity of Demon Hunters. Along with her two new friends, she needs to face down death, rescue her dad and save their city. Because that's what Demon Hunters do, right?There's only one question left to answer: how do you kill a dead man?

Orchard Books

Eight Rivers of Shadow

Leo Hunt
Authors:
Leo Hunt

A thrilling supernatural adventure: dark, funny, with twists at every turn. The sequel to Thirteen Days of Midnight, shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Prize 2016.Luke Manchett used to be one of the most popular boys at school.That was before his necromancer father died and left him a host of vengeful ghosts that wanted him dead.Now everyone thinks he's a freak.To make matters worse, the mysterious new girl at school is actually the daughter of his father's deadliest enemy...And she's out for revenge.

Wayland

Problem Solved: 52 Teen Boy Problems & How To Solve Them

Alex Hooper-Hodson
Authors:
Alex Hooper-Hodson
Wayland

Problem Solved: 52 Teen Girl Problems & How To Solve Them

Alex Hooper-Hodson
Authors:
Alex Hooper-Hodson

Agony Uncle, relationship expert, journalist and blogger, Alex Hooper-Hodson received upwards of 2,000 letters a month from teen boys and girls aged 12-16. All can be related to 52 core issues that affect teenage boys and girls today - from first sexual relationships, dealing with unwanted sexual attention, how to avoid Facebook mistakes, how drink, drugs and online gaming can affect your life - to the social and emotional aspects of family, friends and relationships. Through a 'Problem Page' format Alex explores the key issues that today's teens face.

Quercus Children's Books

Coco

Gemma Burgess, Gemma Burgess
Authors:
Gemma Burgess, Gemma Burgess

Coco has always been the 'good one'. But when she catches her boyfriend cheating on her, she decides it's time to break bad. Coco swiftly goes from spending all her time baking and reading to working in (and dancing on) a bar, and falling in and out of love. Meanwhile Coco's best friends are suddenly plunged into break-ups, break-downs, big breaks, and before long the group is on the verge of quitting New York City altogether. Is Coco strong enough to keep them all together - and find herself at the same time?

Hodder Children's Books

The Loss

Julie Plec
Authors:
Julie Plec
Franklin Watts

Hottest Shot

Jonny Zucker
Authors:
Jonny Zucker

Leo's football skills are...well let's just say he's not his team's star player. But when he visits a football museum everything changes in a flash. He can talk to football superstars - and they help to coach him!In Hottest Shot, Leo is transported to Geoff Hurst's past where he is given shooting tips by the England World Cup winner himself! Leo has to learn fast, because before he's ready he has to help Geoff beat West Germany at the 1966 World Cup Final.A fantasy football tale from another dimension!This title is published by Franklin Watts EDGE, which produces a range of books to get children reading with confidence. EDGE - for books children can't put down.

Franklin Watts

Driving Force

Jonny Zucker
Authors:
Jonny Zucker
Franklin Watts

Free Kick Pro

Jonny Zucker
Authors:
Jonny Zucker

Leo's football skills are...well let's just say he's not his team's star player. But when he visits a football museum everything changes in a flash. He can talk to football superstars - and they help to coach him!In Free Kick Pro, Leo is transported to David Beckham's past where he is given dead ball tips by the England legend himself! Leo has to learn fast, because before he's ready he has to help David take his crucial free kick against Greece in 2001. It's a last gasp chance for England to get to the World Cup Finals! A fantasy football tale from another dimension!This title is published by Franklin Watts EDGE, which produces a range of books to get children reading with confidence. EDGE - for books children can't put down.

Franklin Watts

Demon Dribbler

Jonny Zucker
Authors:
Jonny Zucker
Orion Children's Books

The Apple Tart of Hope

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald