Robert Muchamore - Rock War - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444914542
    • Publication date:15 Sep 2016
Books in this series

Rock War

Book 1

By Robert Muchamore

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The biggest thing this year: a spectacular new series from number one international bestseller Robert Muchamore!

Meet Jay. Summer. And Dylan.

Jay plays guitar, writes songs and dreams of being a rock star. But his ambitions are stifled by seven siblings and a terrible drummer.

Summer works hard at school, looks after her nan and has a one-in-a-million singing voice. But can her talent triumph over her nerves?

Dylan is happiest lying on his bunk smoking, but his school rugby coach has other ideas, and Dylan reluctantly joins a band to avoid crunching tackles and icy mud.

They're about to enter the biggest battle of their lives. And there's everything to play for.

A spectacular start to the new series from Robert Muchamore, bestselling author of CHERUB - read on with Rock War: The Audition, a story especially written for World Book Day.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444914559
  • Publication date: 27 Feb 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
A new series for teenagers and it's a sure-fire winner: daring, pacy and authentic. Muchamore is second to none when it comes to getting inside teenagers' heads and Rock War is a rollercoaster read, full of breathtaking twists and turns. — Daily Express
Bursting with drama. — The Daily Telegraph
Best known for his thrilling CHERUB teen-spy novels, this first in a new series about budding rock stars arrives with high expectations... a gritty, uncompromising read... there's plenty of potential here... turn the volume up to 11. — The Daily Mail
A belter. — The Financial Times
A pacy and enjoyable read. — The Daily Telegraph
Muchamore's great skill is in painting young characters that feel real with a broad brushstroke so that readers are able to transpose their lives and concerns onto them... Muchamore explores this hinterland with fluid ease and skill... a strong start for a promising new series. * * * * — Books for Keeps
There is so much more to this fast, exciting novel for today's teenagers than just a story about kids forming rock bands... a pacy, hard-hitting novel for today. — School Librarian
Headbangingly brilliant. — Janette Wolf, The Independent
A must-read for teens who dream of musical stardom. The perfect way to get reluctant readers hooked on real-world exciting books — The School Run
Orchard Books

Equestria Girls: Magic, Magic Everywhere!

Perdita Finn
Authors:
Perdita Finn

In the human world, far from Equestria, there are some very familiar girls. Meet Pinkie Pie, Rainbow Dash and all their friends as you've never seen them before!The Equestria Girls are super excited to be invited to the set of the latest Daring Do movie! But when some important props go missing, they soon realise that something is seriously wrong . . . Can the friends use their newfound magical powers to save the movie from disaster? And can they raise enough money to save Camp Everfree along the way?

Wayland

Natural Habitats

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele
Wayland

Food

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele
Hodder Children's Books

Crash Landing

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore

Don't miss the last episode of international bestseller Robert Muchamore's ROCK WAR series! Jay, Summer and Dylan are fresh out of the biggest reality show there is. But they're about to discover what fame and fortune are really about. Jay's brother Theo is young, rich and famous: but is it making him happy?Summer's got to weather her one-star reviews and take her career back into her own hands.And Dylan might soon be seeing the world of show-business from the four walls of a prison cell. They've got everything to play for. From the author of CHERUB and Henderson's Boys: find out more at rockwar.com

Orion Children's Books

Invictus

Ryan Graudin
Authors:
Ryan Graudin
Wren & Rook

This Book Will (Help You) Change the World

Sue Turton, Alice Skinner
Contributors:
Sue Turton, Alice Skinner

Protest injustice.Campaign for change.Vote for your future.Featuring contributions from C4 anchor Jon Snow, Avaaz.com founder Jeremy Heimans, leader of Hong Kong's Umbrella Revolution Joshua Wong and more, this is the powerhouse guide to politics and activism you've been waiting for.Award-winning journalist Sue Turton explains the political system that rules our daily lives while also pointing out its flaws - and empowers readers to change the status quo. Disrupt the system from within by joining political parties or inspire change through protest. Either way, this guide shows you how to avoid fake news, triumph in debates and grab the spotlight so your campaign can change the world. Includes hilarious tongue-in-cheek illustrations from activist-illustrator Alice Skinner.

Wayland

Climate Change

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele
Wayland

Population

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Glow of Fallen Stars

Kate Ling
Authors:
Kate Ling
Wayland

Water

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele
Wayland

Oil

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele

Petroleum has utterly changed the way we live. But has the cost to the planet been too great? Has oil overheated our climate? Is the Oil Age already being replaced by smarter technologies? Is there enough of the black stuff to go round, and will it keep flowing? This book, in the Question It! series for readers upwards of age ten, will explore these important topics in a balanced and objective way, encouraging readers to take a questioning approach to the issues surrounding the use of oil and natural gas.

Hodder Children's Books

New Guard

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore
Hodder Children's Books

Class A: The Graphic Novel

Robert Muchamore, David Combet, Baptiste Payen
Contributors:
Robert Muchamore, David Combet, Baptiste Payen

Experience the second CHERUB international bestseller in graphic novel format! James Adams' mission is to succeed where dozens of attempts by undercover police officers have failed ... When CHERUB kids go undercover, no one suspects that they are trained professionals, working to infiltrate criminal organisations that have eluded MI5 and the police for years. James Adams is on his biggest mission yet, working to nail Europe's most powerful cocaine dealer. He'll need all his specialist training if he's going to bring down the man at the top. The reason for CHERUB's existence is simple: adults never suspect that children are spying on them. For official purposes, these children do not exist.

Orchard Books

Equestria Girls: Legend of Everfree

Perdita Finn
Authors:
Perdita Finn

In the human world, far from Equestria, there are some very familiar girls. Meet Pinkie Pie, Rainbow Dash and all their freinds as you've never seen them before! The Equestria Girls are off on their summer holidays to Camp Everfree, but the camp is in danger of closing down! Can Fluttershy and her friends pony up and throw a fundraising show in time to save their summer? And what is the mysterious legend of Everfree?

Hodder Children's Books

Gone Wild

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore

The Rock War TV show is the most-watched reality show on British telly, and it's only halfway through. Jay, Summer, Dylan and their bands have all made it past the tough boot camp stage, and now the last six will fight it out until the season's finale, live on Christmas Eve.But it's not all about the music. Summer was hit by a motorbike at the end of boot camp. Jay's brother Theo can't keep out of trouble - or out of handcuffs. And Dylan, the outsider, is investigating corruption within the workings of the competition itself.They've got everything to play for ...The dramatic third book in this spectacular series from Robert Muchamore, bestselling author of CHERUB.

Orion Children's Books

Wolf by Wolf: Blood for Blood

Ryan Graudin
Authors:
Ryan Graudin
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Loneliness of Distant Beings

Kate Ling
Authors:
Kate Ling

Choice is rebellion. Love is an anomaly. And freedom? Freedom is dangerous. The perfect read for fans of Veronica Roth and Beth Revis.Seren's life might be confined to a tin can hurtling through space, but she wants more. More life. More passion. And the impossible: to feel sunshine on her skin. But then she meets Dom, and he changes everything. Suddenly her dull grey life becomes technicolour. She's not meant to love him, but to lose him would be like losing herself. She's determined to keep hold of what they have, no matter how dangerous ... 'It is that quick, that strong, that beautiful. And it is also totally impossible.'See how the love story continues in Kate's second book, The Glow of Fallen Stars.

Franklin Watts

Food and Eating

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne

Food can be confusing! There's a lot of information out there about which foods are 'good' or 'bad' for you - and it seems to change every week! And people can sometimes get very stressed about food and eating, and how it affects their bodies. This book for teens explains how food works, so they can make their own decisions armed with all the facts.Is is part of the series Healthy for Life, which gives factual information on a range of health issues so teens can get the information they need to be healthy. The books feature fun infographic style illustrations.

Hodder Children's Books

The Game

David Grimstone
Authors:
David Grimstone

Self-named The Outcasts; Jake (Dealmo) and his friends Kellogg, Lemon and Fatyak like to spend their spare time playing role playing games. But things are about to get a little more interesting ... as the group sit down to play Destiny, a brand new RPG, they realise that this is no ordinary game. What they really have their hands on is the ancient Pandora's Box, containing superpowers for each of them.On the other side of town is an organisation called the Reach, who hunt down precious artefacts. They want Pandora's Box back for themselves. With their new superpowers, just what have The Outcasts unleashed on the world - and themselves?

Orion Children's Books

Wolf by Wolf

Ryan Graudin
Authors:
Ryan Graudin

NOMINATED FOR THE CILIP CARNEGIE MEDAL 2017Welcome to an alternate history. Over 10 years since the Nazis won the war, 17-year-old Yael has one mission: to kill Hitler. But first she's got to get close enough to him to do it. WOLF BY WOLF is a captivating thriller, perfect for fans of THE BOOK THIEF, dystopia and fantasy.Once upon a different time, there was a girl who lived in a kingdom of death. Wolves howled up her arm. A whole pack of them - made of tattoo ink and pain, memory and loss. It was the only thing about her that ever stayed the same. Her story begins on a train. Experimented on by scientists during her childhood in a concentration camp, Yael escaped with the unique ability to change her appearance at will. The only parts of her which always remain are the five tattooed wolves on her arm, one for each of the people she's lost. Now she is intent on getting revenge and achieving her goal: to kill the Führer and change history forever. But to get close enough she must win an epic and gruelling motorcycle race from Berlin to Tokyo - disguised as someone else . . .