Robert Muchamore - Rock War - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444914542
    • Publication date:15 Sep 2016
Books in this series

Rock War

Book 1

By Robert Muchamore

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The biggest thing this year: a spectacular new series from number one international bestseller Robert Muchamore!

Meet Jay. Summer. And Dylan.

Jay plays guitar, writes songs and dreams of being a rock star. But his ambitions are stifled by seven siblings and a terrible drummer.

Summer works hard at school, looks after her nan and has a one-in-a-million singing voice. But can her talent triumph over her nerves?

Dylan is happiest lying on his bunk smoking, but his school rugby coach has other ideas, and Dylan reluctantly joins a band to avoid crunching tackles and icy mud.

They're about to enter the biggest battle of their lives. And there's everything to play for.

A spectacular start to the new series from Robert Muchamore, bestselling author of CHERUB - read on with Rock War: The Audition, a story especially written for World Book Day.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444914559
  • Publication date: 27 Feb 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
A new series for teenagers and it's a sure-fire winner: daring, pacy and authentic. Muchamore is second to none when it comes to getting inside teenagers' heads and Rock War is a rollercoaster read, full of breathtaking twists and turns. — Daily Express
Bursting with drama. — The Daily Telegraph
Best known for his thrilling CHERUB teen-spy novels, this first in a new series about budding rock stars arrives with high expectations... a gritty, uncompromising read... there's plenty of potential here... turn the volume up to 11. — The Daily Mail
A belter. — The Financial Times
A pacy and enjoyable read. — The Daily Telegraph
Muchamore's great skill is in painting young characters that feel real with a broad brushstroke so that readers are able to transpose their lives and concerns onto them... Muchamore explores this hinterland with fluid ease and skill... a strong start for a promising new series. * * * * — Books for Keeps
There is so much more to this fast, exciting novel for today's teenagers than just a story about kids forming rock bands... a pacy, hard-hitting novel for today. — School Librarian
Headbangingly brilliant. — Janette Wolf, The Independent
A must-read for teens who dream of musical stardom. The perfect way to get reluctant readers hooked on real-world exciting books — The School Run
Quercus Children's Books

Clean

Juno Dawson
Authors:
Juno Dawson
Hodder Children's Books

Crash Landing

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Kids Who Knew Too Little

Gitty Daneshvari
Authors:
Gitty Daneshvari

When Jonathan and Shelley travels to Europe to infiltrate a secret society and save the day one last time, everything comes to a head in this action-packed finale of the League of Unexceptional Children series!

Orchard Books

Dino Duckling

Alison Murray
Authors:
Alison Murray
Hodder Children's Books

The Rainmaker Danced

John Agard, Satoshi Kitamura
Contributors:
John Agard, Satoshi Kitamura

A brand-new anthology of poems by winner of the Queens Medal and the Eleanor Farjeon Award, John AgardDo trianglesever get into a tangle when their sides meet their angles?In this brand new collection of poems, John Agard draws on themes from nature and science to identity and inclusion, to inspire every reader. Here, we become transported by words and form on a journey through past and present. We are invited to answer life's questions, while having a great deal of fun at the same time ... Answers are folly when questions are bliss?Without questions, do I exist?

Hodder Children's Books

Moxie

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu
Hodder Children's Books

Indigo Donut

Patrice Lawrence
Authors:
Patrice Lawrence

The breathtaking second book from the author of Orangeboy, winner of the Waterstones Children's Book Prize for Older Readers and shortlisted for the Costa Book Award and the YA Book Prize.Praise for Orangeboy:"A truly brilliant book." Malorie Blackman"Incredible book. Thank you Patrice Lawrence for such a fresh and riveting piece of fiction." Ben Bailey Smith (Doc Brown)Seventeen-year-old Indigo has had a tough start in life, having grown up in the care system after her dad killed her mum. Bailey, also seventeen, lives with his parents in Hackney and spends all his time playing guitar or tending to his luscious ginger afro. When Indigo and Bailey meet at sixth form, serious sparks fly. But when Bailey becomes the target of a homeless man who seems to know more about Indigo than is normal, Bailey is forced to make a choice he should never have to make. A life-affirming story about falling in love and everyone's need to belong.

Hodder Children's Books

Class A: The Graphic Novel

Robert Muchamore, David Combet, Baptiste Payen
Contributors:
Robert Muchamore, David Combet, Baptiste Payen
Orchard Books

Equestria Girls: Legend of Everfree

Perdita Finn
Authors:
Perdita Finn

In the human world, far from Equestria, there are some very familiar girls. Meet Pinkie Pie, Rainbow Dash and all their freinds as you've never seen them before! The Equestria Girls are off on their summer holidays to Camp Everfree, but the camp is in danger of closing down! Can Fluttershy and her friends pony up and throw a fundraising show in time to save their summer? And what is the mysterious legend of Everfree?

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Incredible Billy Wild

Joanna Nadin
Authors:
Joanna Nadin

This cover comes in four different colours, supplied at random. Which one will you receive?When a greyhound turns up in Billy Wild's shed, he has no idea how much his life is about to change. Can Billy keep his new best friend and save hundreds like her? A story about dogs, love, family and freedom, full of heart and humour. Perfect for fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce and Eva Ibbotson.When Billy Wild's teacher asks the class to write a letter to their god, Billy's request is simple: Please send me a dog.So when he discovers a greyhound hiding in the shed, he decides someone must really be listening. With the help of his brothers, Billy sets out to hide her from Dad, who's far too stressed to add a dog to the mix. But keeping a greyhound a secret is a difficult task, and when Billy's classmate Paris enters them all in a local talent show, it becomes even harder!Billy must make a big, brave, wild decision - but it's one that might save Dog and hundreds like her. And it might just make him incredible...

Hodder Children's Books

Gone Wild

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore
Orchard Books

Love You Hoo

Rachel Bright
Authors:
Rachel Bright

A snuggly, cuddly, joyful celebration of love from Rachel Bright, creator of the multi million-selling The Bright Side greetings card and gift range.Cuddle up now, little one, let's snuggle wing-to-wing.Are you feeling safe and warm? Ok then, let's begin . . . Join Little Owl and Big Owl as they cuddle up at bedtime, thinking of the special times they've had together and all the exciting adventures the future holds.From Rachel Bright, creator of the bestselling Love Monster and the million-selling lifestyle brand The Bright Side, this joyous, call-it-from-the-treetops celebration of love is perfect for sharing again and again.

Orion Children's Books

Saint Death

Marcus Sedgwick
Authors:
Marcus Sedgwick
Orchard Books

I Love My Birthday

Giles Andreae, Emma Dodd
Contributors:
Giles Andreae, Emma Dodd

From the author of Giraffes Can't Dance and award-winning creators of I Love My Mummy and I Love My Daddy comes a picture book about the fun and excitement of being a year older. From birthday kisses to party games with friends, all the joy of the big day is captured through true-to-life humour and lovely pictures. The perfect present for every birthday girl or boy, this book will delight time and time again. From the bestselling author Giles Andreae, whose rhyming text perfectly captures the joyful exuberance of young children, and the award-winning Emma Dodd, whose cheerful colours and irrepressible illustrations delight children and their parents everywhere.

Orchard Books

Princess Luna and the Winter Moon Festival

G M Berrow
Authors:
G M Berrow

Enjoy reading with all your My Little Pony friends! All the ponies in Equestria love the Summer Sun Celebration - all except Princess Luna. So when the Cutie Mark Crusaders suggest that they have a special Winter Moon Festival just for her, Luna can't think of anything worse!Princess Luna is determined to stop the party. Can her pony friends help her enjoy the festival fun?This magical My Little Pony adventure comes with bonus coloured activity pages, packed with puzzles, games and more fun! Perfect to read together or for newly confident readers, these are brand-new adventures full of magic and friendship. Check out the other books in this sparkly series: Twilight Sparkle and the Crystal Heart Spell Pinkie Pie and the Rockin' Pony Party Rainbow Dash and the Daring Do Double Dare Rarity and the Curious Case of Charity Applejack and the Secret Diary SwitcherooFluttershy and the Furry Friends Fair Discord and the Ponyville Players Princess Celestia and the Royal Rescue Princess Luna and the Winter Moon Festival Lyra and the Secret Agent Ponies

Orchard Books

Fashion Fun Sticker Book

Hodder Children's Books

New Guard

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore
Orion Children's Books

Six of Crows

Leigh Bardugo
Authors:
Leigh Bardugo

Nominated for the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2017, this fantasy epic from the No. 1 NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author of the Grisha trilogy is gripping, sweeping and memorable - perfect for fans of George R. R. Martin, Laini Taylor and Kristin Cashore. Criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams - but he can't pull it off alone. A convict with a thirst for revenge. A sharpshooter who can't walk away from a wager.A runaway with a privileged past. A spy known as the Wraith. A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums. A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes. Six dangerous outcasts. One impossible heist. Kaz's crew is the only thing that might stand between the world and destruction - if they don't kill each other first.An epic new exploration of the Grisha universe from the writer of SHADOW AND BONE, SIEGE AND STORM and RUIN AND RISING, totally consuming for both old fans and new.

Orchard Books

Alexandra the Royal Baby Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

The royal family of Fairyland can't wait to welcome their new baby. Everyone is very excited, until the magical bundle of joy goes missing! Could this be the work of nasty Jack Frost? Join Kirsty and Rachel as they must help Alexandra the Royal Baby Fairy save the day!

Orchard Books

Equestria Girls: Friendship Games

Perdita Finn
Authors:
Perdita Finn

It's time for the Friendship Games! The students at Canterlot Highhave to face Crystal Prep Academy in a contest to decide which school id the best. The Crystal Prep students are super smart and athletic, but they don't have the pony powers of Sunset Shimmer and her friends! Is the magical power of friendship enough for them to win?