Sarah Dessen - This Lullaby - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

This Lullaby

By Sarah Dessen

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Love is a sham. At least that's what Remy thinks. Until Dexter comes crashing into her life... Can he change her mind?

Remy is a cynic when it comes to love. Let down by her absent musician dad and witness to her mother's four failed marriages, she doesn't intend ever to let anyone that close. So when Dexter comes crashing into her life, why is it suddenly so hard for Remy to follow her own rules? He's everything she hates: messy, disorganised, impulsive, and worst of all, a musician like her absent father...

Biographical Notes

Sarah Dessen is in her early 30s. She graduated from the University of North Carolina with highest honours in creative writing, and she now teaches there. She has written five books to date, published by Viking in the US. Her books have all been chosen as ALA Best Books for Young Adults.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444907766
  • Publication date: 04 Aug 2011
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Hodder Children's Books

Revolution

Simon Lelic
Authors:
Simon Lelic

An adrenaline-fuelled adventure, second in the Haven series, by top thriller writer Simon Lelic. You don't know it exists, but when you have nowhere else to turn, the Haven will find you ... Our city. Our secret. Our rules. When pupils start going missing from a prestigious boarding school, Ollie Turner knows it's a job for the Haven. Below the city streets, the Haven is a sanctuary for kids run by kids. Ollie and the Haven's investigations team put their lives on the line, going undercover to find the missing children. But little do they realise that a deadly enemy awaits them - one with plans to destroy everything they hold dear. What they're saying about The Haven: 'What a cool idea. Modern street kids doing it for themselves and kicking adult butt.' Charlie Higson'One of those grab 'em by the throat thrillers that takes off on the first page.' Eoin Colfer'Adventurous, and thrilling.' Harsh Budheo, age 11, LoveReading4Kids'An action-packed book, rammed full of adventure and danger. I loved reading this book.' Bella Rix-Clancy, age 11, LoveReading4KidsAn explosive and compelling read from the writer of adult thrillers THE HOUSE, THE LIAR'S ROOM and RUPTURE, this is the second in the HAVEN series.

Hodder Children's Books

Rose, Interrupted

Patrice Lawrence
Authors:
Patrice Lawrence
Hodder Children's Books

Queen of Ruin

Tracy Banghart, Tracy Banghart
Authors:
Tracy Banghart, Tracy Banghart

The breathtaking sequel to Grace and Fury. A fierce tale of sisterhood, courtly intrigue, and heart pounding action, perfect for fans of Red Queen and The Selection.Nomi and Malachi find themselves powerless and headed towards their all-but-certain deaths. Now that Asa sits on the throne, he will stop at nothing to make sure Malachi never sets foot in the palace again. Nomi's sister, Serina, is far away on the prison island of Mount Ruin - but it is in the grip of revolution and Serina leads. The women there have their sights set on revenge beyond the confines of their island prison. They will stop at nothing to gain freedom for the entire kingdom. But first they'll have to get rid of Asa, and only Nomi knows how.Separated once again, this time by choice, Nomi and Serina must forge their own paths as they aim to tear down the world they know, to build something better in its place.

Hodder Children's Books

Arrowheart 2

Rebecca Sky
Authors:
Rebecca Sky
Franklin Watts

Body Brilliant

Nicola Morgan
Authors:
Nicola Morgan

Written by teenage expert, Nicola Morgan, 'Body Brilliant' will help teenagers to develop or retain a positive body image. We're all bombarded with information and images - through the media and our peers - about being too big, too small, being cool, being popular or having the 'right' kind of clothes. This book addresses the body issues that nearly everyone worries about at some point in their lives and gives practical and mindful solutions to work through worries, using real-life examples, quotes and anecdotes from young adults interviewed especially for this book.'Body Brilliant' explores psychological pressures that make us see our bodies in certain ways, positively or negatively, as well as considering how adolescent body changes, gender identity and gender expectations, sexuality and sexual orientation affect self-image, and looks at issues such as body dysmorphia and eating disorders.'Body Brilliant' also encourages you to think about how you view differences in others and understand that variety is a brilliant thing. And that being yourself is much better than being just like everyone else. Learn to celebrate the differences that make every body brilliant!

Hodder Children's Books

Heartstopper Volume Two

Alice Oseman
Authors:
Alice Oseman

Boy meets boy. Boys become friends. Boys fall in love. An LGBTQ+ graphic novel about life, love, and everything that happens in between: this is the second volume of HEARTSTOPPER, for fans of The Art of Being Normal, Holly Bourne and Love, Simon. Nick and Charlie are best friends. Nick knows Charlie's gay, and Charlie is sure that Nick isn't. But love works in surprising ways, and Nick is discovering all kinds of things about his friends, his family ... and himself. Heartstopper is about friendship, loyalty and mental illness. It encompasses all the small stories of Nick and Charlie's lives that together make up something larger, which speaks to all of us. This is the second volume of Heartstopper, with more to come.

Wren & Rook

Can Everyone Please Calm Down?

Mae Martin
Authors:
Mae Martin
Wren & Rook

A Mad Girl's Guide to Being You

Bryony Gordon
Authors:
Bryony Gordon

THE BOOK THAT EVERY TEENAGE GIRL SHOULD OWN NOW - AND ADULTS WILL WISH THEY OWNED BACK THEN. I wanted to be a unicorn. I wanted to be a princess. I wanted to be an astronaut. But the thing I really wanted to be more than anything else, was a little less like me.It was only recently I realised not wanting to be me when I grew up was at the heart of every dumb decision I ever made. Yet when I really sat down and thought about it, being me was the thing that people most actually liked about me and it was much easier than trying to be someone else. And so, now I find myself writing this book containing all the life lessons I wish someone had told me at 14, which I am only really learning now. A book for the teenage girl in me. And for every teenage girl out there. Because the most powerful thing you can be when you grow up is yourself.Sharing 10 crucial life lessons, from self-respect and esteem to body confidence and mental health, this is the ultimate guide to growing up happy.

Orion Children's Books

King of Scars

Leigh Bardugo
Authors:
Leigh Bardugo
Wayland

The Fall of the Berlin Wall

Patricia Levy
Authors:
Patricia Levy
Hodder Children's Books

Nowhere on Earth

Nick Lake
Authors:
Nick Lake

'Action and excitement and deep emotion. Gorgeous.' Cecelia AhernIt starts with a plane crash. There are survivors: a teenage girl and her little brother. They are running from something. But what?Then the men arrive. They are hunting the girl and boy. And-And that's all we can tell you ...A thrilling story of survival, hope and a love beyond all understanding, from the award-winning author of Satellite.

Quercus Children's Books

Girlhood

Cat Clarke
Authors:
Cat Clarke
Orion Children's Books

The Darkest Part of the Forest

Holly Black
Authors:
Holly Black
Orchard Books

The Traitor

Allen Zadoff
Authors:
Allen Zadoff

The perfect assassin is now the perfect target.Boy Nobody was the Program's best soldier. Now, after going rogue, he's their number one target.The training that made him a killer is his best chance of survival. But in his search for the truth about the Program, he is forced to put his trust in another.And trust can be fatal.The final thrilling installment in this acclaimed action-adventure trilogy.

Franklin Watts

Children of the Holocaust

Alex Woolf
Authors:
Alex Woolf

The Holocaust is one of the most shocking events of the 20th century and one that continues to resonate today. Its Nazi perpetrators showed no mercy, not even to children and perhaps, as a result, it is often the experiences of the children of this era that speak to us most strongly. This moving and important book explores what happened to children during the Holocaust, from the early persecution of the Jews to the 'final solution'. It also considers the experiences of those who escaped or hid, and those who survived. As the Holocaust moves further away from us in history, it is important to keep it in the consciousness of the next generation. By using the experiences of children, this book is a powerful way to engage the attention and sympathy of young people today.

Orchard Books

How To Fight A Girl

Thomas Rockwell
Authors:
Thomas Rockwell

Billy is so proud of his new bike, that he is always showing it off. And his friend Alan has had enough! It's time to get revenge, and Alan has the perfect plan...he's going to make Billy go out with a girl!A modern classic and one of the most hilarious stories ever! For fans of Diary of a Wimpy Kid and David Walliams!

Wayland

Texts, Tweets, Trolls and Teens

Anita Naik
Authors:
Anita Naik
Hodder Children's Books

Heaven Eyes

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Loki's Wolves

K. L. Armstrong, M. A. Marr
Authors:
K. L. Armstrong, M. A. Marr
Hodder Children's Books

Skellig

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond

When a move to a new house coincides with his baby sister's illness, Michael's world seems suddenly lonely and uncertain. Then, one Sunday afternoon, he stumbles into the old, ramshackle garage of his new home, and finds something magical. A strange creature - part owl, part angel, a being who needs Michael's help if he is to survive. With his new friend Mina, Michael nourishes Skellig back to health, while his baby sister languishes in the hospital. But Skellig is far more than he at first appears, and as he helps Michael breathe life into his tiny sister, Michael's world changes forever . . .Skellig won the Carnegie Medal and the Whitbread Children's Book Award and is now a major Sky1 feature film, starring Tim Roth and John Simm. David Almond is also winner of the 2010 Hans Christian Andersen award.