L J Adlington - Night Witches - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £6.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444904314
    • Publication date:05 Sep 2013

Night Witches

By L J Adlington

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A supernatural thriller-romance set in an all-girl teenage bomber-pilot regiment, combining witchcraft and legend.

TWO NATIONS AT WAR. ONE GIRL CAUGHT IN THE MIDDLE.
Rain Aranoza is a teenage bomber-pilot from Rodina, a nation of science and fact ruled by the all knowing Aura, where the belief in witches or any type of superstition is outlawed. Rain's regiment is made up of only teenage girls and their role is vital to the war effort against the Crux, a nation of faith and belief, where nature and God are celebrated and worshipped.

But Rain is struggling with another battle. She's always had a sense that her nature is different from everyone else's, and that a dormant power threatens to burst out of her.

When she encounters a young Scrutiner she falls in love with him, but is torn between what she has been taught is right, and what feels right. As her understanding of her latent power grows, the enemy threatens both her friends and her love. She can no longer ignore the power but she must choose how she uses it ...
But what will she lose in the process?

Biographical Notes

L. J. Adlington is a writer, actress and costume historian. She lives in the north of England with a cat the size of a small armchair. She loves climbing volcanoes, watching crime dramas and reading fairy-tales. She is very good at eating chocolate. Her novels for teenagers weave together past, present, future and fantasy. Her latest novel Night Witches is set on a war-torn world, with a darkly complex and powerful heroine.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444904512
  • Publication date: 05 Sep 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
A thrilling read, with a powerful love story, set in a resonant fantasy world. Like the best fantasy books, it creates a new world which has parallels with our own. Addlington is a great storyteller and this ia a gripping and rewarding read. — The School Librarian
An author who has made something of a speciality of weaving real historical threads into the imagined worlds of her futuristic novels. Classy...this is a complex novel which draws you into a world which feels both imaginatively strange and absorbingly familiar in these days of intense debate about 'God delusions'. I applaud it. — Books for Keeps
There's a real sense of genuine female empowerment in this book. Interesting, exciting and moreish. — The BookBag

PRAISE FOR THE DIARY OF PELLY D:
'a convincingly told and gripping story'

— TES
... catches you by the throat and it doesn't let you go even when you have read the last paragraph. This is a brilliant example of storytelling at its most seductive ... a fastpaced, utterly absorbing novel that is hard to put down ... — Sunday Morning Post, John Millen
L J Adlington's spare and concise voice brings Pelly D vividly to life ... will intrigue and grip from the first diary entry to the open-ended and chilling conclusion. — Pocklington Post
Written in the breathless, racy style of a young teenager, Pelly's diaries just keep you reading ... It gives an old theme a fresh twist ... — York Evening Press
... a clever, unusual story that readers looking for something different will find captivating. The book reveals its secrets slowly with maximum impact. — South China Morning Post
Adlington has crafted an original and disturbing dystopian fantasy told in a smart and sympathetic teen voice. — Booklist
This book is one thing: amazing. — Voya
'In this powerful debut novel, Adlington deftly sketches in the background to Pelly D's increasingly totalitarian world, whilst allowing her sparky heroine centre stage.' — Books for Keeps September 05
A stunning novel: a gripping page-turner. — The Press
Crammed with surprises... enjoyable and fast moving. — School Librarian
A lively and compelling story that takes and interesting perspective to German WW2 history. — hackwriters
Hodder Children's Books

Queen of Ruin

Tracy Banghart
Authors:
Tracy Banghart
Hodder Children's Books

The Paper & Hearts Society

Lucy Powrie
Authors:
Lucy Powrie

A brand new series from "the Zoella of books" - all about what happens when you give up on trying to fit in in and let your weird out! You're invited to join The Paper & Hearts Society ... get ready to find your people! Tabby Brown is tired of trying to fit in with her classmates. She doesn't want to go to parties at the weekend - in fact, she would much rather snuggle up on the sofa with her favourite book. It's like she hasn't found her people ...That is until she moves to a new town where a book club, The Paper & Hearts Society, is recruiting. Tabby might just be in luck. Enough of her old "friends" who only talk to her when they need something. It's time for Quidditch themed fancy dress parties, games like "shut up and Shakespeare" ... and LOTS of chocolate. Perfect for fans of Holly Smale and Super Awkward.

Hodder Children's Books

The Dark Lady

Akala
Authors:
Akala
Franklin Watts

Far From Home: Refugees and migrants fleeing war, persecution and poverty

Cath Senker
Authors:
Cath Senker

Orchard Books

Aisha the Astronaut Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty for the biggest adventure of all - following your dreams!Rachel and Kirsty are so excited to meet the Discovery Fairies, who look after some of the most exciting jobs in the world. But when Jack Frost steals Aisha the Astronaut Fairy's magical item, the astronauts everywhere lose their mojo!Can the girls help Aisha defeat him in a truly out-of-this-world adventure?

Orchard Books

Orla the Inventor Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty for the biggest adventure of all - following your dreams!Rachel and Kirsty are so excited to meet the Discovery Fairies, who look after some of the most exciting jobs in the world. But when Jack Frost steals Orla the Inventor Fairy's magical item, inventors everywhere stop having ideas!Can the girls help Orla defeat him and bring inspiration back to fairy and human worlds?

Orchard Books

Dani the Detective Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Orchard Books

Elsie the Engineer Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Wayland

The Fall of the Berlin Wall

Patricia Levy
Authors:
Patricia Levy

High-drama history, describing moment-by-moment the fall of the Berlin WallThirty years ago, on 9 November 1989, the Berlin Wall came down. This historic event is described in detail, focusing not only on the day itself, but also what led to the wall being there in the first place. It looks at the history of the Wall, explaining why it was built, as well as looking at the implications of what happened in the wider context of 20th century history. Real life accounts are included in moment-in-time boxes, acting as a freeze frame of people's thoughts, emotions and experiences as those from West Germany were at last free to travel to the East and vice versa.Complete with photographs, maps and a timeline, this is a fascinating insight into 20th century history.An ideal book to support the study of modern history in schools

Orchard Books

Rainbow Magic: Sasha the Slime Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel, Kirsty and Sasha for some fun with slime!Sasha the Slime Fairy's special magic helps everyone have loads of fun making and playing with slime. From glitter slime to goo slime, all types of slime are Sasha's favourite! But when Jack Frost steals her three special pieces of slime, the magic starts to go awry. Can Rachel and Kirsty help her get them back before the slime adventure comes to a sticky end?

Wayland

What is Race? Who are Racists? Why Does Skin Colour Matter? And Other Big Questions

Nikesh Shukla, Claire Heuchan
Authors:
Nikesh Shukla, Claire Heuchan
Franklin Watts

Trans Global

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head

This book for children aged 12+ supports the study of the fascinating long history of transgender around the world.The whole concept of gender identity is being increasingly challenged and words such as non-binary, pansexual, transgender, cisgender and gender dysphoria are becoming commonplace. This book explores the cultures and people of the past who have embraced, challenged or quietly subverted society's expectations about gender. It features the current stories of openly transgender people around the world in positions of power and authority, who are helping to increase recognition and acceptance of the trans community. And, as trans people often start their journeys in their teens, the book explores the experiences of some young people just at the start of their journeys.The book has a foreword by two patrons of the charity Mermaids. Jake says, 'What is becoming evident is that trans people have been around for centuries, in many guises ... transgender is certainly not the trendy fad that the press would have us believe'.

Wayland

Heroes of Light and Sound

Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Contributors:
Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Wayland

The Superhuman Body

Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Contributors:
Joy Lin, Alan Brown

What if you could be immortal or have super senses or read minds? You'd be a superhero! BUT are these superpowers feasible in the real world? Superpower Science: The Superhuman Body tells you all about the reality of these superpowers when looked at through a scientific lens.The series Superpower Science focuses on the superpowers commonly associated with superheroes and reveals just how scientifically realistic they could be to us mere humans. Each title focuses on four superpowers and explains which science principles would come into action if the superpower existed and what effect these science principles would have on the body. The comic book format and vintage-looking colourful illustrations paired with quirky and humorous explanations turn what would be considered by many as dry physics principles into high-interest exciting books. By pointing out the physical limitations of superpowers, the series aims to fix them, not crush children's dreams but inspire them to be interested in science. Perfect for reader aged 9 and up.

Hodder Children's Books

Seaside Sprint!

Mo Farah, Kes Gray, Marta Kissi
Contributors:
Mo Farah, Kes Gray, Marta Kissi
Hodder Children's Books

Dinosaur Dash!

Mo Farah, Kes Gray, Marta Kissi
Contributors:
Mo Farah, Kes Gray, Marta Kissi
Franklin Watts

Understanding Sexuality

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Hodder Children's Books

Monster Mountain Chase!

Mo Farah, Kes Gray, Marta Kissi
Contributors:
Mo Farah, Kes Gray, Marta Kissi
Franklin Watts

The Somme

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Meteor Madness

Frank Lampard
Authors:
Frank Lampard