Robert Muchamore - The Recruit Graphic Novel - Hachette Children's Group

The Recruit Graphic Novel

Book 1

By Robert Muchamore
Illustrated by John Aggs

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

The bestselling CHERUB brand takes its huge appeal into graphic novel format.

A terrorist doesn't let strangers into her flat because they might be undercover police or intelligence agents, but her children bring their mates home and they run all over the place. The terrorist doesn't know that one of these kids has bugged every room in her house, made copies of all her computer files and stolen her address book. The kid works for CHERUB.

Biographical Notes

Robert Muchamore was born in Islington in 1972 and spent thirteen years working as a private investigator. The CHERUB series has won numerous awards, including the Red House Children's Book Award.

Ian Edginton is a British comic book writer who became successful in American comics before returning to work for 2000 AD, a weekly British science-fiction-oriented comic. He has created his own series as well as adapting other titles, including H.G. Wells' The War of the Worlds.

John Aggs is a British comic book artist who started out in webcomics, and in 2007 won the Grand Prize in the TokyoPop Rising Stars of Manga awards. Among his diverse work he has illustrated Philip Pullman's The Adventures of John Blake.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444903188
  • Publication date: 02 Aug 2012
  • Page count: 176
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
A stunning graphic novel — Daily Express
Strong visual images and dialogue that sticks closely to the original book make for a good read — Recommended Reads, Children's Books Ireland
Strong visual images and dialogue that sticks closely to the original book make for a good read for those new to CHERUB or who have previously enjoyed Muchamore's books. — Children's Books Ireland Recommended Reads
Look out for Muchamore's first CHERUB tale which is now a stunning graphic novel. — Daily Express
This graphic novel adaptation of Muchamore's popular teen-spy series captures all of the excitement and authenticity of the original. The illustrations are well balanced with the dialogue/narration and do a fine job of pushing the quickly paved story forward. This is a great choice to bring reluctant or less-advanced readers into the thrilling series, and would also appeal to fans of Anthony Horowitz and Ally Carter. — Booklist
Aggs's art is strong, and the use of bold color and sharp lines help drive much of the action and fighting James goes through before he gets initiated. All handled with a surprisingly levelheaded and grounded perspective. — School Library Journal
Quercus Children's Books

Clean

Juno Dawson
Authors:
Juno Dawson

By award-winning Queen of Teen author Juno Dawson, perfect for fans of Gossip Girl Interrupted and The Breakfast Club.Meet the inmates of The Clarity Centre: Kendall the trans anorexic model-wannabe, vicodin addict Saif, OCD hoarder Guy, over-eater Ruby, washed-up reality TV survivor Brady, and last but definitely not least, spoiled heiress Lexi Volkov.Lexi hit rock bottom. After almost overdosing in a penthouse suite her brother stages an intervention and takes her to The Clarity Centre, an island facility for troubled young people.After a gruelling and painful detox, Lexi enters group therapy and meets her fellow inmates. Through her therapy sessions and The Clarity Centre's Ten Steps Programme, Lexi gradually opens up about her fractured childhood, destructive relationships and the dark secret she has been running from. But it's her new friendships that most make Lexi re-evaluate the path she's on. Stripped of her status, Lexi is free to laugh, dance, share and feel. For the first time ever, Lexi has true friends and finds herself powerfully drawn to Brady. But with the demons both Lexi and Brady need to overcome, is a relationship even possible?

Hodder Children's Books

The Story of Tantrum O'Furrily

Cressida Cowell, Mark Nicholas
Contributors:
Cressida Cowell, Mark Nicholas

'One wild and windy night a stray cat called Tantrum O'Furrily and her three hungry kittens were dancing across the roof tops' Written by Cressida Cowell, creator of the bestselling How to train Your Dragon series and with beautiful illustrations by Mark Nicholas, winner of the Carmelite Prize.Tantrum O'Furrily's kittens are hungry and doubt that a story can ease a stray cat's rumbling stomach. They soon learn that stories are powerful, and that if you're courageous you might find a saucer of milk at the end of that story.

Hodder Children's Books

Crash Landing

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore
Hodder Children's Books

Satellite

Nick Lake
Authors:
Nick Lake
Hodder Children's Books

The Little Broomstick

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

First published 45 years ago, this is a beautiful new edition of Mary Stewart's beloved magical classic illustrated by Shirley Hughes - soon to be adapted into an animated film by the producer of The Tale of The Princess Kaguya.'The little broomstick gave a leap, a violent twist, a kick like the kick of a pony.'Mary's been exiled to her deaf great-aunt deep in the English countryside. Miserable and lonely, she befriends strange black cat Tib who leads her deep into the forest to a clump of unusual purple flowers and an ordinary looking little broomstick. Before Mary can gather her wits, the broomstick jumps into action, whisking her over the treetops, above the clouds, and in to the grounds of Endor College, school of witchcraft.But something is terribly wrong at Endor. Students are taught spells that are petty and ill-wishing, and when Mary discovers evidence of a terrible and cruel experiment in transformation, she decides to leave. But the moment her broomstick takes off, she realises that Tib the cat has been captured ...Mary Stewart is the bestselling author of fourteen romantic thrillers, including the classic novelsThis Rough Magic and The Moon-Spinners, and five historical fantasy novels of Arthurian Britain. The animated film, called Mary and the Witch's Flower will be released in cinemas in 2017 by Yoshiaki Nishimura, producer of The Tale of The Princess Kaguya and When Marnie Was There.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Kids Who Knew Too Little

Gitty Daneshvari
Authors:
Gitty Daneshvari

When Jonathan and Shelley travels to Europe to infiltrate a secret society and save the day one last time, everything comes to a head in this action-packed finale of the League of Unexceptional Children series!

Hodder Children's Books

The Girl with the Lost Smile

Miranda Hart
Authors:
Miranda Hart
Hodder Children's Books

The Adventures of Egg Box Dragon

Richard Adams, Alex T. Smith
Contributors:
Richard Adams, Alex T. Smith

From the author of Watership Down, Richard Adams, comes an enchanting picture book about the adventures of a mischievous homemade dragon. Illustrated by the award-winning Alex T. Smith.Whatever you've lost, Egg Box Dragon will find it. He's retrieved missing footballs, glasses and watches aplenty. He's so expert at cracking mysteries that the Queen herself requests his services. Will Egg Box Dragon find the missing diamond from the Queen's crown?Richard Adams was awarded both the Carnegie Medal and the Guardian Award for children's fiction. Watership Down has sold over 50 million copies. A new mini series of Watership Down will premiere Christmas 2017 on BBC1 and launch globally on Netflix Spring 2018, featuring the voices of Olivia Colman and Freddie Fox, amongst others.

Pat-a-Cake

1001 Super Stickers

Pat-a-Cake, PJ Masks
Authors:
Pat-a-Cake, PJ Masks
Hodder Children's Books

The Rainmaker Danced

John Agard, Satoshi Kitamura
Contributors:
John Agard, Satoshi Kitamura

A brand-new anthology of poems by winner of the Queens Medal and the Eleanor Farjeon Award, John AgardDo trianglesever get into a tangle when their sides meet their angles?In this brand new collection of poems, John Agard draws on themes from nature and science to identity and inclusion, to inspire every reader. Here, we become transported by words and form on a journey through past and present. We are invited to answer life's questions, while having a great deal of fun at the same time ... Answers are folly when questions are bliss?Without questions, do I exist?

Hodder Children's Books

Moxie

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu
Pat-a-Cake

Annual 2018

Pat-a-Cake, PJ Masks
Authors:
Pat-a-Cake, PJ Masks

By day, they are Connor, Greg and Amaya, but by night they are Catboy, Gekko and Owlette, the PJ Masks.Discover a year of PJ Masks fun with the official annual. Jam-packed with super puzzles, games and activities, the annual has everything you need to know about the PJ Masks. Can you help the PJ Masks to defeat the baddies? It's time to be a hero!A must-have gift for PJ Masks fans of any age.PJ Masks (c) Frog Box / Entertainment One UK Limited / Walt Disney EMEA Productions Limited 2014

Pat-a-Cake

Meet the PJ Masks!

Pat-a-Cake, PJ Masks
Authors:
Pat-a-Cake, PJ Masks

It's time to be a hero! By day, they are Connor, Greg and Amaya, but by night they are Catboy, Gekko and Owlette - PJ Masks. Colour, stick and play in this interactive sticker book featuring everyone's favourite nocturnal heroes, their super-cool vehicles and of course those pesky villains, Romeo, Luna Girl and Night Ninja. With over 125 stickers, there are hours of PJ Masks fun to be had!Also available: PJ Masks: Battle of the HQs, PJ Masks: Pedal Power, PJ Masks: Annual 2018PJ Masks (c) Frog Box / Entertainment One UK Limited / Walt Disney EMEA Productions Limited 2014

Hodder Children's Books

Class A: The Graphic Novel

Robert Muchamore, David Combet, Baptiste Payen
Contributors:
Robert Muchamore, David Combet, Baptiste Payen

Experience the second CHERUB international bestseller in graphic novel format! James Adams' mission is to succeed where dozens of attempts by undercover police officers have failed ... When CHERUB kids go undercover, no one suspects that they are trained professionals, working to infiltrate criminal organisations that have eluded MI5 and the police for years. James Adams is on his biggest mission yet, working to nail Europe's most powerful cocaine dealer. He'll need all his specialist training if he's going to bring down the man at the top. The reason for CHERUB's existence is simple: adults never suspect that children are spying on them. For official purposes, these children do not exist.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Incredible Billy Wild

Joanna Nadin
Authors:
Joanna Nadin
Hodder Children's Books

Gone Wild

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore
Orchard Books

Holly Santapaws Saves Christmas

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orion Children's Books

Saint Death

Marcus Sedgwick
Authors:
Marcus Sedgwick
Orchard Books

Phoebe Paddlefoot Makes a Splash

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

In the magical land of Friendship Forest, a special boat race is taking place. Best friends Lily and Jess can't wait! But when the sparkling Shimmer Lake starts to turn dark and murky, they know wicked witch Grizelda is to blame. Can little beaver Phoebe Paddlefoot help them get the lake sparkling again?

Orchard Books

Millie Picklesnout's Wild Ride

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Lily and Jess can't wait for the Friendship Forest Funfair on the magical Sapphire Isle. But the lake around it has turned wild and dangerous... could this be the work of wicked witch Grizelda? Tiny piglet Millie Picklesnout must help the girls make the waters safe again for everyone!