Steve Backshall - Favourite Deadly Facts - Hachette Children's Group

Favourite Deadly Facts

By Steve Backshall

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

A bumper book of favourite Deadly facts about MAMMALS, INSECTS, REPTILES and BIRDS, perfect for animal-lovers and fans of the DEADLY series.

Follow in the footsteps of the Deadly team and discover the secrets of the animals kingdom.

A bumper book of all your favourite Deadly facts about MAMMALS, INSECTS, REPTILES and BIRDS.

The FAVOURITE DEADLY FACTS bind-up contains facts from DEADLY FACTBOOK 1: MAMMALS, DEADLY FACTBOOK 2: MINIBEASTS, SPIDERS AND INSECTS, DEADLY FACTBOOK 3: REPTILES AND AMPHIBIANS and DEADLY FACTBOOK 4: FISH, SQUID AND JELLYFISH.

Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Biographical Notes

Steve Backshall is the hugely popular and fearless presenter of the Children's BBC series DEADLY 60, LIVE AND DEADLY, DEADLY 360 and DEADLY ART and recent star of BBC1's Strictly Come Dancing. Steve travels the world to learn about the most inspiring predators, from boxing mantis shrimp to charging tigers. Steve also regularly writes articles for newspapers and magazines including the NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELER and BBC WILDLIFE and is an inspirational public speaker.

Visit Steve's website at www.stevebackshall.com and follow him on Twitter at https://twitter.com/SteveJBackshall

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444015393
  • Publication date: 02 Jul 2015
  • Page count: 304
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once: Twice Magic

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Franklin Watts

Rivers

Rebecca Kahn
Authors:
Rebecca Kahn

Explore ten of the world's most awesome rivers zooming in on their most interesting features with engaging artwork and key information World Feature Focus brings a fresh perspective to the world's most significant elements and landforms. With artwork that emphasises the otherworldliness and beauty that exists within the make-up of Earth, children aged 7 upwards will be equally entranced and informed about the world's geography.

Hodder Children's Books

Mystery of the Theatre Ghost

Pamela Butchart, Enid Blyton
Authors:
Pamela Butchart, Enid Blyton
Orion Children's Books

Thief in the Night

Abie Longstaff
Authors:
Abie Longstaff
Orchard Books

Querzol the Swamp Monster

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Battle Beasts and fight Evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up!The kingdom of Avantia is shocked by the return of the king's brother, Prince Angelo, believed killed in battle many years ago. But when he banishes Tom and Elenna from Avantia they travel to the Wildlands in search of the truth about Prince Angelo. First of all they must tackle Querzol, a man-eating mangrove tree! There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out!

Orchard Books

Krotax the Tusked Destroyer

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Battle Beasts and fight Evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up!Exiled from Avantia, Tom and Elenna are on a quest to discover the truth about King Hugo's brother, Prince Angelo. In a frozen wasteland, our heroes face a battle with Krotax - an armoured mammoth! There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out!

Hodder Children's Books

You Can't Cuddle a Crocodile

Diana Hendry, Edward Eaves
Contributors:
Diana Hendry, Edward Eaves
Wayland

Experiments for Exploring Outer Space

Mark Thompson
Authors:
Mark Thompson

Find out how rockets can get you safely into space with these fun experiments. Discover how rockets work, how they lift off, how they can be made to fly in a straight line, their shape and what it would feel like to be inside a spacecraft floating around in weightlessness.Easy to follow, step-by-step instructions show you how to investigate everything you ever wanted to know about space.Uses readily available, cheap materials.This series covers key areas of the curriculum such as forces, rocks and soils, healthy diets, exercise, recycling and waste management, magnets, solar power, gravity, distance, maps and constellations.

Wayland

Experiments for Looking Into Space

Mark Thompson
Authors:
Mark Thompson

Find out how rockets can get you safely into space with these fun experiments. Discover how rockets work, how they lift off, how they can be made to fly in a straight line, their shape and what it would feel like to be inside a spacecraft floating around in weightlessness.Easy to follow, step-by-step instructions show you how to investigate everything you ever wanted to know about space.Uses readily available, cheap materials.This series covers key areas of the curriculum such as forces, rocks and soils, healthy diets, exercise, recycling and waste management, magnets, solar power, gravity, distance, maps and constellations.

Pat-a-Cake

Dinosaurs

Pat-a-Cake, Villie Karabatzia
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Villie Karabatzia

Help toddlers discover and learn about the world with these essential board books.Dinosaurs helps busy, curious toddlers explore their world and develop their vocabulary by introducing lots of wonderful dinosaur words. This robust board book will withstand many happy hours of looking, holding, exploring and reading, while the playful, witty illustrations will be loved by parents and children alike. A brilliant fold-out surprise at the end adds a fun recap of all the learning in the book. Also available: 123, Colours, ABC, Animals, First Words, Shapes, Minibeasts

Franklin Watts

The Stone, Bronze and Iron Ages

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Which genius ideas and inventions began in the Stone, Bronze and Iron Ages? This period, stretching from the first ancestors of modern humans to the start of the ancient civilisations of Greece and Rome, was a time of amazing developments. Find out how the discovery of how to make fire and tools, farm the land and form symbols to communicate in writing transformed society and had a lasting impact on the way we live today.

Orchard Books

Grandma Dangerous and the Egg of Glory

Kita Mitchell
Authors:
Kita Mitchell
Hodder Children's Books

Little Tigers

Jo Weaver
Authors:
Jo Weaver

Mother Tiger and her two cubs journey through their jungle habitat, searching high and low for the perfect new home where they will be safe. A beautifully illustrated celebration of the love between parent and child and the wonders of the natural world. With its mesmerising, atmospheric charcoal drawings and lyrical storytelling, Jo Weaver's new picture book has the feel of an instant classic. Perfect for fans of BBC's Planet Earth.Jo Weaver was shortlisted for the AOI Illustration New Talent Awards.

Orchard Books

Rainbow Magic: Sasha the Slime Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Franklin Watts

Robin Hood and the Golden Arrow

Elizabeth Dale
Authors:
Elizabeth Dale
Franklin Watts

34.7 Quadrillion Minutes Since the Last Dinosaurs Died

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason

Do you know for how many years the dinosaurs ruled the Earth? Or how much the hefty Argentinosaurus weighed? Which dinosaur ran 144 per cent faster than Usain Bolt? And do you know how many hours there were in a dinosaur say? Discover the answers to all these questions and much, more more in Big Countdown: Dinosaurs.The Big Countdown looks at popular topics and investigates the great many numbers that make them fascinating. From the mind-bogglingly large to smallest and most precious, this series helps us understand that it's not just our days that are numbered. Perfect for number-crunchers aged 9 and up.

Franklin Watts

Max and the Gladiator

Damian Harvey
Authors:
Damian Harvey

Max is on a school trip to Chester to visit some Roman ruins. As he takes a little nap after lunch he is suddenly transported back in time ... and before him stands a fully armed Roman Gladiator! This story is part of Reading Champion, a series carefully linked to book bands to encourage independent reading skills, developed with Dr Sue Bodman and Glen Franklin of UCL Institute of Education (IOE)Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Wayland

Space

Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Authors:
Jon Richards, Ed Simkins

Franklin Watts

A New Home in Space

Damian Harvey, José Rubert
Contributors:
Damian Harvey, José Rubert

Theo has moved school before, but never to a space station! He is worried about how he will fit into a place where everything is so different. Join him as he makes new friends despite all his fears.Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Wren & Rook

The Good Guys

Rob Kemp, Paul Blow
Contributors:
Rob Kemp, Paul Blow