Steve Backshall - Favourite Deadly Facts - Hachette Children's Group

Favourite Deadly Facts

By Steve Backshall

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

A bumper book of favourite Deadly facts about MAMMALS, INSECTS, REPTILES and BIRDS, perfect for animal-lovers and fans of the DEADLY series.

Follow in the footsteps of the Deadly team and discover the secrets of the animals kingdom.

A bumper book of all your favourite Deadly facts about MAMMALS, INSECTS, REPTILES and BIRDS.

The FAVOURITE DEADLY FACTS bind-up contains facts from DEADLY FACTBOOK 1: MAMMALS, DEADLY FACTBOOK 2: MINIBEASTS, SPIDERS AND INSECTS, DEADLY FACTBOOK 3: REPTILES AND AMPHIBIANS and DEADLY FACTBOOK 4: FISH, SQUID AND JELLYFISH.

Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Biographical Notes

Steve Backshall is the hugely popular and fearless presenter of the Children's BBC series DEADLY 60, LIVE AND DEADLY, DEADLY 360 and DEADLY ART and recent star of BBC1's Strictly Come Dancing. Steve travels the world to learn about the most inspiring predators, from boxing mantis shrimp to charging tigers. Steve also regularly writes articles for newspapers and magazines including the NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELER and BBC WILDLIFE and is an inspirational public speaker.

Visit Steve's website at www.stevebackshall.com and follow him on Twitter at https://twitter.com/SteveJBackshall

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444015393
  • Publication date: 02 Jul 2015
  • Page count: 304
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Pat-a-Cake

Here Comes Christmas

Pat-a-Cake, Hilli Kushnir
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Hilli Kushnir
Wayland

The Royal Family: William and Kate

Annabel Savery
Authors:
Annabel Savery
Wayland

The Royal Family: Prince Charles

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

This fascinating book tells the story of Charles' life, from his birth at Buckingham Palace to his archaeology degree from Cambridge University, his work as a Naval Officer, his marriage to Diana Spencer and the birth of his two sons, his extensive charitable work with The Princes Trust and his marriage to Camilla Parker Bowles.

Pat-a-Cake

Farm

Pat-a-Cake, Villie Karabatzia
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Villie Karabatzia

Help toddlers discover and learn about the world around them with these essential board books.Farm helps busy, curious toddlers explore their world and develop their vocabulary by introducing lots of fun and friendly farm animals, busy machines and much more! This robust board book will withstand many happy hours of looking, holding, exploring and reading, while the playful, witty illustrations will be loved by parents and children alike. A brilliant fold-out surprise at the end adds a fun recap of all the learning in the book. Also available: 123, Colours, ABC, First Words, Animals, Things That Go, Shapes

Franklin Watts

In the Age of Industry

Richard Platt, David Lawrence
Contributors:
Richard Platt, David Lawrence

Written by award-winning author Richard Platt, How They Made Things Work: Age of Industry examines aspects of technology in Victorian times, including ship-building, weapons, motion pictures, photography, railways and telegraphy.Suitable for Key Stages 2-3, How They Made Things Work looks at how people in history advanced their societies by pushing the boundaries of technology.

Franklin Watts

Greeks

Richard Platt, David Lawrence
Contributors:
Richard Platt, David Lawrence
Pat-a-Cake

Farmyard Friends

Pat-a-Cake, Gwé
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Gwé
Wren & Rook

You Are Awesome

Matthew Syed
Authors:
Matthew Syed

I'm no good at sport ...I can't do maths ...I really struggle with exams ...Sound familiar?If you believe you can't do something, the chances are you won't try. But what if you really could get better at maths, or sport or exams? In fact, what if you could excel at anything you put your mind to?You Are Awesome can help you do just that, inspiring and empowering young readers to find the confidence to realise their potential. The first children's book from Times journalist, two-time Olympian and best-selling author Matthew Syed, it uses examples of successful people from Mozart to David Beckham to demonstrate that success really is earned rather than given, and that talent can be acquired. With hard work and determination, practice and self-belief, there's no reason why anyone can't achieve anything. Practical, insightful and positive, this is the book to help children build resilience, embrace their mistakes and grow into successful, happy adults.

Pat-a-Cake

Here Come the Chicks

Pat-a-Cake, Hilli Kushnir
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Hilli Kushnir

Clap hands and play with this range of exciting toddler touch-and-feel books!Here Come the Chicks is a playful touch-and-feel book, full of energy, fun and of course, lots of cute baby birds! Toddlers will laugh, shout, clap their hands and join in the fun as the simple text encourages them to point, count, match and talk about the friendly, fluffy and feathery pals playing on every page. With textures to feel on every page and a big, fold-out surprise at the end, everyone will want to clap hands for the chicks!Also available: Here Come the Monkeys, Here Come the Kittens, Here Come the Puppies, Here Come the Dinosaurs, Here Come the Bunnies

Pat-a-Cake

Here Come the Bunnies

Pat-a-Cake, Hilli Kushnir
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Hilli Kushnir
Orchard Books

Christina the Winter Wonderland Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Kirsty and Rachel are very excited to spending Christmas together. But when Jack Frost steals Christina the Winter Wonderland Fairy's magical objects, the magic of winter is under threat! Can the girls and Christina help get them back and save Christmas for everyone?

Franklin Watts

Football

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason
Hodder Children's Books

The Unicorn's Foal

Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters
Contributors:
Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters

The fourth in a magical, exciting adventure by Olympic gold medallist Jessica Ennis-Hill. Perfect for fans of Rainbow Magic and My Little Pony: a bumper Christmas special edition, with extra quizzes and activities. What if you had a special bracelet that let you become invisible whenever you wanted? Evie's grandma has sent her another parcel. Inside layers of tissue and colourful ribbons is a beautiful bracelet! A unicorn foal is lost in the park! Evie's going to need the bracelet - and a brave heart - to help him. But she's always ready to have some magical adventures! Evie shares Jessica's determination and drive - an inspiration for kids everywhere.

Hodder Children's Books

The Girl with the Lost Smile

Miranda Hart, Kate Hindley
Contributors:
Miranda Hart, Kate Hindley

This is a story guaranteed to make you laugh and cry: the first children's book from award-winning, bestselling author and comedian Miranda Hart. Chloe Long has lost her smile. She's looked everywhere for it. (Under her pillow. Under her bed. Under her nose. Obviously.)She's tried everything to bring it back. (Her favourite cake. Her favourite gran. Her favourite joke. Obviously.) But nothing seems to be working! Until one night, something utterly magical happens - and Chloe finds herself on an adventure that is out of this world ... With fabulous illustrations by Sainsbury's Book of the Year winner, Kate Hindley, THE GIRL WITH THE LOST SMILE takes you on an action-packed, magical journey that celebrates the power of the imagination, the wonder of true friendship and is guaranteed to make you smile. 'Is Miranda Hart a National Treasure yet? If not, it can only be a year or two before she joins Stephen Fry and Alan Bennett in the trophy cabinet of the country's affections ... That personality and voice belong to a uniquely cherished comedian ... there's nobody like Miranda.' Daily Mail

Hodder Children's Books

Lucie Goose

Danny Baker, Pippa Curnick
Contributors:
Danny Baker, Pippa Curnick

A magnificently funny first picture book by Danny Baker, the popular comedy writer, journalist, radio DJ and screenwriter. Illustrated by rising star Pippa Curnick.Lucie Goose lives all alone in a house at the edge of the woods. She has never met or spoken to another animal of any sort until... a wolf, bear and lion turn up on her doorstep and go Rraaaarrrrrr! She should start screaming. She should run away. But Lucie Goose isn't very good at being scared. What will she do?Introducing a wonderfully charming and funny new picture book from two remarkable talents.

Wren & Rook

The Ways of the Wolf

Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Jonathan Woodward
Contributors:
Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Jonathan Woodward

The wolf stalks the wilderness and our own imaginations. Uncover its mysteries in this beautifully written non-fiction picture book.Majestic and fierce, proud and strong, the wolf has always been a source of fascination - and fear. It remains one of the most misunderstood of all creatures, frequently cast as our mortal enemy. The truth is that wolves and humans are more closely connected than we dare to admit. With beautifully lyrical language, Smriti Prasadam-Halls explores the lightning speed, echoing howl and family life of these mysterious animals, revealing astonishing facts and overturning misconceptions as she does so. Wildlife illustrator Jonathan Woodward brings the creatures to life with breathtaking papercut collage artwork. This is non-fiction storytelling at its very finest.The Ways of the Wolf has been endorsed by the UK Wolf Conservation Trust.

Hodder Children's Books

King Flashypants and the Toys of Terror

Andy Riley
Authors:
Andy Riley

"Brilliantly original and hilarious. It's nearly as good as one of my books." DAVID WALLIAMS"Two words - such fun!" MIRANDA HART"Beautiful, inventive and laugh-out-loud funny." SUE PERKINSGreat to read aloud with children of 5+ and perfect for newly independent readers of 7+.FOO HOO HOO! King Flashypants is back for his third rib-tickling adventure. Something weird is happening in Edwinland - Emperor Nurbison isn't evil any more! He's doing stuff like smiling and making toys of himself for the peasants. Is he up to something? Probably. But what can it be?

Hodder Children's Books

The Rainmaker Danced

John Agard, Satoshi Kitamura
Contributors:
John Agard, Satoshi Kitamura

A wonderful new anthology of poems by winner of the Queens Medal and the Eleanor Farjeon Award, 2016 Do trianglesever get into a tangle when their sides meet their angles?A wonderful new children's poetry collection, from a celebrated, award-winning poet.From nature and science to identity, prepare to be transported on a journey through past and present. This collection from John Agard, winner of the Queens Medal and the Eleanor Farjeon Award, explores the wonders of the world - inviting your child to ponder life's questions with lots of fun along the way!

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2018

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Pat-a-Cake

Old Macdonald had a Farm

Pat-a-Cake, Richard Merritt
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Richard Merritt