Steve Backshall - Deadly Annual 2015 - Hachette Children's Group

Deadly Annual 2015

By Steve Backshall

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A year packed full of adventure with Steve Backshall in the third DEADLY ANNUAL.

As a Deadly fan you know that we travel to all corners of the world to film and this time we're on our deadliest mission yet! We visit the driest deserts, the steamiest rainforests, the highest mountains and the snowiest forests in search of the most awesome wildlife. As ever, you're coming with us, every step of the way.

Join us on a journey round the world and we'll tell you more about these incredible places and the animals that spend their lives there. We've got loads of photos and fascinating facts to share with you, as well as plenty of puzzles, pictures and fun stuff to enjoy!

Biographical Notes

Steve Backshall is the hugely popular and fearless presenter of the Children's BBC series DEADLY 60, LIVE AND DEADLY, DEADLY 360 and DEADLY ART. Steve travels the world to learn about the most inspiring predators, from boxing mantis shrimp to charging tigers. Steve also regularly writes articles for newspapers and magazines including the NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELER and BBC WILDLIFE and is an inspirational public speaker.

Visit Steve's website at www.stevebackshall.com and follow him on Twitter at https://twitter.com/SteveJBackshall.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444015232
  • Publication date: 04 Sep 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Franklin Watts

African Savannah

Simon Chapman
Authors:
Simon Chapman

Get stuck into exploring, and find out more about the world's amazing biomes, in these expedition diaries.Simon is journeying through Botswana, in southern Africa, through the wetlands of the Okavango Delta towards the open savannah and semi-desert of Namibia. The whole area is a biodiversity hotspot. Simon is documenting his journey, and there's one animal that he particularly wants to see more than any other: a black rhino.This series, taken from Simon's real-life diaries, is written in a narrative non-fiction style and illustrated by Simon's own field sketches and expedition photos. It's a great way to introduce readers aged 8+ to biomes and ecosystems.

Orchard Books

A T-Wit for a T-Woo

Charlie Farley, Layn Marlow
Contributors:
Charlie Farley, Layn Marlow
Orchard Books

Polly Bobblehop Makes a Mess

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Bella Tabbypaw

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Pet Rescue

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

A magical new series where best friends become Secret Princesses! Best friends Charlotte and Mia can't bear it when Charlotte's family moves far away. But when they become trainee Secret Princesses they begin an amazing adventure together - and they can see each other whenever they like!Once in a blue moon, a tiara shaped constellation forms high in the sky above Wishing Star Palace. The four girls that make a wish on these special stars get their wishes granted by the Secret Princesses ... but Princess Poison is determined that this year the wishes won't come true ...Have you read all four books in series four: The Moonstone Collection?

Orchard Books

Stage Spell

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Wayland

India

Susie Brooks
Authors:
Susie Brooks
Franklin Watts

Melissa's Story - Living with HIV

Andy Glynne
Authors:
Andy Glynne

This powerful and eye opening picture book uses the first-person testimony of Melissa, a child living with HIV. Melissa explains what HIV is, how she was diagnosed, the medication she takes and the physical effect of the virus. We read about her fear of telling people and the stigma that made her feel early on that her condition must be kept secret. Melissa explores everyday relatable circumstances; school, family and talks in depth about her friendships. The open and clear text encourages students to empathise with other children's differences and recognises the similarities between their own lives and hers. The BAFTA award-winning stories were originally produced as animations for the BBC. Aimed at children aged 9 and up, these powerful and evocative stories have now been captured in book form as rich, visual testimonies of the impact an illness has on a child's daily life and how they cope and are able to enjoy the life that they have.

Hodder Children's Books

Say Sorry Sidney

Caryl Hart, Sarah Horne
Contributors:
Caryl Hart, Sarah Horne

A lighthearted, silly rhyming tale of a rhino whose manners are just not what they should be!When Rhino escapes from the zoo to a farm he leaves a trail of havoc and devastation behind. And when the poor farm animals end up taking the blame for missing food, clothes and toys, they decide Sidney needs to learn a thing or two about manners!Caryl Hart is the bestselling author of How to Grow a Dinosaur, How to Catch a Dragon and How to Save a Superhero, among others.'Should earn its place in the classroom, library shelves or at home.' School Librarian

Orchard Books

Story Treasury

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

A fantastic full-colour collection of your favourite Magic Animal Friends stories!Join Lily and Jess on some of their best-loved adventures in Friendship Forest in this beautiful jam-packed full-colour treasury. Containing six magical stories, this spectacular book is perfect for any Daisy Meadows fan.

Orchard Books

Ellie Featherbill

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Welcome to a magical world where animals talk and play - just like you and me!Best friends Jess and Lily love all animals. But when they follow a mysterious golden cat into Friendship Forest - a place where animals live in tiny cottages and sip dandelion tea at the Toadstool Cafe - their animal friends suddenly become much more magical!On their first adventure in Friendship Forest, can the two friends rescue adorable baby bunny Lucy Longwhiskers from the wicked witch Grizelda?

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2018

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Orchard Books

Fashion Fun

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

A gorgeous new series about magical princesses and best friends. This book is a special long adventure for even more magical fun! Best friends Charlotte and Mia can't bear it when Charlotte's family moves far away. But when they become trainee Secret Princesses they begin an amazing adventure together - and they can see each other whenever they like!Mean Princess Poison has cast a spell on four of the Secret Princesses and made them forget all about their magic. Meanwhile Lena wishes that she could win a fashion show. Can Charlotte and Mia help make Lena's dreams come true AND remind Princess Sophie what real magic really is?Plus collect the tokens for a exclusive Best Friends necklace designed by Monsoon!**while stocks last

Orchard Books

Gymnastics Glory

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Wren & Rook

My Book of Birds

Geraldo Valerio
Authors:
Geraldo Valerio

"An enchanting book" Joanna Lumley"Full of amazing facts and beautiful clear illustrations. A book to inspire the young and indeed the old!" Alison Steadman"Will not fail to ignite young imaginations" David LindoFull of stunning illustrations and incredible facts, My Book of Birds is a glorious celebration of birds. From majestic golden eagles and snowy owls to brilliant red crossbills and puffins to the tiniest of hummingbirds, the book covers them all. Meet cormorants that can dive underwater for up to 30 seconds at a time, and ptarmigans whose feathers turn completely white in winter, so they can blend in with their snowy habitat. Beautifully designed, and with a debossed wibalin cover, this is an ideal gift for bird lovers of all ages! If you've loved Beautiful Birds, or The Genius of Birds, or Bill Bailey's Remarkable Guide to British Birds, then you'll love this. Incredible collage illustrations from Geraldo Valério show a variety of feathered creatures in their natural habitats as they hunt for food, impress their mates, nest and care for their young. The concise, accessible text is ideal for children aged six and above, and provides information ranging from clever techniques for finding food to remarkable physical features to fascinating behaviours. But above all, Geraldo Valério shares his passion for birds in this lovingly created album, inspiring young readers with their beauty and the excitement of discovery.Includes an introduction, glossary, index and sources for further information.

Wayland

Seashore

Victoria Munson
Authors:
Victoria Munson

Find out about nature with these beautiful photographic introductions. Simple descriptions and fun facts help make it easy to identify common birds.Then get active and make the nature project at the back of the book.

Orion Children's Books

Shark Seas

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Saker and Sinter continue their quest to save the world's endangered animals in the fourth thrilling adventure in TV presenter Steve Backshall's Falcon Chronicles, this time swimming in shark seas. . .Perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charlie Higson and Bear Grylls. This is the fourth adventure in the Falcon Chronicles, filled with intrigue, danger, exotic wildlife and dramatic locations.

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2017

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Wayland

Sailing the Caribbean Islands

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland

Travelling Wild: Sailing the Caribbean Islands follows a traveller on a fictitious journey by boat around the Caribbean Sea. It uses the information you would consider when planning a trip, such as the weather, climate, dangers and key sights, to present geographical information in a highly accessible and enjoyable way.Discover why the Caribbean is best avoided from June to November (hurricanes!), the different types of shark to watch out for, some deep-sea wonders, the role of mangrove forests, the Caribbean climate, and much, much more. There is a survival aspect to the book, too, with boxes containing tips on how to fend off a shark attack, survive a hurricane and dive safely, among other things. Packed to the brim with colourful, exciting photographs, maps and fascinating facts, the book allows you to explore and discover the incredible Caribbean Islands without leaving your seat!

Wayland

Fish

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

What makes a fish a fish? Read all about fish, find out where they live, how they breathe and what they eat. How are fish born and how do they grow and learn?A simple fun quiz helps readers recall what they have read.A perfect one-stop shop for help with homework assignments!