Phil Earle - Scaredy Cat, Scaredy Cat - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444013948
    • Publication date:21 Sep 2017
Books in this series

Scaredy Cat, Scaredy Cat

By Phil Earle

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

From the author of DEMOLITION DAD, the CBBC Book of the Month June 2017, comes the fourth and final hilarious Storey Street novel by Phil Earle, illustrated by Waterstones Children's Book Prize-shortlisted artist, Sara Ogilvie. Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl, Liz Pichon and David Walliams.

From the author of DEMOLITION DAD, the CBBC Book of the Month June 2017, comes the fourth and final hilarious Storey Street by Phil Earle, illustrated by Waterstones Children's Book Prize-shortlisted artist, Sara Ogilvie. Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl, Liz Pichon and David Walliams.

Kay Catt has a nickname - Scaredy Catt. And with good reason. You've never met a more timid, anxious girl in your life. And when you meet her dad, you'll start to understand why. But when a mysterious old man is spotted on Storey Street, it heralds the start of a great adventure for Kay. Because Wilf Wilkinson isn't your average, cardigan-wearing, sherbet lemon-sucking old codger. Oh no. Wilf wears a cloak, and a strange pointy hat, and his walking stick looks suspiciously like an over-sized wand.

Wilf couldn't be a wizard ... could he?

Biographical Notes

Phil Earle was born in the great city of Hull in 1974, and spent the next eighteen years playing a lot of sport, messing around in plays and trying to sing in bands. He has had jobs as a care worker in a residential kids' home and a bookseller, and now works as sales and marketing director for David Fickling books. In 2016, Phil was appointed as Reading charity BookTrust's new writer-in-residence. He lives on a hill in Yorkshire with his wife and three children and his favourite place to write is on the bus. Visit Phil's website, www.philearle.com, or follow him on twitter @philearle.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444013931
  • Publication date: 21 Sep 2017
  • Page count: 192
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Superbly illustrated by Sara Ogilvie, this is a hilarious story with a very positive and encouraging conclusion... sad it is the last in the series. — Parents in Touch
Hilarious and sometimes heart-breaking Phil chooses, like in 'The War Next Door', to take the usually one dimensional characters and allow us, the reader, to discover what has shaped them and made them the way they are. [...] I'm extremely sad to see the end of the Storey Street stories but I know that they will live in the imaginations of the children in my school for a long time to come. — Jo Clarke, Book Lover Jo
A laugh-out-loud read full of capes and japes! If you like Superheroes this is right down your Street! — Danny Wallace, presenter and bestselling author on SUPERHERO STREET
Phil "BOOKCRUSHER" Earle has written one, funny, fabulous, pile driving BLAST of a book. (Read it in Lycra for full wrestling experience.) — Liz Pichon on DEMOLITION DAD
Sara Ogilvie's beautifully drawn illustrations add real life and humour — David Tazzyman, illustrator of MR GUM
Hodder Children's Books

1001 Really Ridiculously Silly Jokes

Clive Gifford
Authors:
Clive Gifford

Know any good jokes? Here are 1001 (yes, one thousand and one!) for the whole family to enjoy!A hilarious bumper book created by the bestselling author of Teenage Kicks and Eye Benders, and winner of the Royal Society Young People's Book Prize.With jokes galore, puns, one-liners, visual gags, play on words and hilarious illustrations. Divided into sections such as 'Hilarious Holidays', 'Teacher Titters' and 'Football Funnies', this book will never get old and will have your friends and whole family laughing.

Orion Children's Books

Embassy of the Dead

Will Mabbitt
Authors:
Will Mabbitt
Hodder Children's Books

Fire!

Jenny Oldfield
Authors:
Jenny Oldfield
Orion Children's Books

The Sleepover

Lauren Pearson, Richard Watson
Contributors:
Lauren Pearson, Richard Watson
Hodder Children's Books

Iguana Boy Saves the World With a Triple Cheese Pizza

James Bishop, Rikin Parekh
Contributors:
James Bishop, Rikin Parekh
Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Orion Children's Books

The Secret of Supernatural Creek

Lauren St John
Authors:
Lauren St John
Orion Children's Books

Grandad's Medal

Phil Earle, Sarah Horne
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Sarah Horne

Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reaading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.Marvin loves going on his adventures with his grandad - escaping from hairy yetis, taking daytrips to Mars, and hunting ferocious tigers - all without leaving the house. Marvin thinks his grandad is the bravest person he's ever met; he even has a medal from the war to prove it. And, more than anything else, Marvin wants to be brave too.But when Grandad must go on his final adventure alone, Marvin finds he has to be braver than he's ever been before. Until he discovers that Grandad has left behind a very special surprise just for him . . . A touching and poignant Early Reader story, perfect for children coming to terms with grief for the first time.

Orion Children's Books

Death in the Arena

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence

Third in a new historical adventure series from million copy selling Caroline Lawrence, set in Roman Britain during the reign of the evil Emperor Domitian.Eleven-year-old Ursula is happily learning to be a Druid in the woods of Britannia. But then she is asked to go on a quest to find a boy who was abducted as a baby. Will her mystical training equip her for life on the road - with a troupe of Roman pantomime dancers and beast hunters? Her task: to adapt to life in the arena Her quest: to find the boy everyone is seekingHer destiny: to protect children and animalsFrom the bestselling author of THE ROMAN MYSTERIES, perfect for children studying at Key Stage 2.

Orchard Books

I Love My Grandad

Giles Andreae, Emma Dodd
Contributors:
Giles Andreae, Emma Dodd
Orion Children's Books

The War Next Door

Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie

Orion Children's Books

The White Giraffe Series: Operation Rhino

Lauren St John, David Dean
Contributors:
Lauren St John, David Dean

The fifth African adventure in Lauren St John's bestselling THE WHITE GIRAFFE series.When Sawubona's white rhinos are attacked, the poachers leave behind a terrified calf. Devastated but determined to help, Martine and Ben agree to take the rhino baby to a sanctuary near the Golden Gate Highlands National Park.But the sanctuary is hiding a precious secret - one that must be guarded from the poachers at all costs. When the secret gets out, Martine and Ben find themselves in the fight of their lives to save one of the rarest animals on earth. But who can they trust?A magical and heartwarming adventure about saving endangered species.

Orion Children's Books

Superhero Street

Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie

'A laugh-out-loud read full of capes and japes! If you like Superheroes this is right down your Street!' - Danny Wallace, presenter and bestselling author. Illustrated by Waterstones Children's Book Prize shortlisted artist, Sara Ogilvie, this is the second book in Demolition Dad author Phil Earle's children's series, Storey Street. Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl, Liz Pichon and David Walliams, each book in this laugh-out-loud series focuses on a different neighbour.Mouse is desperate to be a superhero. To find that power that will make him stand out in the crowd. But his every attempt ends in failure. He can't even get any attention at home as his five brothers (triplets AND twins) take every second of mum and dad's attention. When mum foils a bank robbery while on duty as a lollipop lady, she and Mouse are lauded as superheroes. Joining forces with Mouse are The Z List - a group of unlikely crime-fighters. But in their midst is a traitor hell-bent on revenge. Will Mouse be super enough to spot this danger, and is he brave enough to do anything about it?

Orion Children's Books

Elsie and the Magic Biscuit Tin

Phil Earle, Jamie Littler
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Jamie Littler

Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reaading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.Elsie's always known that there's something a little bit magical about her Grandma's biscuit tin, and when she discovers that it can grant wishes, there's only one thing she wants - chocolate! But Elsie's wish to turn everything she touches into chocolate (even Grandma!) soon causes chaos.Can she get the magic biscuit tin to grant her one last wish to help change everything back? The second Early Reader story from a talented and unique voice in children's fiction. Phil Earle is a CARNEGIE MEDAL shortisted author whose hard-hitting YA novels have been widely acclaimed. His first Early Reader, ALBERT AND THE GARDEN OF DOOM, and his first middle-grade title, DEMOLITION DAD, were released in 2015.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The League of Unexceptional Children

Gitty Daneshvari
Authors:
Gitty Daneshvari

Hilarious action adventure for readers aged 8 and up, featuring the world's most unexceptional spies. You think spies are clever and cool and mysterious? Think again . . .When Jonathan and Shelley are summoned to work for The League of Unexceptional Children they're more than a little bit surprised. Average in every single way, they've never been singled out for anything in their lives . . . scrap that, they've never even been noticed. But that's exactly what the League is after. Because if you're truly forgettable, you're perfect for acts of espionage - as Jonathan and Shelley are about to find out.

Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry's Cannibal Curse

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

A Grimm Warning

Chris Colfer
Authors:
Chris Colfer
Orion Children's Books

Demolition Dad

Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie

CBBC Book of the Month, June 2017Perfect for fans of David Walliams, Roald Dahl and Liz Pichon, this is a hilarious and warm-hearted story about family, friends and wrestling by multi-award-shortlisted author Phil Earle, illustrated by award-winning artist, Sara Ogilvie.This is the story of Jake Biggs and his dad, George. George spends all week knocking down buildings ... and all weekend knocking down wrestlers! He's the Demolition Man, and Jake couldn't be prouder. But when Jake hears about a pro-wrestling competition in the USA, and persuades his beloved dad to apply, things don't quite turn out the way he expected ...Phil Earle's first novel for younger readers of 9-11, DEMOLITION DAD is DANNY THE CHAMPION OF THE WORLD in Spandex, a book bursting with humour and heart. Perfect for Father's Day this June!

Orion Children's Books

Kentucky Thriller and Rendezvous in Russia

Lauren St John
Authors:
Lauren St John
Orion Children's Books

Albert and the Garden of Doom

Phil Earle, Jamie Littler
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Jamie Littler