Phil Earle - Elsie and the Magic Biscuit Tin - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444013610
    • Publication date:11 Feb 2016
Books in this series

Elsie and the Magic Biscuit Tin

By Phil Earle
Illustrated by Jamie Littler

  • Paperback
  • £4.99

Brand new red Early Reader about magic and biscuits from CARNEGIE MEDAL shortlisted author Phil Earle, illustrated by Jamie Littler.

Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reaading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.

Elsie's always known that there's something a little bit magical about her Grandma's biscuit tin, and when she discovers that it can grant wishes, there's only one thing she wants - chocolate! But Elsie's wish to turn everything she touches into chocolate (even Grandma!) soon causes chaos.

Can she get the magic biscuit tin to grant her one last wish to help change everything back?

The second Early Reader story from a talented and unique voice in children's fiction. Phil Earle is a CARNEGIE MEDAL shortisted author whose hard-hitting YA novels have been widely acclaimed. His first Early Reader, ALBERT AND THE GARDEN OF DOOM, and his first middle-grade title, DEMOLITION DAD, were released in 2015.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444013603
  • Publication date: 11 Feb 2016
  • Page count: 64
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Orion Children's Books

Scaredy Cat, Scaredy Cat

Phil Earle
Authors:
Phil Earle

From the author of DEMOLITION DAD, the CBBC Book of the Month June 2017, comes the fourth and final hilarious Storey Street by Phil Earle, illustrated by Waterstones Children's Book Prize-shortlisted artist, Sara Ogilvie. Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl, Liz Pichon and David Walliams.Kay Catt has a nickname - Scaredy Catt. And with good reason. You've never met a more timid, anxious girl in your life. And when you meet her dad, you'll start to understand why. But when a mysterious old man is spotted on Storey Street, it heralds the start of a great adventure for Kay. Because Wilf Wilkinson isn't your average, cardigan-wearing, sherbet lemon-sucking old codger. Oh no. Wilf wears a cloak, and a strange pointy hat, and his walking stick looks suspiciously like an over-sized wand.Wilf couldn't be a wizard ... could he?

Orion Children's Books

Grandad's Medal

Phil Earle, Sarah Horne
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Sarah Horne
Orion Children's Books

The War Next Door

Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie

The third hilarious children's novel from Demolition Dad and Superhero Street author Phil Earle, illustrated by Waterstones Children's Book Prize shortlisted artist, Sara Ogilvie. Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl, Liz Pichon and David Walliams. Winner of the Hull Children's Book Award. Masher is the bully of Storey Street. No one ever dares stand up to him and that's the way he likes it. But then Jemima and her family move into the plot of land next door. Jemima isn't afraid of him at all, and she's making him look like a bit of a wimp. To Masher, that just means one thing: war. (At least until teatime...)

Orion Children's Books

Superhero Street

Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie

'A laugh-out-loud read full of capes and japes! If you like Superheroes this is right down your Street!' - Danny Wallace, presenter and bestselling author. Illustrated by Waterstones Children's Book Prize shortlisted artist, Sara Ogilvie, this is the second book in Demolition Dad author Phil Earle's children's series, Storey Street. Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl, Liz Pichon and David Walliams, each book in this laugh-out-loud series focuses on a different neighbour.Mouse is desperate to be a superhero. To find that power that will make him stand out in the crowd. But his every attempt ends in failure. He can't even get any attention at home as his five brothers (triplets AND twins) take every second of mum and dad's attention. When mum foils a bank robbery while on duty as a lollipop lady, she and Mouse are lauded as superheroes. Joining forces with Mouse are The Z List - a group of unlikely crime-fighters. But in their midst is a traitor hell-bent on revenge. Will Mouse be super enough to spot this danger, and is he brave enough to do anything about it?

Orion Children's Books

Demolition Dad

Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie
Orion Children's Books

Albert and the Garden of Doom

Phil Earle, Jamie Littler
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Jamie Littler
Quercus Children's Books

The Dragons of Ordinary Farm

Tad Williams, Deborah Beale, Greg Swearingen
Contributors:
Tad Williams, Deborah Beale, Greg Swearingen

Tyler and Lucinda have to spend summer with their Uncle Gideon, a farmer. They think they're in for lots of sheep, horses, and pigs. But when they arrive they discover that Ordinary Farm is, well, no ordinary farm. The bellowing in the barn comes not from a cow but from a dragon. The thundering herd in the valley? Unicorns. Uncle Gideon's farmhouse never looks the same twice. Plus, there's a flying monkey, a demon squirrel, and farmhands with strange powers. The place seems like an adventure. But when darker secrets surface and Uncle Gideon and his creatures are threatened, Lucinda and Tyler must act. Will they be able to save the dragons, the farm - and themselves?

Quercus Children's Books

Shadow Spell

Caro King, Caro King
Authors:
Caro King, Caro King

Simeon Dark is the most powerful sorcerer in the land of the Drift. Mysterious, cunning, a shape-shifter, only he can stop the evil Strood and save the Drift from dying. But where is he? Nin finds her way to Dark's mansion - a strange castle with a garden and lake spilling into the sky. There she finds a ribbon of shadowy light: could this be the unsaid spell and the clue to unlocking the mystery of Simeon Dark?Meanwhile, Strood is preparing his distillation machine, his pet tigers and some barrels of blood and is coming after her. . . Caro King has created a funny, rich, thrilling adventure, interwoven with fantastical creatures, myth and magic.

Quercus Children's Books

Seven Sorcerers

Caro King, Caro King
Authors:
Caro King, Caro King
Orchard Books

Small Knight and George

Ronda Armitage, Arthur Robins
Contributors:
Ronda Armitage, Arthur Robins
Hodder Children's Books

Mammoth Academy

Neal Layton
Authors:
Neal Layton

There comes a point in every young mammoth's life when it's time to grow up a bit and join the Mammoth Academy. Arabella loves school, but Oscar is finding it a little more difficult to get used to. Especially as he is accused of stealing the school's oranges. He is sure it was humans - the most dangerous animals in all of the Mammoth Lands! With the help of his new friend Fox, who has decided not to wash for 2 months so his fur will begin to self-clean, Oscar sets out to prove that humans are in the valley and at the same time stumbles across more trouble than he'd thought!

Orchard Books

Billy Bonkers

Giles Andreae, Nick Sharratt
Contributors:
Giles Andreae, Nick Sharratt
Hodder Children's Books

Fish

L S Matthews
Authors:
L S Matthews

Winner of the Fidler Award, this is a compelling, globally successful book about becoming a refugee, told with compassion and hope.War and drought have come to Tiger's country. Just before Tiger's family leaves, Tiger finds a fish struggling for life in a drying-up puddle - and rescues it. And so they set off on a dangerous journey across the mountains, with only what they can carry on their backs - the fish's grip on survival mirroring their own. Critically acclaimed for its subtlety and simplicity, this is a universal fable where the specifics of geography, conflict and even the gender of the narrator are not given. Anyone can identify with Tiger's desire to make a difference to the world, and keep hope alive.

Orchard Books

Holly the Christmas Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Orchard Books

The Tempest

Andrew Matthews, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Andrew Matthews, Tony Ross
Orchard Books

The Orchard Book Of Roman Myths

Geraldine McCaughrean, Emma Chichester Clark
Contributors:
Geraldine McCaughrean, Emma Chichester Clark

A wonderfully rich and varied collection of fifteen stories from Roman mythology, retold for today's young readers. Here are all the famous myths from the birth of Venus, to the founding of Rome by Romulus and Remus. The great gods and goddesses, including Jupiter, Mars and Diana, are brought vividly to life by Emma Chichester Clark's beautiful illustrations that perfectly reflect the liveliness of Geraldine McCaughrean's gripping retellings.

Orchard Books

Shampoozel

Laurence Anholt, Arthur Robins
Contributors:
Laurence Anholt, Arthur Robins

Shampoozel's brush with the Bad Hair Witch grows into a hair-raising adventure. Will it all come out in the wash?

Orchard Books

Seriously Silly Stories: Ghostyshocks and the Three Scares

Laurence Anholt, Arthur Robins
Contributors:
Laurence Anholt, Arthur Robins
Orchard Books

Seriously Silly Stories: The Emperor's Underwear

Laurence Anholt, Arthur Robins
Contributors:
Laurence Anholt, Arthur Robins
Orchard Books

Seriously Silly Stories: The Collection

Laurence Anholt, Arthur Robins
Contributors:
Laurence Anholt, Arthur Robins

This collection features ten funny fairy tales with hilarious illustrations. Read about the king with the silliest name, how Cinderboy scored that winning goal, how Snow White got to sing on Top of the Pops and other seriously silly stories.