René Goscinny - Asterix and the Class Act - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £10.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780752860688
    • Publication date:30 Oct 2003
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780752866406
    • Publication date:18 Nov 2004
Books in this series

Asterix and the Class Act

Album 32

By René Goscinny
Illustrated by Albert Uderzo

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The 32nd album chronicling the adventures of Asterix and friends - now available in ebook format for the first time in English!

Vintage Asterix!
14 new stories including tales of:
The day Asterix and Obelix were born (in the middle of a village fish fight);
How Obelix goes back to school;
Fashion in Ancient Gaul;
How Dogamatix helps the village cockerel win a duel;
And how he is adopted as a Roman mascot;
Asterix as you've never seen him before;
Obelix's adventures under the mistletoe;
The bid for the very first Gaulish Olympics;
The birth of an idea - the story of the creation of Asterix;
And much, much more.

Biographical Notes

Rene Goscinny was born in Paris in 1926, and spent most of his childhood in Argentina, before eventually moving to Paris in 1951. He died in 1977. Albert Uderzo was born in 1927 in a small village in Marne, France. He met Rene Goscinny in 1951 and on 29 October 1959 their most famous creation, Asterix, made his first appearance on page 20 of Pilote. Asterix the Gaul, their first album, was published in 1961 and there have now been 35 Asterix albums.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444013399
  • Publication date: 04 Sep 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
If Orion Books had just found and published one of the "lost" Shakespeare plays...I would not have been more excited than when I learnt of the publication of 14 previously untranslated Asterix stories in a new book called ASTERIX AND THE CLASS ACT....Anthea Bell and Derek Hockridge, Asterix's translators since the very beginning, have made great books into eternal flames — Giles Coren, THE TIMES
One of the most appealing features of the Asterix books is their ingenious, twisting plotlines, filled with scheming villains and hapless fools....Asterix and the Class Act might appeal more to Asterix diehards than to general fans; but it is an entertaining addition to the canon — Toby Lichtig, TIMES LITERARY SUPPLEMENT
Asterix is a true hero of global proportions — COLCHESTER EVENING GAZETTE
Here's a chance to dip into some new fun with the roast boar-loving French action men — Marion McMullen, NUNEATON EVE TELEGRAPH
LIke all the best children's books, Asterix works on several levels. More than a footnote, this addition to the series is worthy of its lineage — EVERYTHING FRANCE
Franklin Watts

Take Charge of Anger

Gill Hasson, Sarah Jennings
Contributors:
Gill Hasson, Sarah Jennings
Hodder Children's Books

The Hottentops at No. 87

Kes Gray, Chris Jevons
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Chris Jevons

Nelly isn't scared of monsters. In fact, she babysits for them. From the bestselling author of the OI FROG! and DAISY books comes this hilarious, action-packed series for fans of THE BOLDS and BARRY LOSER.'If monsters are real, how come I've never seen one?''Because they never go out.''Why don't monsters ever go out?''Because they can never get a babysitter.'Ever swum with a Water Greep, or played hotscotch with a Hottentop? Every time Nelly rings on a new monster family's doorbell she's up for a new challenge. Come on her monster-sitting adventures in this laugh-out-loud funny third book in the NELLY THE MONSTER SITTER series. Kes Gray is one of the Independent's top ten children's authors, and winner of the Red House Children's Book Award.This is a brand-new story in the Nelly the Monster Sitter series, never before published, and illustrated by the hugely talented Chris Jevons.

Orchard Books

Adventure Duck vs the Armadillo Army

Steve Cole, Aleksei Bitskoff
Contributors:
Steve Cole, Aleksei Bitskoff
Hodder Children's Books

Heartstopper Volume Two

Alice Oseman
Authors:
Alice Oseman

Boy meets boy. Boys become friends. Boys fall in love. An LGBTQ+ graphic novel about life, love, and everything that happens in between: this is the second volume of HEARTSTOPPER, for fans of The Art of Being Normal, Holly Bourne and Love, Simon. Nick and Charlie are best friends. Nick knows Charlie's gay, and Charlie is sure that Nick isn't. But love works in surprising ways, and Nick is discovering all kinds of things about his friends, his family ... and himself. Heartstopper is about friendship, loyalty and mental illness. It encompasses all the small stories of Nick and Charlie's lives that together make up something larger, which speaks to all of us. This is the second volume of Heartstopper, with more to come.

Hodder Children's Books

Malory Towers: New Class at Malory Towers

Enid Blyton, Rebecca Westcott, Narinder Dhami, Patrice Lawrence, Lucy Mangan
Authors:
Enid Blyton, Rebecca Westcott, Narinder Dhami, Patrice Lawrence, Lucy Mangan
Orchard Books

Monica the Marshmallow Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty on their sweetest-ever fairy adventure!Kirsty and Rachel are delighted to be invited to Fairyland for the annual Candy Harvest. But when Monica the Marshmallow Fairy's magical object goes missing, they find themselves in a sticky situation! Can the girls defeat Jack Frost in time to save the Fairyland Sweet Factory from a bitter end?

Wayland

You are Stardust

Elin Kelsey, Soyeon Kim
Contributors:
Elin Kelsey, Soyeon Kim

If people were planets, we'd be a lot like Earth ...People are nature. From the water we drink to the trees we climb, we are connected to the natural world in big and surprising ways. With simple, poetic text, and exquisite artwork, You Are Stardust introduces kids to these connections - sparking their imaginations and starting conversations. Combining the ideas of environmental author and educator Elin Kelsey with inventive, three-dimensional dioramas by artist Soyeon Kim, this remarkable picture book reveals ties that are often sensed, yet seldom explained. Children will learn that the salt in their body is the same as the salt in the ocean, that they learned to speak in the same way that baby birds do - by copying their parents, and that elephants, bats and whales make friends, just like they do. In a world dominated by technology, never have these connections between people and nature been more worth exploring.

Hodder Children's Books

The Famous Five Collection 5

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

An Author's Odyssey

Chris Colfer
Authors:
Chris Colfer
Hodder Children's Books

St Clare's Collection 3

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Mother Goose Diaries

Chris Colfer
Authors:
Chris Colfer

From New York Times bestselling author Chris Colfer comes a new book about a beloved character: Mother Goose. Mother Goose's diary entries over the last five hundred years take readers on a journey to learn buried secrets. A must-have for new and old fans alike.

Orchard Books

Creta the Winged Terror

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Wayland

Creative Cards

Rita Storey
Authors:
Rita Storey

A fun guide to making cards for children for variety of special occasions. Featuring a wide range of exciting step-by-step projects including a pop-up birthday card and a Father's Day origami card and a Christmas card that glows! This fun guide teaches children a number of different techniques from simple sticking and pasting to more difficult techniques such as papier-mâchè and sewing. Supports the design and technology curriculum for KS2. The cultural significance, science and history behind each project is explained, making the series an excellent cross-curricular resource.

Orchard Books

Vedra & Krimon Twin Beasts of Avantia

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

New Beasts have been created in Avantia - twin dragons Vedra and Krimon. But the Wizard Malvel plans to capture them, so Tom must take the dragons into hiding. Can Tom save the twin Beasts from the wizard's evil spell?Beast Quest Early Readers are perfect for children learning to read and for families to enjoy together, with text vetted by a literacy expert and bright new colour illustrations.Look out for another Beast Quest Early Reader soon: Kragos and Kildor the Two-headed Demon!

Orion Children's Books

Magical Children Complete eBook Collection

Sally Gardner
Authors:
Sally Gardner
Orion Children's Books

Omnibus 8

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Orion Children's Books

Where's Dogmatix?

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Orion Children's Books

Omnibus 6

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

This special collectors' edition features books 16 to 18 in one fabulous volume.In ASTERIX IN SWITZERLAND, a poisoning means Asterix and Obelix must go to Helvetia for an antidote. Can they overcome cuckoo hourglasses, yodelling and holes in the cheese?A housing estate lies at the heart of Caesar's new plan to crush the Gauls in THE MANSIONS OF THE GODS. Will the villagers be tempted by the chance to make money when the Roman tenants move in?In ASTERIX AND THE LAUREL WREATH, Chief Vitalstatistix wants a stew seasoned with Caesar's laurel wreath. Asterix and Obelix must fetch the wreath, but will their plan end in disaster or their own Roman triumph?There is no better way to enjoy the antics of our indomitable hero and his friends.

Orion Children's Books

Omnibus 5

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Orion Children's Books

Omnibus 7

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo