René Goscinny - Asterix and the Chieftain's Shield - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780752866253
    • Publication date:21 Jul 2005
Books in this series

Asterix and the Chieftain's Shield

Album 11

By René Goscinny
Illustrated by Albert Uderzo

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The eleventh album chronicling the much-loved adventures of Asterix and friends - now available in ebook format for the first time in English!

When the hero Vercingetorix was defeated he threw his arms at Julius Caesar's feet. Years later, Caesar plans to hold a triumph with his enemy's shield - but where is it? Romans and Gauls race to track it down, and Chief Vitalstatistix, dieting on a health farm, has a surprise to spring. Will Caesar defeat the Gauls again, or will the truimph go to Asterix?

Biographical Notes

Rene Goscinny was born in Paris in 1926, and spent most of his childhood in Argentina, before eventually moving to Paris in 1951. He died in 1977. Albert Uderzo was born in 1927 in a small village in Marne, France. He met Rene Goscinny in 1951 and on 29 October 1959 their most famous creation, Asterix, made his first appearance on page 20 of Pilote. ASTERIX THE GAUL, their first album, was published in 1961 and there have now been 35 Asterix albums.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444013184
  • Publication date: 03 Apr 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Wayland

Swimming

Alix Wood
Authors:
Alix Wood

Learn an array of water skills with Get Active!: Swimming. From breaststroke to backstroke, lifesaving to water polo, this book has useful photos, step-by-step guides and technical tips to help you perfect a whole host of strokes and skills.When your favourite thing to do is physically active, it's easy to have fun and be fit! Readers will dive into swimming, bend over backwards for gymnastics, find peace with yoga, and more, through fun, informational content about many popular activities. Step-by-step instructions will help readers learn all the right moves, and even teach them how to pursue a career! Colourful photographs will draw future ice-skaters, dancers, and martial artists into the fascinating world of their sport - an encourage them to keep practicing! Main content inspires a healthy lifestyle through fun, varied types of exercise. Detailed sidebars give readers more ideas, examples, and information about different aspects of each physical activity. Step-by-step instructions and colourful photographs help readers learn how to do each activity.

Wayland

Yoga

Alix Wood
Authors:
Alix Wood
Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once 3

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell

No.1 Bestselling Series from the Blue Peter Award winning author of How To Train Your Dragon. Enter a land of wizards, warriors, mythical creatures and powerful magic in an exciting new fantasy adventure.The Witchstain is spreading ... As Encanzo and Sychorax dance, Xar and Wish have to find the ingredients of the spell to overthrow Witches, and Wish must learn to control her magic.

Wayland

Ice Skating

Alix Wood
Authors:
Alix Wood

Wayland

Martial Arts

Alix Wood
Authors:
Alix Wood

Orchard Books

Rainbow Magic: Hazel the Librarian Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Wayland

The Brain and Nervous System

Wayland

Dance

Alix Wood
Authors:
Alix Wood
Wayland

Gymnastics

Alix Wood
Authors:
Alix Wood

Wayland

The Heart, Lungs, and Blood

Hodder Children's Books

Heartstopper Volume One

Alice Oseman
Authors:
Alice Oseman

Boy meets boy. Boys become friends. Boys fall in love. An LGBTQ+ graphic novel about life, love, and everything that happens in between - for fans of The Art of Being Normal, Holly Bourne and Love, Simon.Charlie and Nick are at the same school, but they've never met ... until one day when they're made to sit together. They quickly become friends, and soon Charlie is falling hard for Nick, even though he doesn't think he has a chance. But love works in surprising ways, and Nick is more interested in Charlie than either of them realised.Heartstopper is about love, friendship, loyalty and mental illness. It encompasses all the small stories of Nick and Charlie's lives that together make up something larger, which speaks to all of us. This is the first volume of Heartstopper, with more to come.

Franklin Watts

A New Home in Space

Damian Harvey, José Rubert
Contributors:
Damian Harvey, José Rubert

Theo has moved school before, but never to a space station! He is worried about how he will fit into a place where everything is so different. Join him as he makes new friends despite all his fears.Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once: Twice Magic

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Orchard Books

My Little Pony Character Guide

The ultimate guide to every character in the world of My Little Pony!The world of Equestria is filled with characters of all shapes and sizes and this is your chance to meet them all. From the newest ponies in town to the most fearsome foes, find out about all of your favourite fillies and more!

Franklin Watts

The Wolf in Sheep's Clothing

Jenny Jinks
Authors:
Jenny Jinks
Hodder Children's Books

I Am a Book

Roger Hargreaves
Authors:
Roger Hargreaves

Have you ever imagined what it might feel like to be a book? Or a pencil? An ocean? A pair of scissors? Or, even, a sausage? Well, Roger Hargreaves has - and it's hilarious! The poetry classic is also in rhyme - most of the time!I am an orange you're going to peel.But - you don't think about how I feel!Ouch! That hurt! But you don't care!You peel away. It's most unfair!Roger Hargreaves was the bestselling creator of the Mr Men series. I Am a Book was first published by Hodder Children's Books in 1984.

Orion Children's Books

Asterix and the Vikings

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Orion Children's Books

How Obelix Fell into the Magic Potion

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Hodder Children's Books

Five Go To Smuggler's Top

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Hodder Children's Books

Five Go Off In A Caravan

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton