Steve Backshall - Deadly Factbook: Fish, Squid and Jellyfish - Hachette Children's Group

Deadly Factbook: Fish, Squid and Jellyfish

Book 4

By Steve Backshall

  • Paperback
  • £4.99

Discover the world's most extraordinary underwater creatures in the fourth of Steve Backshall's Deadly factbooks featuring fish, squid, sharks and whales.

Did you know that catfish have more than 100,000 taste buds on their body? Or that a bull shark has an even stronger bite than a Great White?

Follow in the footsteps of the Deadly team and discover the secrets of the animal kingdom as they reveal fascinating facts and killer statistics in their guide to fish, squid and jellyfish.

This is the fourth Deadly factbook. Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Biographical Notes

Steve Backshall is the hugely popular and fearless presenter of the Children's BBC series DEADLY 60, LIVE AND DEADLY, DEADLY 360 and DEADLY ART. Steve travels the world to learn about the most inspiring predators, from boxing mantis shrimp to charging tigers. Steve also regularly writes articles for newspapers and magazines including the NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELER and BBC WILDLIFE and is an inspirational public speaker.

Steve's website is http://www.stevebackshall.com/, and you can follow him on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/stevebackshallofficial and Twitter @SteveJBackshall

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444012606
  • Publication date: 10 Apr 2014
  • Page count: 80
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Pat-a-Cake

Here Come the Mummies and Babies

Pat-a-Cake, Hilli Kushnir
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Hilli Kushnir

Clap hands and play with this range of exciting toddler touch-and-feel books!Here Come the Mummies and Babies is a playful touch-and-feel book, full of energy, fun and of course, lots of cute mummy and baby animals! Toddlers will laugh, shout, clap their hands and join in the fun as the simple text encourages them to point, count, match and talk about the friendly, fluffy pals playing on every page. With textures to feel on every page and a matching game page at the end, everyone will want to clap hands for the mummies and babies! Also available: Here Come the Monkeys, Here Come the Kittens, Here Come the Puppies, Here Come the Dinosaurs, Here Come the Chicks, Here Come the Bunnies

Pat-a-Cake

Here Come the Llamas

Pat-a-Cake, Laura Hambleton
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Laura Hambleton

Clap hands and play with this range of exciting toddler touch-and-feel books!Here Come the Llamas is a playful touch-and-feel book, full of energy, fun and of course, lots of cute llamas! Toddlers will laugh, shout, clap their hands and join in the fun as the simple text encourages them to point, count, match and talk about the friendly, fluffy pals playing on every page. With textures to feel on every page and a matching game page at the end, everyone will want to clap hands for the llamas! Also available: Here Come the Monkeys, Here Come the Kittens, Here Come the Puppies, Here Come the Dinosaurs, Here Come the Chicks, Here Come the Bunnies, Here Come the Unicorns

Wayland

Roots and Shoots

Judith Heneghan
Authors:
Judith Heneghan
Wayland

Display and Camouflage

Tom Jackson
Authors:
Tom Jackson

Some animals have developed astounding plumage, skin and fur which perfectly meets their needs. From the pangolin, which is covered in 'plates of armour' to protect it from predators, to the leafy appearance of the weedy sea dragon, that allows it hide amongst the seaweed, the creatures featured in this book have developed appearances that are both unique and out-of-this-world. Find out more about these marvels of nature and learn how evolution has shaped each animal's appearance - whether it is trying to blend in with its surroundings, pretend to be a different species or draw attention to how deadly it is.Vivid, arresting photography paired with captivating animal encounters make this book a thrilling introduction to some of the basics of evolutionary theory.

Wayland

Homes

Tom Jackson
Authors:
Tom Jackson

Some animals build astounding homes to provide shelter and safety for themselves and their young. From ants glueing leaves together to create a nest, to groundhogs engineering enormous underground towns, the creatures featured in this book create homes that are both unique and out-of-this-world. Find out more about these masters of engineering and learn how evolution has shaped the way each animal constructs their home and uses it.Vivid, arresting photography paired with captivating animal encounters make this book a thrilling introduction to some of the basics of evolutionary theory.

Wayland

Flower Power

Judith Heneghan
Authors:
Judith Heneghan
Wren & Rook

Saving Species

Jess French, James Gilleard
Contributors:
Jess French, James Gilleard

From the well-known faces of conservation, such as polar bears, tigers and orangutans, to the lesser-known threatened Malagasy rainbow frog, kakapo and bee, this striking book looks at 38 endangered animals from around the world and the conservation efforts that are being undertaken to save them. Written by vet, conservationist and TV presenter, Dr Jess French, and illustrated in a striking graphic artwork style, Saving Species is sure to inspire future conservationists and animal lovers of all ages.

Wayland

Ocean Life

Did you know about the fish that weighs 21 tonnes? Or blobfish, lugworms and Deepsea Challenger? Well, where have you been! Whether it swims, floats, sinks or gobbles, Infomojis: Ocean Life is all about exploring the world of coasts and the sea in a fun and engaging way. Each book features custom-made 'infomojis' - presenting the information with real personality! So inject fun into facts, and take your young wildlife expert to the next evolution in infographics. Perfect for readers aged 8+.

Franklin Watts

British Insects and other Minibeasts

Clare Collinson
Authors:
Clare Collinson
Franklin Watts

Endangered Animals

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

Get to grips with facts about endangered animals and then become a word wizard and dazzle everyone with your newfound knowledge.Write On is a high interest information series with a difference, designed to help the newly independent reader become a confident writer, perfect for the 7-11 age group. Eye-catching photos and accessible text help build knowledge. Top writing tips and 'wow' words inspire easy to achieve writing projects, a fantastic way to improve literacy skills.

Franklin Watts

Dinosaurs

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

From scouring the skies for pterodactyls to dodging the booming brontosaurus, there are plenty of dino facts to whet the appetite of all dinosaur fans!Write On is a high interest information series with a difference, designed to help the newly independent reader become a confident writer. Eye-catching photos and accessible text help build knowledge. Top writing tips and 'wow' words inspire easy to achieve writing projects, a fantastic way to improve literacy skills. A great book for 7-9 year olds or those working at Key Stage 2.

Franklin Watts

British Birds

Clare Collinson
Authors:
Clare Collinson

From familiar garden songbirds to powerful birds of prey, there are a whole host of fascinating birds to discover in Britain. Learn all about the remarkable range of British birds inside this book. Find out where to look for different species, how to identify them, when to spot them and much more.The book is part of the 'Nature in your neighbourhood' series - discover the plants and animals that live all around you!

Wayland

If Sharks Disappeared

Lily Williams
Authors:
Lily Williams

A beautifully illustrated narrative non-fiction picture book that imagines the consequences of a world without sharksA healthy ocean is home to many different kinds of animals. They can be big, like a whale, tiny, like a shrimp, and even scary, like a shark. Even though sharks can be scary, we need them to keep the oceans healthy. Unfortunately, due to overfishing, many shark species are in danger of extinction, and that can cause big problems in the oceans and even on land. What would happen if this continued and sharks disappeared completely?Artist Lily Williams explores how the disappearance would affect other animals across the whole planet in this clever book about the importance of keeping our keeping sharks, and our oceans, healthy.Perfect for children aged 5 and up, this book is a great introduction to the food chain and some of the dangers facing our planet.

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2018

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Wayland

Coarse Fishing

Martin Ford
Authors:
Martin Ford
Orion Children's Books

Shark Seas

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Saker and Sinter continue their quest to save the world's endangered animals in the fourth thrilling adventure in TV presenter Steve Backshall's Falcon Chronicles, this time swimming in shark seas. . .Perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charlie Higson and Bear Grylls. This is the fourth adventure in the Falcon Chronicles, filled with intrigue, danger, exotic wildlife and dramatic locations.

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2017

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Wilds of the Wolf

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry's Crazy Creatures

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

From multi-million-copy selling author, Francesca Simon, and David Walliams' illustrator, Tony Ross, comes the latest title in the successful Horrid Henry's Factbooks series. What's the only animal in the world to produce cube-shaped poo? What kind of lizard looks as though it has two heads? And what happens when a tarantula loses a leg?Bursting with foul facts and twisted trivia, this is the perfect guide to everything a Horrid Henry fan has ever wanted to know about animals. Gross out your family and amaze your friends with your nasty new knowledge!

Franklin Watts

British Mammals

Clare Collinson
Authors:
Clare Collinson

Wherever you live in Britain, you will be amazed at how much mammal life there is right on your doorstep. Even in the busiest cities, there are small rodents, such as this squirrel, and larger predators, such as foxes. In this book find out all about the mammals that live in British cities, the coutryside and in our waterways. Discover the best ways to spot them and learn about the classification of mammals.The book is part of the 'Nature in your neighbourhood' series - find out all about the plants and animals that live all around you!