Steve Backshall - Deadly Factbook: Reptiles and Amphibians - Hachette Children's Group

Deadly Factbook: Reptiles and Amphibians

Book 3

By Steve Backshall

  • Paperback
  • £4.99

Discover the world's most extraordinary creatures in the third of Steve Backshall's Deadly factbooks.

Packed with fascinating facts and drawing on Steve's own amazing experiences, this is the third Deadly factbook for Steve Backshall fans everywhere. Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Biographical Notes

Steve Backshall is the hugely popular and fearless presenter of the Children's BBC series DEADLY 60, LIVE AND DEADLY, DEADLY 360 and DEADLY ART. Steve travels the world to learn about the most inspiring predators, from boxing mantis shrimp to charging tigers. Steve also regularly writes articles for newspapers and magazines including the NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELER and BBC WILDLIFE and is an inspirational public speaker.

Steve's website is http://www.stevebackshall.com/, and you can follow him on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/stevebackshallofficial and Twitter @SteveJBackshall

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444012590
  • Publication date: 10 Apr 2014
  • Page count: 80
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
My love of these animals kept me tentatively turning the pages, doing my best to avoid seeing the humongous (exaggeration) photos of snakes, which I have a phobia over. It was worth it - lots of facts to learn about these cool (in more ways than one) creatures.' — NAYU'S READING CORNER
Wayland

Snails

Susie Williams
Authors:
Susie Williams
Wayland

Worms

Susie Williams
Authors:
Susie Williams
Wren & Rook

Does It Fart?

Nick Caruso, Dani Rabaiotti, Alex G. Griffiths
Contributors:
Nick Caruso, Dani Rabaiotti, Alex G. Griffiths

An explosive and hilarious look at facts, farts, and fun!Dogs fart. Cats fart. Horses fart (a lot). But what about snakes? Spiders? Octopuses? What about chimpanzees? Cheetahs? Or dinosaurs?In this gaseous guide to kids' favourite animals (and some they've probably never heard of), young readers will discover not only which animals parp, but also which have the stinkiest farts, which fart the most, and where all this smelly stuff comes from. They'll even learn which species has its own secret fart code! Perfect for reluctant readers, and with full-colour illustrations throughout, Does It Fart? is the funniest book you never knew you needed.Based on the New York Times bestseller Does It Fart?: The Definitive Field Guide to Animal Flatulence.

Franklin Watts

Europe

Tim Harris
Authors:
Tim Harris
Franklin Watts

North America

Tim Harris
Authors:
Tim Harris

This stunning six-book series explores some of Earth's iconic landmarks and habitats, and the plants and animals that live there. North America explores the incredibly diverse range of habitats and wildlife on this continent. Mountain lions, bison and snakes feature, alongside some less well-known wildlife mammals, amphibians, birds, fish and reptiles. From the frozen Arctic islands in the north, through the Mojave Desert, across the wide prairies of the American Midwest, up the Blue Ridge Mountains, through the redwood forests of California and along the Mississippi River - this book will make you want to know even more about the spectacular array of life on Earth.They are illustrated with beautiful photographs that will inspire readers and leave them in awe at the incredible variety of life on our planet. Filled with incredible facts and gems of information, each book reveals the dramatic ways in which each of our seven continents are shaped and how they in turn affect the living creatures and plants that call each continent home.For readers aged 8 and upwards, these books are perfect for key stage 2 students, studying geography, plant life and the animal kingdom.

Wren & Rook

A Planet Full of Plastic

Neal Layton
Authors:
Neal Layton

Everything is made of stuff. Some things are made of paper, like this book. And some things are made of PLASTIC. If you look around you, plastic is everywhere. Even in places where it's not meant to be. If it drops to the ground, it doesn't rot away - it sticks around for ever.Our world is drowning in plastic, and it's a big problem. Award-winning author-illustrator Neal Layton is here to explain where plastic comes from, why it doesn't biodegrade, and why that's dangerous for animals and humans alike. But he's also FULL of ideas for how you can help! From giving up straws in juice cartons to recycling all we can and taking part in a beach clean, A Planet Full of Plastic will get young readers excited about how they can make a difference to keep Planet Earth happy.This brilliant non-fiction picture book, illustrated in Neal's trademark collage style, is perfect for readers aged 5-7 who love nature and want to help the environment.

Franklin Watts

Australasia and Antarctica

Tim Harris
Authors:
Tim Harris
Franklin Watts

Africa

Tim Harris
Authors:
Tim Harris
Wayland

Minibeasts

David West
Authors:
David West

Enrich your knoweldge of marvellous minibeasts! See what a spider really looks like inside, discover how an insect breathes and find out where bees store their venom, plus many more minibeast facts.The Inside Animals series introduces children to the anatomy of animals with cutaway illustrations, with the outer image followed by the inner image over the next page, so children can understand exactly how anatomy works. There is also a handy glossary at the back to explain key scientific terms in an accessible way.Perfect for any curious 6-8 year old or budding scientist.

Wayland

Mammals

David West
Authors:
David West
Franklin Watts

Animals

Peter Riley, Krina Patel
Contributors:
Peter Riley, Krina Patel

Animals takes a look at the five types of vertebrates on our planet: fish, mammals, reptiles, amphibians and birds. Find out about the types of habitats these animals live in, and all about teeth, bones, feathers, skulls, tadpoles, scales, eggs and loads of other fascinating science stuff about animals.Have you ever looked at the objects inside a curiosity box? What did you see and what did they feel like? Did you recognise some of them or were there things in there that you'd never seen before? These six book take the magical charm of collecting curiosities, joined with the science behind some of the wonders of the natural world. The mixture of full-colour photographs and beautiful illustrations will inspire children to take a closer look at objects and the world around them, and begin to question how and why nature designs things in certain ways.The Curiosity Box series is brimming with science and encourages Key Stage 1 pupils to engage with core science and nature topics, while developing other key skills in thinking and reasoning in an utterly absorbing and charming way.For children aged 6+.

Franklin Watts

The Big Countdown

Paul Rockett
Authors:
Paul Rockett

You can count the number of legs on a spider, but can you count the number of stars in the Universe? Or the number of breaths we take each day? The Big Countdown explores the world through numbers, looking at rainforests, outer space, the animal kingdom the human body and much more.This book counts you down from 70 sextillion to 0.01, bringing facts and figures to life with illustrations, fun infographics and photographs.

Pat-a-Cake

Minibeasts

Pat-a-Cake, Villie Karabatzia
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Villie Karabatzia

Help toddlers discover and learn about the world around them with these essential board books.Minibeasts helps busy, curious toddlers explore their world and develop their vocabulary by introducing lots of wonderful minibeast words. This robust board book will withstand many happy hours of looking, holding, exploring and reading, while the playful, witty illustrations will be loved by parents and children alike. A brilliant fold-out surprise at the end adds a fun addition to all the learning in the book. Also available: 123, Colours, ABC, Animals, First Words, Shapes, Dinosaurs

Wayland

Birds

David West
Authors:
David West
Wayland

Fish

David West
Authors:
David West
Wayland

Reptiles

David West
Authors:
David West

Introduces children to the anatomy of animals with cutaway illustrationsDiscover all sorts of fun facts about reptiles including what a turtle looks like inside, how a chameleon uses its tongue and where a snake's venom is kept! Perfect for any curious 6-8 year old or budding scientist.

Wayland

Amphibians

David West
Authors:
David West
Wren & Rook

The World of the Whale

Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Jonathan Woodward
Contributors:
Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Jonathan Woodward

Dive into the underwater world of whales and dolphins in this entrancing illustrated guide. Graceful and serene, intelligent and social, the whale is a wonder of the deep blue sea. And yet, whales rely on air to breathe - they are mammals, just like us.With breathtaking text, Smriti Prasadam-Halls explores the migrations, songs and family life of these mysterious creatures, and reveals the dangers they face from plastic, pollution and hunting. Wildlife illustrator Jonathan Woodward brings the marine world to life with stunning papercut collage artwork. An astonishing follow-up to the English 4-11 Award-winning book The Ways of the Wolf, which is also shortlisted for the SLA Award.'The expressive writing and the colourful, original artwork depict the lives of whales perfectly. Perceptively illustrating their strong social nature and intelligence, this beautiful book also explores the dangers faced by these incredible creatures and the need for us to work together to protect them.' - Whale & Dolphin Conservation

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Blue Feather

Gary Crew
Authors:
Gary Crew
Orion Children's Books

Shark Seas

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Saker and Sinter continue their quest to save the world's endangered animals in the fourth thrilling adventure in TV presenter Steve Backshall's Falcon Chronicles, this time swimming in shark seas. . .Perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charlie Higson and Bear Grylls. This is the fourth adventure in the Falcon Chronicles, filled with intrigue, danger, exotic wildlife and dramatic locations.