Steve Backshall - Deadly Factbook: Reptiles and Amphibians - Hachette Children's Group

Deadly Factbook: Reptiles and Amphibians

Book 3

By Steve Backshall

  • Paperback
  • £4.99

Discover the world's most extraordinary creatures in the third of Steve Backshall's Deadly factbooks.

Packed with fascinating facts and drawing on Steve's own amazing experiences, this is the third Deadly factbook for Steve Backshall fans everywhere. Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Biographical Notes

Steve Backshall is the hugely popular and fearless presenter of the Children's BBC series DEADLY 60, LIVE AND DEADLY, DEADLY 360 and DEADLY ART. Steve travels the world to learn about the most inspiring predators, from boxing mantis shrimp to charging tigers. Steve also regularly writes articles for newspapers and magazines including the NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELER and BBC WILDLIFE and is an inspirational public speaker.

Steve's website is http://www.stevebackshall.com/, and you can follow him on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/stevebackshallofficial and Twitter @SteveJBackshall

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444012590
  • Publication date: 10 Apr 2014
  • Page count: 80
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
My love of these animals kept me tentatively turning the pages, doing my best to avoid seeing the humongous (exaggeration) photos of snakes, which I have a phobia over. It was worth it - lots of facts to learn about these cool (in more ways than one) creatures.' — NAYU'S READING CORNER
Franklin Watts

Africa

Tim Harris
Authors:
Tim Harris
Franklin Watts

Space

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert
Pat-a-Cake

Here Come the Llamas

Pat-a-Cake, Laura Hambleton
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Laura Hambleton

Clap hands and play with this range of exciting toddler touch-and-feel books!Here Come the Llamas is a playful touch-and-feel book, full of energy, fun and of course, lots of cute llamas! Toddlers will laugh, shout, clap their hands and join in the fun as the simple text encourages them to point, count, match and talk about the friendly, fluffy pals playing on every page. With textures to feel on every page and a matching game page at the end, everyone will want to clap hands for the llamas! Also available: Here Come the Monkeys, Here Come the Kittens, Here Come the Puppies, Here Come the Dinosaurs, Here Come the Chicks, Here Come the Bunnies, Here Come the Unicorns

Wayland

Ocean Life

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2018

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Wayland

Wild Ideas

Elin Kelsey, Soyeon Kim
Contributors:
Elin Kelsey, Soyeon Kim
Wayland

Coarse Fishing

Martin Ford
Authors:
Martin Ford

Learn how to fish with this easy-to-follow guide and find out how to identify the most common fish found in Britain today. This book includes tips on how to fish and where to fish safely, advice on using the correct fishing tackle and bait, colour photographs of the fish and descriptions of how to catch them, simple step-by-step guides to attaching bait and half-blood loops.f you enjoy this book, then why not search out the other titles in this series: British Birds; British Mammals; British Trees; British Wild Flowers, British Butterflies and British Insects.

Orchard Books

Mad About Minibeasts! Board Book

Giles Andreae, David Wojtowycz
Contributors:
Giles Andreae, David Wojtowycz
Orion Children's Books

Shark Seas

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Saker and Sinter continue their quest to save the world's endangered animals in the fourth thrilling adventure in TV presenter Steve Backshall's Falcon Chronicles, this time swimming in shark seas. . .Perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charlie Higson and Bear Grylls. This is the fourth adventure in the Falcon Chronicles, filled with intrigue, danger, exotic wildlife and dramatic locations.

Wayland

British Insects

Victoria Munson
Authors:
Victoria Munson

This easy-to-follow insect-spotting book for children introduces 50 of the most common insects found in Britain today.Full descriptions of the insects, along with their scientific name, size, family and habitat, will help you to recognise which insect is which. The stunning, large colour photographs will help make identification easy. A fun and simple activity shows you how to make a ladybird home, where they can hibernate through winter. Includes information on how to become a nature detective with illustrations, advice and handy tips to find out about protecting nature.Perfect for the new National Curriculum, this book includes fascinating information about different insects life cycles, their unique body parts and their habitats. Become a nature detective and explore the natural world around you. If you enjoy this book, then why not search out the other titles in this series: British Birds; British Mammals; British Trees; British Wild Flowers and British Seashore.

Wayland

British Trees

Victoria Munson
Authors:
Victoria Munson

Easy-to-follow identification guides for children about the most common trees found in Britain today. Full descriptions of the trees, along with their scientific name, size, family and habitat, will ensure you can recognise which tree is which. Stunning large colour photographs of the trees, their leaves, seeds and fruits, will help with easy identification. Perfect for the National Curriculum, this book includes information about broadleaved trees and conifers, explaining the difference between deciduous trees and evergreens, and looks at how the parts of trees, from the leaves and bark to seeds and berries. Includes a fun step-by-step activity to help you create your own tree guide. Become a nature detective and explore the natural world around you. If you enjoy this book, then why not search out the other titles in this series: British Birds; British Mammals; British Insects; British Wild Flowers; British Insects and British Seashore.Features the following trees: English Oak, Turkey Oak, Sessile Oak, Aspen, White Willow, Weeping Willow, Pussy Willow, Crack Willow, Common Osier, Black Poplar, White Poplar, Silver Birch, Alder, Hazel, Hornbeam, Common Beech, Common Ash, Elder, Holly, Common Lime, Large-leave Lime, Small-leaved Lime, London Plane, Rowan, Horse Chestnut, Sweet Chestnut, Field Maple, Sycamore, Yew, Wych Elm, English Elm, Whitebeam, Hawthorn, Blackthorn, Crab Apple, Wild Cherry, Common Pear, Common Juniper, Walnut, Magnolia, Norway Spruce, Larch, Douglas Fir, Scots Pine, Sitka Spruce, Cedar, Monkey Puzzle Tree.

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2017

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

A full colour annual packed with animals and adventure from wildlife enthusiast, TV presenter and children's book bestseller, Steve Backshall. Steve's year is full of spiders, crocodiles, snakes, sharks, stingrays, tigers, hawks and many more exciting creatures. The perfect gift for young wildlife fans, this annual is bursting with fascinating facts, puzzles, quizzes, and full colour photographs of amazing animals from across the globe.

Franklin Watts

Rainforests

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

Wander through wild rainforests and discover facts about who and what lives there, then become a word wizard and dazzle everyone with your newfound knowledge.Write On is a high interest information series with a difference, designed to help the newly independent reader become a confident writer. Eye-catching photos and accessible text help build knowledge and the varied design includes easy to digest bullet points of information. Top writing tips and 'wow' words will inspire writing project ideas and improve literacy skills. The Writing school section at the back of the book helps transform the factual information in a variety of ways from comic strips to blogs. The books will be a perfect literacy aid for 8-11 year olds.

Franklin Watts

Big Cats

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

Get your teeth into facts about big cats and then become a word wizard and dazzle everyone with your newfound knowledge.Write On is a high interest information series with a difference, designed to help the newly independent reader become a confident writer. Eye-catching photos and accessible text help build knowledge. Top writing tips and 'wow' words inspire easy to achieve writing projects, a fantastic way to improve literacy skills. Perfect for 7-9 year olds or those at Key Stage 2.

Orion Children's Books

Favourite Deadly Facts

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Follow in the footsteps of the Deadly team and discover the secrets of the animals kingdom. A bumper book of all your favourite Deadly facts about MAMMALS, INSECTS, REPTILES and BIRDS. The FAVOURITE DEADLY FACTS bind-up contains facts from DEADLY FACTBOOK 1: MAMMALS, DEADLY FACTBOOK 2: MINIBEASTS, SPIDERS AND INSECTS, DEADLY FACTBOOK 3: REPTILES AND AMPHIBIANS and DEADLY FACTBOOK 4: FISH, SQUID AND JELLYFISH. Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Wild Wordsearches

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall's Deadly series: Deadly Pole to Pole Puzzles

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Deadly Pole to Pole Diaries

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

This is Steve Backshall's incredible first-hand account of his 14-month voyage from the Arctic to the Antarctic via Alaska, California, Hawaii, Mexico and Brazil and many more amazing locations besides. Go with him every step of the way as he describes his encounters with white whales, ice bears, sharks, eagles, wolves, sea lions, eagles, crocodiles, snakes and spiders. It's the Deadly adventure of a lifetime.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Annual 2015

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Wilds of the Wolf

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

The third book in THE FALCON CHRONICLES series from DEADLY 60 and LIVE AND DEADLY presenter Steve Backshall. Follow Saker and Sinter's quest to save the world's endangered animals in the frozen Arctic wilderness. Saker and Sinter escape by the skin of their teeth when their plan to sabotage a billionaire businessman plundering 'black gold' (natural oil and gas) and hunting wolves in the remote Siberia goes disastrously wrong. But they escape one kind of peril only to find themselves in an even more terrifying situation. Separated by blizzards and avalanches, they are lost in a breathtakingly beautiful but deadly frozen Arctic wilderness. Suffering from frostbite and hunger, listening to the wolves howl and the packs draw closer, it seems that this time they cannot possibly live to tell their tale.Steve Backshall is the hugely popular and fearless presenter of the BBC kids' series DEADLY 60 and LIVE AND DEADLY as well as star of BBC's Strictly Come Dancing 2014.