Steve Backshall - Deadly Detectives - Hachette Children's Group

Deadly Detectives

Top Tips to Track Wildlife

By Steve Backshall

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A lavish full-colour gift book in which BAFTA AWARD-winning DEADLY 60 presenter, Steve Backshall, shows you how to follow in his footsteps and become a deadly detective tracking animals all around the world, from your own back garden to the Amazon rain forests and Arctic tundra.

Finding wildlife is rarely easy - unless you're Steve Backshall! In DEADLY DETECTIVES Steve tells young trackers everything they need to know about the origins of tracking, what you need to become a tracker and how to do it, whether the wild world is your own back garden, ancient woodlands, the riverside or coast. He illustrates his tips with examples of his own detective work on land and in the water from tropical rainforests to the African Savanna, from the Arctic tundra to the desert. Join him as footsteps, feeding habits and even a pile of pooh reveal snow leopards, crocodiles, gators, snakes and polar bears, while closer to home you can track foxes, squirrels, badgers and birds, using exactly the same techniques.

Biographical Notes

Steve Backshall is the hugely popular and fearless presenter of the Children's BBC series DEADLY 60, LIVE AND DEADLY, DEADLY 360 and DEADLY ART. Steve travels the world to learn about the most inspiring predators, from boxing mantis shrimp to charging tigers. Steve also regularly writes articles for newspapers and magazines including the NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELER and BBC WILDLIFE and is an inspirational public speaker.

Steve's website is http://www.stevebackshall.com/, and you can follow him on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/stevebackshallofficial and Twitter @SteveJBackshall

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444012149
  • Publication date: 07 Nov 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
The enthusiasm and expertise he has for his subject ... is evident in this excellent book — School Librarian
Plenty to inform and entertain — BBC Wildlife
Hodder Children's Books

The Wonder of Trees

Nicola Davies, Lorna Scobie
Contributors:
Nicola Davies, Lorna Scobie

Did you know that there are over 60,000 tree species? This stunning book explores the extraordinary diversity of trees and forests - the lungs of our earth.A glorious celebration of trees by non-fiction specialist Nicola Davies, illustrated by rising star Lorna Scobie, creators of the beautiful The Variety of Life. There is something to delight on every page with fascinating facts and figures. This exquisite book will encourage children to treasure the world's biodiversity and help to stop it slipping away.With sections on:- Wood, Trunks and Branches- Leaves- Roots Bark - Tree Skin - Flowers & Cones - Seeds - Plants on Trees- Insects in Trees- Reptiles & Amphibians in Trees- Birds and Trees Mammals in Trees- Communities of Trees- Taiga- Temperate Woodlands- Dry Gum Forest- Cloud Forest - Tropical Rainforests - Forest Relationships - Gifts from Trees - People of the Forest - Forest Destruction - How to Plant a Tree

Hodder Children's Books

Going to the Volcano

Andy Stanton, Miguel Ordonez
Contributors:
Andy Stanton, Miguel Ordonez
Wren & Rook

The Ways of the Wolf

Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Jonathan Woodward
Contributors:
Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Jonathan Woodward

The wolf stalks the wilderness and our own imaginations. Uncover its mysteries in this beautifully written non-fiction picture book.Majestic and fierce, proud and strong, the wolf has always been a source of fascination - and fear. It remains one of the most misunderstood of all creatures, frequently cast as our mortal enemy. The truth is that wolves and humans are more closely connected than we dare to admit. With beautifully lyrical language, Smriti Prasadam-Halls explores the lightning speed, echoing howl and family life of these mysterious animals, revealing astonishing facts and overturning misconceptions as she does so. Wildlife illustrator Jonathan Woodward brings the creatures to life with breathtaking papercut collage artwork. This is non-fiction storytelling at its very finest.The Ways of the Wolf has been endorsed by the UK Wolf Conservation Trust.

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2018

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Wayland

Wild Ideas

Elin Kelsey, Soyeon Kim
Contributors:
Elin Kelsey, Soyeon Kim

Wild Ideas looks deep into the forests, skies and oceans to explore how animals solve problems. Whether it's weaving a safe place to rest and reflect, blowing a fine net of bubbles to trap fish, or leaping boldly into a new situation, the animals in our world can teach us a lot about problem-solving. As with the stunning You Are Stardust, the creators use lyrical text grounded in current science, alongside wonderfully detailed art, to present problems as doorways to creative thinking. Wild Ideas encourages an enquiry-based approach to learning, inviting readers to indulge their sense of wonder and curiosity by observing the natural world, engaging with big ideas and asking questions.Praise for You Are Stardust:'This glorious synthesis of art and science invites discussion about our place in the world, where we come from, how we change and what makes us feel alive ... A terrific book for nurturing curiosity and fostering a feeling of enchantment.'(Playing By The Book)

Orion Children's Books

Shark Seas

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Saker and Sinter continue their quest to save the world's endangered animals in the fourth thrilling adventure in TV presenter Steve Backshall's Falcon Chronicles, this time swimming in shark seas. . .Perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charlie Higson and Bear Grylls. This is the fourth adventure in the Falcon Chronicles, filled with intrigue, danger, exotic wildlife and dramatic locations.

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2017

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

A full colour annual packed with animals and adventure from wildlife enthusiast, TV presenter and children's book bestseller, Steve Backshall. Steve's year is full of spiders, crocodiles, snakes, sharks, stingrays, tigers, hawks and many more exciting creatures. The perfect gift for young wildlife fans, this annual is bursting with fascinating facts, puzzles, quizzes, and full colour photographs of amazing animals from across the globe.

Wayland

Woodland

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell
Wayland

Tanks

Tim Cooke
Authors:
Tim Cooke
Orion Children's Books

Wilds of the Wolf

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Franklin Watts

Penguins

Annabelle Lynch
Authors:
Annabelle Lynch

Penguins are amazing! They glide through the water in some of the coldest oceans on our planet.Froglets Learners offer fun facts in accessible text, perfect for building reading confidence.

Franklin Watts

Bears

Annabelle Lynch
Authors:
Annabelle Lynch

Find out all about bears and their cuddly cubs, from gentle pandas to fierce polar bears.Froglets Learners offer fun facts in accessible text, perfect for building reading confidence.

Wayland

Seashore

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Read all about seashores, where in the world you can find them, what animals and plants live there and how these are dependent on each other. Learn about food chains, seasons and what we can do to protect this important habitat.Simple quiz questions at the back help readers to remember what they've just read.

Orion Children's Books

Favourite Deadly Facts

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Follow in the footsteps of the Deadly team and discover the secrets of the animals kingdom. A bumper book of all your favourite Deadly facts about MAMMALS, INSECTS, REPTILES and BIRDS. The FAVOURITE DEADLY FACTS bind-up contains facts from DEADLY FACTBOOK 1: MAMMALS, DEADLY FACTBOOK 2: MINIBEASTS, SPIDERS AND INSECTS, DEADLY FACTBOOK 3: REPTILES AND AMPHIBIANS and DEADLY FACTBOOK 4: FISH, SQUID AND JELLYFISH. Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Orion Children's Books

A Horrid Factbook: Crazy Creatures

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Wayland

Rainforest

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Read all about rainforests, where in the world you can find them, what animals and plants live there and how these are dependent on each other. Learn about food chains, deforestation and what we can do to protect this important habitat.Simple quiz questions at the back help readers to remember what they've just read.Perfect one-stop-shop for help with homework assignments!Broad-ranging appeal for nursery age through to Key Stage 2.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Wild Wordsearches

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall's Deadly series: Deadly Pole to Pole Puzzles

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Deadly Pole to Pole Diaries

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

This is Steve Backshall's incredible first-hand account of his 14-month voyage from the Arctic to the Antarctic via Alaska, California, Hawaii, Mexico and Brazil and many more amazing locations besides. Go with him every step of the way as he describes his encounters with white whales, ice bears, sharks, eagles, wolves, sea lions, eagles, crocodiles, snakes and spiders. It's the Deadly adventure of a lifetime.

Franklin Watts

Elephants

Annabelle Lynch
Authors:
Annabelle Lynch

Come on safari with the biggest land mammals on Earth - elephants.Froglets Learners offer fun facts in accessible text, perfect for building reading confidence.