Steve Backshall - Deadly Detectives - Hachette Children's Group

Deadly Detectives

Top Tips to Track Wildlife

By Steve Backshall

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A lavish full-colour gift book in which BAFTA AWARD-winning DEADLY 60 presenter, Steve Backshall, shows you how to follow in his footsteps and become a deadly detective tracking animals all around the world, from your own back garden to the Amazon rain forests and Arctic tundra.

Finding wildlife is rarely easy - unless you're Steve Backshall! In DEADLY DETECTIVES Steve tells young trackers everything they need to know about the origins of tracking, what you need to become a tracker and how to do it, whether the wild world is your own back garden, ancient woodlands, the riverside or coast. He illustrates his tips with examples of his own detective work on land and in the water from tropical rainforests to the African Savanna, from the Arctic tundra to the desert. Join him as footsteps, feeding habits and even a pile of pooh reveal snow leopards, crocodiles, gators, snakes and polar bears, while closer to home you can track foxes, squirrels, badgers and birds, using exactly the same techniques.

Biographical Notes

Steve Backshall is the hugely popular and fearless presenter of the Children's BBC series DEADLY 60, LIVE AND DEADLY, DEADLY 360 and DEADLY ART. Steve travels the world to learn about the most inspiring predators, from boxing mantis shrimp to charging tigers. Steve also regularly writes articles for newspapers and magazines including the NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELER and BBC WILDLIFE and is an inspirational public speaker.

Steve's website is http://www.stevebackshall.com/, and you can follow him on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/stevebackshallofficial and Twitter @SteveJBackshall

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444012149
  • Publication date: 07 Nov 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
The enthusiasm and expertise he has for his subject ... is evident in this excellent book — School Librarian
Plenty to inform and entertain — BBC Wildlife
Wayland

Weather

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland
Wayland

Forces

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland
Franklin Watts

Africa

Tim Harris
Authors:
Tim Harris
Franklin Watts

Plants

Peter Riley
Authors:
Peter Riley
Franklin Watts

Human Body

Peter Riley, Krina Patel
Contributors:
Peter Riley, Krina Patel
Franklin Watts

The Seashore

Peter Riley
Authors:
Peter Riley

Have you ever looked at the objects inside a curiosity box? What did you see and what did they feel like? Did you recognise some of them or were there things in there that you'd never seen before? Books that take the magical charm of collecting curiosities, joined together with the science behind some of the wonders of the natural world. Children will be inspired to take a closer look at objects and the world around them and begin to question how and why nature designs things in certain ways.The Seashore looks at some of the different habitats along the coast and the plants, animals and objects that you will find there. From sand lizards hiding in the sand dunes, to all sorts of shells, crustaceans and seabirds. Children will love discovering a bit more about this favourite location. The mixture of full-colour photographs and illustrations ensure maximum impact and levels of detail but without feeling overly educational - even though this book is brimming with scienceBooks that encourage KS1 readers to engage with core science and nature topics, while developing other key skills in thinking and reasoning in an utterly absorbing and charming way.

Franklin Watts

Minibeasts

Peter Riley
Authors:
Peter Riley

Have you ever looked at the objects inside a curiosity box? What did you see and what did they feel like? Did you recognise some of them or were there things in there that you'd never seen before? Books that take the magical charm of collecting curiosities, joined together with the science behind some of the wonders of the natural world. Children will be inspired to take a closer look at objects and the world around them and begin to question how and why nature designs things in certain ways.Minibeasts focuses on the different types of minibeasts we encounter, such as insects, spiders and molluscs like slugs and snails. It links them to the habitats they live in and examines their behaviours and the roles they play in pollinating, composting and eating other bugs!Books that are brimming with science and encourage KS1 pupils to engage with core science and nature topics, while developing other key skills in thinking and reasoning in an utterly absorbing and charming way.

Orchard Books

Nerf Ultimate Activity Handbook

Franklin Watts

This Little Pebble

Anna Claybourne, Sally Garland
Contributors:
Anna Claybourne, Sally Garland

This Little Pebble begins with a child finding a small, forgotten pebble in his pocket. It uses this simple premise as a jumping-off point to explore what rocks are, where they come from and how fundamental they are to life here on Earth. For readers aged six and up, This Little Pebble uses beautiful artwork to show the rich diversity of rocks all around us, with friendly, narrative text by award-winning children's writer Anna Claybourne making the book feel like a journey. It explores topics as fascinating and as wide-ranging as Earth's formation, the rock cycle, volcanoes and earthquakes, where precious stones come from and what fossils are. It also provides great support for for the topic of rocks in both the geography and science curriculum.

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2018

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Shark Seas

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Saker and Sinter continue their quest to save the world's endangered animals in the fourth thrilling adventure in TV presenter Steve Backshall's Falcon Chronicles, this time swimming in shark seas. . .Perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charlie Higson and Bear Grylls. This is the fourth adventure in the Falcon Chronicles, filled with intrigue, danger, exotic wildlife and dramatic locations.

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2017

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

A full colour annual packed with animals and adventure from wildlife enthusiast, TV presenter and children's book bestseller, Steve Backshall. Steve's year is full of spiders, crocodiles, snakes, sharks, stingrays, tigers, hawks and many more exciting creatures. The perfect gift for young wildlife fans, this annual is bursting with fascinating facts, puzzles, quizzes, and full colour photographs of amazing animals from across the globe.

Franklin Watts

Pond Wildlife

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert
Franklin Watts

Trees

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

If you love trees, want to identify common trees or just want to get outdoors and understand nature, this book is for you. It is packed with photos of trees and their flowers and seeds and shows you how you can be a great tree spotter. It explores the different parts of the tree and looks out their life cycles including pollination, seed formation and seed dispersal. Plus there are fun puzzles and challenges throughout the book, which will help you develop your observation and spotting skills, ready for the great outdoors.It is part of The Great Nature Hunt a series of books for children aged 7+ which are a great resource for the Science curriculum. They help children make systematic and careful observations, gather data and record their findings. Each book is full of puzzles and challenges through which children can learn, while having fun.

Orion Children's Books

Favourite Deadly Facts

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Follow in the footsteps of the Deadly team and discover the secrets of the animals kingdom. A bumper book of all your favourite Deadly facts about MAMMALS, INSECTS, REPTILES and BIRDS. The FAVOURITE DEADLY FACTS bind-up contains facts from DEADLY FACTBOOK 1: MAMMALS, DEADLY FACTBOOK 2: MINIBEASTS, SPIDERS AND INSECTS, DEADLY FACTBOOK 3: REPTILES AND AMPHIBIANS and DEADLY FACTBOOK 4: FISH, SQUID AND JELLYFISH. Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Wild Wordsearches

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall's Deadly series: Deadly Pole to Pole Puzzles

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Deadly Pole to Pole Diaries

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Deadly Annual 2015

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

As a Deadly fan you know that we travel to all corners of the world to film and this time we're on our deadliest mission yet! We visit the driest deserts, the steamiest rainforests, the highest mountains and the snowiest forests in search of the most awesome wildlife. As ever, you're coming with us, every step of the way.Join us on a journey round the world and we'll tell you more about these incredible places and the animals that spend their lives there. We've got loads of photos and fascinating facts to share with you, as well as plenty of puzzles, pictures and fun stuff to enjoy!

Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry's Ghosts

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

From multi-million-copy selling author, Francesca Simon, and David Walliams' illustrator, Tony Ross, comes the latest title in the successful Horrid Henry's Factbooks series. What's the most haunted house in the world? What's the scariest ghost story ever told? And what's hiding under your bed right now?Bursting with scary facts and horrible trivia, this is the perfect guide to everything a Horrid Henry fan has ever wanted to know about ghosts. Terrify your family and amaze your friends with your nasty new knowledge!