Steve Backshall - Deadly Detectives - Hachette Children's Group

Deadly Detectives

Top Tips to Track Wildlife

By Steve Backshall

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

A lavish full-colour gift book in which BAFTA AWARD-winning DEADLY 60 presenter, Steve Backshall, shows you how to follow in his footsteps and become a deadly detective tracking animals all around the world, from your own back garden to the Amazon rain forests and Arctic tundra.

Finding wildlife is rarely easy - unless you're Steve Backshall! In DEADLY DETECTIVES Steve tells young trackers everything they need to know about the origins of tracking, what you need to become a tracker and how to do it, whether the wild world is your own back garden, ancient woodlands, the riverside or coast. He illustrates his tips with examples of his own detective work on land and in the water from tropical rainforests to the African Savanna, from the Arctic tundra to the desert. Join him as footsteps, feeding habits and even a pile of pooh reveal snow leopards, crocodiles, gators, snakes and polar bears, while closer to home you can track foxes, squirrels, badgers and birds, using exactly the same techniques.

Biographical Notes

Steve Backshall is the hugely popular and fearless presenter of the Children's BBC series DEADLY 60, LIVE AND DEADLY, DEADLY 360 and DEADLY ART. Steve travels the world to learn about the most inspiring predators, from boxing mantis shrimp to charging tigers. Steve also regularly writes articles for newspapers and magazines including the NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELER and BBC WILDLIFE and is an inspirational public speaker.

Steve's website is http://www.stevebackshall.com/, and you can follow him on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/stevebackshallofficial and Twitter @SteveJBackshall

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444011357
  • Publication date: 22 May 2014
  • Page count: 208
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
The enthusiasm and expertise he has for his subject ... is evident in this excellent book — School Librarian
Plenty to inform and entertain — BBC Wildlife
Orchard Books

Nerf Ultimate Activity Handbook

Experience the excitement, energy and attitude of Nerf in this bumper book of fun! Read all the facts and stats about the latest blasters, discover games to play with friends and try your hand at lots of fun activities! It's Nerf or Nothin'!

Orion Children's Books

Bear Rescue

Jess French
Authors:
Jess French

Keep wildlife in the wild! Support the Born Free charity and join Virginia McKenna and her team behind the scenes in this full colour gift book about an incredible bear rescue.Every year Born Free helps hundreds of animals around the world. This is the story of one of their incredible rescues ... Meet Mollie, Georgia and Louisa - three bear cubs stranded by terrible floods. Following a 24-hour rescue operation by Born Free that saved them from the raging waters, the cubs were taken more than 1,500 miles to Greece where they were released in a Bear Sanctuary in the mountains.

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2018

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Orion Children's Books

Shark Seas

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Saker and Sinter continue their quest to save the world's endangered animals in the fourth thrilling adventure in TV presenter Steve Backshall's Falcon Chronicles, this time swimming in shark seas. . .Perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charlie Higson and Bear Grylls. This is the fourth adventure in the Falcon Chronicles, filled with intrigue, danger, exotic wildlife and dramatic locations.

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2017

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Franklin Watts

Bugs

Annabelle Lynch
Authors:
Annabelle Lynch

Find out all about funny bugs, from spotty ladybirds to darting dragonflies. Tadpoles Learners are an ideal introduction to non-fiction for beginner readers, blending accessible text with big, striking photos.

Wayland

I Made That: The Kids' Big Book of Craft Ideas

Susannah Blake
Authors:
Susannah Blake
Orion Children's Books

Wilds of the Wolf

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Favourite Deadly Facts

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Follow in the footsteps of the Deadly team and discover the secrets of the animals kingdom. A bumper book of all your favourite Deadly facts about MAMMALS, INSECTS, REPTILES and BIRDS. The FAVOURITE DEADLY FACTS bind-up contains facts from DEADLY FACTBOOK 1: MAMMALS, DEADLY FACTBOOK 2: MINIBEASTS, SPIDERS AND INSECTS, DEADLY FACTBOOK 3: REPTILES AND AMPHIBIANS and DEADLY FACTBOOK 4: FISH, SQUID AND JELLYFISH. Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Orion Children's Books

The Garden

Louisa Leaman, Natasha Rimmington
Contributors:
Louisa Leaman, Natasha Rimmington
Wayland

Your Breathtaking Lungs and Rocking Respiratory System

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason
Franklin Watts

Seaside Jobs

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Wild Wordsearches

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

The Deep Dark Sea

Tony De Saulles
Authors:
Tony De Saulles
Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall's Deadly series: Deadly Pole to Pole Puzzles

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Put your DEADLY knowledge to the test with Steve Backshall's next fun and interactive activity book, to tie in with the successful POLE TO POLE BBC series, which follows Steve Backshall's incredible first-hand account of his 14-month voyage from the Arctic to the Antarctic via Alaska, California, Hawaii, Mexico and Brazil and many more amazing locations.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Pole to Pole Diaries

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

This is Steve Backshall's incredible first-hand account of his 14-month voyage from the Arctic to the Antarctic via Alaska, California, Hawaii, Mexico and Brazil and many more amazing locations besides. Go with him every step of the way as he describes his encounters with white whales, ice bears, sharks, eagles, wolves, sea lions, eagles, crocodiles, snakes and spiders. It's the Deadly adventure of a lifetime.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Annual 2015

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry's Ghosts

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

From multi-million-copy selling author, Francesca Simon, and David Walliams' illustrator, Tony Ross, comes the latest title in the successful Horrid Henry's Factbooks series. What's the most haunted house in the world? What's the scariest ghost story ever told? And what's hiding under your bed right now?Bursting with scary facts and horrible trivia, this is the perfect guide to everything a Horrid Henry fan has ever wanted to know about ghosts. Terrify your family and amaze your friends with your nasty new knowledge!

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Factbook: Jaws and Claws

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Did you know that the teeth of a hippopotamus can measure as much as 40 or 50 centimetres? Or that a vampire bat will sometimes regurgitate blood to another member of its colony?Learn all about the jaws and claws of the world's most extraordinary creatures in the sixth factbook from BAFTA AWARD-winning, TV Deadly presenter Steve Backshall.Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Franklin Watts

Your Dad

Roy Apps, Nick Sharratt
Contributors:
Roy Apps, Nick Sharratt