Steve Backshall - Deadly Detectives - Hachette Children's Group

Deadly Detectives

Top Tips to Track Wildlife

By Steve Backshall

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

A lavish full-colour gift book in which BAFTA AWARD-winning DEADLY 60 presenter, Steve Backshall, shows you how to follow in his footsteps and become a deadly detective tracking animals all around the world, from your own back garden to the Amazon rain forests and Arctic tundra.

Finding wildlife is rarely easy - unless you're Steve Backshall! In DEADLY DETECTIVES Steve tells young trackers everything they need to know about the origins of tracking, what you need to become a tracker and how to do it, whether the wild world is your own back garden, ancient woodlands, the riverside or coast. He illustrates his tips with examples of his own detective work on land and in the water from tropical rainforests to the African Savanna, from the Arctic tundra to the desert. Join him as footsteps, feeding habits and even a pile of pooh reveal snow leopards, crocodiles, gators, snakes and polar bears, while closer to home you can track foxes, squirrels, badgers and birds, using exactly the same techniques.

Biographical Notes

Steve Backshall is the hugely popular and fearless presenter of the Children's BBC series DEADLY 60, LIVE AND DEADLY, DEADLY 360 and DEADLY ART. Steve travels the world to learn about the most inspiring predators, from boxing mantis shrimp to charging tigers. Steve also regularly writes articles for newspapers and magazines including the NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELER and BBC WILDLIFE and is an inspirational public speaker.

Steve's website is http://www.stevebackshall.com/, and you can follow him on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/stevebackshallofficial and Twitter @SteveJBackshall

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444011357
  • Publication date: 22 May 2014
  • Page count: 208
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
The enthusiasm and expertise he has for his subject ... is evident in this excellent book — School Librarian
Plenty to inform and entertain — BBC Wildlife
Orchard Books

Nerf Ultimate Activity Handbook

Experience the excitement, energy and attitude of Nerf in this bumper book of fun! Read all the facts and stats about the latest blasters, discover games to play with friends and try your hand at lots of fun activities! It's Nerf or Nothin'!

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2018

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Orion Children's Books

Shark Seas

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Saker and Sinter continue their quest to save the world's endangered animals in the fourth thrilling adventure in TV presenter Steve Backshall's Falcon Chronicles, this time swimming in shark seas. . .Perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charlie Higson and Bear Grylls. This is the fourth adventure in the Falcon Chronicles, filled with intrigue, danger, exotic wildlife and dramatic locations.

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2017

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Wayland

Fish

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell
Wayland

Birds

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell
Wayland

Reptiles

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell
Franklin Watts

Bugs

Annabelle Lynch
Authors:
Annabelle Lynch
Wayland

I Made That: The Kids' Big Book of Craft Ideas

Susannah Blake
Authors:
Susannah Blake

Over one hundred pages of beautifully depicted creative ideas that both children and adults will love. Written by Susannah Blake an experienced author who has travelled extensively and devised this craft book with inspiration from her travels. This book takes an eco friendly approach to craft making and gives interesting information on why it's important to reuse and recycle. This is an excellent informative craft book for children aged 9+. A great book that is guaranteed to keep crafty children busy! This book makes an ideal present for children who love crafts.

Franklin Watts

Penguins

Annabelle Lynch
Authors:
Annabelle Lynch
Franklin Watts

Bears

Annabelle Lynch
Authors:
Annabelle Lynch

Find out all about bears and their cuddly cubs, from gentle pandas to fierce polar bears.Froglets Learners offer fun facts in accessible text, perfect for building reading confidence.

Franklin Watts

Elephants

Annabelle Lynch
Authors:
Annabelle Lynch
Orion Children's Books

Favourite Deadly Facts

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Follow in the footsteps of the Deadly team and discover the secrets of the animals kingdom. A bumper book of all your favourite Deadly facts about MAMMALS, INSECTS, REPTILES and BIRDS. The FAVOURITE DEADLY FACTS bind-up contains facts from DEADLY FACTBOOK 1: MAMMALS, DEADLY FACTBOOK 2: MINIBEASTS, SPIDERS AND INSECTS, DEADLY FACTBOOK 3: REPTILES AND AMPHIBIANS and DEADLY FACTBOOK 4: FISH, SQUID AND JELLYFISH. Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Wayland

Your Breathtaking Lungs and Rocking Respiratory System

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason
Wayland

Rainforest

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Read all about rainforests, where in the world you can find them, what animals and plants live there and how these are dependent on each other. Learn about food chains, deforestation and what we can do to protect this important habitat.Simple quiz questions at the back help readers to remember what they've just read.Perfect one-stop-shop for help with homework assignments!Broad-ranging appeal for nursery age through to Key Stage 2.

Wayland

Woodland

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Read all about woodlands, where in the world you can find them, what animals and plants live there and how these are dependent on each other. Learn about food chains, seasons and what we can do to protect this important habitat. Simple quiz questions at the back help readers to remember what they've just read. Perfect one-stop-shop for help with homework assignments! Broad-ranging appeal for nursery age through to Key Stage 2.

Franklin Watts

Seaside Jobs

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert
Franklin Watts

Seaside Plants and Animals

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert
Orion Children's Books

Deadly Wild Wordsearches

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Put your DEADLY knowledge to the test with Steve Backshall's next fun and interactive activity book, featuring a host of DEADLY-themed wordsearches. Hours of fun guaranteed!

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall's Deadly series: Deadly Pole to Pole Puzzles

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall