Steve Backshall - Deadly Detectives - Hachette Children's Group

Deadly Detectives

Top Tips to Track Wildlife

By Steve Backshall

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

A lavish full-colour gift book in which BAFTA AWARD-winning DEADLY 60 presenter, Steve Backshall, shows you how to follow in his footsteps and become a deadly detective tracking animals all around the world, from your own back garden to the Amazon rain forests and Arctic tundra.

Finding wildlife is rarely easy - unless you're Steve Backshall! In DEADLY DETECTIVES Steve tells young trackers everything they need to know about the origins of tracking, what you need to become a tracker and how to do it, whether the wild world is your own back garden, ancient woodlands, the riverside or coast. He illustrates his tips with examples of his own detective work on land and in the water from tropical rainforests to the African Savanna, from the Arctic tundra to the desert. Join him as footsteps, feeding habits and even a pile of pooh reveal snow leopards, crocodiles, gators, snakes and polar bears, while closer to home you can track foxes, squirrels, badgers and birds, using exactly the same techniques.

Biographical Notes

Steve Backshall is the hugely popular and fearless presenter of the Children's BBC series DEADLY 60, LIVE AND DEADLY, DEADLY 360 and DEADLY ART. Steve travels the world to learn about the most inspiring predators, from boxing mantis shrimp to charging tigers. Steve also regularly writes articles for newspapers and magazines including the NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELER and BBC WILDLIFE and is an inspirational public speaker.

Steve's website is http://www.stevebackshall.com/, and you can follow him on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/stevebackshallofficial and Twitter @SteveJBackshall

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444011357
  • Publication date: 22 May 2014
  • Page count: 208
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
The enthusiasm and expertise he has for his subject ... is evident in this excellent book — School Librarian
Plenty to inform and entertain — BBC Wildlife
Orchard Books

Nerf Ultimate Activity Handbook

Experience the excitement, energy and attitude of Nerf in this bumper book of fun - the only official Nerf publishing. A must-have for all Nerf fans, young and old! The ultimate companion book for Nerf fans young or old, it contains all the facts and stats you need to know about the latest blasters and darts. Learn how to make your very own personalised arsenal chest, get tips on cool trick shots and discover fun games to play with friends. Are you ready for a zombie apocalypse? This book will show you how!Plus, there are tons of fun Nerf activities to keep you entertained for hours! It's Nerf or Nothin'!

Orion Children's Books

Bear Rescue

Jess French
Authors:
Jess French

Keep wildlife in the wild! Support the Born Free charity and join Virginia McKenna and her team behind the scenes in this full colour gift book about an incredible bear rescue.Every year Born Free helps hundreds of animals around the world. This is the story of one of their incredible rescues ... Meet Mollie, Georgia and Louisa - three bear cubs stranded by terrible floods. Following a 24-hour rescue operation by Born Free that saved them from the raging waters, the cubs were taken more than 1,500 miles to Greece where they were released in a Bear Sanctuary in the mountains.

Orion Children's Books

Shark Seas

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Saker and Sinter continue their quest to save the world's endangered animals in the fourth thrilling adventure in TV presenter Steve Backshall's Falcon Chronicles, this time swimming in shark seas. . .Perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charlie Higson and Bear Grylls. This is the fourth adventure in the Falcon Chronicles, filled with intrigue, danger, exotic wildlife and dramatic locations.

Franklin Watts

Bugs

Annabelle Lynch
Authors:
Annabelle Lynch

Find out all about funny bugs, from spotty ladybirds to darting dragonflies. Tadpoles Learners are an ideal introduction to non-fiction for beginner readers, blending accessible text with big, striking photos.

Wayland

I Made That: The Kids' Big Book of Craft Ideas

Susannah Blake
Authors:
Susannah Blake
Wayland

Coming Of Age

Sarah Levete
Authors:
Sarah Levete
Wayland

Marriage

Ronne Randall
Authors:
Ronne Randall
Orion Children's Books

Wilds of the Wolf

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Orion Children's Books

Space

Timothy Knapman, Kelly Canby
Contributors:
Timothy Knapman, Kelly Canby

Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A green Early Reader is a first factbook.Come and explore outer space. . .There are so many things to see - ride in a space ship to visit stars, galaxies and planets!Discover the Universe around you in this brand new non fiction Early Reader from Timothy Knapman, with full colour illustrations from Kelly Canby on every page.

Wayland

Death

Sarah Levete
Authors:
Sarah Levete
Wayland

Birth

Ronne Randall
Authors:
Ronne Randall

This book looks at how birth is marked in many different ways by different religions and secular cultures. It looks at the naming ceremonies of Sikhs and Hindus, the Christian baptism and the Jewish brit milah. Find out why Muslims make sure that the first words their child hears are those of player, and why Buddhists take their babies to be blessed by a monk.The Journey of Life series looks at the rites of birth, coming of age, marriage and death, and how religions and cultures celebrate them. It raises topical issues surrounding these stages and how they are marked by different religions.

Orion Children's Books

The Garden

Louisa Leaman, Natasha Rimmington
Contributors:
Louisa Leaman, Natasha Rimmington

Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A green Early Reader is a first factbook.It's never too early to find out about... The Garden.Bugs and beetles, birds and plants, there's a world to be discovered and it's right on your doorstep. Beautifully illustrated in full colour on every page, this new Early Reader will show you the amazing possibilities of the great outdoors!

Wayland

Your Breathtaking Lungs and Rocking Respiratory System

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason
Franklin Watts

Seaside Jobs

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

Franklin Watts

Seaside Plants and Animals

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

The Beside the Seaside series looks at specific aspects of daily life by the sea, whether examining plant and animal habitats, exploring the various jobs people do, looking at types of buildings and structures, or comparing a holiday by the sea in the past and present day. Seaside Plants and Animals explores all the different forms of life that can be found around seaside habitats. From rockpools to sand dunes and grassy cliffs to the sea shore, discover the range of mammals, birds, plants and living things that survive in these remote places.An essential set of books for learning about all aspects of the seaside, and a perfect teaching tool for Key Stage 1.

Orion Children's Books

The Deep Dark Sea

Tony De Saulles
Authors:
Tony De Saulles
Orion Children's Books

Deadly Pole to Pole Diaries

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

This is Steve Backshall's incredible first-hand account of his 14-month voyage from the Arctic to the Antarctic via Alaska, California, Hawaii, Mexico and Brazil and many more amazing locations besides. Go with him every step of the way as he describes his encounters with white whales, ice bears, sharks, eagles, wolves, sea lions, eagles, crocodiles, snakes and spiders. It's the Deadly adventure of a lifetime.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Annual 2015

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry's Ghosts

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Medical Milestones and Crazy Cures

Chris van Tulleken, Xand van Tulleken
Authors:
Chris van Tulleken, Xand van Tulleken