Steve Backshall - Deadly Factbook: Reptiles and Amphibians - Hachette Children's Group

Deadly Factbook: Reptiles and Amphibians

Book 3

By Steve Backshall

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Discover the world's most extraordinary creatures in the third of Steve Backshall's Deadly factbooks.

Packed with fascinating facts and drawing on Steve's own amazing experiences, this is the third Deadly factbook for Steve Backshall fans everywhere. Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Biographical Notes

Steve Backshall is the hugely popular and fearless presenter of the Children's BBC series DEADLY 60, LIVE AND DEADLY, DEADLY 360 and DEADLY ART. Steve travels the world to learn about the most inspiring predators, from boxing mantis shrimp to charging tigers. Steve also regularly writes articles for newspapers and magazines including the NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELER and BBC WILDLIFE and is an inspirational public speaker.

Steve's website is http://www.stevebackshall.com/, and you can follow him on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/stevebackshallofficial and Twitter @SteveJBackshall

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444010688
  • Publication date: 28 Feb 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Wayland

Climbing the Himalayan Mountains

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland

Travelling Wild: Climbing the Himalayan Mountains follows a traveller on a fictitious journey on foot through the Himalayan Mountains. It uses the information you would consider when planning a trip, such as the weather, climate, dangers and key sights, to present geographical information in a highly accessible and enjoyable way.Discover why the Himalayas are best avoided in the summer months (monsoons!), the traditions of the Tibetan Buddhists, the incredible wildlife that lives in the mountains, how the Himalayas formed, the mountain climate, and much, much more. There is a survival aspect to the book, too, with boxes containing tips on how to survive an avalanche, avoid hypothermia and frostbite and build a snow cave, among other things. Packed to the brim with colourful, exciting photographs, maps and fascinating facts, the book allows you to explore and discover the incredible Himalayan Mountains without leaving your seat!

Wayland

Sailing the Caribbean Islands

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland
Orion Children's Books

Tiger Rescue

Louisa Leaman
Authors:
Louisa Leaman

Every year Born Free helps hundreds of animals around the world. This is the story of one of their incredible rescues ... During an undercover investigation, Born Free rescued five month-old tiger Roque from a pet shop in Barcelona. On completion of the Bannerghatta sanctuary in 2002, Roque was re-homed to India. Almost immediately, the friendly, outgoing youngster showed signs of the wild tiger he might once have been.

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2018

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Shark Seas

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Saker and Sinter continue their quest to save the world's endangered animals in the fourth thrilling adventure in TV presenter Steve Backshall's Falcon Chronicles, this time swimming in shark seas. . .Perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charlie Higson and Bear Grylls. This is the fourth adventure in the Falcon Chronicles, filled with intrigue, danger, exotic wildlife and dramatic locations.

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2017

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Wayland

Journey Along the Nile

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland

Travelling Wild: Journey Along the Nile follows a traveller on a fictitious journey by boat up the world's longest river. It uses the information you would consider when planning a trip, such as the weather, climate, dangers and key sights, to present geographical information in a highly accessible and enjoyable way.Discover the countries the Nile traverses, the wildlife to watch out for, how the river is used, the environmental issues facing the Nile, how people live and farm on its banks, and much, much more. There is a survival aspect to the book, too, with boxes containing tips on how to fend off a crocodile attack, repel insects and make water safe to drink, among other things. Packed to the brim with colourful, exciting photographs, maps and fascinating facts, the book allows you to explore and discover the incredible River Nile without leaving your seat!

Wayland

Trekking the Sahara

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland
Orion Children's Books

Wilds of the Wolf

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

How To Make A Human Out Of Soup

Tracey Turner, Sally Kindberg
Contributors:
Tracey Turner, Sally Kindberg
Orion Children's Books

Favourite Deadly Facts

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Follow in the footsteps of the Deadly team and discover the secrets of the animals kingdom. A bumper book of all your favourite Deadly facts about MAMMALS, INSECTS, REPTILES and BIRDS. The FAVOURITE DEADLY FACTS bind-up contains facts from DEADLY FACTBOOK 1: MAMMALS, DEADLY FACTBOOK 2: MINIBEASTS, SPIDERS AND INSECTS, DEADLY FACTBOOK 3: REPTILES AND AMPHIBIANS and DEADLY FACTBOOK 4: FISH, SQUID AND JELLYFISH. Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Pole to Pole Diaries

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

This is Steve Backshall's incredible first-hand account of his 14-month voyage from the Arctic to the Antarctic via Alaska, California, Hawaii, Mexico and Brazil and many more amazing locations besides. Go with him every step of the way as he describes his encounters with white whales, ice bears, sharks, eagles, wolves, sea lions, eagles, crocodiles, snakes and spiders. It's the Deadly adventure of a lifetime.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Wild Wordsearches

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Put your DEADLY knowledge to the test with Steve Backshall's next fun and interactive activity book, featuring a host of DEADLY-themed wordsearches. Hours of fun guaranteed!

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall's Deadly series: Deadly Pole to Pole Puzzles

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Put your DEADLY knowledge to the test with Steve Backshall's next fun and interactive activity book, to tie in with the successful POLE TO POLE BBC series, which follows Steve Backshall's incredible first-hand account of his 14-month voyage from the Arctic to the Antarctic via Alaska, California, Hawaii, Mexico and Brazil and many more amazing locations.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Annual 2015

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

As a Deadly fan you know that we travel to all corners of the world to film and this time we're on our deadliest mission yet! We visit the driest deserts, the steamiest rainforests, the highest mountains and the snowiest forests in search of the most awesome wildlife. As ever, you're coming with us, every step of the way.Join us on a journey round the world and we'll tell you more about these incredible places and the animals that spend their lives there. We've got loads of photos and fascinating facts to share with you, as well as plenty of puzzles, pictures and fun stuff to enjoy!

Franklin Watts

Dangerous Earth

Anne Rooney
Authors:
Anne Rooney
Orion Children's Books

Deadly Factbook: Jaws and Claws

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Did you know that the teeth of a hippopotamus can measure as much as 40 or 50 centimetres? Or that a vampire bat will sometimes regurgitate blood to another member of its colony?Learn all about the jaws and claws of the world's most extraordinary creatures in the sixth factbook from BAFTA AWARD-winning, TV Deadly presenter Steve Backshall.Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall's Deadly series: Deadly Sticker Book

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Create your very own Deadly adventure with Deadly TV presenter Steve Backshall's first ever interactive 24-page full colour sticker book, perfect for Deadly fans everywhere.Find the fastest predators, the creatures with the most incredible super senses, the deadliest and those who survive extreme conditions. Contains more than 200 stickers.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Factbook: Bizarre Beasts

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall's Deadly series: Deadly Top Ten Activity Book

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Put your DEADLY knowledge to the test with Steve Backshall's next fun and interactive activity book.