Steve Backshall - Deadly Factbook: Jaws and Claws - Hachette Children's Group

Deadly Factbook: Jaws and Claws

Book 6

By Steve Backshall

  • Paperback
  • £4.99

Learn all about the jaws and claws of the world's most extraordinary creatures in the sixth factbook from BAFTA AWARD-winning, TV Deadly presenter Steve Backshall, packed with fascinating facts.

Did you know that the teeth of a hippopotamus can measure as much as 40 or 50 centimetres? Or that a vampire bat will sometimes regurgitate blood to another member of its colony?

Learn all about the jaws and claws of the world's most extraordinary creatures in the sixth factbook from BAFTA AWARD-winning, TV Deadly presenter Steve Backshall.

Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Biographical Notes

Steve Backshall is the hugely popular and fearless presenter of the Children's BBC series DEADLY 60, LIVE AND DEADLY, DEADLY 360 and DEADLY ART. Steve travels the world to learn about the most inspiring predators, from boxing mantis shrimp to charging tigers. Steve also regularly writes articles for newspapers and magazines including the NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELER and BBC WILDLIFE and is an inspirational public speaker.

Steve's website is http://www.stevebackshall.com/, and you can follow him on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/stevebackshallofficial and Twitter @SteveJBackshall

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444010053
  • Publication date: 17 Jul 2014
  • Page count: 80
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
If I had to give this points I will give 10/10 — Elis, aged 11, Anorak Magazine
Pat-a-Cake

Here Comes Christmas

Pat-a-Cake, Hilli Kushnir
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Hilli Kushnir
Wayland

The Royal Family: Prince Charles

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell
Pat-a-Cake

Farm

Pat-a-Cake, Villie Karabatzia
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Villie Karabatzia

Help toddlers discover and learn about the world around them with these essential board books.Farm helps busy, curious toddlers explore their world and develop their vocabulary by introducing lots of fun and friendly farm animals, busy machines and much more! This robust board book will withstand many happy hours of looking, holding, exploring and reading, while the playful, witty illustrations will be loved by parents and children alike. A brilliant fold-out surprise at the end adds a fun recap of all the learning in the book. Also available: 123, Colours, ABC, First Words, Animals, Things That Go, Shapes

Pat-a-Cake

Here Come the Chicks

Pat-a-Cake, Hilli Kushnir
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Hilli Kushnir

Clap hands and play with this range of exciting toddler touch-and-feel books!Here Come the Chicks is a playful touch-and-feel book, full of energy, fun and of course, lots of cute baby birds! Toddlers will laugh, shout, clap their hands and join in the fun as the simple text encourages them to point, count, match and talk about the friendly, fluffy and feathery pals playing on every page. With textures to feel on every page and a big, fold-out surprise at the end, everyone will want to clap hands for the chicks!Also available: Here Come the Monkeys, Here Come the Kittens, Here Come the Puppies, Here Come the Dinosaurs, Here Come the Bunnies

Pat-a-Cake

Here Come the Bunnies

Pat-a-Cake, Hilli Kushnir
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Hilli Kushnir

Clap hands and play with this range of exciting toddler touch-and-feel books!Here Come the Bunnies is a playful touch-and-feel book, full of energy, fun and of course, lots of cute bunny friends! Toddlers will laugh, shout, clap their hands and join in the fun as the simple text encourages them to point, count, match and talk about the friendly, fluffy pals playing on every page. With textures to feel on every page and a big, fold-out surprise at the end, everyone will want to clap hands for the bunnies!Also available: Here Come the Monkeys, Here Come the Kittens, Here Come the Puppies, Here Come the Dinosaurs, Here Come the Chicks

Hodder Children's Books

The Unicorn's Foal

Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters
Contributors:
Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters

The fourth in a magical, exciting adventure by Olympic gold medallist Jessica Ennis-Hill. Perfect for fans of Rainbow Magic and My Little Pony: a bumper Christmas special edition, with extra quizzes and activities. What if you had a special bracelet that let you become invisible whenever you wanted? Evie's grandma has sent her another parcel. Inside layers of tissue and colourful ribbons is a beautiful bracelet! A unicorn foal is lost in the park! Evie's going to need the bracelet - and a brave heart - to help him. But she's always ready to have some magical adventures! Evie shares Jessica's determination and drive - an inspiration for kids everywhere.

Hodder Children's Books

The Girl with the Lost Smile

Miranda Hart, Kate Hindley
Contributors:
Miranda Hart, Kate Hindley

This is a story guaranteed to make you laugh and cry: the first children's book from award-winning, bestselling author and comedian Miranda Hart. Chloe Long has lost her smile. She's looked everywhere for it. (Under her pillow. Under her bed. Under her nose. Obviously.)She's tried everything to bring it back. (Her favourite cake. Her favourite gran. Her favourite joke. Obviously.) But nothing seems to be working! Until one night, something utterly magical happens - and Chloe finds herself on an adventure that is out of this world ... With fabulous illustrations by Sainsbury's Book of the Year winner, Kate Hindley, THE GIRL WITH THE LOST SMILE takes you on an action-packed, magical journey that celebrates the power of the imagination, the wonder of true friendship and is guaranteed to make you smile. 'Is Miranda Hart a National Treasure yet? If not, it can only be a year or two before she joins Stephen Fry and Alan Bennett in the trophy cabinet of the country's affections ... That personality and voice belong to a uniquely cherished comedian ... there's nobody like Miranda.' Daily Mail

Hodder Children's Books

Lucie Goose

Danny Baker, Pippa Curnick
Contributors:
Danny Baker, Pippa Curnick
Hodder Children's Books

Spider!

Alison Steadman, Mark Chambers
Contributors:
Alison Steadman, Mark Chambers

A warm, funny look at one of the most fascinating mini-beasts, by award-winning actress and national treasure Alison Steadman OBE.'I hate spiders!' says Rafael. At least, he thinks so. But when he really gets to know the BIG, HAIRY, SCARY SPIDER he finds a new, eight-legged friend. This hilarious, action-packed look at spiders will enthrall both children and parents, with plenty of spider facts and figures throughout the book to entertain and delight.This is Alison Steadman's first book for children.

Wren & Rook

The Ways of the Wolf

Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Jonathan Woodward
Contributors:
Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Jonathan Woodward

The wolf stalks the wilderness and our own imaginations. Uncover its mysteries in this beautifully written non-fiction picture book.Majestic and fierce, proud and strong, the wolf has always been a source of fascination - and fear. It remains one of the most misunderstood of all creatures, frequently cast as our mortal enemy. The truth is that wolves and humans are more closely connected than we dare to admit. With beautifully lyrical language, Smriti Prasadam-Halls explores the lightning speed, echoing howl and family life of these mysterious animals, revealing astonishing facts and overturning misconceptions as she does so. Wildlife illustrator Jonathan Woodward brings the creatures to life with breathtaking papercut collage artwork. This is non-fiction storytelling at its very finest.The Ways of the Wolf has been endorsed by the UK Wolf Conservation Trust.

Hodder Children's Books

King Flashypants and the Toys of Terror

Andy Riley
Authors:
Andy Riley

"Brilliantly original and hilarious. It's nearly as good as one of my books." DAVID WALLIAMS"Two words - such fun!" MIRANDA HART"Beautiful, inventive and laugh-out-loud funny." SUE PERKINSGreat to read aloud with children of 5+ and perfect for newly independent readers of 7+.FOO HOO HOO! King Flashypants is back for his third rib-tickling adventure. Something weird is happening in Edwinland - Emperor Nurbison isn't evil any more! He's doing stuff like smiling and making toys of himself for the peasants. Is he up to something? Probably. But what can it be?

Hodder Children's Books

The Rainmaker Danced

John Agard, Satoshi Kitamura
Contributors:
John Agard, Satoshi Kitamura
Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2018

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Pat-a-Cake

Old Macdonald had a Farm

Pat-a-Cake, Richard Merritt
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Richard Merritt

Old Macdonald had a Farm combines lively pictures with a classic rhyme that's easy for parents and carers to recognise and recite. Young children will adore searching the page for flaps to open while singing along. The spotting game at the end is a great incentive to go through the pages once again until each tiny thing is found! Nursery Rhymes are important stepping stones to language development. The rhymes usually tell a story, too, with a beginning, a middle and an end. This teaches children that events happen in sequence, and they begin to follow along. Nursery rhymes are also full of repetition making them easy to remember, and often become some of a child's first sentences. Also available: The Wheels on the Bus, Twinkle Twinkle Little Star, Hey Diddle Diddle

Pat-a-Cake

Here Come the Dinosaurs

Pat-a-Cake, Hilli Kushnir
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Hilli Kushnir
Pat-a-Cake

Here Come the Kittens

Pat-a-Cake, Hilli Kushnir
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Hilli Kushnir
Pat-a-Cake

Here Come the Monkeys

Pat-a-Cake, Hilli Kushnir
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Hilli Kushnir

Clap hands and play with this brand new range of exciting toddler touch-and-feel books!Here Come the Monkeys is a playful touch-and-feel book, full of energy, fun and of course, lots of cheeky monkeys! Toddlers will laugh, shout, clap their hands and join in the fun as the simple text encourages them to point, count, match and talk about the monkeys playing on every page. With textures to feel on every page and a big, fold-out surprise at the end, everyone will want to clap hands for the monkeys! Also available: Here Come the Kittens, Here Come the Puppies, Here Come the Dinosaurs

Pat-a-Cake

Here Come the Puppies

Pat-a-Cake, Hilli Kushnir
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Hilli Kushnir

Clap hands and play with this brand new range of exciting toddler touch-and-feel books!Here Come the Puppies is a playful touch-and-feel book, full of energy, fun and of course, lots of cute and funny puppies! Toddlers will laugh, shout, clap their hands and join in the fun as the simple text encourages them to point, count, match and talk about the little puppies playing on every page. With textures to feel on every page and a big, fold-out surprise at the end, everyone will want to clap hands for the puppies! Also available: Here Come the Monkeys, Here Come the KIttens, Here Come the Dinosaurs

Orion Children's Books

Shark Seas

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orchard Books

Abigail The Breeze Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Jack Frost has promised not to trouble the Rainbow Fairies again, but he didn't say anything about the weather fairies! Now he has stolen the feathers from Doodle, the weather-vane cockerel in charge of the weather. It's up to Rachel and Kirsty to get each of the feathers back from Jack Frost's goblins, with a little bit of help from the weather fairies: Crystal the Snow Fairy, Abigail the Wind Fairy, Pearl the Cloud Fairy, Goldy the Sunshine Fairy, Evie the Mist Fairy, Storm the Lightning Fairy and Hayley the Rain Fairy. In this book, Abigail the Breeze Fairy needs to find her wispy wind feather before the wind causes chaos in Fairyland and the human world!