Steve Backshall - Deadly Factbook: Jaws and Claws - Hachette Children's Group

Deadly Factbook: Jaws and Claws

Book 6

By Steve Backshall

  • Paperback
  • £4.99

Learn all about the jaws and claws of the world's most extraordinary creatures in the sixth factbook from BAFTA AWARD-winning, TV Deadly presenter Steve Backshall, packed with fascinating facts.

Did you know that the teeth of a hippopotamus can measure as much as 40 or 50 centimetres? Or that a vampire bat will sometimes regurgitate blood to another member of its colony?

Learn all about the jaws and claws of the world's most extraordinary creatures in the sixth factbook from BAFTA AWARD-winning, TV Deadly presenter Steve Backshall.

Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Biographical Notes

Steve Backshall is the hugely popular and fearless presenter of the Children's BBC series DEADLY 60, LIVE AND DEADLY, DEADLY 360 and DEADLY ART. Steve travels the world to learn about the most inspiring predators, from boxing mantis shrimp to charging tigers. Steve also regularly writes articles for newspapers and magazines including the NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELER and BBC WILDLIFE and is an inspirational public speaker.

Steve's website is http://www.stevebackshall.com/, and you can follow him on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/stevebackshallofficial and Twitter @SteveJBackshall

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444010053
  • Publication date: 17 Jul 2014
  • Page count: 80
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
If I had to give this points I will give 10/10 — Elis, aged 11, Anorak Magazine
Orchard Books

Sea Turtle Song

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

Mean Princess Poison has ruined the blue lagoon and made the mermaids who live there homeless! Charlotte and Mia have to grant four watery wishes to break the evil curse.Ava loves helping out at her local marine life centre, especially when the baby sea turtles are about to hatch! She just wishes that they would get to the sea safely ... Can Charlotte and Mia help her wish come true?

Orchard Books

Pet Rescue

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

A magical new series where best friends become Secret Princesses! Best friends Charlotte and Mia can't bear it when Charlotte's family moves far away. But when they become trainee Secret Princesses they begin an amazing adventure together - and they can see each other whenever they like!Once in a blue moon, a tiara shaped constellation forms high in the sky above Wishing Star Palace. The four girls that make a wish on these special stars get their wishes granted by the Secret Princesses ... but Princess Poison is determined that this year the wishes won't come true ...Have you read all four books in series four: The Moonstone Collection?

Orchard Books

Movie Magic

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Orchard Books

Bella Tabbypaw

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

The much-loved series from the creator of Rainbow Magic - abridged for younger readers and illustrated in full colour!Welcome to a magical world where animals talk and play - just like you and me!Best friends Jess and Lily love all animals. But when they follow a mysterious golden cat into Friendship Forest - a place where animals live in tiny cottages and sip dandelion tea at the Toadstool Cafe - their animal friends suddenly become much more magical!Goldie has invited Lily, Jess and kitten Bella Tabbypaw for a sleepover! The girls can't wait to spend a night in Friendship Forest, but brave little Bella decides to go exploring on her own - with the Boggits! Lily and Jess must head into the tunnels underneath the forest to find her, but will Grizelda the witch get there first?

Orchard Books

Sleepover School

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

A magical series where best friends become Secret Princesses! This book is a special long length for even more magical fun. Best friends Charlotte and Mia can't bear it when Charlotte's family moves far away. But when they become trainee Secret Princesses they begin an amazing adventure together - and they can see each other whenever they like!Once in a blue moon, a tiara shaped constellation forms high in the sky above Wishing Star Palace. The four girls that make a wish on these special stars get their wishes granted by the Secret Princesses ... but Princess Poison is determined that this year the wishes won't come true ...Have you read all four books in series four: The Moonstone Collection?

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2018

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orchard Books

Fashion Fun

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

A gorgeous series about magical princesses and best friends. This book is a long adventure for even more magical fun! Best friends Charlotte and Mia can't bear it when Charlotte's family moves far away. But when they become trainee Secret Princesses they begin an amazing adventure together - and they can see each other whenever they like!Mean Princess Poison has cast a spell on four of the Secret Princesses and made them forget all about their magic. Meanwhile, Lena wishes that she could win a place at fashion school. Can Charlotte and Mia help make Lena's dreams come true AND remind Princess Sophie what real magic really is?Have you read all four books in series four: The Sapphire Collection?Fashion FunBrilliant Bake-offGymnastics GloryPicture Perfect

Orchard Books

Gymnastics Glory

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

Best friends Charlotte and Mia are training to become Secret Princesses, magical princesses with the power to make wishes come true!Layla would love to be on a gymnastics team, but horrid Princess Poison has taken her lucky charm! Can the girls show her you don't need luck when you have friendship? Have you read all four books in series four: The Sapphire Collection? Fashion Fun Brilliant Bake-off Gymnastics Glory Picture Perfect

Orchard Books

Picture Perfect

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

A gorgeous series about magical princesses and best friends!Best friends Charlotte and Mia are training to become Secret Princesses, magical princesses with the power to make wishes come true! Isla's worried about her mum's art shop - if they don't start making more money it'll have to close down! Charlotte and Mia must use their magic to help, but mean Princess Poison has her own painting plan ...Have you read all four books in series four: The Sapphire Collection? Fashion Fun Brilliant Bake-off Gymnastics Glory Picture Perfect

Orchard Books

Brilliant Bake Off

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

A gorgeous series about magical princesses and best friends!Best friends Charlotte and Mia are training to become Secret Princesses, magical princesses with the power to make wishes come true! Can they grant Ruby's wish and help her take part in the village baking contest? But they're not the only princesses in the bake off - and Princess Poison is determined to cheat!Have you read all four books in series four: The Sapphire Collection?Fashion FunBrilliant Bake-offGymnastics GloryPicture Perfect

Orchard Books

Kitten Wish

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

A magical new series where best friends become Secret Princesses! In the sparkly second series, Princess Poison has stolen Princess Ella's magic wand. Without it, Princess Ella won't be able to grant any animal-related wishes.Best friends and Secret Princess trainees, Charlotte and Mia, have to help Princess Ella get her wand back by granting four animal-related wishes. Can they help Hannah find homes for all the kittens she's found - and will her kitten wish be granted?

Orchard Books

Bunny Surprise

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

A magical new series where best friends become Secret Princesses! In the sparkly second series, Princess Poison has stolen Princess Ella's magic wand. Without it, Princess Ella won't be able to grant any animal-related wishes. Best friends, and Secret Princess trainees, Charlotte and Mia have to help Princess Ella get her wand back by granting four animal-related wishes. Can they help Aisha get the bunny she's always wanted? And can they defeat Princess Poison and get Princess Ella's wand back once and for all?

Orion Children's Books

Shark Seas

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Saker and Sinter continue their quest to save the world's endangered animals in the fourth thrilling adventure in TV presenter Steve Backshall's Falcon Chronicles, this time swimming in shark seas. . .Perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charlie Higson and Bear Grylls. This is the fourth adventure in the Falcon Chronicles, filled with intrigue, danger, exotic wildlife and dramatic locations.

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2017

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

A full colour annual packed with animals and adventure from wildlife enthusiast, TV presenter and children's book bestseller, Steve Backshall. Steve's year is full of spiders, crocodiles, snakes, sharks, stingrays, tigers, hawks and many more exciting creatures. The perfect gift for young wildlife fans, this annual is bursting with fascinating facts, puzzles, quizzes, and full colour photographs of amazing animals from across the globe.

Orion Children's Books

Wilds of the Wolf

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Orion Children's Books

Favourite Deadly Facts

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Follow in the footsteps of the Deadly team and discover the secrets of the animals kingdom. A bumper book of all your favourite Deadly facts about MAMMALS, INSECTS, REPTILES and BIRDS. The FAVOURITE DEADLY FACTS bind-up contains facts from DEADLY FACTBOOK 1: MAMMALS, DEADLY FACTBOOK 2: MINIBEASTS, SPIDERS AND INSECTS, DEADLY FACTBOOK 3: REPTILES AND AMPHIBIANS and DEADLY FACTBOOK 4: FISH, SQUID AND JELLYFISH. Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Pole to Pole Diaries

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Deadly Wild Wordsearches

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Put your DEADLY knowledge to the test with Steve Backshall's next fun and interactive activity book, featuring a host of DEADLY-themed wordsearches. Hours of fun guaranteed!

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall's Deadly series: Deadly Pole to Pole Puzzles

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Deadly Annual 2015

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

As a Deadly fan you know that we travel to all corners of the world to film and this time we're on our deadliest mission yet! We visit the driest deserts, the steamiest rainforests, the highest mountains and the snowiest forests in search of the most awesome wildlife. As ever, you're coming with us, every step of the way.Join us on a journey round the world and we'll tell you more about these incredible places and the animals that spend their lives there. We've got loads of photos and fascinating facts to share with you, as well as plenty of puzzles, pictures and fun stuff to enjoy!