Steve Backshall - Deadly Factbook: Jaws and Claws - Hachette Children's Group

Deadly Factbook: Jaws and Claws

Book 6

By Steve Backshall

  • Paperback
  • £4.99

Learn all about the jaws and claws of the world's most extraordinary creatures in the sixth factbook from BAFTA AWARD-winning, TV Deadly presenter Steve Backshall, packed with fascinating facts.

Did you know that the teeth of a hippopotamus can measure as much as 40 or 50 centimetres? Or that a vampire bat will sometimes regurgitate blood to another member of its colony?

Learn all about the jaws and claws of the world's most extraordinary creatures in the sixth factbook from BAFTA AWARD-winning, TV Deadly presenter Steve Backshall.

Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Biographical Notes

Steve Backshall is the hugely popular and fearless presenter of the Children's BBC series DEADLY 60, LIVE AND DEADLY, DEADLY 360 and DEADLY ART. Steve travels the world to learn about the most inspiring predators, from boxing mantis shrimp to charging tigers. Steve also regularly writes articles for newspapers and magazines including the NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELER and BBC WILDLIFE and is an inspirational public speaker.

Steve's website is http://www.stevebackshall.com/, and you can follow him on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/stevebackshallofficial and Twitter @SteveJBackshall

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444010053
  • Publication date: 17 Jul 2014
  • Page count: 80
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
If I had to give this points I will give 10/10 — Elis, aged 11, Anorak Magazine
Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Ultimate Guide

Wren & Rook

This Book is Not Rubbish

Isabel Thomas
Authors:
Isabel Thomas

Discover how YOU can ditch plastic, reduce rubbish and become an eco-warrior, not an eco-worrier, with 50 practical tips to really make a difference!From living on the veg to throwing the planet a party, ditching straws and banning glitter to snacking to save the world, there are so many things you can do to help the environment. Covering eco-issues from plastics and pollution to global warming and endangered animals, this is a one-stop guide to transform eco-worried kids into eco-activists. Funny, engaging, practical and timely, it's the ideal book to help readers navigate the world in the greenest possible way, and to really make a difference.

Hodder Children's Books

Mystery of the Skull

Pamela Butchart, Enid Blyton
Authors:
Pamela Butchart, Enid Blyton

Solve the mystery with the Secret Seven - everyone's favourite detective club! A brand-new, action-packed Secret Seven adventure by prizewinning author Pamela Butchart. When Peter discovers an old skull hidden in his bedroom, it's time for an urgent meeting of the Secret Seven. Setting off to investigate, the friends see a gigantic hole in the grounds of a local hotel. Could there be any connection between the two strange events? The Secret Seven are determined to solve the mystery.It's time to look behind the green door of the Secret Seven's shed again. Enid Blyton's much-loved detective club are back in a superbly entertaining new adventure. Pamela Butchart is the bestselling and prizewinning author of the hilarious series that started with Baby Aliens Got My Teacher! A huge fan of Enid Blyton, Pamela has been inspired to create a new mystery for her favourite club, the Secret Seven, to solve. Set in the same world and time as the original stories, this fantastic new mystery satisfyingly extends the series for fans old and new. The story is brought to life by Tony Ross's brilliant illustrations throughout. Join the Secret Seven for more mystery, excitement, friendship and FUN than ever before! Read all 15 stories in the original Secret Seven series and don't miss Pamela Butchart's next Secret Seven mystery ...Also look out for Secret Seven Brain Games - a fun and tricky puzzle book! *Enid Blyton ®, The Secret Seven ® and Enid Blyton's signature are registered trade marks of Hodder & Stoughton Limited. No trade mark or copyrighted material may be reproduced without the express written permission of the trade mark and copyright owner.

Orchard Books

My Little Pony Magical Story Collection

Wayland

Making with States of Matter

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne
Wayland

Making with Machines

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne

Be a SCIENCE MAKER by experimenting, tinkering and building to discover the wonders of science! Learn all about MACHINES by following in the footsteps of famous scientists, artists and inventors.- Build a battle catapult like famous machine-maker Archimedes- Make an artificial robot arm based on Kaylene Kau's award-winning design- Be inspired by sculptor Fi Henshall and create your own bird automaton, and much more!Each title in this series contains ten 'makes', prompted by featured profiles of great scientists, artists and engineers. Children will learn about and create the experiments and builds that have led to world-changing discoveries, amazing machines and inspiring artworks. Perfect for KS2 science and technology classes aged 9 and up.

Orion Children's Books

Embassy of the Dead

Will Mabbitt
Authors:
Will Mabbitt
Hodder Children's Books

Summertime Stories

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Enjoy a whole summer of fun with this fantastic collection of 30 short stories - the perfect holiday read for children aged 7 and up. From picnics in the sunshine to daring outdoor adventures, celebrate the excitement and magic of summertime with these fun-filled short stories by Enid Blyton. Ideal for newly confident readers, these entertaining tales are the perfect length for reading aloud at bedtime or in the classroom. Enid Blyton remains one of Britain's favourite children's authors and her bumper short story collections are perfect for introducing her to the latest generation of readers.Read all of Enid Blyton's bestselling short story collections: Springtime StoriesSummer StoriesHoliday StoriesSummer Holiday StoriesStories of Wizards and WitchesChristmas TalesChristmas Treats***Enid Blyton ® and Enid Blyton's signature are Registered Trademarks of Hodder and Stoughton Limited. No trademark or copyrighted material may be reproduced without the express written permission of the trademark and copyright owner.

Quercus Children's Books

There May Be a Castle

Piers Torday
Authors:
Piers Torday
Hodder Children's Books

Hole in the Zoo

Mick Inkpen, Chloe Inkpen
Authors:
Mick Inkpen, Chloe Inkpen

An exciting new story from the bestselling team behind Kipper, I Will Love You Anyway and Fred. At Upalongdownalong Avenue in the garden at Number 2, there's a hole in the wall that belongs to the Zoo and things have started coming through...Jam-packed with mischievous animals swinging, splashing and crashing through the pages, this energetic rhyming adventure is a breath of fresh air.Praise for Mick Inkpen:'You simply cannot fail to win smiles with a new book about Kipper.' Daily Mail'The charmingly comical Inkpen, as always, hits the spot.' GuardianPraise for Zoe and Beans:'These books will become well-loved members of any child's book collection.' CarouselFor activities, competitions and other fun stuff check out www.chloeinkpen.comMick Inkpen has been a bestselling children's author for over 25 years. He is one of today's most popular picture book author/illustrators and the famous creator of both Kipper and Wibbly Pig. Mick has won the Children's Book Award for Threadbear and the British Book Award twice, for Penguin Small and Lullabyhullaballoo. Kipper won a BAFTA for Best Animated Film. It wasn't until Mick became a father that he began his career in children's books. Now father and daughter have come together for a unique and exciting picture book partnership. Chloë Inkpen grew up surrounded by picture books and has a natural gift for storytelling. A love of language and art saw her swap an English degree course at Nottingham University for a degree in Illustration at the Glasgow School of Art. In her final year Chloë was awarded second place in the Macmillan Prize for Illustration. Chloë's events in schools, libraries and festivals across the UK regularly receive glowing reviews. Mick and Chloë are the co-creators of Hole in the Zoo, the Fred series and the Zoe and Beans series.

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2018

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Hodder Children's Books

Merry Christmas, Hugless Douglas

David Melling
Authors:
David Melling

Join Douglas for festive fun in the eighth Hugless Douglas adventure. This bestselling series has sold over 1.4 million copies to date in 26 languages!Hugless Douglas knows what Christmas is all about - it's excitement, snowing sheep, finding a tree, sledging and and being with friends. And one more thing of course... Christmas hugs!David Melling is one of the UK's best-loved author-illustrators and his seventh book about Douglas the brown bear is as funny and compelling as the first. It combines brilliantly imaginative illustrations with an endearing sense of what it is like to be a small child learning about the world.Hello, Hugless Douglas! was a World Book Day picture book in 2014. 'A new Hugless Douglas book is always a cause for celebration.' - Daily Mail

Wayland

Food and Fair Trade

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason

All sorts of food, from bananas to cocoa beans and coffee, can be grown in fairer and more sustainable ways than has traditionally been the case. In Putting the Planet First: Sustainable Food and Fair Trade, discover how people around the world are working all the time to find new ways to grow and trade food fairly and sustainably. Learn too, what you can do to help the environment, and about small changes you can make that will have a real impact. It's a fascinating introduction to the positive changes people are making to try and live more sustainably, and will inspire children to think creatively about how they can put the planet first!

Franklin Watts

Sound

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Orion Children's Books

Shark Seas

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Saker and Sinter continue their quest to save the world's endangered animals in the fourth thrilling adventure in TV presenter Steve Backshall's Falcon Chronicles, this time swimming in shark seas. . .Perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charlie Higson and Bear Grylls. This is the fourth adventure in the Falcon Chronicles, filled with intrigue, danger, exotic wildlife and dramatic locations.

Orchard Books

Mia the Bridesmaid Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2017

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

A full colour annual packed with animals and adventure from wildlife enthusiast, TV presenter and children's book bestseller, Steve Backshall. Steve's year is full of spiders, crocodiles, snakes, sharks, stingrays, tigers, hawks and many more exciting creatures. The perfect gift for young wildlife fans, this annual is bursting with fascinating facts, puzzles, quizzes, and full colour photographs of amazing animals from across the globe.

Hodder Children's Books

Lupo and the Thief at the Tower of London

Aby King
Authors:
Aby King
Orion Children's Books

Wilds of the Wolf

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Favourite Deadly Facts

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Follow in the footsteps of the Deadly team and discover the secrets of the animals kingdom. A bumper book of all your favourite Deadly facts about MAMMALS, INSECTS, REPTILES and BIRDS. The FAVOURITE DEADLY FACTS bind-up contains facts from DEADLY FACTBOOK 1: MAMMALS, DEADLY FACTBOOK 2: MINIBEASTS, SPIDERS AND INSECTS, DEADLY FACTBOOK 3: REPTILES AND AMPHIBIANS and DEADLY FACTBOOK 4: FISH, SQUID AND JELLYFISH. Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.