René Goscinny - Omnibus 8 - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444008388
    • Publication date:03 Jul 2014
Books in this series

Omnibus 8

Asterix and the Great Crossing, Obelix and Co, Asterix in Belgium

By René Goscinny
Illustrated by Albert Uderzo

  • Hardback
  • £19.99

A special collectors' edition of three fun and funny Asterix stories in one volume - ASTERIX AND THE GREAT CROSSING, OBELIX AND CO. and ASTERIX IN BELGIUM.

In this collectors' edition, books 22 to 24 are brought together in one fabulous volume.

In ASTERIX AND THE GREAT CROSSING, a storm blows Asterix and Obelix off course. Luckily they land on the shores of a Roman colony - or is it? Teepees, totems, gobbling birds: it's not what they're used to.

Julius Caesar sends Caius Preposterus, graduate of the Latin School of Economics, to corrupt the indomitable Gauls in OBELIX AND CO. Obelix's menhir trade is soon thriving - but does wealth bring happiness?

In ASTERIX IN BELGIUM, the Gauls compete with the Belgian tribes to determine who is the bravest. But if the two groups unite, will Caesar meet his Waterloo?

There is no better way to enjoy the antics of our indomitable hero and his friends.

Biographical Notes

Rene Goscinny was born in Paris in 1926, and spent most of his childhood in Argentina, before eventually moving to Paris in 1951. He died in 1977. Albert Uderzo was born in 1927 in a small village in Marne, France. He met Rene Goscinny in 1951 and on 29 October 1959 their most famous creation, Asterix, made his first appearance on page 20 of PILOTE. ASTERIX THE GAUL, their first album, was published in 1961 and there have now been 35 Asterix albums.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444008371
  • Publication date: 05 Sep 2013
  • Page count: 152
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Wren & Rook

Rebel Voices

Louise K Stewart, Eve Lloyd Knight
Contributors:
Louise K Stewart, Eve Lloyd Knight

A beautifully illustrated celebration of the brave campaigners who fought for women's right to vote. Discover that it was never illegal for women to vote in Ecuador, or how 40,000 Russian women marched through St Petersburg demanding their rights. Find out how one Canadian woman changed opinions with a play, and Kuwaiti women protested via text message. And learn that women climbed mountains, walked a lion through the streets of Paris, and starved themselves, all in the name of having a voice. Tracing its history from New Zealand at the end of the 19th century, follow this empowering movement as it spread from Oceania to Europe and the Americas, then Africa and Asia up to the present day. Meet the women who rioted, rallied and refused to give up. Stunningly illustrated by Eve Lloyd Knight, this book celebrates the women who refused to behave, rebelling against convention to give women everywhere a voice.If you loved Goodnight Stories for Rebel Girls, Fantastically Great Women Who Changed the World or Women in Science then you'll love this!

Orchard Books

Star Science

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Orchard Books

Verak the Storm King

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Battle Beasts and fight Evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up!Don't miss this new bumper special edition of the bestselling series, in which our heroes return to the realm of Gwildor to battle an old enemy and a terrifying new sea Beast - Verak the Storm King!Have you read any other Beast Quest books? Grymon the Biting Horror is a great place to find more adventures!

Orchard Books

Stage Spell

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

A magical new series where best friends become Secret Princesses!Best friends Charlotte and Mia can't bear it when Charlotte's family moves far away. But when they become trainee Secret Princesses they begin an amazing adventure together - and they can see each other whenever they like!Once in a blue moon, a tiara shaped constellation forms high in the sky above Wishing Star Palace. The four girls that make a wish on these special stars get their wishes granted by the Secret Princesses ... but Princess Poison is determined that this year the wishes won't come true ...Have you read all four books in series four: The Moonstone Collection?

Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Fiction: Power Up Psyduck

Join Ash and friends for another action-packed Pokémon adventure!Psyduck's powers can blow Team Rocket out of the water, but it isn't the easiest Pokémon to look after... Join the Pokémon-masters-in-training as they learn all about Psyduck's unique history, from when he first met Misty to his latest challenge - a battle like no other.

Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Fiction: The Winner's Cup

Orion Children's Books

The Cloak of Feathers

Nigel Quinlan
Authors:
Nigel Quinlan

A magical adventure filled with myth, mischief and misunderstandings, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Diana Wynne Jones and those who love modern fairy tales with a comic twist.Once every hundred years, the small, forgotten, rural Irish town of Lisahee welcomes The Fairy Festival - a week of celebration where the mysterious and magical 'sidhe' emerge from the hill above the town and take residence alongside their human counterparts for seven days of ancient traditions and games. Filled with dancing, music, goblin markets and fae-folk, the festival has only one rule: never, ever, say 'the f word' - that's 'fairies' - a rule twelve-year-old Brian unfortunately breaks. When mayhem ensues, it's up to Brian and his friends to avoid the wrath of the King and Queen and help keep the town in one piece.

Hodder Children's Books

The Clocktower Charm

Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters
Contributors:
Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters

The fifth in a magical, exciting series by Olympic gold medallist Jessica Ennis-Hill. Perfect for fans of Rainbow Magic and My Little Pony! What if you had a special bracelet that allowed you to do magic, just by thinking about it? Evie's grandma has sent her another parcel. Inside layers of tissue and colourful ribbons is a beautiful bracelet! Evie's going to need the bracelet - and a brave heart - when she investigates a spooky old clocktower. But she's always ready to have some magical adventures!Evie shares Jessica's determination and drive - an inspiration for kids everywhere.

Orion Children's Books

Return to Rome

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Hounds and Hauntings

Janine Beacham
Authors:
Janine Beacham

The Clockwork Sparrow meets Downton Abbey -- another exciting Rose Raventhorpe mystery set in Victorian England.

Franklin Watts

Frankenstein

Mary Shelley
Authors:
Mary Shelley

Frankenstein is the terrifying story of a scientist who uses his powers to bring a dead body back to life and thus creates a monster. Little can the scientist imagine the consequences of his actions, as he and his creation quickly become drawn into a deadly game of cat and mouse, which only one of them can win...Adapted by Mick Gowar from the original novel by Mary Shelley.A series of adaptations of well-known stories, designed to introduce young readers to the classics. Divided into short chapters and illustrated with modern black and white artwork, each title will offer the reader an accessible and exciting read.

Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Encyclopedia Special Edition: With Exclusive Board Game and Figurine

Gotta catch 'em all! The ultimate guide to the Pokémon animated series - featuring exclusive bonus content!This fantastic Official Encyclopedia Special Edition contains:- Fascinating facts and figures about Pokémon and all the different regions- The definitive reference for key characters, battles and places- Ash's story, his friends ... and enemies!- Pikachu figurine- Exclusive RACE TO PIKACHU board game

Hodder Children's Books

The Girl with the Lost Smile

Miranda Hart
Authors:
Miranda Hart

The first children's book from award-winning, bestselling author and comedian Miranda Hart. Packed with humour and happiness, this is a story guaranteed to make you laugh and cry! An outstanding hardback edition, with cover and inside illustrations by Sainsbury's Book of the Year winner, Kate Hindley. Chloe Long has lost her smile. She's looked everywhere for it. (Under her pillow. Under her bed. Under her nose. Obviously.)She's tried everything to bring it back. (Her favourite cake. Her favourite gran. Her favourite joke. Obviously.) But nothing seems to be working! Until one night, something utterly magical happens - and Chloe finds herself on an adventure that is out of this world ... THE GIRL WITH THE LOST SMILE takes you on an action-packed, magical journey that celebrates the power of the imagination, the wonder of true friendship and is guaranteed to make you smile. 'Is Miranda Hart a National Treasure yet? If not, it can only be a year or two before she joins Stephen Fry and Alan Bennett in the trophy cabinet of the country's affections ... That personality and voice belong to a uniquely cherished comedian ... there's nobody like Miranda.' Daily Mail

Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Ultimate Creative Colouring

Orchard Books

Deadly Trap

John Sazaklis
Authors:
John Sazaklis

An original adventured inspired by the hit TV series!When a maximum-security prison ship crashes on earth, Cyberton's most-wanted criminals escape. Now all that stands between Earth and the deadly Decepticons is a crack team of Autobot heroes - the Robots in Disguise!Windblade has joined the Autobot heroes searching for escaped Decepticon criminals. First mission: to climb Mount Everest on the trail of a yeti-like Decepticon, Abominus!But Abominus has booby-trapped the whole mountain, and a TV crew is in danger! Can the Autobots rescue the humans - and who will rescue them?

Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Fiction: Ash's Big Challenge

Gotta Catch 'Em All! Join Ash as he embarks on the biggest Pokémon adventure of his life!Pokémon master-in-training Ash Ketchum is delighted when Professor Oak sends him on a very important mission - to capture a unique and mysterious Poké Ball. Ash, Brock and Misty begin their journey to the famed Orange Islands and meet a host of new friends - and old enemies...

Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Fiction: Pokémon Peril

Gotta Catch 'Em All! Join Ash and friends as they continue their journey through the strange and exotic Orange Islands! Ash and Misty have found the GS Poké Ball and finally reached the Orange Islands. But they quickly discover that things are very different here - Pokémon are turning pink, and there is an Onix made of crystal. Can Ash, Misty and their new friend Tracey work out what is going on, before Team Rocket sabotage their journey?

Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Fiction: The Orange League

Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Fiction: Scyther Vs Charizard

Gotta Catch 'Em All! Join Ash and friends for the ultimate Pokémon face-off! Scyther and Charizard are two of the most powerful Pokémon Ash has ever encountered. But this makes them hot-heated and very difficult to control. When the two Pokémon face each other in battle, it's chaos! Can Ash discover the secret to connecting to wayward Charizard, and pull off the most epic battle so far?

Franklin Watts

Mapping Asia

Paul Rockett
Authors:
Paul Rockett

This unique series gets close up to some amazing areas of our world, and allows readers the opportunity to explore key countries, topographical features and cities in a way that is both engaging and entertaining. In addition, each book highlights significant human, geographical, sporting and economic information.