Steve Backshall - Steve Backshall's Deadly series: Deadly Doodle Book 2 - Hachette Children's Group

Steve Backshall's Deadly series: Deadly Doodle Book 2

By Steve Backshall

  • Paperback
  • £4.99

Interactive and fun-filled doodle book for DEADLY fans everywhere.

Become part of Steve Backshall's world by drawing your own DEADLY doodles. This 24-page doodle book featuring creative and interactive content from DEADLY ART is an absolute must-have for all DEADLY fans.

Biographical Notes

Steve Backshall is the hugely popular and fearless presenter of the Children's BBC series Deadly 60, Live and Deadly, Deadly 360 and Deadly Art. Steve travels the world to learn about the most inspiring predators, from boxing mantis shrimp to charging tigers. Steve also regularly writes articles for newspapers and magazines including the NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELER and BBC WILDLIFE and is an inspirational public speaker.

Visit Steve's website at www.stevebackshall.com and follow him on Twitter at https://twitter.com/SteveJBackshall.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444007053
  • Publication date: 16 Aug 2012
  • Page count: 24
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Wayland

Darwin's Tree of Life

Michael Bright, Margaux Carpentier
Contributors:
Michael Bright, Margaux Carpentier

Follow evolution and the variety of life on earth with 'Darwin's Tree of Life'. The 'Tree of Life' is a phrase in Charles Darwin's 'On the Origin of Species' and refers to the close relationship of all life on Earth. This beautifully illustrated title shows each branch and how the plants and animals of these branches have evolved.Stunningly illustrated by illustrator and print maker, Margaux Carpentier, children will be able to explore a whole world of wonderful animals

Pat-a-Cake

Minibeasts

Pat-a-Cake, Villie Karabatzia
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Villie Karabatzia
Wayland

Living Leaf

Judith Heneghan
Authors:
Judith Heneghan

This non-fiction storybook for children aged 5+ introduces the natural world and explains concepts such as adaptation and fertilization through a lyrical narrative. It looks at an amazing array of plants from all around the world and at how the shape and structure of their leaves help them to thrive in difficult environments.

Wayland

Seed Safari

Judith Heneghan
Authors:
Judith Heneghan
Wayland

Parents

Tom Jackson
Authors:
Tom Jackson

Some animals have developed astonishing parenting techniques which ensure the survival of their species, even in the harshest of conditions. From emperor penguins, who share parenting duties and manage to raise their chicks in the coldest temperatures on Earth, to the giant anteater, who carries its tiny helpless baby on its back for months before it can fend for itself, the creatures featured in this book have developed ways of caring for their young that are both unique and out-of-this-world. Find out more about these extraordinary behaviours and learn how evolution has shaped each animal's parenting strategy.Vivid, arresting photography paired with captivating animal encounters make this book a thrilling introduction to some of the basics of evolutionary theory.

Pat-a-Cake

Here Come the Llamas

Pat-a-Cake, Laura Hambleton
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Laura Hambleton

Clap hands and play with this range of exciting toddler touch-and-feel books!Here Come the Llamas is a playful touch-and-feel book, full of energy, fun and of course, lots of cute llamas! Toddlers will laugh, shout, clap their hands and join in the fun as the simple text encourages them to point, count, match and talk about the friendly, fluffy pals playing on every page. With textures to feel on every page and a matching game page at the end, everyone will want to clap hands for the llamas! Also available: Here Come the Monkeys, Here Come the Kittens, Here Come the Puppies, Here Come the Dinosaurs, Here Come the Chicks, Here Come the Bunnies, Here Come the Unicorns

Wren & Rook

The World of the Whale

Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Jonathan Woodward
Contributors:
Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Jonathan Woodward

Graceful and serene, intelligent and social, the whale is a wonder of the deep blue sea. And yet, whales rely on air to breathe - they are mammals, just like us.With breathtaking text, Smriti Prasadam-Halls explores the migrations, songs and family life of these mysterious creatures, revealing astonishing facts you've never heard before. Wildlife illustrator Jonathan Woodward brings the marine world to life with stunning papercut collage artwork. This is the perfect non-fiction picture book to read at bedtime.Also available in this series:The Ways of the Wolf

Wayland

Being a Butterfly

Annabelle Lynch
Authors:
Annabelle Lynch

Wayland

Trekking the Sahara

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland
Wayland

Sailing the Caribbean Islands

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland
Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2018

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Franklin Watts

David Attenborough

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley

David Attenborough tells the story of this colourful scientific figure - covering his origins as the son of a Cambridge don through his work in natural history and broadcasting, his famous educational documentaries and his enduring scientific and popular legacy today.Super Scientists are first biographies introducing some of the world's great scientists, simply retelling their lives and explaining why their work was vital. Illustrated with archive images and photographs, the chronology of each lifetime is emphasised by a timeline that runs through the book.

Orion Children's Books

Shark Seas

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Saker and Sinter continue their quest to save the world's endangered animals in the fourth thrilling adventure in TV presenter Steve Backshall's Falcon Chronicles, this time swimming in shark seas. . .Perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charlie Higson and Bear Grylls. This is the fourth adventure in the Falcon Chronicles, filled with intrigue, danger, exotic wildlife and dramatic locations.

Franklin Watts

I love this tree

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne

I love this tree is a book which looks at the life of an old living deciduous tree and through it explores the amazing life of a tree and the creatures that inhabit it. Using a mixture of photos and artwork the book shows how the tree has changed and how it acts as a habitat for other life. This beautiful book explores how important trees are to the planet. Packed with information and pictures it provides a wealth of information about trees and their importance and inspires a love of these amazing plants. It's a fantastic resource for the Science Curriculum with its emphasis on plants, classification and habitats, for children aged 8+. Shortlisted for the 2016 SLA information book award in the 7-12 category and the 2016 English 4-11 picture book awards.'Close to my house, there's a beautiful, huge, spreading tree. I see it every day. We walk past it on the way to school, and hear the wind rustling through it at night. How long has that tree been standing there? If the tree wasn't there any more, I would miss it all the time. But it's not just me - so many animals depend on it too...''A really thorough, charming exploration of the lives of trees and their importance in the world' - School Librarian

Franklin Watts

Dinosaurs

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

From scouring the skies for pterodactyls to dodging the booming brontosaurus, there are plenty of dino facts to whet the appetite of all dinosaur fans!Write On is a high interest information series with a difference, designed to help the newly independent reader become a confident writer. Eye-catching photos and accessible text help build knowledge. Top writing tips and 'wow' words inspire easy to achieve writing projects, a fantastic way to improve literacy skills. A great book for 7-9 year olds or those working at Key Stage 2.

Wayland

Journey Along the Nile

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland

Travelling Wild: Journey Along the Nile follows a traveller on a fictitious journey by boat up the world's longest river. It uses the information you would consider when planning a trip, such as the weather, climate, dangers and key sights, to present geographical information in a highly accessible and enjoyable way.Discover the countries the Nile traverses, the wildlife to watch out for, how the river is used, the environmental issues facing the Nile, how people live and farm on its banks, and much, much more. There is a survival aspect to the book, too, with boxes containing tips on how to fend off a crocodile attack, repel insects and make water safe to drink, among other things. Packed to the brim with colourful, exciting photographs, maps and fascinating facts, the book allows you to explore and discover the incredible River Nile without leaving your seat!

Wayland

Climbing the Himalayan Mountains

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland

Travelling Wild: Climbing the Himalayan Mountains follows a traveller on a fictitious journey on foot through the Himalayan Mountains. It uses the information you would consider when planning a trip, such as the weather, climate, dangers and key sights, to present geographical information in a highly accessible and enjoyable way.Discover why the Himalayas are best avoided in the summer months (monsoons!), the traditions of the Tibetan Buddhists, the incredible wildlife that lives in the mountains, how the Himalayas formed, the mountain climate, and much, much more. There is a survival aspect to the book, too, with boxes containing tips on how to survive an avalanche, avoid hypothermia and frostbite and build a snow cave, among other things. Packed to the brim with colourful, exciting photographs, maps and fascinating facts, the book allows you to explore and discover the incredible Himalayan Mountains without leaving your seat!

Franklin Watts

Endangered Animals

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert
Wayland

Ocean

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Read all about oceans, where in the world you can find them, what animals and plants live there and how these are dependent on each other. Learn about food chains, pollution and what we can do to protect this important habitat.Simple quiz questions at the back help readers to remember what they've just read.Perfect one-stop-shop for help with homework assignments!Broad-ranging appeal for nursery age through to Key Stage 2.

Franklin Watts

British Trees and Flowers

Clare Collinson
Authors:
Clare Collinson

From magnificent oaks to delicate bluebells, there are a whole host of trees and flowers to discover in Britain. Learn all about the extraordinary range of trees and wild flowers that grow in British neighbourhoods. Find out where to look for different species, how to identify them and much more.The book is part of the 'Nature in your neighbourhood' series - find out all about the plants and animals that live all around you!