Steve Backshall - Deadly Factbook Mammals - Hachette Children's Group

Deadly Factbook Mammals

Book 1

By Steve Backshall

  • Paperback
  • £4.99

Discover the world's most extraordinary creatures in the first of Steve Backshall's DEADLY factbooks on mammals.

Packed with fascinating facts and drawing on Steve's own amazing experiences, this is the DEADLY guide to mammals for Steve Backshall fans everywhere. Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Biographical Notes

Steve Backshall is the hugely popular and fearless presenter of the Children's BBC series Deadly 60, Live and Deadly, Deadly 360 and Deadly Art. Steve travels the world to learn about the most inspiring predators, from boxing mantis shrimp to charging tigers. Steve also regularly writes articles for newspapers and magazines including the NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELER and BBC WILDLIFE and is an inspirational public speaker.

Visit Steve's website at www.stevebackshall.com and follow him on Twitter at https://twitter.com/SteveJBackshall.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444006346
  • Publication date: 21 Jun 2012
  • Page count: 80
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Wayland

India

Susie Brooks
Authors:
Susie Brooks

India: the Land and People takes you on a whistlestop tour around this most amazing country. Explore its rainforests, rivers (including the great Ganges), mountains and beaches, and meet some incredible wildlife along the way. Marvel at the vibrant street life, the amazing food and the diverse, multiethnic culture, and delve into the country's rich history.Discover what it's like to grow up in India - school, family life, socializing and religion - and find out how life is for the richest and the poorest members of society from its rural areas to its megacities. Learn about India's booming economy as a high-tech hotspot that's going global. Amazing photographs transport you to the very heart of this busy, colourful, visually-exciting country. Crammed full of facts, stats and incredible information - and much cheaper than a plane ticket - this is the perfect introduction to India!

Franklin Watts

I Am Here, Where Are You?

Anita Jones, Sarah Horne
Contributors:
Anita Jones, Sarah Horne
Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2018

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Wayland

A Maths Journey Around the Wonders of the World

Hilary Koll, Steve Mills
Authors:
Hilary Koll, Steve Mills
Wayland

Brazil

Susie Brooks
Authors:
Susie Brooks
Wayland

Endangered Animals

Anita Ganeri
Authors:
Anita Ganeri

Time is running out to see some of the rarest animals on Earth. Our world is full of amazing animals, but some of them might not be around for much longer. This book takes an in-depth look at some of the most endangered animals on Earth. Find out why they are in danger, what we would lose of they were to disappear completely and what, if anything, is being done to save them. This engaging series looks at the devastating impact pollution, global warming, habitat loss and deforestation are having on our planet. Explore why time is running out to see some of Earth's most endangered people, places, plants and animals. Covering the UK geography curriculum and aimed at students aged 9 and up Last Chance to See is a must for young conservationists.

Wayland

Our Planet

There are endless facts to learn about Planet Earth, but once you've absorbed them, do you really know how your own planet works? It continually changes thanks to some incredible processes - and understanding them is the key to understanding it. It's time to discover how volcanoes erupt, how rocks form and how rain falls. Pore over the step-by-step infographic art and fascinating facts to uncover the dazzling truth about this amazing planet - then try out the mind-bending challenges on each page!TOPICS:How the continents moveHow an earthquake happensHow a volcano eruptsHow to build mountainsHow rocks are formedHow tides workHow a river carves a gorgeHow the water cycle worksHow rain fallsHow lightning is madeHow a hurricane formsThe Infographic How It Works series is an exploration of the processes that make the world (and the universe) go round, from the activity in tectonic plates to the enzymes that break down food in our bodies. Each process is clearly explained using amazing infographics and essential facts - plus an experiment or challenge for readers to try, so they can keep the discovery going.Other titles in the Infographic How It Works series:Life on EarthMachines and MotorsOur UniverseToday's TechnologyYour Body

Orion Children's Books

Shark Seas

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Saker and Sinter continue their quest to save the world's endangered animals in the fourth thrilling adventure in TV presenter Steve Backshall's Falcon Chronicles, this time swimming in shark seas. . .Perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charlie Higson and Bear Grylls. This is the fourth adventure in the Falcon Chronicles, filled with intrigue, danger, exotic wildlife and dramatic locations.

Wayland

A Village

Jen Green
Authors:
Jen Green

Full of hands-on activities to help you learn all about map skills whilst also learning about the features of a village. This book will show you what a bird's eye map is by looking at aerial photos of villages; how village landmarks, such as churches and village greens can be shown as symbols; how to measure scale and distance on a walk around a village; what map plans are using a village shop and a farmers' market, as examples; how compass points show you how to find directions around a stable yard; how to follow pathways, roads and bridleways on a country walk; how to use grid references by looking at a village green; what contour lines are by looking at a country valley; looking at landuse by showing farming land; and looking at transport maps showing routes between different villages.Illustrations by Sarah Horne in an amusing and lively style are combined with photographs to really capture a child's attention helping them to learn these important map skills.

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2017

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Wayland

Journey Along the Nile

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland

Travelling Wild: Journey Along the Nile follows a traveller on a fictitious journey by boat up the world's longest river. It uses the information you would consider when planning a trip, such as the weather, climate, dangers and key sights, to present geographical information in a highly accessible and enjoyable way.Discover the countries the Nile traverses, the wildlife to watch out for, how the river is used, the environmental issues facing the Nile, how people live and farm on its banks, and much, much more. There is a survival aspect to the book, too, with boxes containing tips on how to fend off a crocodile attack, repel insects and make water safe to drink, among other things. Packed to the brim with colourful, exciting photographs, maps and fascinating facts, the book allows you to explore and discover the incredible River Nile without leaving your seat!

Wayland

Climbing the Himalayan Mountains

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland
Wayland

Russia

Cath Senker
Authors:
Cath Senker
Wayland

Japan

Susie Brooks
Authors:
Susie Brooks
Wayland

Trekking the Sahara

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland
Wayland

Sailing the Caribbean Islands

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland

Travelling Wild: Sailing the Caribbean Islands follows a traveller on a fictitious journey by boat around the Caribbean Sea. It uses the information you would consider when planning a trip, such as the weather, climate, dangers and key sights, to present geographical information in a highly accessible and enjoyable way.Discover why the Caribbean is best avoided from June to November (hurricanes!), the different types of shark to watch out for, some deep-sea wonders, the role of mangrove forests, the Caribbean climate, and much, much more. There is a survival aspect to the book, too, with boxes containing tips on how to fend off a shark attack, survive a hurricane and dive safely, among other things. Packed to the brim with colourful, exciting photographs, maps and fascinating facts, the book allows you to explore and discover the incredible Caribbean Islands without leaving your seat!

Wayland

The Book of Flags

Rob Colson
Authors:
Rob Colson
Wayland

Mexico

Cath Senker
Authors:
Cath Senker
Wayland

China

Anita Ganeri
Authors:
Anita Ganeri

China: the Land and People takes you on a whistlestop tour around this most incredible country. Explore its forests, rivers (including the mighty Yangtze), mountains and beaches, and meet some incredible wildlife along the way. Marvel at the vibrant street life, the amazing food and the diverse culture, and delve into the country's rich history.Discover what it's like to grow up in China - school, family life, socializing and religion - and learn about China's booming economy, and the industries that fuel it. Visit some of the world's most important historical sites, from the Great Wall of China to the Forbidden City, and encounter a Terracotta Army. Amazing photographs transport you to the very heart of this busy, colourful, visually-exciting country. Crammed full of facts, stats and incredible information - and much cheaper than a plane ticket - this is the perfect introduction to China!

Wayland

A School

Jen Green
Authors:
Jen Green

Full of hands-on activities to help you learn all about map skills whilst also learning about the features of a school. This book will show you what a bird's eye map is by looking at aerial photos of a school; how symbols make a map clearer; how compass points can help you find your way around a school; how a plan map shows features of a classroom such as shelves, desks, tables and cupboards; how scale is used to measure a school or a school hall; how to use compass points in the playground; how land use maps work by mapping the rooms in the building; how to use grid references to find classrooms in a school; how to use street maps to find your way from home to school or use transport maps to get to school by bus or further afield on a school trip.Illustrations by Sarah Horne in an amusing and lively style are combined with photographs to really capture a child's attention helping them to learn these important map skills.