Caroline Lawrence - The Sewer Demon - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444005073
    • Publication date:02 Feb 2012
Books in this series

The Sewer Demon

Book 1

By Caroline Lawrence
Illustrated by Helen Forte

  • Paperback
  • £4.99

An extension of The Roman Mysteries brand, featuring an irresistible new hero, Threptus, who helps solve the mystery of a house haunted by a demon!

At the end of book 17 of the Roman Mysteries, Caroline Lawrence introduced us to Threptus - a young beggar boy. In this fun and fabulous new series, Threptus starts work with his mentor - the soothsayer, Floridius - and together they must solve their first mystery...

Can they rid a rich woman's house of the demon that haunts it in the dead of night? What is the true nature of the demon? And is it really a supernatural being?

Threptus is a brave, funny and loveable hero and each story is a mini-mystery perfect for readers aged 7 up.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444004557
  • Publication date: 02 Feb 2012
  • Page count: 112
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Fans of Caroline Lawrence's earlier series of mysteries set in Ancient Rome have enjoyed both the thrilling adventures of the four young friends, and the authentic detail which brought those stories so vividly to life. And now, with the adventures of Threptus, readers from about six or seven years of age can enjoy the same delights. — THE BOOKBAG
I would give this book a five-star rating for the funny way it's written. I discovered that 'naso' is Latin for nose! — Sebastian, aged 8
The younger reader, and the Classicist of every age, is drawn into and around the streets of Ostia through Lawrence's detailed and flirtatious description — The Classics Library
The adventures are action-packed and hilarious, so kids aged 7 and upwards will love them — Liverpool Echo
In the grand tradition of Scooby-Doo, this book gives kids all the thrills of encounters with demons and spirits, while always providing a more mundane (though in this case still fairly exciting!) solution to go with its real-world setting. — Pop Classics
The Sewer Demon ... has humour a plenty. It also has a tight plot, a very accurate sense of place and culture, and characters you will fall in love with. Oh, and there's plenty of historical facts too ... Perfect for both avid and reluctant readers ... An exciting and informative read indeed. — THE AWFULLY BIG BLOG ADVENTURE
Though quite short, the story has the feel and detail of a longer novel. It is engaging, funny, fast-paced and full of lavatorial humour. Thoroughly enjoyable! — CAROUSEL
Hodder Children's Books

Stories of Magic and Mischief

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

A selection of 25 magical and mischievous short stories by Britain's most beloved children's author - perfect for sharing at Halloween! Witches and pixies abound in this magical selection of twenty-five short stories, perfect for seasonal reading and sharing. With lots of humour and fantastic characters these classic tales are ideal for younger children being read to and for newly confident readers to read alone. Each story stands alone and is the perfect length for reading at bedtime or in the classroom.Enid Blyton remains one of Britain's favourite children's authors and her bumper short story collections are perfect for introducing her to the latest generation of readers.Enid Blyton ® and Enid Blyton's signature are Registered Trademarks of Hodder and Stoughton Limited. No trademark or copyrighted material may be reproduced without the express written permission of the trademark and copyright owner.

Hodder Children's Books

King Flashypants and the Boo-Hoo Witches

Andy Riley
Authors:
Andy Riley
Hodder Children's Books

Springtime Stories

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Orion Children's Books

Return to Rome

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence
Orchard Books

Fight for the Hidden City

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Scorpion Strike

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Lair of the Fire Lizard

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

An epic new adventure series from bestselling author Adam Blade!Ordinary kids with extraordinary powers gather in a secret school to be trained to fight the forces of darkness.Hero Academy teacher Ms Steel is missing and Jack, Ruby and Danny are determined to find her. Their quest takes them to an underground swamp: the lair of the dreaded Tartania!

Orchard Books

Zulok the Winged Spirit

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Battle Beasts and fight Evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up!When supernatural events start to occur in Avantia it can only mean one thing - something is afoot in the terrifying Isle of Ghosts, and the Dark Wizard Malvel is to blame. Tom and Elenna must travel to the Isle and first face eagle Ghost Beast Zulok.There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Zulok the Winged Spirit; Skalix the Snapping Horror; Okira the Crusher and Rykar the Fire Hound

Orchard Books

Skalix the Snapping Horror

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Battle Beasts and fight Evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up!Evil Wizard Berric is trying to bring deadly Beasts back from the Isle of Ghosts to Avantia. Only Tom and Elenna can stop him. Next in their Quest they must battle Skalix the Snapping Horror! There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Zulok the Winged Spirit; Skalix the Snapping Horror; Okira the Crusher and Rykar the Fire Hound

Orchard Books

Okira the Crusher

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Battle Beasts and fight Evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up!Dark Wizard Malvel has stolen the Amulet of Avantia and plans to attack the kingdom of Avantia with four new, deadly Ghost Beasts. If they don't retrieve the amulet, Tom and Elenna will be trapped on the Isle of Ghosts for ever! The heroes must now face an enormous ogre, Okira the Crusher...There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Zulok the Winged Spirit; Skalix the Snapping Horror; Okira the Crusher and Rykar the Fire Hound

Orchard Books

Rykar the Fire Hound

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Hodder Children's Books

The Sprites' Den

Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters
Contributors:
Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters

The third in a magical, exciting series by Olympic gold medallist Jessica Ennis-Hill. Perfect for fans for Rainbow Magic and My Little Pony! What if you had a magic bracelet that allowed you to conjure anything you wanted - out of thin air! Evie's grandma has sent her another parcel. Inside layers of tissue and colourful ribbons is a beautiful bracelet! Evie's going to need the bracelet's powers - and a brave heart - to deal with some mischievous sprites. But she's always ready to have some magical adventures! Evie shares Jessica's determination and drive - an inspiration for kids everywhere.

Orion Children's Books

Death in the Arena

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence

Third in a new historical adventure series from million copy selling Caroline Lawrence, set in Roman Britain during the reign of the evil Emperor Domitian.Eleven-year-old Ursula is happily learning to be a Druid in the woods of Britannia. But then she is asked to go on a quest to find a boy who was abducted as a baby. Will her mystical training equip her for life on the road - with a troupe of Roman pantomime dancers and beast hunters? Her task: to adapt to life in the arena Her quest: to find the boy everyone is seekingHer destiny: to protect children and animalsFrom the bestselling author of THE ROMAN MYSTERIES, perfect for children studying at Key Stage 2.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Rubies and Runaways

Janine Beacham
Authors:
Janine Beacham
Hodder Children's Books

How to Twist a Dragon's Tale

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Hodder Children's Books

The Enchanted Puppy

Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters
Contributors:
Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters

The second in a magical, exciting series by Olympic gold medallist Jessica Ennis-Hill. Perfect for fans of Rainbow Magic and My Little Pony! What if you had a magic bracelet that allowed you to bring toys to life? Evie's grandma has sent her another parcel. Inside layers of tissue and colourful ribbons is a beautiful bracelet! This time, the bracelet lets her bring things to life. But when a stuffed toy becomes a cute little puppy with a mind of his own, Evie and her friends are off on a magical adventure! Evie shares Jessica's determination and drive - an inspiration for kids everywhere.

Hodder Children's Books

The Silver Unicorn

Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters
Contributors:
Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters
Orchard Books

Bunny Surprise

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

A magical new series where best friends become Secret Princesses! In the sparkly second series, Princess Poison has stolen Princess Ella's magic wand. Without it, Princess Ella won't be able to grant any animal-related wishes. Best friends, and Secret Princess trainees, Charlotte and Mia have to help Princess Ella get her wand back by granting four animal-related wishes. Can they help Aisha get the bunny she's always wanted? And can they defeat Princess Poison and get Princess Ella's wand back once and for all?

Orion Children's Books

The Archers of Isca

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence

The second thrilling adventure in a new historical series from million-copy-selling Caroline Lawrence, set in Roman Britain during the reign of the evil Emperor Domitian.Britannia AD 94. On the run from the Emperor Domitian, fifteen-year-old Fronto has joined the Roman army in order to find the security and structure he craves. But when his younger sister Ursula is captured by a terrifying Druid called Snakebeard, he must make an impossible decision. Can he leave the army, when desertion is punishable by death?His desire: To become a good soldierHis quest: To rescue his sister His destiny: To find his place in Roman BritainFrom the bestselling author of THE ROMAN MYSTERIES, perfect for children studying at Key Stage 2. Historical locations featured in this book are a British Iron Age Village, Bath Spa and the fortress at Caerleon.

Orion Children's Books

Wolf by Wolf: Blood for Blood

Ryan Graudin
Authors:
Ryan Graudin