René Goscinny - Omnibus 2 - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Books in this series

Omnibus 2

Asterix the Gladiator, Asterix and the Banquet, Asterix and Cleopatra

By René Goscinny
Illustrated by Albert Uderzo

  • Paperback
  • £14.99

A special collector's edition of three Asterix stories - ASTERIX THE GLADIATOR, ASTERIX AND THE BANQUET and ASTERIX AND CLEOPATRA - in one volume.

In this special collectors' edition, books four to six are brought together in one fabulous volume for the first time ever.
In ASTERIX THE GLADIATOR, Julius Caesar plans to throw the captured Cacofonix to the lions. Asterix and Obelix enlist as gladiators in order to rescue him, and teach their colleagues some interesting new tricks.
In ASTERIX AND THE BANQUET, the Romans build a barricade around the Gaulish village. But Asterix and Obelix break out and travel the entire country, collecting local specialities along the way.
Asterix, Obelix and co visit Egypt in ASTERIX AND CLEOPATRA, where they are entranced by the Sphinx, the pyramids and Cleopatra's nose.
There is no better way to enjoy the antics of our indomitable hero and his friends.

Biographical Notes

Rene Goscinny was born in Paris in 1926, and spent most of his childhood in Argentina, before eventually moving to Paris in 1951. He died in 1977. Albert Uderzo was born in 1927 in a small village in Marne, France. He met Rene Goscinny in 1951 and on 29 October 1959 their most famous creation, Asterix, made his first appearance on page 20 of Pilote. ASTERIX THE GAUL, their first album, was published in 1961 and there have now been 35 Asterix albums.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444004243
  • Publication date: 04 Aug 2011
  • Page count: 156
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Wren & Rook

Rebel Voices

Louise K Stewart, Eve Lloyd Knight
Contributors:
Louise K Stewart, Eve Lloyd Knight

A beautifully illustrated celebration of the brave campaigners who fought for women's right to vote. Discover that it was never illegal for women to vote in Ecuador, or how 40,000 Russian women marched through St Petersburg demanding their rights. Find out how one Canadian woman changed opinions with a play, and Kuwaiti women protested via text message. And learn that women climbed mountains, walked a lion through the streets of Paris, and starved themselves, all in the name of having a voice. Tracing its history from New Zealand at the end of the 19th century, follow this empowering movement as it spread from Oceania to Europe and the Americas, then Africa and Asia up to the present day. Meet the women who rioted, rallied and refused to give up. Stunningly illustrated by Eve Lloyd Knight, this book celebrates the women who refused to behave, rebelling against convention to give women everywhere a voice.If you loved Goodnight Stories for Rebel Girls, Fantastically Great Women Who Changed the World or Women in Science then you'll love this!

Orchard Books

Star Science

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

A magical series where best friends become Secret Princesses! This book is a special long length for even more magical fun. Best friends Charlotte and Mia can't bear it when Charlotte's family moves far away. But when they become trainee Secret Princesses they begin an amazing adventure together - and they can see each other whenever they like!Once in a blue moon, a tiara shaped constellation forms high in the sky above Wishing Star Palace. The four girls that make a wish on these special stars get their wishes granted by the Secret Princesses ... but Princess Poison is determined that this year the wishes won't come true ...Have you read all four books in series four: The Moonstone Collection?

Orion Children's Books

The Cloak of Feathers

Nigel Quinlan
Authors:
Nigel Quinlan
Hodder Children's Books

The Clocktower Charm

Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters
Contributors:
Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters

The fifth in a magical, exciting series by Olympic gold medallist Jessica Ennis-Hill. Perfect for fans of Rainbow Magic and My Little Pony! What if you had a special bracelet that allowed you to do magic, just by thinking about it? Evie's grandma has sent her another parcel. Inside layers of tissue and colourful ribbons is a beautiful bracelet! Evie's going to need the bracelet - and a brave heart - when she investigates a spooky old clocktower. But she's always ready to have some magical adventures!Evie shares Jessica's determination and drive - an inspiration for kids everywhere.

Orion Children's Books

Return to Rome

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Hounds and Hauntings

Janine Beacham
Authors:
Janine Beacham
Hodder Children's Books

Return to the City of Ghosts

Julian Sedgwick
Authors:
Julian Sedgwick
Franklin Watts

Frankenstein

Mary Shelley
Authors:
Mary Shelley

Frankenstein is the terrifying story of a scientist who uses his powers to bring a dead body back to life and thus creates a monster. Little can the scientist imagine the consequences of his actions, as he and his creation quickly become drawn into a deadly game of cat and mouse, which only one of them can win...Adapted by Mick Gowar from the original novel by Mary Shelley.A series of adaptations of well-known stories, designed to introduce young readers to the classics. Divided into short chapters and illustrated with modern black and white artwork, each title will offer the reader an accessible and exciting read.

Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Encyclopedia Special Edition: With Exclusive Board Game and Figurine

Hodder Children's Books

The Girl with the Lost Smile

Miranda Hart
Authors:
Miranda Hart

The first children's book from award-winning, bestselling author and comedian Miranda Hart. Packed with humour and happiness, this is a story guaranteed to make you laugh and cry! An outstanding hardback edition, with cover and inside illustrations by Sainsbury's Book of the Year winner, Kate Hindley. Chloe Long has lost her smile. She's looked everywhere for it. (Under her pillow. Under her bed. Under her nose. Obviously.)She's tried everything to bring it back. (Her favourite cake. Her favourite gran. Her favourite joke. Obviously.) But nothing seems to be working! Until one night, something utterly magical happens - and Chloe finds herself on an adventure that is out of this world ... THE GIRL WITH THE LOST SMILE takes you on an action-packed, magical journey that celebrates the power of the imagination, the wonder of true friendship and is guaranteed to make you smile. 'Is Miranda Hart a National Treasure yet? If not, it can only be a year or two before she joins Stephen Fry and Alan Bennett in the trophy cabinet of the country's affections ... That personality and voice belong to a uniquely cherished comedian ... there's nobody like Miranda.' Daily Mail

Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Ultimate Creative Colouring

Gotta colour 'em all! Hundreds of Pokémon for you to catch and colour in this beautiful colouring book.GET CREATIVE AND DIVE INTO THE WORLD OF POKÉMON!This fantastic book contains 30 brand-new Pokémon landscapes and patterns for you to colour in. The ultimate gift for any Pokémon fan!

Franklin Watts

At the Zoo

Jenny Jinks, Nicola Anderson
Contributors:
Jenny Jinks, Nicola Anderson
Orchard Books

Deadly Trap

John Sazaklis
Authors:
John Sazaklis
Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Sticker Scenes Book

Gotta catch 'em all! The ultimate sticker scenes book for Pokémon fans everywhereALL YOUR POKÉMON FAVOURITES IN THIS NEW STICKER SCENES BOOK!Enjoy hours of fun with nine new Pokémon scenes for you to explore in this jam-packed sticker book. With over 100 stickers, this is the ultimate sticker book for Pokémon fans everywhere. Eevee, Jigglypuff, Pikachu, Meowth, Charmander - they're all in here! Join thousands of Pokémon fans as you truly immerse yourself in the Pokémon universe. Gotta catch 'em all!

Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Fiction: Scyther Vs Charizard

Gotta Catch 'Em All! Join Ash and friends for the ultimate Pokémon face-off! Scyther and Charizard are two of the most powerful Pokémon Ash has ever encountered. But this makes them hot-heated and very difficult to control. When the two Pokémon face each other in battle, it's chaos! Can Ash discover the secret to connecting to wayward Charizard, and pull off the most epic battle so far?

Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Creative Colouring

Gotta colour 'em all! Hundreds of Pokémon for you to catch and colour in this beautiful colouring book.BECOME A TOP POKÉMON TRAINER WITH THIS FANTASTIC COLOURING BOOK!This jam-packed book contains 64 pages, with over 100 Pokémon for you to colour in and make your own.Get creative as you dive into the Pokémon universe. The perfect gift for all Pokémon fans from 5+. Gotta colour 'em all!

Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Encyclopedia

Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Sticker Book

Franklin Watts

Mapping Asia

Paul Rockett
Authors:
Paul Rockett

This unique series gets close up to some amazing areas of our world, and allows readers the opportunity to explore key countries, topographical features and cities in a way that is both engaging and entertaining. In addition, each book highlights significant human, geographical, sporting and economic information.

Hodder Children's Books

Naughtiest Girl Collection 1 (books 1-3)

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Enid Blyton's very funny school series follows Elizabeth Allen as she is sent away to boarding school and makes up her mind to be the naughtiest pupil there's ever been. Hilarious reading alone or aloud for ages 7 and up.Book 1: The Naughtiest Girl In The SchoolElizabeth Allen is spoilt and selfish. When's she's sent away to boarding school she makes up her mind to be the naughtiest pupil there's ever been! But Elizabeth soon finds out that being bad isn't as simple as it seems ...Book 2: The Naughtiest Girl Again The naughtiest girl in the school is back! And this term she's trying to be good. But someone wants to spoil things for her. And they're not going to let her forget how she got her nickname!Book 3: The Naughtiest Girl Is A MonitorWhen Elizabeth Allen is chosen to be a school monitor, she's delighted. But she soon finds out just what a responsible job it is. The harder she tries, the worse she behaves! Will the naughtiest girl in the school EVER learn to be good?Between 1940 and 1952, Enid Blyton wrote four novels about Naughtiest Girl, Elizabeth Allen. This collection contains the original stories and is unillustrated.