Caroline Lawrence - The Legionary from Londinium and other Mini Mysteries - Hachette Children's Group

The Legionary from Londinium and other Mini Mysteries

By Caroline Lawrence

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Secrets, thrills and action - the young detectives are on the case in this exciting collection of short stories from the world of The Roman Mysteries.

Mystery and adventure in Ancient Roman times for Flavia Gemina and her friends . . .

Sacred chickens, a jellyfish and a Roman mystery set in Britannia - this collection of mini-mysteries is the perfect recipe for a gripping read!

Includes an exclusive interview with Caroline Lawrence on the secrets of writing mystery stories!

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444001259
  • Publication date: 25 Mar 2010
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Hodder Children's Books

Shield of Lies

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Orion Children's Books

Return to Rome

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence
Hodder Children's Books

Illegal

Eoin Colfer, Andrew Donkin, Giovanni Rigano
Contributors:
Eoin Colfer, Andrew Donkin, Giovanni Rigano

This is a powerful and timely story about one boy's epic journey across Africa to Europe, a graphic novel for all children with glorious colour artwork throughout. From Eoin Colfer, previously Irish Children's Laureate, and the team behind his bestselling Artemis Fowl graphic novels. Ebo: alone.His sister left months ago. Now his brother has disappeared too, and Ebo knows it can only be to make the hazardous journey to Europe. Ebo's epic journey takes him across the Sahara Desert to the dangerous streets of Tripoli, and finally out to the merciless sea. But with every step he holds on to his hope for a new life, and a reunion with his sister.'Beautifully realised and punchily told.' Alex O'Connell, The Times Children's Book of the Week

Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell

From the bestselling author of How to Train Your Dragon comes an exciting high-adventure series - set in an ancient, magical time, full of Wizards, Warriors, Giants and Sprites. This is the story of a young boy Wizard and a young girl Warrior who have been taught since birth to hate each other like poison; and the thrilling tale of what happens when their two worlds collide.Perfect for boys and girls who love fantasy adventure...Once there was Magic, and the Magic lived in the dark forests. Until the Warriors came...Xar is a Wizard boy who has no Magic, and will do anything to get it. Wish is a Warrior girl, but she owns a banned Magical Object, and she will do anything to conceal it. In this whirlwind adventure, Xar and Wish must forget their differences if they're going to make it to the dungeons at Warrior Fort. Where something that has been sleeping for hundreds of years is stirring...

Quercus Children's Books

The Starman and Me

Sharon Cohen
Authors:
Sharon Cohen

E.T. meets Stig of the Dump in a page-turning adventure for fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce and David Almond'A proper adventure story for all curious middle graders ... heartily recommended' The Bookbag*Now shortlisted for the Essex Book Awards 2018!*He wasn't an alien, I was sure of that. It was more like he'd walked in through an ancient door from the past ... except he was here, in my bedroom and his misty forest was somewhere real on Planet Earth.Twelve-year-old Kofi first spots the prehistoric human on a supermarket roundabout. He is small and dark and curled into a tight ball. His name is Rorty Thrutch and he has zero memory of how he ended up in the unexceptional village of Bradborough, or why he's being hunted... Kofi soon finds out that Rorty can do amazing things. He can copy, paste and delete objects, using only the power of his mind. This is the discovery of the century and mad, greedy scientists will stop at nothing to track him down.Kofi and best friend Janie are on a mission. Not only must they protect Rorty, but they have to find his missing girlfriend Pogsy Blue, too. Our prehistoric ancestors have crashed headlong into the 21st century and time is running out to save them...THE STARMAN AND ME explores where we have come from and where we are moving to - it's about the magic of DNA, the power of identity, and the importance of caring for each other.

Orion Children's Books

Death in the Arena

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence

Third in a new historical adventure series from million copy selling Caroline Lawrence, set in Roman Britain during the reign of the evil Emperor Domitian.Eleven-year-old Ursula is happily learning to be a Druid in the woods of Britannia. But then she is asked to go on a quest to find a boy who was abducted as a baby. Will her mystical training equip her for life on the road - with a troupe of Roman pantomime dancers and beast hunters? Her task: to adapt to life in the arena Her quest: to find the boy everyone is seekingHer destiny: to protect children and animalsFrom the bestselling author of THE ROMAN MYSTERIES, perfect for children studying at Key Stage 2.

Orchard Books

Must End Soon

Jonathan Meres
Authors:
Jonathan Meres
Hodder Children's Books

The Crystal Run

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

The gripping children's debut from the Sunday Times and Irish Times No. 1 bestselling author is a page-turning fantasy quest novel for fans of Cornelia Funke, Susan Cooper and Philip Pullman.'I am proud to die for Carcassia,' said Kaia. 'All Runners have a special place in our world, in our history.'Kaia Kukura has been awarded the great honour of protecting her country, and is determined to bring wealth and glory to her family. She must travel through enemy territory to replace the precious Kerala crystals that power Carcassia's protective shield. But no Runner is permitted to return after their mission. When Kaia hasfulfilled her Runner's oath, she knows her life must end.But sometimes it takes an outsider, someone from a different world, to question the truth.Fourteen-year-old Joe can barely outrun the school bullies who torment him daily. Cornered yet again, he tries to escape - and finds himself falling through a portal into another world. There, he meets fierce and strong Kaia. Together they discover that not everyone in Carcassia can be trusted - and that there are terriblelies at the heart of Kaia's beloved home.Can their combined strength and skill help Kaia save her country and herself? And will Joe ever find a way back to his own world?

Orchard Books

Dark Lord: The Teenage Years

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson
Orion Children's Books

The Archers of Isca

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence

The second thrilling adventure in a new historical series from million-copy-selling Caroline Lawrence, set in Roman Britain during the reign of the evil Emperor Domitian.Britannia AD 94. On the run from the Emperor Domitian, fifteen-year-old Fronto has joined the Roman army in order to find the security and structure he craves. But when his younger sister Ursula is captured by a terrifying Druid called Snakebeard, he must make an impossible decision. Can he leave the army, when desertion is punishable by death?His desire: To become a good soldierHis quest: To rescue his sister His destiny: To find his place in Roman BritainFrom the bestselling author of THE ROMAN MYSTERIES, perfect for children studying at Key Stage 2. Historical locations featured in this book are a British Iron Age Village, Bath Spa and the fortress at Caerleon.

Orion Children's Books

Escape from Rome

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence
Hodder Children's Books

Pegasus and the Rise of the Titans

Kate O'Hearn
Authors:
Kate O'Hearn

Join Emily and Pegasus as the legend continues in a new epic adventure ...The ancient rivalry between the Olympians and the Titans, thought long over, is rekindled - but this time the Titans have a secret weapon that can rival the power of the Flame of Olympus. The balance of power is tipped in Saturn's favour now that he has found his own Flame of Titus. Jupiter's Olympus will finally be in his grasp!Caught in the middle of this ancient power struggle, Emily and Pegasus must head to the Diamond Head volcano in Hawaii to track down the one thing that can save Olympus ... before the Titans get there first.Fans of Percy Jackson won't want to miss the Pegasus series by Kate O'Hearn.Have you read the rest of the series?Pegasus and the Flame, Pegasus and the Fight to Save Olympus, Pegasus and the New Olympians, Pegasus and the Origins of Olympus

Orion Children's Books

The Case of the Bogus Detective

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence

The final whip-cracking adventure in the P.K. Pinkerton series from bestselling Roman Mysteries author Caroline Lawrence.When P.K's father, Robert Pinkerton, suddenly appears in Virginia City, P.K.'s life turns upside down. Suddenly she's having to learn how to be a 'girly-girl' in a cunning plot to outwit silver thieves. But it seems the thieves are one step ahead! Has P.K. finally met her match or can she use her detective skills to turn the situation on its head and impress her private-eye Pa?A gripping rollercoaster ride of a tale packed with Wild West authenticity and atmosphere from this million-selling author.

Orion Children's Books

The Two-faced God

Caroline Lawrence, Helen Forte
Contributors:
Caroline Lawrence, Helen Forte

Floridius the Soothsayer has been asked to read the omens for a wealthy man whose villa appears to be haunted. The pay is good but it means studying a sheep's liver and poor Floridius faints at the sight of blood! Can Threptus solve the mystery and save his friend from embarrassment?Join Threptus and Floridius on their hilarious and action-packed adventures among Rome's superstitious underclass, and don't miss this ruder, funnier and still historically accurate companion to The Roman Mysteries.

Orion Children's Books

The Case of the Pistol-packing Widows

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence

From the million-copy-selling author of The Roman Mysteries comes the third whip-cracking adventure in this award-winning series.When P.K. is suddenly abducted, he fears he's going to be thrown in the river to drown. In fact, he's about to get a new case. He must travel to Carson City, don a disguise and shadow his friend and mentor, Poker Face Jace. But Jace isn't easy to fool, P.K.'s widow woman disguise is horribly uncomfortable and, as if that's not bad enough, it seems somebody might be trying to kill him! Can P.K. survive amid the gun-slingers, gamblers and desperados of Carson City?

Franklin Watts

Football Legend

David Orme, Helen Orme
Authors:
David Orme, Helen Orme
Orion Children's Books

The Thunder Omen

Caroline Lawrence, Helen Forte
Contributors:
Caroline Lawrence, Helen Forte

Threptus the former beggar boy has teamed up with Floridius, a soothsayer and seller of sacred chickens. Together they earn a living helping people solve problems and mysteries. In this third book of the series, it is the time of Saturnalia - when all the rules are turned upside down and chaos ensues. Threptus is enjoying the mayhem but the thunder omens are disturbing. Can Threptus help his friend matchmake and avoid the disaster threatened by the thunder omen?

Orion Children's Books

Alcatraz versus the Evil Librarians

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson
Orion Children's Books

Roman Mysteries Complete Collection

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence
Orion Children's Books

The Man from Pomegranate Street

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence

September AD 81. Flavia and her friends learn of the mysterious and sudden death of the Emperor Titus. Was his death natural? Or was it murder? As the four detectives investigate this mystery, they little dream how much their lives - as well as the future of Italy - will be changed as a result.