Charlie Farley - A T-Wit for a T-Woo - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £12.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781408346495
    • Publication date:05 Apr 2018

A T-Wit for a T-Woo

By Charlie Farley
Illustrated by Layn Marlow

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Little owl Twoo sets off on a brave quest to find a true friend in this feel-good rhyming picture book. Perfect for sharing at bedtime.

He'd fly every night through the wood that he loved,
And quietly gaze at the stars up above.
But something was missing that made him feel blue.
When he sang in the moonlight ... he'd just say 'T-WOO!'

Little owl Twoo feels like something is missing. While all the other owls in the wood have a beautiful t-wit-t-woo call, Twoo only has half of his song. So the brave little owl sets off on a quest to find his true owl song - and a true friend to sing with him. On his journey, he discovers that when you believe in yourself, anything is possible.

This feel-good picture book is perfect for fans of Giraffes Can't Dance and The Lion Inside.

Biographical Notes

Charlie Farley (Author)
Charlie Farley grew up by the sea in North-East Scotland, where he speant his days reading, writing and day-dreaming. Charlie has always been inspired by nature, and much of his writing is influenced by the landscape and animals of Dorset where he lives with his wife, four children and two dogs. A T-Wit for a T-Woo is Charlie's first book for children.

Layn Marlow (Illustrator)
Layn Marlow gained a first class degree in Illustration from Southampton Solent University, and has been writing and illustrating picture books ever since. Layn's titles have sold over a million copies worldwide and been translated into more than 20 different languages. A Very Strange Creature was short-listed for the Red House Book Award and Hurry Up and Slow Down won the Never too Young Coventry Inspirations Book Award in 2010. Layn lives in Hampshire with her family.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781408346518
  • Publication date: 05 Apr 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orchard Books
Franklin Watts

Indus Valley Civilisation

Tim Cooke
Authors:
Tim Cooke
Orion Children's Books

Lane of the Lost

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Franklin Watts

It's My Body

Louise Spilsbury
Authors:
Louise Spilsbury

This brightly coloured, illustrated title explains to children about body privacy and why private parts should be kept private. Children will learn that their body belongs to them and they can say 'no' if they don't want anyone to touch their body. They'll discover what is inappropriate, and be encouraged to speak up if they are uncomfortable with how other people treat them. It also covers the topic of secrets and when you shouldn't keep a secret.The book looks at respecting each other's boundaries and becoming aware that some children, particularly those with autism or anxiety, find hugging or any kind of touch, unbearable.It also covers bullying, such as pinching or kicking, and shows children the best way to speak out to help stop these things happening.Written by Louise Spilsbury, the text explains, simply and clearly, without scaremongering, why body privacy is important.

Franklin Watts

The Great Pet Shop Rescue

Tony Lee, Giovanni Costa
Contributors:
Tony Lee, Giovanni Costa

Jenny loves pets, especially her dogs Fosco and Dexter. But when the dogs discover a terrible secret at the Hapipetz Hotel, they are forced into action. Jenny's pets come up with a plan for a daring rescue, but can they pull it off?This title is part of the EDGE: Bandit Graphics series: individual, high-quality, safe, 32-page graphic novels written by New York Times bestselling author Tony Lee, suitable for readers aged 7+.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Where Do You Go, Birdy Jones?

Joanna Nadin
Authors:
Joanna Nadin
Hodder Children's Books

Mr Panda’s Colours

Steve Antony
Authors:
Steve Antony

Lemur loves yellow, Elephant likes blue, but what could Mr Panda's favourite colour be?Find out and help your little bears explore colours in this brand new Mr Panda board book!Steve Antony's Please Mr Panda has taken the children's book world by storm, selling over 600,000 copies since it was first published.''An ideal book for kids to learn about the importance of good manners.' Sun 'There's a new pre-school politeness tsar in town.' The Times

Hodder Children's Books

Mr Panda’s Feelings

Steve Antony
Authors:
Steve Antony

Lemur is happy! Swan is scared. But how is Mr Panda is feeling? Find out and help your little bears express their emotions with Mr Panda in this brand new board book.Steve Antony's Please Mr Panda has taken the children's book world by storm, selling over 300,000 copies since it was first published.''An ideal book for kids to learn about the importance of good manners.' Sun 'There's a new pre-school politeness tsar in town.' The Times

Franklin Watts

Alien Kidnap

Tony Bradman, Wil Overton
Contributors:
Tony Bradman, Wil Overton

Kid Force 3 are Jayden, Layla and Caleb. They aren't regular kids, they're super kids - each with an amazing superhero power.In Toxic Cookie Monster a bad bag of cookies turns a teacher into a monster, and Kid Force 3 have to save the town from her chocolate chip craving.This title is published by Franklin Watts EDGE, which produces a range of books to get children reading with confidence. This series is suitable for guided reading with children aged 5+, but also for older readers with low reading confidence or struggling to enjoy books.

Franklin Watts

My Little Brother’s a Zombie

Tony Lee, Tony Westwood
Contributors:
Tony Lee, Tony Westwood

Lewis Marsden's younger brother loves zombies. Zombie books, zombie comics, zombie movies, zombie everything. But when his brother turns into a zombie, Lewis is determined to help him become un-undead - and to avoid being bitten ... This title is part of the EDGE: Bandit Graphics series: individual, high-quality, safe, 32-page graphic novels written by New York Times bestselling author Tony Lee, suitable for readers aged 7+.

Franklin Watts

Terrorism

Claudia Martin
Authors:
Claudia Martin
Hodder Children's Books

Once upon a bedtime

David Melling
Authors:
David Melling

The perfect bedtime story by the bestselling author and illustrator of the Hugless Douglas series, David Melling.The sun was setting on Sleepy Street as Rabbit and the others began to yawn . . .Rabbit helps his friends get ready for bed in this adorable bedtime story. But when a strange noise turns out to be a sad monster they can't go to bed. Will they be able to cheer their new friend up before bedtime?

Orion Children's Books

The Haunting

Margaret Mahy
Authors:
Margaret Mahy

A brand-new edition of the Carnegie Medal-winning THE HAUNTING - written by internationally bestselling author, Margaret Mahy.'Strong and terrifying . . . The novel winds up like a spring. A psychological thriller' - Times Literary SupplementEight-year-old Barney has been haunted before. He thought it was something he'd just grow out of, like the imaginary friends his step-mother believes he has. But this time it's different. Footsteps follow him, there's a demanding voice barking orders and Barney begins to feel that sometimes his body is not his own at all . . .With the help of his sisters, Tabitha and Troy, Barney sets out to uncover the truth about their family secrets and to find out once and for all who it is who's haunting him.A thrilling ghost story about a 'mostly ordinary' family and a secret legacy.

Orion Children's Books

The Changeover

Margaret Mahy
Authors:
Margaret Mahy
Orion Children's Books

Ghost Boys

Jewell Parker Rhodes
Authors:
Jewell Parker Rhodes

A heartbreaking and powerful story about a black boy killed by a white police officer, drawing connections with real-life history, from award-winning author Jewell Parker Rhodes.Twelve-year-old Jerome is shot by a police officer who mistakes his toy gun for a real threat. In the wake of his death, Jerome, as a ghost, observes the devastation that's been unleashed on his family and community.Soon Jerome meets other ghosts, from different time periods but similar circumstances. He also meets Sarah, the white daughter of the police officer who killed him. Sarah too is struggling to grapple with the aftermath of the shooting. A poignant and gripping story about how children and families face the complexities of race in today's world.

Hodder Children's Books

Little Whale

Jo Weaver
Authors:
Jo Weaver

Told through the eyes of a whale and her calf, this mesmerisingly beautiful book is a story of migration, family and the strength of parental love."We're going home, Little Whale," said her mother. Travelling from the warm weather of the south, through coral reefs, kelp forests and glittering shoals of fish, Little Whale follows her mother north. For in the icy north is their family - but also great danger...With its evocative charcoal drawings and lyrical storytelling, Jo Weaver's illustrations have the feel of an instant classic celebrating the tender relationship between parent and child.Jo Weaver was shortlisted for the AOI Illustration New Talent Awards 2014.

Hodder Children's Books

Knock Knock Pirate

Caryl Hart, Nick East
Contributors:
Caryl Hart, Nick East

A rhyming pirate counting book with a difference - the follow up to the hilarious Knock Knock Dinosaur - from award-winning author Caryl Hart, creator of How to Grow a Dinosaur, and bestselling illustrator Nick East.A visit from a pirate might sound like fun . . . but when the Captain's whole crew turn up too - causing mayhem and chaos - it's time for this little girl to panic. What is Dad going to say when he gets home?!Caryl Hart has won the Stockport Children's Book Award, the Oldham Brilliant Books Award, the Rotherham Children's Book Award, and has been shortlisted for the Red House Children's Book Award.Follow Caryl at carylhart.com and @carylhart1 Find Nick at nickeastillustration.com

Hodder Children's Books

The Story of Tantrum O'Furrily

Cressida Cowell, Mark Nicholas
Contributors:
Cressida Cowell, Mark Nicholas

'One wild and windy night a stray cat called Tantrum O'Furrily and her three hungry kittens were dancing across the roof tops . . . ' Written by Cressida Cowell, creator of the bestselling How to Train Your Dragon series and with beautiful illustrations by Mark Nicholas, winner of the Carmelite Prize.Tantrum O'Furrily's kittens are hungry and doubt that a story can ease a stray cat's rumbling stomach. However, they soon learn that stories are powerful, and that if you're courageous you might find a saucer of milk at the end of that story.

Hodder Children's Books

The Great Art Activity Book

Paul Thurlby
Authors:
Paul Thurlby
Hodder Children's Books

Oi Cat!

Kes Gray, Jim Field
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Jim Field
Hodder Children's Books

Me and My Dad

Robin Shaw
Authors:
Robin Shaw

From the award-winning animator of The Snowman and the Snowdog, Ethel & Ernest and We're Going on a Bear Hunt, this imaginative adventure is a visual feast and the perfect gift for Father's Day. There is nothing more exciting that a trip down the road with Dad. There are snapping crocodiles, stomping dinosaurs, sleeping princesses and golden treasure - but that's not even the best bit. The best bit's at the end...This is Robin Shaw's first book for children.Follow Robin Shaw on Twitter at @RobinPeeShaw.