Charlie Farley - A T-Wit for a T-Woo - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £6.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781408346501
    • Publication date:01 Nov 2018

A T-Wit for a T-Woo

By Charlie Farley
Illustrated by Layn Marlow

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Little owl Twoo sets off on a brave quest to find a true friend in this feel-good rhyming picture book. Perfect for sharing at bedtime.

A heartfelt story about friendship and the power of self-belief, perfect for sharing at bedtime.

He'd fly every night through the wood that he loved,
And quietly gaze at the stars up above.
But something was missing that made him feel blue.
When he sang in the moonlight ... he'd just say 'T-WOO!'

Little owl Twoo feels like something is missing. His song is incomplete, a T-woo without a T-wit. So the brave little owl sets off in search of his true owl song - and a true friend to sing with him. On his journey, he discovers that when you believe in yourself, anything is possible.

This feel-good rhyming picture book is perfect for fans of Giraffes Can't Dance and The Lion Inside.

Biographical Notes

Charlie Farley (Author)
Charlie Farley grew up by the sea in North-East Scotland, where he spent his days reading, writing and day-dreaming. Charlie has always been inspired by nature, and much of his writing is influenced by the landscape and animals of Dorset, where he lives with his wife, four children and two dogs.

Layn Marlow (Illustrator)
Layn Marlow gained a first class degree in Illustration from Southampton Solent University, and has been writing and illustrating picture books ever since. Layn's titles have sold over a million copies worldwide and been translated into more than 20 different languages. A Very Strange Creature was shortlisted for the Red House Book Award and Hurry Up and Slow Down won the Never Too Young Coventry Inspirations Book Award in 2010. Layn lives in Hampshire with her family.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781408346518
  • Publication date: 05 Apr 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orchard Books
Charlie Farley's A T-Wit for a T-Woo is a charming, gently humorous story about a tawny owl's search, perfect for sharing at bed-time. The rhyming text reads aloud beautifully and is complemented by Layn Marlow's delightful illustrations. — Julia Green
...uplifting story which shows the importance of self-belief and not giving up. [...] The superbly atmospheric illustrations by Layn Marlow capture the beauty of the night woodland and bring us a superb cast of characters to love. — Parents in Touch
A lovely story about self-belief and the journey to discover your own identity. [...] The illustrations are a lovely evening palette making this a wonderful bedtime story! — BookBairn (on Instagram)
If you believe in yourself, anything is possible. That's the uplifting message behind A T-WIT FOR A T-WOO... — The Good Schools Guide
Hodder Children's Books

You Can't Cuddle a Crocodile

Diana Hendry, Edward Eaves
Contributors:
Diana Hendry, Edward Eaves

A little girl takes an imaginative romp through the animal kingdom in this delightful tale from award-winning author Diana Hendry!Everyone knows that little sisters can be a handful. But this little sister is more - she's a zoo-ful! She's a monkey, a bear, a camel, a penguin, a crocodile... If only she'd be a little girl now and again. After all, you can't cuddle a crocodile...A fresh and funny picture book from much-loved author Diana Hendry.Read more about Diana Hendry at dianahendry.co.uk

Orchard Books

Doggy Drama

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Orchard Books

Runaway Hamster

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

A brilliant animal series from multi-million selling author Lucy Daniels.With exciting animal rescues and real-life care tips, this is the perfect series for young animal lovers! Amelia and Sam are helping out at Animal Ark when twin sisters come in with their pet hamster. The only thing the girls can agree on is that there's something wrong with their pet. Could the hamster's greedy brother be the problem?When the hamster escapes at the village Food Fair, Amelia and Sam enlist everyone to look for him. From big bigs to tiny hamsters, everyone needs their own space - even the twins!

Hodder Children's Books

Chatterbox Bear

Pippa Curnick
Authors:
Pippa Curnick

Meet Gary the bear - he just can't stop chatting! A laugh-out-loud-funny story about friendship and understanding.Gary the bear is a chatterbox, but when nobody wants to listen he sets sail in search of new friends. Soon Gary arrives on an island full of birds . . . the problem is they don't understand a word of Bear! Gary has to learn that words are not the only way to communicate and make new friends.This sunny and bright picture book is bursting with energy and humour.From the illustrator of Lucie Goose, shortlisted for the Evening Standard Oscar's First Book Prize.

Hodder Children's Books

Think Big

Kes Gray, Nathan Reed
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Nathan Reed
Orchard Books

The Unicorn Prince

Saviour Pirotta, Jane Ray
Contributors:
Saviour Pirotta, Jane Ray
Hodder Children's Books

Amazing

Steve Antony
Authors:
Steve Antony
Pat-a-Cake

Minibeasts

Pat-a-Cake, Villie Karabatzia
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Villie Karabatzia

Help toddlers discover and learn about the world around them with these essential board books.Minibeasts helps busy, curious toddlers explore their world and develop their vocabulary by introducing lots of wonderful minibeast words. This robust board book will withstand many happy hours of looking, holding, exploring and reading, while the playful, witty illustrations will be loved by parents and children alike. A brilliant fold-out surprise at the end adds a fun addition to all the learning in the book. Also available: 123, Colours, ABC, Animals, First Words, Shapes, Dinosaurs

Pat-a-Cake

Dinosaurs

Pat-a-Cake, Villie Karabatzia
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Villie Karabatzia
Hodder Children's Books

Little Tigers

Jo Weaver
Authors:
Jo Weaver
Orchard Books

Rainbow Magic: Sasha the Slime Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel, Kirsty and Sasha for some fun with slime!Sasha the Slime Fairy's special magic helps everyone have loads of fun making and playing with slime. From glitter slime to goo slime, all types of slime are Sasha's favourite! But when Jack Frost steals her three special pieces of slime, the magic starts to go awry. Can Rachel and Kirsty help her get them back before the slime adventure comes to a sticky end?

Hodder Children's Books

The Colour of Happy

Laura Baker, Angie Rozelaar
Contributors:
Laura Baker, Angie Rozelaar

A beautiful exploration of feelings shown through colour as one little boy navigates a range of emotions - from happiness and excitement to hope and love, all on his way to present a gift to his mum.Blue is for the calm I feel wandering in the spring.Yellow is for happy when I spot a special thing.This book is the perfect introduction to both emotions and colours.

Orchard Books

Ivy the Worry Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel, Kirsty and Ivy as they help keep worries at bay!Ivy the Worry Fairy has a very important job - helping people manage their worries. Everyone gets worried from time to time, and it's important to know how to deal with it. But when Jack Frost steals Ivy's magical objects, her special power to help people is threatened! Can Rachel and Kirsty help get them back and help restore people's inner calm everywhere?

Orchard Books

Monty and Sylvester A Tale of Everyday Super Heroes

Carly Gledhill
Authors:
Carly Gledhill

Meet Monty and Sylvester (the latest super heroes on the block!) in this laugh-out loud picture book tale.Best friends Monty and Sylvester have been perfecting their 'super hero' skills. They've read the manual, they've got the outfits and now they are raring to go! All missions undertaken, however impossible. Better watch out, supervillains, these two mean business ...A brilliantly original picture book about friendship and the imagination, from debut author and illustrator Carly Gledhill.

Orchard Books

I Really Want That Unicorn

Fabi Santiago
Authors:
Fabi Santiago

Love unicorns? Enjoy talent shows? Pick up this book and laugh yourself horse. Chloe Crocodile is preparing for a talent show - and not just any talent show. The prize is a Big Sparkly Mellow Yellow Unicorn, and Chloe MUST have it. To win, she must make the best rainbow unicorn cake, the best magic castle, the best fairy unicorn outfit AND give the perfect performance on her unicycle. Chloe is confident she can win. Until Veronica arrives ...A delightfully funny, stylish book with the message that friendship is more important than anything - even unicorns!Praise for Tiger in a Tutu:"The saga of Max and his determination to get on the stage reads something like a fun version of Billy Elliot . . . engagingly romantic." Independent

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Scent of Danger

Abie Longstaff
Authors:
Abie Longstaff
Hodder Children's Books

Going to the Volcano

Andy Stanton, Miguel Ordonez
Contributors:
Andy Stanton, Miguel Ordonez

Join two intrepid explorers on the perfect day out - visiting a volcano! A brilliantly funny rhyming story from multi-award-winning author Andy Stanton, who was shortlisted for the 2018 Laugh Out Loud Picture Book Award for Danny McGee Drinks the Sea. Buckle up and jump on board for the funniest, most EXPLOSIVE picture book of the year - you'll want to read it again and again-o!Join two intrepid explorers as they take a train-o, jump on a plane-o, ride a Great Dane-o (down the lane-o) on their way to look at the volcano. Nothing could possibly go wrong - could it?!A hilariously anarchic, brightly illustrated rhyming story from multi-award-winning author Andy Stanton. Andy has won a string of awards for his Mr Gum books, including the Red House Children's Book Award, the Roald Dahl Funny Prize, and the Blue Peter Book Award for Best Book With Pictures (twice).Miguel Ordonez is the illustrator of the New York Times bestselling Your Baby's First Word Will Be Dada, written by Jimmy Fallon, the Emmy and Grammy award-winning host of NBC's The Tonight Show.

Orchard Books

Prince George Goes to School

Caryl Hart, Laura Ellen Anderson
Contributors:
Caryl Hart, Laura Ellen Anderson
Orchard Books

The Squirrels Who Squabbled

Rachel Bright, Jim Field
Contributors:
Rachel Bright, Jim Field
Hodder Children's Books

The Blue Balloon

Mick Inkpen
Authors:
Mick Inkpen

A celebrated classic which continues to delight millions of children. Kipper has found a soggy blue balloon in the garden. At first, it seems like an ordinary balloon, but it's not. It's full of fun and magic. This is a book to be treasured, loved, read time and time again, with fantastic fold out pages.