Ali Standish - The Ethan I Was Before - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781408342909
    • Publication date:29 Jun 2017

The Ethan I Was Before

By Ali Standish

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

A touching and uplifting coming-of-age novel by a standout debut talent - perfect for fans of Wonder and A Boy Called Hope

My dare. My friend. My fault.

Uplifting and unpredictable, this poignant debut middle-grade novel is a classic in the making. Perfect for fans of Wonder and A Boy Called Hope.

Ethan had been many things. He was always ready for adventure and always willing to accept a dare, especially from his best friend, Kacey. But that was before. Before the accident that took Kacey from him. Before his family moved from the city he loves to a tiny town in the middle of nowhere.

Ethan's new home feels like the place for second chances. It's also home to Coralee, a girl with a big personality and even bigger stories. Coralee may be just the friend Ethan needs, except Ethan isn't the only one with secrets. Coralee's are catching up with her, and what she's hiding might be putting both their lives at risk.

The Ethan I Was Before is a story of friendship, wonder, adventure and ultimately of hope.

Biographical Notes

Ali Standish was raised in North Carolina. She has a BA in English and worked as a teacher and programme administrator in the US Public School system for four years. While teaching, she began an MFA in Children's Writing from Hollins University, from where she will graduate in May. In 2014 she moved to the UK with her Finnish fiancé. She currently lives in Cambridge, England, where she writes, edits and studies books for children. She also works as a part-time editor at Working Partners. As a teacher, Ali worked with many children who had suffered a loss or trauma and who often turned to stories to help them navigate their grief. THE ETHAN I WAS BEFORE was born from those experiences.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781408342923
  • Publication date: 29 Jun 2017
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: Orchard Books
The emotional heart of the book is lovely. — Book Bag
Readers will be riveted — Publishers Weekly, starred review
Orchard Books

Untitled Ali Standish

Ali Standish
Authors:
Ali Standish
Hodder Children's Books

Return to the City of Ghosts

Julian Sedgwick
Authors:
Julian Sedgwick

Ruby's stunning adventure reaches a thrilling conclusion in this powerful story for fans of Philip Pullman, Susan Hill and Robin Stevens.11-year-old Ruby is on a mission to rescue her best friend Fei, who has been kidnapped by dark forces at the heart of Shanghai: but the world she lives in is driven with danger and fear, and since the death of her brother, Ruby has had a new problem - she can see ghosts. On an amazing journey down the Yangtze, and in and out of the Otherworld, Ruby must find her friend, before she loses herself...

Hodder Children's Books

Movie Night

Lucy Courtenay
Authors:
Lucy Courtenay
Orion Children's Books

Silent Enemy and The Walk of Death

Jan Burchett, Sara Vogler
Authors:
Jan Burchett, Sara Vogler

The fifth and sixth instalments of this exciting spy series set in Tudor England, amid the intrigue and danger of Henry VIII's royal court, from the authors of books in the bestselling BEAST QUEST series.In DEADLY STORM the royal court of King Henry VIII is on the move - and in danger!A terrible storm forces the court to shelter in a nearby castle. The King is in disguise, and he's not the only person with a secret. Death stalks the castle - but is it the dreaded plague or something even more sinister? When a servant is found dead, it's clear that something terrible is going on.Can young spy, Jack Briars, and his friend, Cat Thimblebee, solve the mystery before the King himself becomes a target?While in FATAL VOYAGE, Jack and Cat are once again called upon to save the King's life, this time aboard his majestic new ship, Fair Anne. But will this adventure leave the pair all at sea?A thrilling adventure series featuring young spy Jack Briars and his friend, Cat Thimblebee. This is WOLF HALL for children.

Wren & Rook

Rebel Voices

Louise K Stewart, Eve Lloyd Knight
Contributors:
Louise K Stewart, Eve Lloyd Knight
Orion Children's Books

The Cloak of Feathers

Nigel Quinlan
Authors:
Nigel Quinlan

A magical adventure filled with myth, mischief and misunderstandings, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Diana Wynne Jones and those who love modern fairy tales with a comic twist.Once every hundred years, the small, forgotten, rural Irish town of Lisahee welcomes The Fairy Festival - a week of celebration where the mysterious and magical 'sidhe' emerge from the hill above the town and take residence alongside their human counterparts for seven days of ancient traditions and games. Filled with dancing, music, goblin markets and fae-folk, the festival has only one rule: never, ever, say 'the f word' - that's 'fairies' - a rule twelve-year-old Brian unfortunately breaks. When mayhem ensues, it's up to Brian and his friends to avoid the wrath of the King and Queen and help keep the town in one piece.

Orion Children's Books

Return to Rome

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Hounds and Hauntings

Janine Beacham
Authors:
Janine Beacham

The Clockwork Sparrow meets Downton Abbey -- another exciting Rose Raventhorpe mystery set in Victorian England.

Hodder Children's Books

The Girl with the Lost Smile

Miranda Hart
Authors:
Miranda Hart
Hodder Children's Books

The Rainmaker Danced

John Agard, Satoshi Kitamura
Contributors:
John Agard, Satoshi Kitamura

A wonderful new anthology of poems by winner of the Queens Medal and the Eleanor Farjeon Award, 2016 Do trianglesever get into a tangle when their sides meet their angles?A wonderful new children's poetry collection, from a celebrated, award-winning poet.From nature and science to identity and inclusion, prepare to be transported on a journey through past and present. This collection from John Agard, winner of the Queens Medal and the Eleanor Farjeon Award, explores the wonders of the world - inviting your child to ponder life's questions with lots of fun along the way!

Hodder Children's Books

Summer Holiday Stories

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

A wonderful selection of 22 fantastical summer stories to read and share by one of the world's best-loved children's authors, Enid Blyton.School's out! So go on a picnic in the woods, visit the seaside or take a trip on a magic aeroplane in this enchanting collection of stories perfect for summer holidays. Enid Blyton has been delighting readers for more than seventy years with her endless summers of magic, fun and adventure. Enid's best-loved characters include Noddy the wooden boy, Timmy the dog from The Famous Five and the mischievous twins Pat and Isabel O'Sullivan from the much-loved boarding school series St Clare's!This collection contains original stories dating back to the 1930s.

Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Encyclopedia

Gotta catch 'em all! Immerse yourself in the Pokémon universe with this ultimate guide to the Pokémon animated series.Become a true Pokémon expert with this ultimate guide to the Pokémon animated series! 272 pages jam-packed with Pokémon stories, lessons, facts and figures, this amazing book features Pokédex references of each explored region, and the Pokémon encountered throughout Ash's incredible journey. The Pokémon Encyclopedia is the definitive reference for key characters, battles and places - it's an absolute must-have for all Pokémon fans. Immerse yourself in the Pokémon universe and learn the highest levels of Pokémon training. Gotta catch 'em all!

Franklin Watts

Mapping North America

Paul Rockett
Authors:
Paul Rockett
Franklin Watts

Mapping Africa

Paul Rockett
Authors:
Paul Rockett

This unique series gets close up to some amazing areas of our world, and allows readers the opportunity to explore key countries, topographical features and cities in a way that is both engaging and entertaining. In addition, each book highlights significant human, geographical, sporting and economic information.

Franklin Watts

Mapping Europe

Paul Rockett
Authors:
Paul Rockett

This unique series gets close up to some amazing areas of our world, and allows readers the opportunity to explore key countries, topographical features and cities in a way that is both engaging and entertaining. In addition, each book highlights significant human, geographical, sporting and economic information.

Franklin Watts

Mapping Australasia and Antarctica

Paul Rockett
Authors:
Paul Rockett
Orion Children's Books

The Serpent King

Helen Moss
Authors:
Helen Moss
Hodder Children's Books

Out of the Clouds

Diana Hendry
Authors:
Diana Hendry

The perfect book for fathers and sons to share - and for anyone who has ever been part of a crazy but loveable family.Oliver Coggin lives with his chaotic family in Dizzy Perch, a crazy house on top of a mountain somewhere remote in Scotland. With Pa away - on mysterious but exciting scientific research - Oliver keeps the household going. Not that everyone always listens to what he has to say. Or appreciates him. But what does Oliver want himself? He'd like to escape the house sometimes. He'd like a friend, like the new boy he sees in the village. Most of all, he'd like to understand why his father went away. And where's he's gone. So Oliver sets out on a long journey to get Pa back.

Franklin Watts

Mapping South America

Paul Rockett
Authors:
Paul Rockett

This unique series gets close up to some amazing areas of our world, and allows readers the opportunity to explore key countries, topographical features and cities in a way that is both engaging and entertaining. In addition, each book highlights significant human, geographical, sporting and economic information.

Franklin Watts

Mapping Asia

Paul Rockett
Authors:
Paul Rockett