Ali Standish - The Ethan I Was Before - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781408342909
    • Publication date:29 Jun 2017

The Ethan I Was Before

By Ali Standish

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

A touching and uplifting coming-of-age novel by a standout debut talent - perfect for fans of Wonder and A Boy Called Hope

My dare. My friend. My fault.

Uplifting and unpredictable, this poignant debut middle-grade novel is a classic in the making. Perfect for fans of Wonder and A Boy Called Hope.

Ethan had been many things. He was always ready for adventure and always willing to accept a dare, especially from his best friend, Kacey. But that was before. Before the accident that took Kacey from him. Before his family moved from the city he loves to a tiny town in the middle of nowhere.

Ethan's new home feels like the place for second chances. It's also home to Coralee, a girl with a big personality and even bigger stories. Coralee may be just the friend Ethan needs, except Ethan isn't the only one with secrets. Coralee's are catching up with her, and what she's hiding might be putting both their lives at risk.

The Ethan I Was Before is a story of friendship, wonder, adventure and ultimately of hope.

Biographical Notes

Ali Standish was raised in North Carolina. She has a BA in English and worked as a teacher and programme administrator in the US Public School system for four years. While teaching, she began an MFA in Children's Writing from Hollins University, from where she will graduate in May. In 2014 she moved to the UK with her Finnish fiancé. She currently lives in Cambridge, England, where she writes, edits and studies books for children. She also works as a part-time editor at Working Partners. As a teacher, Ali worked with many children who had suffered a loss or trauma and who often turned to stories to help them navigate their grief. THE ETHAN I WAS BEFORE was born from those experiences.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781408342923
  • Publication date: 29 Jun 2017
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: Orchard Books
Breathtakingly tender and poignant throughout... this is a book that will resonate with readers of any age. — The School Librarian
The emotional heart of the book is lovely. — Book Bag
Readers will be riveted — Publishers Weekly, starred review
This well-executed, first-person narrative succeeds largely dude to Standish's ability to give Ethan a vibrant presence and a voice that readers of all ages can identify with. Secondary characters, whom we see entirely from his perspective, are real and compelling. It challenges inpsires and entertains, with a satisfying, nail-biting ending. — The School Librarian
An emotionally powerful story... wonderful characterisation and a strong sense of place are just part of what makes this book feel like a future classic. — Book Trust
Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once 2

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Orchard Books

Untitled Ali Standish

Ali Standish
Authors:
Ali Standish
Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell

From the bestselling author of How to Train Your Dragon comes an exciting high-adventure series - set in an ancient, magical time, full of Wizards, Warriors, Giants and Sprites. This is the story of a young boy Wizard and a young girl Warrior who have been taught since birth to hate each other like poison; and the thrilling tale of what happens when their two worlds collide.Perfect for boys and girls who love fantasy adventure...Once there was Magic, and the Magic lived in the dark forests. Until the Warriors came...Xar is a Wizard boy who has no Magic, and will do anything to get it. Wish is a Warrior girl, but she owns a banned Magical Object, and she will do anything to conceal it. In this whirlwind adventure, Xar and Wish must forget their differences if they're going to make it to the dungeons at Warrior Fort. Where something that has been sleeping for hundreds of years is stirring...

Hodder Children's Books

Survival

Jenny Oldfield
Authors:
Jenny Oldfield

A family marooned on an island finds loveable dolphins to help them survive: classic adventure from million-copy-selling Jenny Oldfield. Shipwrecked near a tiny island in a vast ocean, the Fisher family are guided to safety by a small pod of dolphins. Fleur, Alfie, Mia and their parents must learn to build shelter, find fresh water and hunt for food. Each of the children forms a special bond with one of the family of dolphins. Fleur adores the fun-loving, tail-walking Jazz. Mia names her dark-grey dolphin friend Stormy. And Alfie is saved from the shipwreck by Pearl, who always looks out for him. Alfie and Mia don't realise how much they rely on their older sister until she is taken ill with a mysterious sickness. They'll do anything to save her - and perhaps the dolphins, too, can help Fleur pull through. Jenny Oldfield strikes gold in this exciting adventure story, the third in the Dolphin Island series, with beautiful full-page illustrations.

Hodder Children's Books

Fire!

Jenny Oldfield
Authors:
Jenny Oldfield

A family marooned on an island finds loveable dolphins to help them survive: classic adventure from million-copy-selling Jenny Oldfield. Shipwrecked near a tiny island in a vast ocean, the Fisher family are guided to safety by a small pod of dolphins. Fleur, Alfie, Mia and their parents must learn to build shelter, find fresh water and hunt for food. Each of the children forms a special bond with one of the family of dolphins. Fleur adores the fun-loving, tail-walking Jazz. Mia names her dark-grey dolphin friend Stormy. And Alfie is saved from the shipwreck by Pearl, who always looks out for him. Danger is on the island: from sharks near shore, to a mystery presence on the island itself. Day-to-day survival is everything ... and the dolphins are there to help! Jenny Oldfield strikes gold in this exciting adventure story, the fourth in the Dolphin Island series, with beautiful full-page illustrations.

Hodder Children's Books

The Little Broomstick

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart
Hodder Children's Books

Shield of Lies

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Franklin Watts

When someone dies

Dawn Hewitt, Ximena Jeria
Contributors:
Dawn Hewitt, Ximena Jeria
Orion Children's Books

The Trials of Morrigan Crow

Jessica Townsend
Authors:
Jessica Townsend
Hodder Children's Books

The Girl with the Lost Smile

Miranda Hart, Kate Hindley
Contributors:
Miranda Hart, Kate Hindley

This is a story guaranteed to make you laugh and cry: the first children's book from award-winning, bestselling author and comedian Miranda Hart. Chloe Long has lost her smile. She's looked everywhere for it. (Under her pillow. Under her bed. Under her nose. Obviously.)She's tried everything to bring it back. (Her favourite cake. Her favourite gran. Her favourite joke. Obviously.) But nothing seems to be working! Until one night, something utterly magical happens - and Chloe finds herself on an adventure that is out of this world ... With fabulous illustrations by Sainsbury's Book of the Year winner, Kate Hindley, THE GIRL WITH THE LOST SMILE takes you on an action-packed, magical journey that celebrates the power of the imagination, the wonder of true friendship and is guaranteed to make you smile. 'Is Miranda Hart a National Treasure yet? If not, it can only be a year or two before she joins Stephen Fry and Alan Bennett in the trophy cabinet of the country's affections ... That personality and voice belong to a uniquely cherished comedian ... there's nobody like Miranda.' Daily Mail

Quercus Children's Books

The Starman and Me

Sharon Cohen
Authors:
Sharon Cohen
Orchard Books

Stargirl

Jerry Spinelli
Authors:
Jerry Spinelli

She's as magical as the desert sky. As mysterious as her own name. Nobody knows who she is or where she's from. But everyone loves her for being different. And she captures Leo's heart with just one smile. STARGIRL is a classic of our time that celebrates being true to ourselves and the thrill of first love. A life-changing read that touches souls of all ages.

Orchard Books

The Mermaid's Sister

Holly Webb
Authors:
Holly Webb
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Queen Red Riding Hood's Guide to Royalty

Chris Colfer
Authors:
Chris Colfer

From bestselling author Chris Colfer comes a new book about a beloved character: Queen Red Riding Hood.The young queen gives us her take on politics, government, health, love, and of course, what it means to be royalty.A must-have for new and old fans alike.

Wayland

Macbeth

Anna Claybourne, Tom Morgan-Jones
Contributors:
Anna Claybourne, Tom Morgan-Jones

Is this a dagger which I see before me...?A power-hungry general, his crazed wife, three interfering witches and some terrifying ghosts... Read on, through murder and mayhem, to discover the gripping story of Macbeth, one of Shakespeare's most famous tragedies.Contains information about the background to Macbeth, its major themes, language, and Shakespeare's life during the time he was writing the play. Witches and witchcraft in 16th century England are also examined, to give the context in which the play was written. The Short, Sharp Shakespeare series consists of six books that retell Shakespeare's most famous plays in modern English. Clever illustrations accompany each title, making them a great introduction to the Bard for children aged 9 and above.

Orion Children's Books

The Tail of Emily Windsnap

Liz Kessler, Sarah Gibb
Contributors:
Liz Kessler, Sarah Gibb
Orion Children's Books

Emily Windsnap and the Monster from the Deep

Liz Kessler, Sarah Gibb
Contributors:
Liz Kessler, Sarah Gibb

Emily Windsnap is thrilled to arrive at her new home - a secret island near the Bermuda Triangle where humans and merfolk live together, and where being a girl who grows a tail as soon as she enters the water isn't a problem. But, being Emily, she can't resist exploring forbidden places, and, as a result, she inadvertently wakes the kraken - the legendary sea monster that has been asleep for two hundred years!Emily tries to undo the damage as the kraken's terrifying tentacles rise from the deep!Mermaid magic and a fabulous adventure focused on the power of friendship make this a real page-turner.

Orion Children's Books

Emily Windsnap and the Castle in the Mist

Liz Kessler, Natacha Ledwidge
Contributors:
Liz Kessler, Natacha Ledwidge

The magic ring that Emily Windsnap - half mermaid, half ordinary girl - finds buried in the sand belongs to Neptune, and he wants it back. But the ring, once on, won't come off, and an angry Neptune sends Emily's boat spinning away across the sea. When it comes to rest, she and her best friend, Shona, can see a mysterious castle shimmering in the mist on the horizon... Another magical adventure full of fun and friendship!

Orion Children's Books

Emily Windsnap and the Siren's Secret

Liz Kessler
Authors:
Liz Kessler
Orion Children's Books

Emily Windsnap and the Land of the Midnight Sun

Liz Kessler
Authors:
Liz Kessler