Ali Standish - The Ethan I Was Before - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781408342909
    • Publication date:29 Jun 2017

The Ethan I Was Before

By Ali Standish

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

A touching and uplifting coming-of-age novel by a standout debut talent - perfect for fans of Wonder and A Boy Called Hope

My dare. My friend. My fault.

Uplifting and unpredictable, this poignant debut middle-grade novel is a classic in the making. Perfect for fans of Wonder and A Boy Called Hope.

Ethan had been many things. He was always ready for adventure and always willing to accept a dare, especially from his best friend, Kacey. But that was before. Before the accident that took Kacey from him. Before his family moved from the city he loves to a tiny town in the middle of nowhere.

Ethan's new home feels like the place for second chances. It's also home to Coralee, a girl with a big personality and even bigger stories. Coralee may be just the friend Ethan needs, except Ethan isn't the only one with secrets. Coralee's are catching up with her, and what she's hiding might be putting both their lives at risk.

The Ethan I Was Before is a story of friendship, wonder, adventure and ultimately of hope.

Biographical Notes

Ali Standish was raised in North Carolina. She has a BA in English and worked as a teacher and programme administrator in the US Public School system for four years. While teaching, she began an MFA in Children's Writing from Hollins University, from where she will graduate in May. In 2014 she moved to the UK with her Finnish fiancé. She currently lives in Cambridge, England, where she writes, edits and studies books for children. She also works as a part-time editor at Working Partners. As a teacher, Ali worked with many children who had suffered a loss or trauma and who often turned to stories to help them navigate their grief. THE ETHAN I WAS BEFORE was born from those experiences.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781408342923
  • Publication date: 29 Jun 2017
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: Orchard Books
The emotional heart of the book is lovely. — Book Bag
Wayland

Mayans

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards
Orchard Books

Jewelbird

Ali Standish
Authors:
Ali Standish

Gully has lived in a children's home since the day her mother left - a victim of Owens family curse. Until the day that Mr and Mrs Izard - a wealthy and distant couple - decide to adopt Gully, out of the blue.Soon Gully is swept up in a life of luxury at the Izards' grand plantation home, although she can't shake the feeling that something is wrong - why have the Izards picked her, the poor black orphan with the bad leg? And when she discovers Mr Izard's secret garden, and the mysterious boy that seems to live within its walls, she sets out to find what the Izards are really hiding.

Wayland

A Top Secret History of Codes and Code Breaking

Roy Apps
Authors:
Roy Apps
Wayland

Early Life on Earth

Michael Bright
Authors:
Michael Bright

Early Life on Earth tracks the evolution of life on Earth, from its origins up to the imminent arrival of the dinosaurs. Take a closer look at the first multi-celled forms, the Cambrian explosion, the age of fish, giant insects and amphibians and the mass extinction that paved the way for dinosaurs. Using stunning photographs and graphic 3-D images, Early Life on Earth brings core curriculum subjects to life with an engaging design.Written by bestselling author Michael Bright, his digestible approach to science makes this the perfect book for project work or interest reading.

Wayland

Materials

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards
Wayland

Living Things

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards

Welcome to the world of infographics! This exciting form of data visualisation uses icons, pictograms and graphics to present information in a whole new way. Read how living things make more of themselves, explore how animals can live in large groups, and discover how food webs work - all visualised in beautifully designed infographics. Ideal for children of 9+, and fact and science geeks of all ages, finding out about living things has never been more exciting!

Wayland

Plants

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards

Welcome to the world of infographics! This exciting form of data visualisation uses icons, pictograms and graphics to present information in a whole new way. Read about the tallest and the smallest plants, see how flowers produce seeds, and discover how plants make energy - all visualised in beautifully designed infographics. Ideal for children of 9+, and fact and science geeks of all ages, finding out about plants has never been more exciting!

Wayland

The First World War

Jon Richards, Jonathan Vipond
Contributors:
Jon Richards, Jonathan Vipond

Providing a unique insight into the immense scale of this important, world-changing war, History in Infographics: The First World War helps children get to grips with the immense scale of the First World War. Find out the size of each country's army, see how many km of trenches there were, learn about the average age of soldiers and the amount of underage soldiers fighting, how many people were taken prisoner, how many zeppelins were built, how big the tanks were, what were the major battles and much, much more.History in Infographics helps children to visualise facts and statistics using a clever and appealing mix of graphics and numbers. The colourful, high-impact design will appeal to a wide range of children, from visual learners to struggling readers, capturing and then holding their attention. Infographics are a really exciting, different way to learn about core historical topics, and are ideal for fact-hungry children, revision work, and to improve the quality of presentations. Ideal for children of 9+, and fact and history lovers of all ages

Wayland

Forces

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards
Wayland

Light and Sound

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards

Welcome to the world of infographics! This exciting form of data visualisation uses icons, pictograms and graphics to present information in a whole new way. Wonder at the speed of light, read about sound waves and how we hear them, and discover how shadows are formed - all visualised in beautifully designed infographics. Ideal for children of 9+, and fact and science geeks of all ages, finding out about light and sound has never been more exciting!

Franklin Watts

Understanding Transgender

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Franklin Watts

Players

James Nixon
Authors:
James Nixon

Find out who are the top footballers in the world today and what makes them so great. Featuring over 50 superstars, from tough-tackling defenders and midfield destroyers to superb shot-stoppers and prolific goalscorers.The Football World series takes a broad look at football on the world stage, covering players, leagues, competitions and the history of football. Each title includes statistics and fun facts and is perfect for football fans who want to know it all.

Franklin Watts

Leagues

James Nixon
Authors:
James Nixon
Franklin Watts

The Ancient World

Alex Woolf
Authors:
Alex Woolf

What developments in government and politics, food and farming, architecture, science, art and medicine were there in the ancient civilisations of Mesopotamia and Egypt, and how did these compare with those made during the same time period by the Shang Dynasty, the Assyrians and the Phoenicians? What was happening at the same time in the Persian Empire and in Oceania? Packed with beautiful illustrations, this book, in the Parallel History series for readers upwards of age nine, will help you to explore the ancient world chronologically, with timelines to show you when major events and achievements took place.

Franklin Watts

Summer's Story - Living with Epilepsy

Andy Glynne
Authors:
Andy Glynne

This powerful and eye opening picture book that uses the first-person testimony of Summer, a 12 year-old living with epilepsy. Summer explains the different forms of epilepsy that she suffers from, absent seizures and tonic clonic seizures. Summer talks about how her condition affects her everyday life and the emotional challenges she faces. The open and clear text encourages students to empathise with other children's differences and recognizes the similarities between their own lives and hers. The BAFTA award-winning stories were originally produced as animations for the BBC. Aimed at children aged 9 and up, these powerful and evocative stories have now been captured in book form as rich, visual testimonies of the impact an illness has on a child's daily life and how they cope and are able to enjoy the life that they have.

Wayland

Computing and Coding in the Real World

Clive Gifford
Authors:
Clive Gifford

Computing and Coding in the Real World looks at applied coding and the computation hidden in the world that surrounds us. Readers will learn how things work, from scanners at supermarket checkouts and distance sensors on cars to 3D printers. Features give practical activities for readers to try. These 'try at home' examples help reinforce learning and are not linked to specific software or operating systems. Real-world anecdotes from the world of information technology look at the forerunners of digital technology that have paved the way for coders today.Provides support to many teachers who are not subject specialists in this area and who can use this book for ideas, inspiration and materials. The book doesn't rely on a particular software/OS.Other titles in the Get Ahead in Computing series: Amazing Applications & Perfect Programs; Awesome Algorithms & Creative Coding; Great Games and Amazing Animation; Super Social Media and Awesome Online Safety; The Science of Computers; Web Page Design

Orchard Books

Must End Soon

Jonathan Meres
Authors:
Jonathan Meres

The TWELFTH - AND FINAL - hilarious title in this award-winning, laugh-out-loud series. Get ready for Norm's most outrageous adventure yet!For fans of Diary of a Wimpy Kid and David Walliams.

Franklin Watts

Self-esteem and Mental Health

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne

Growing up isn't always easy - your brain is changing and there's many things to cope with from new emotions to stress. This book explores what is self-esteem and mental health and why it's important and looks at topics such as mental illness, phobias, eating disorders and self-harm. It looks at techniques to deal with issues including stress reduction, mindfulness and assertiveness.Is is part of the series Healthy for Life, which gives factual information on a range of health issues so teens can get the information they need to be healthy. The books feature fun infographic style illustrations.

Wayland

Normans

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

The Normans invaded countries across Europe and played an important role in the history of England. Find out how the Normans beat the Anglo-Saxons, why William the Conqueror made the Domesday Book, and how they changed the English language. Inside you can read about: invasions and battles how to make a shield the story of the Battle of Hastings castles and cathedrals lords and peasants

Wayland

Birth of the Dinosaurs

Michael Bright
Authors:
Michael Bright

The Birth of the Dinosaurs explores the age of reptiles and dinosaurs until their sudden demise approximately 65 million years ago. Take a closer look at the first birds and mammals who dominated the Earth, the origin of flowering plants, the rise of plant- and meat-eating dinosaurs and then their mass extinction. Using stunning photographs and graphic 3-D images, The Birth of the Dinosaurs brings core curriculum subjects to life with an engaging design.Written by bestselling author Michael Bright, his digestible approach to science makes this the perfect book for project work or interest reading.