Leo Hunt - Eight Rivers of Shadow - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781408337493
    • Publication date:14 Jul 2016
Books in this series

Eight Rivers of Shadow

Thirteen Days of Midnight Trilogy Book 2

By Leo Hunt

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

Luke thought his time with the undead was over...

A thrilling supernatural adventure: dark, funny, with twists at every turn. The sequel to Thirteen Days of Midnight, shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Prize 2016.

Luke Manchett used to be one of the most popular boys at school.
That was before his necromancer father died and left him a host of vengeful ghosts that wanted him dead.
Now everyone thinks he's a freak.
To make matters worse, the mysterious new girl at school is actually the daughter of his father's deadliest enemy...
And she's out for revenge.

Biographical Notes

Leo Hunt was born in Newcastle upon Tyne in 1991. He grew up around books, and his mother's job at Seven Stories in Newcastle left a strong impression on his choice of career. He realised he wanted to either be an author or an archeologist - but when he learned that archaeologists didn't unearth piles of perfectly preserved dinosaur bones every time they put a spade in the ground, he decided on the former.

Leo started writing Thirteen Days of Midnight when he was 19, in his first year at the University of East Anglia. He graduated in 2014 with a First Class Honours degree in American Literature and Creative Writing. He currently lives in London.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781408337486
  • Publication date: 14 Jul 2016
  • Page count: 384
  • Imprint: Orchard Books
Full of fantastical thrills, supernatural spills and wail-out-loud wit, this sublimely plotted sequel to Thirteen Days of Midnight is a riotously riveting read. — lovereading4kids.co.uk
Praise for Thirteen Days of Midnight (book 1): a self-assured debut that's as funny as it is terrifying — Publishers Weekly
Praise for Thirteen Days of Midnight (book 1):An exciting read ... thrilling and spooky — The Week Junior
I'm rendered speechless. I had high hopes for Eight Rivers of Shadow and Leo Hunt has exceeded them in every possible way. — Addicted to Media
Hunt's ear for teen voices is acute - in a sub-genre overwhelmed by twinkly vampires, it is salutary to have a ballsy, convincing adolescent male voice. — The Guardian
Orchard Books

Bridesmaid Surprise – Two magical adventures in one!

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Orchard Books

Equestria Girls: Magic, Magic Everywhere!

Perdita Finn
Authors:
Perdita Finn
Orchard Books

Grymon the Biting Horror

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Battle Beasts and fight Evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up!The Dark Wizard Malvel is using ancient magic to summon four Beasts from the Netherworld! First, Tom and Elenna must tackle Grymon, a Beast that can claw its way through solid earth...There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Grymon the Biting Horror; Skrar the Night Scavenger; Tarantix the Bone Spider and Lypida the Shadow Fiend

Orchard Books

Skrar the Stone Crawler

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Battle Beasts and fight Evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up!The second of Malvel's terrible Netherworld Beasts has come to attack Avantia. It's time for Tom and Elenna to battle Skrar, a Beast whose magical flames make him a fearsome enemy... There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Grymon the Biting Horror; Skrar the Night Scavenger; Tarantix the Bone Spider and Lypida the Shadow Fiend

Orchard Books

Tarantix the Bone Spider

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Lypida the Shadow Fiend

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Deception

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry

Some things can't be cured, can't be stopped, can't die ... Don't miss this startling second book in a breathtaking new trilogy from Teri Terry, queen of the teen thriller and author of the bestselling SLATED trilogy.An epidemic is sweeping the country.You are among the infected. There is no cure; and you cannot be permitted to infect others. You are now under quarantine. The 5% of the infected who survive are dangerous and will be taken into the custody of the army.With Shay gone, Callie has no way of communicating with her brother, Kai. But together they must discover the origins of the disease. As the epidemic becomes ever more widespread and survivors are being hunted like witches by authorities fearful of their strange new powers, speaking out is making Kai the new number one target. And he's running out of places to hide.From the author of the international sensation Slated comes the second book in a powerful new story of survival and transformation; love and power.

Orchard Books

Star Science

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

A magical series where best friends become Secret Princesses! This book is a special long length for even more magical fun. Best friends Charlotte and Mia can't bear it when Charlotte's family moves far away. But when they become trainee Secret Princesses they begin an amazing adventure together - and they can see each other whenever they like!Once in a blue moon, a tiara shaped constellation forms high in the sky above Wishing Star Palace. The four girls that make a wish on these special stars get their wishes granted by the Secret Princesses ... but Princess Poison is determined that this year the wishes won't come true ...Have you read all four books in series four: The Moonstone Collection?

Orchard Books

Midnight Feast

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

A magical series where best friends become Secret Princesses! This book is a special long length for even more magical fun. Best friends Charlotte and Mia can't bear it when Charlotte's family moves far away. But when they become trainee Secret Princesses they begin an amazing adventure together - and they can see each other whenever they like!Once in a blue moon, a tiara shaped constellation forms high in the sky above Wishing Star Palace. The four girls that make a wish on these special stars get their wishes granted by the Secret Princesses ... but Princess Poison is determined that this year the wishes won't come true ...Have you read all four books in series four: The Moonstone Collection?

Orchard Books

Pet Rescue

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Orchard Books

Stage Spell

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Wayland

Natural Habitats

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele
Wayland

Food

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele

Food is fundamental to life on Earth. The struggle to find or grow food, and often failing, is the story of human history. Today we have more varities of food and production methods than ever before, but there has perhaps never been less connection with the land that produces food, and with farming. And despite all the incredible progress that has been made, today nearly 11 per cent of the world's population is undernourished. This book, in the Question It! series for readers upwards of age ten, will explore these important topics in a balanced and objective way, encouraging readers to take a questioning approach to the issues surrounding the global food supply.

Hodder Children's Books

The Unicorn's Foal

Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters
Contributors:
Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters

The fourth in a magical, exciting adventure by Olympic gold medallist Jessica Ennis-Hill. Perfect for fans of Rainbow Magic and My Little Pony! What if you had a special bracelet that let you become invisible whenever you wanted? Evie's grandma has sent her another parcel. Inside layers of tissue and colourful ribbons is a beautiful bracelet! A unicorn foal is lost in the park! Evie's going to need the bracelet - and a brave heart - to help him. But she's always ready to have some magical adventures! Evie shares Jessica's determination and drive - an inspiration for kids everywhere.

Hodder Children's Books

Crash Landing

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore
Hodder Children's Books

Satellite

Nick Lake
Authors:
Nick Lake

The Martian for teens - an epic, highly original space thriller with real science and heartbreaking beauty.Leo has never set foot on Earth. Born and raised with twins Orion and Libra on the Moon 2 Space Station, they have grown up together in the most extraordinary of ways. Now, they are preparing to make their first trip home - their first journey to Earth. But Leo, Orion and Libra cannot possibly imagine the irreversible consequences that their return will set into motion...

Orchard Books

Ballet Dream

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

Secret Princesses is a gorgeous new series about magical princesses and best friends. In this winter special there are two stories for even more magical fun! Trainee Secret Princesses, Charlotte and Mia, are excited about christmas celebrations at the magical Wishing Star Palace. But evil Princess Poison is determined to spoil everyone's festive fun. Can Charlotte and Mia grant the wishes of two best friends and make sure that their Chrstmas dreams come true?Join Charlotte and Mia in this brilliant adventure full of princess sparkle and seasonal excitement!

Franklin Watts

Players

Pete May
Authors:
Pete May

A fun look at the World Cup that features all the facts and stats, lists and essential data that boys (and lots of girls!) of all ages love. This book counts down the ten best players in World Cup history, from Maradona to Manuel Neuer, and looks forward to the games and players that will light up the 2018 World Cup. Written by a successful journalist and social commentator with a particular interest in football, each book includes a big quiz so that readers can challenge their friends to see who is the real Football Expert! Perfect for readers aged 7 and up.

Hodder Children's Books

Moxie

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu
Orchard Books

My A to Z of Fairies

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

No Rainbow Magic fan should be without this sparkling compendium of fairy fun. From A to Z, this book is jam-packed with magical facts and figures from the world of the fairies and their friends! It's everything you need to be a true Rainbow Magic expert!