Tatum Flynn - The D'Evil Diaries - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781408335772
    • Publication date:02 Apr 2015
Books in this series

The D'Evil Diaries

Book 1

By Tatum Flynn

  • Paperback
  • £5.99

Welcome to Hell...you're going to love it here!

A hilarious, crackling, original debut about an unlucky demon, perfect for fans of Derek Landy and Eoin Colfer.

Twelve-year-old Jinx is hopeless at being evil. Which is a bit of a problem when you're Lucifer's youngest son. But when Jinx runs away from Pandemonium, the walled city he's lived in all his life, he bumps into dead girl Tommy - who's been sent to Hell for accidentally feeding her nasty uncle to a circus lion - and unearths a conspiracy that could up-end the entire underworld.

Cue shenanigans involving carnivorous carousel horses, death-trap-riddled libraries and hungry quicksand. Now the fate of the realm rests in the hands of its most unlikely demon and a girl who shouldn't be in Hell at all...

Biographical Notes

Tatum Flynn has worked as an English teacher in Italy, a croupier on a Caribbean cruise ship and a travel writer all over the world. Now she lives by the seaside with a cat called Friday. She was commended in the Greenhouse Funny Prize and this is her first book.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781408335765
  • Publication date: 02 Apr 2015
  • Page count: 272
  • Imprint: Orchard Books
An unusual, very funny story with plenty of laugh aloud moments mixed with some nail biting ones and plot twists that keep you gripped to the end — Primary Times
The D'Evil Diaries is comedy adventure at its best — Bookzone 4 Boys
An unusual, very funny story with plenty of laugh aloud moments mixed with some nail biting ones, and plot twiata that keep you gripped to the end — Primary Times
Brilliantly funny and clever — The Bookseller
Enormously fun, in the vein of Rick Riordan — Stephanie Burgis, author of Kat, Incorrigible
Once in a while a children's book comes along that is so inventive, and witty, and different, that you want to hug it. — Minerva Reads
I'm not sure what I am most envious of - Tatum Flynn's incredible imagination or her hilarious sense of humour. The world building was astounding. A really great debut novel — Serendipity Reviews
Pitched somewhere between Douglas Adams and Terry Gilliam - irreverent, funny and touching. — Allan Boroughs, author of Ironheart
Utterly original, darkly funny - really loved it! — Nigel McDowell, author of The Black North
Ridiculously imaginative, with a sense of humour sharper than one of Dracula's fangs! A snortingly funny debut — writing.ie
All the characters are hilarious and refreshingly unique... wrapped up in humour so sharp it could give you a paper cut. — Nikki Sheehan, author of Who Framed Klaris Cliff
An incredibly imaginative world full of spikemoths, wererhinos, spooky forests and haunted amusement parks, to the point where I got ridiculously excited at any hint of going to a new place because I couldn't wait to see who or what lived there — NK Traver, author of Duplicity
Tatum Flynn could very well be a new name to watch in children's literature, and no doubt The D'Evil Diaries will find a beloved home with 10+ readers. I'm looking forward to more from Jinx and Tommy in the future! — Wondrous Reads
A hilarious, crackling, original debut about an unlucky demon, perfect for fans of Derek Landy and Eoin Colfer — Luna's Little Library
Franklin Watts

A Jewish Life

Cath Senker
Authors:
Cath Senker
Franklin Watts

A Hindu Life

Cath Senker
Authors:
Cath Senker

The faith you follow is with you from the moment you are born, until the moment you die (and beyond). Each book follows the rich, cultural and colourful traditions, events, rituals, celebrations, foods, buildings, clothing and more that make up one major religion. Beautiful, bright, bold and modern - these books bring religious non-fiction right up to date and make them relevant and essential reading for followers of a faith and for anyone interested to learn what a religion is all about.These books support the national curriculum guidelines for religious education for children aged 8+, and promote religion's approach to tolerance and kindness.

Wayland

What is Gender? How Does It Define Us? And Other Big Questions for Kids

Juno Dawson
Authors:
Juno Dawson
Orchard Books

Lair of the Fire Lizard

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

An epic new adventure series from bestselling author Adam Blade!Ordinary kids with extraordinary powers gather in a secret school to be trained to fight the forces of darkness.Hero Academy teacher Ms Steel is missing and Jack, Ruby and Danny are determined to find her. Their quest takes them to an underground swamp: the lair of the dreaded Tartania!

Orion Children's Books

Shadows of the Lost Sun

Carrie Ryan, John Parke Davis
Authors:
Carrie Ryan, John Parke Davis
Franklin Watts

Cristiano Ronaldo

Roy Apps
Authors:
Roy Apps
Orchard Books

Magror, Ogre of the Swamps

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

The latest book in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls!Long before Tom has the title, his father Taladon is squire to the Master of the Beasts in Avantia. And when Evil Wizard Malvel opens a portal to Gorgonia, it is up to young Taladon to stop the kingdom from falling into wicked hands...

Hodder Children's Books

Binny Bewitched

Hilary Mckay
Authors:
Hilary Mckay

The third book in the heartwarming series about Binny and her family.Binny Cornwallis has lost something. Something that wasn't really hers in the first place. With her best enemy Gareth and her beloved dog Max she turns detective to track it down, but the Cornwallis family are anything but helpful. Little brother James and his friend Dill are having an adventure of their own and big sister Clem is acting very strangely. And on top of all this, Binny suspects their next-door neighbour may be a witch ...'Hilary McKay's books are so good you want to climb inside the covers and live there.' - The Telegraph

Orchard Books

Sianne the Butterfly Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Equestria Girls: Legend of Everfree

Perdita Finn
Authors:
Perdita Finn

In the human world, far from Equestria, there are some very familiar girls. Meet Pinkie Pie, Rainbow Dash and all their freinds as you've never seen them before! The Equestria Girls are off on their summer holidays to Camp Everfree, but the camp is in danger of closing down! Can Fluttershy and her friends pony up and throw a fundraising show in time to save their summer? And what is the mysterious legend of Everfree?

Hodder Children's Books

The Enchanted Puppy

Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters
Contributors:
Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters
Orchard Books

Emma Littleleap Takes a Chance

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Lily and Jess are on a trip to Magic Mountain, where all of Friendship Forest's magic is made. But horrid Grizelda keeps trying to get in the way of the animals' important jobs! Can tiny goat Emma Littleleap help return the power to Magic Mountain before it's too late?

Orchard Books

Falkor the Coiled Terror

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Only a mighty magic could awaken the ancient snake-Beast Falkor. But when things go awry in Avantia, it seems the Beast's power has fallen into the wrong hands. Tom and Elenna must seek Falkor in his lair if they are to keep the kingdom safe from this dark force.Don't miss this new bumper special edition of the bestselling series!

Orchard Books

Tiana the Toy Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Orchard Books

Holly Santapaws Saves Christmas

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

It's Christmas in the magical land of Friendship Forest, and Lily and Jess are invited to a wedding! But when wicked witch Grizelda turns up on her sleigh, both Christmas and the wedding are in trouble. Can little puppy Holly Santapaws help the girls save the day?

Orchard Books

Hydror the Ocean Hunter

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Mimi the Laughter Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Orchard Books

The Fairyland Costume Ball

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Learning to read is fun with the Rainbow Magic Fairies! Developed in conjunction with Early Years reading consultants and based on the most up-to-date educational research, the Rainbow Magic Beginner Readers are the perfect way to introduce your child to the magical world of reading.

Orchard Books

Mary the Sharing Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Orchard Books

Fizz the Fireworks Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Kirsty and Rachel are delighted to be going to the Sundown Village fireworks festival. But when Jack Frost steals Fizz the Fireworks Fairy's magical objects, it looks like the show will fizzle out before it's begun! Can Kirsty and Rachel help get them back and return the sparkle to Sundown?