Christopher William Hill - What Manor of Murder? - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £11.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781408346402
    • Publication date:05 Oct 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781408332948
    • Publication date:12 Jul 2018
Books in this series

What Manor of Murder?

By Christopher William Hill

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

A BLEAKLEY BROTHERS MYSTERY by OSBERT THE AVENGER author Christopher William Hill

A BLEAKLEY BROTHERS MYSTERY by OSBERT THE AVENGER author Christopher William Hill

What's that you say? You're off to Bleakley Manor? On Michaelmas eve? But dear child, hasn't anyone told you the legend of Old Bramble Head, who rises once a year to claim another victim from the unfortunate Bleakley household...

Which one will it be this time? And could there be foul play? Crime-busting brothers Horatio and Eustace Bleakley feel certain they smell a rat. Or is that Cook's dinner?

More importantly, can they solve the mystery before another Bleakley bites the dust?

Go ahead and find out... if you dare!

Biographical Notes

Christopher William Hill was born in Truro, in Cornwall - a little jaundiced, but that was to be expected in the grim days of the 1970s. His mother was a former nurse, so Christopher grew up with a copy of Black's Medical Dictionary to hand, which was ideal reading matter for an enthusiastic hypochondriac. He liked acting and putting on silly voices, and collecting ancient relics which he gathered in a large walk-in wardrobe that called his 'museum'. Christopher loves walking, ocean liners, airships, Victoriana and cake shops.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781408332931
  • Publication date: 12 Jul 2018
  • Page count: 256
  • Imprint: Orchard Books
Orchard Books

Help! I Smell a Monster

Justin Davies
Authors:
Justin Davies

This book STINKS . . . of monsters!When Alice is sent to stay with her Uncle Magnus, she soon realises that his job agency isn't quite ... normal. It helps monsters find work that makes the most of their unique talons - er, talents. Alice is shocked to discover that monsters are EVERYWHERE. There's even a Cyclops working in the castle as a pastry chef! But when he suddenly disappears, Alice smells something fishy. Can she and her uncle sniff out the missing monster before it's too late?Perfect for fans of Pamela Butchart and David Solomons.

Wren & Rook

Natural Wonders of the World

Molly Oldfield, Federica Bordoni
Contributors:
Molly Oldfield, Federica Bordoni

Orchard Books

Doggy Drama

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Franklin Watts

Robin Hood and the Golden Arrow

Elizabeth Dale
Authors:
Elizabeth Dale
Franklin Watts

Enter The Penguin

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Franklin Watts

Killer Custard

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Franklin Watts

Max and the Gladiator

Damian Harvey
Authors:
Damian Harvey

Max is on a school trip to Chester to visit some Roman ruins. As he takes a little nap after lunch he is suddenly transported back in time ... and before him stands a fully armed Roman Gladiator! This story is part of Reading Champion, a series carefully linked to book bands to encourage independent reading skills, developed with Dr Sue Bodman and Glen Franklin of UCL Institute of Education (IOE)Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Franklin Watts

Werewolf

Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Authors:
Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Franklin Watts

Comparing Countries: Games and Entertainment (English/French)

Sabrina Crewe
Authors:
Sabrina Crewe

How do children have fun in other countries? Travel the world with Games and Entertainment to see the activities that people enjoy, from sport and games to art and music. Comparing Countries is a groundbreaking non-fiction dual-language series which compares and contrasts ways of life in ten different countries around the world. Presented in two different languages, each title explores a topic common to all children, from homes to festivals, highlighting what makes us different and what we all have in common. This series provides great support to geography learning, as well as helping young language learners improve their reading skills.Perfect for readers aged 7 and up.

Franklin Watts

Mutant

Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Authors:
Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow

Take on the role of the Monster Hunter in this fully interactive, flick-through-the pages, choose-your-own-destiny adventure story.YOU are an agent of G.H.O.S.T. - protecting the world from creatures in the shadows. Dr Omega is creating mutanthumans - turning them into monsters. Your mission is to stop her experiments.Written by the award-winning duo Steve Barlow and Steve SkidmoreAge appropriate for 8+. Also suitable for reluctant readers and less confident older readers. Printed using a font approved by the British Dyslexia Association.

Franklin Watts

Comparing Countries: Games and Entertainment (English/Spanish)

Sabrina Crewe
Authors:
Sabrina Crewe

How do children have fun in other countries? Travel the world with Games and Entertainment to see the activities that people enjoy, from sport and games to art and music. Comparing Countries is a groundbreaking non-fiction dual-language series which compares and contrasts ways of life in ten different countries around the world. Presented in two different languages, each title explores a topic common to all children, from homes to festivals, highlighting what makes us different and what we all have in common. This series provides great support to geography learning, as well as helping young language learners improve their reading skills.Perfect for readers aged 7 and up.

Franklin Watts

Comparing Countries: Games and Entertainment (English/Polish)

Sabrina Crewe
Authors:
Sabrina Crewe

How do children have fun in other countries? Travel the world with Games and Entertainment to see the activities that people enjoy, from sport and games to art and music. Comparing Countries is a groundbreaking non-fiction dual-language series which compares and contrasts ways of life in ten different countries around the world. Presented in two different languages, each title explores a topic common to all children, from homes to festivals, highlighting what makes us different and what we all have in common. This series provides great support to geography learning, as well as helping young language learners improve their reading skills.Perfect for readers aged 7 and up.

Franklin Watts

Comparing Countries: Games and Entertainment (English/Urdu)

Sabrina Crewe
Authors:
Sabrina Crewe

How do children have fun in other countries? Travel the world with Games and Entertainment to see the activities that people enjoy, from sport and games to art and music. Comparing Countries is a groundbreaking non-fiction dual-language series which compares and contrasts ways of life in ten different countries around the world. Presented in two different languages, each title explores a topic common to all children, from homes to festivals, highlighting what makes us different and what we all have in common. This series provides great support to geography learning, as well as helping young language learners improve their reading skills.Perfect for readers aged 7 and up.

Franklin Watts

Comparing Countries: Games and Entertainment (English/Arabic)

Sabrina Crewe
Authors:
Sabrina Crewe
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Ultimate Book Hugger's Guide

Chris Colfer
Authors:
Chris Colfer

A behind-the-scenes look at the world of the Land of Stories - the No.1 New York Times bestselling series, from Golden Globe-winning actor, Chris Colfer.A combination travel guide, encyclopedia, and exciting fan compendium, this ultimate guidebook includes sections such as "Who's Who," "Places to Go," and "Trinkets, Treasures, and Other Things" that explore the backgrounds and histories of the many characters, places, and magic items throughout the beloved Land of Stories series.Perfect for new and mega-fans alike, this full-colour guidebook illustrated by series artist Brandon Dorman captures the magical ins and outs of the Land of Stories we know and love and delivers new, never-before-seen art and information sure to thrill and satisfy readers.

Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once: Twice Magic

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell

The No.1 Bestselling SeriesEnter a land of wizards, warriors, mythical creatures and powerful magic in an exciting fantasy adventure from the author of How To Train Your Dragon. Witches are creating havoc in the Wildwoods and danger lurks behind every tree trunk. Wish is in possession of a powerful, Magic Spelling Book. Xar has a dangerous Witchstain on his hand. Wish and Xar are separated by the highest wall imaginable. But time is running out ... It was unlikely that these heroes should meet in the first place. Is it possible they are destined to meet TWICE? 'The detail of Cowell's world is a delight ...This one will run and run' The ObserverDiscover the magic of Cressida Cowell.

Orchard Books

Princess Prom: Two magical adventures in one!

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Orchard Books

Cara the Coding Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Wayland

What Is Fake News?

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

The term 'fake news' may be relatively new, but the idea of presenting false information as a legitimate news story in an attempt to influence public opinion certainly isn't. This book looks at the various ways in which people receive information and the risks of being manipulated by half-truths, rumours or lies. It considers what motivates those who create and disseminate fake news and aks what societies and individuals can do to spot and stop fake news.

Franklin Watts

Greg Rutherford

Roy Apps
Authors:
Roy Apps