Christopher William Hill - What Manor of Murder? - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £11.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781408346402
    • Publication date:05 Oct 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781408332948
    • Publication date:12 Jul 2018
Books in this series

What Manor of Murder?

By Christopher William Hill

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

A BLEAKLEY BROTHERS MYSTERY by OSBERT THE AVENGER author Christopher William Hill

A BLEAKLEY BROTHERS MYSTERY by OSBERT THE AVENGER author Christopher William Hill

What's that you say? You're off to Bleakley Manor? On Michaelmas eve? But dear child, hasn't anyone told you the legend of Old Bramble Head, who rises once a year to claim another victim from the unfortunate Bleakley household...

Which one will it be this time? And could there be foul play? Crime-busting brothers Horatio and Eustace Bleakley feel certain they smell a rat. Or is that Cook's dinner?

More importantly, can they solve the mystery before another Bleakley bites the dust?

Go ahead and find out... if you dare!

Biographical Notes

Christopher William Hill was born in Truro, in Cornwall - a little jaundiced, but that was to be expected in the grim days of the 1970s. His mother was a former nurse, so Christopher grew up with a copy of Black's Medical Dictionary to hand, which was ideal reading matter for an enthusiastic hypochondriac. He liked acting and putting on silly voices, and collecting ancient relics which he gathered in a large walk-in wardrobe that called his 'museum'. Christopher loves walking, ocean liners, airships, Victoriana and cake shops.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781408332931
  • Publication date: 12 Jul 2018
  • Page count: 256
  • Imprint: Orchard Books
Traditional who-dunnit in a sort of Enid Blyton/Agatha Christie blend, with an added hint of Snicket! Good macabre period read involving butlers, isolated gothic mansions and eccentric uncles & aunts... — Peters Books
Orchard Books

Marius and the Band of Blood

Christopher William Hill
Authors:
Christopher William Hill

A gruseomely funny series for fans of Roald Dahl and Lemony Snicket.Meet Marius Myerdorf, the newest recruit of Schwartzgarten's most secret of societies. His is a tale of adventure and abduction, friendship and fearlessness, as The Band of Blood race against time to unmask two of the foulest fiends in the history of the Great City. The deeds are DASTARDLY. The twists are TERRIFYING. And happy endings are NOT always guaranteed. If you prefer CLEAVERS to KITTENS and FIENDS to FAIRIES... ...then welcome to the gruesomely funny Tales from Schwartzgarten.

Wayland

Richard Branson

Liz Gogerly
Authors:
Liz Gogerly

The series focuses on the people who inspire children today. This book looks at the background, life and achievements of Richard Brandon, his impact on popular culture as well as detailing the everyday facets of his job and how he has gained such success.

Orchard Books

The Lily-Livered Prince

Christopher William Hill
Authors:
Christopher William Hill

Meet Eugene, the most portly of princes, and Kalvitas, the most courageous of chocolate makers. Theirs is a tale of cakes and cowardice, bullies and battles, as they set out to defeat a terrifying tyrant.The characters are CURSED. The deserts are DEADLY. And people are NOT always as they appear...

Orchard Books

The Woebegone Twins

Christopher William Hill
Authors:
Christopher William Hill

When twins Greta and Feliks are sent to the ill-omened Schwartzgarten Reformatory for Maladjusted Children it seems their fate is sealed: that is until they are rescued by the glamorous Olga Van Veenen, a fabulously wealthy children's author, plagued by writer's block. But Olga's life is apparently in danger, threatened by a second-rate novelist who wishes to see his rival dead. When Olga and her faithful retainer, Valentin, disappear from the eerie and imposing Castle Van Veenen, many miles north by train from Schwartzgarten's Imperial Railway Station, Greta and Feliks conclude that the murderous novelist has finally exacted his revenge on Olga. Only by using their wits are the twins able to rescue their guardian before it is too late. As if by magic, Olga's writer's block lifts, and she quickly produces and publishes a new book for children. The novel has eerie similarities to the twins' adventures in Castle Van Veenen, and Greta and Feliks begin to question whether their guardian has deliberately placed them in danger for literary inspiration. But Olga Van Veenen has come too far to have her reputation muddied by the allegations of the twins, and will stop at nothing to silence them forever.

Hodder Children's Books

Secret Seven Win Through

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Solve the mystery with the Secret Seven - everyone's favourite detective club! These timeless stories are perfect for young fans of mystery, adventure or detective series. Also available in audiobook! In book seven, the Secret Seven have a fantastic new hiding place, but somebody else has been using it too. Whoever it is is going there at night, and the gang are determined to catch the cheeky intruder, whatever it takesSolve the mystery! Cover and inside illustrations are by the brilliant Tony Ross, illustrator of David Walliams's books. The story was first published in 1955. This edition features the classic text and comes with a Bonus Blyton section at the back with quizzes, puzzles and other bonus extras! Enid Blyton ®, The Secret Seven ® and Enid Blyton's signature are Registered Trademarks of Hodder and Stoughton Limited. No trademark or copyrighted material may be reproduced without the express written permission of the trademark and copyright owner.

Orchard Books

Osbert the Avenger

Christopher William Hill
Authors:
Christopher William Hill

Like Roald Dahl - but different!The first book in the gruesomely funny Tales from Schwartzgarten series.Meet Osbert Brinkhoff, the unlikeliest of avengers. His is a tale of dark delights and ghastly goings-on, of injustice and revenge. The villains are vicious. The settings are sinister. And good does NOT always prevail...If you prefer cleavers to kittens and fiends to fairies...then welcome to the GRUESOMELY FUNNY Tales from Schwartzgarten.-Osbert the Avenger is the first in a thrilling series of four books, all set in the fictional city of Schwartzgarten-With shades of Lemony Snicket and Roald Dahl, the Tales from Schwartzgarten are as hilarious as they are dark-These brilliantly woven mock-gothic horror stories have huge child appeal

Wayland

Usain Bolt

Simon Hart
Authors:
Simon Hart

Anita Ganeri

Anita Ganeri is an award-winning author of children's information books. She has been a writer for 20 years, after working in-house for Usborne Publishing and Walker Books. She specialises in the natural world, religion and mythology but is always looking for new challenges. Among her many titles are the best-selling 'Horrible Geography' series for Scholastic Children's Books which won the Blue Peter Book Award for the Best Book with Facts in 2009 and the Tivy Education Medal from the Royal Scottish Geographical Society for an outstanding contribution to geographical education. Anita lives in northern England with her husband, children, dogs and cat. She enjoys reading, walking the Moors, playing tennis and dreaming of winning Wimbledon.

Chris Oxlade

Chris Oxlade, is an experienced writer of information books for children. He specializes in science and technology, and has written more than sixty titles, on subjects ranging from kites to virtual reality as well as books on various forms of transport.

Clare Hibbert

Clare specializes in non-fiction books for children of pre- and primary school age. Her favourite subjects are animals, history, art and culture. She has been shortlisted for the prestigious Aventis Junior Science Prize, and won a dozen Practical Pre-School Gold Awards. When she's not writing, Clare likes spending time with her family, taking long walks, going to the theatre and watching contemporary dance - her favourite dancer is Akram Khan.

Colin Hynson

Colin Hynson is an experienced children's and educational writer and broadcaster. He also acts as an educational consultant for museums and heritage sites.

Jen Green

Jen Green received a doctorate from the University of Sussex (Dept of English and American Studies) in 1982. She worked in publishing for 15 years and is now a full-time writer, who has written over 150 books for children. Her book 'Your Feelings: I'm Special' was short-listed for the NASEN Special Needs Award.

Jillian Powell

Jillian Powell has an MA in English from Cambridge University and an M.Phil in Art History from the Courtauld Institute, London. She is an experienced writer of children's fiction and non-fiction, and has written on many social issues.

Julia Adams

Julia Adams is an author and editor of children's books. She has an MA in Children's Literature.

Liz Gogerly

Liz Gogerly is a writer and editor of children's information books and a former teacher. She has worked on a wide variety of books and has a specialist knowledge of history and biographies.

Mick Gowar

Mick has written or edited more than 100 books for children and young people. He visits schools, libraries, colleges and festivals throughout the UK and abroad to give readings, performances and lead workshops.

Mike Gordon

Mike Gordon is an ever-popular and award-winning cartoonist. He has produced over 500 cards for Hallmark and over 300 picture books for various publishers. His talent has been rewarded with numerous awards inlcuding Berol cartoonist of the year (1988) and runner up for the Trento Fra realto e Follia (1990). He was also nominated for the Silver Quill Award (Germany, 1991) and for the Book and Magazine Illustrator of the Year by the National Cartoonists Society (1995).

Richard Spilsbury

Richard Spilsbury has worked in educational publishing for more than 20 years and has written on a variety of subjects, from climate change and food and farming to art history and design.

Simon Hart

Simon Hart has been a sports journalist for more than 20 years and has reported from five Summer Olympic Games.

Tony Bradman

Tony Bradman is an experienced editor, writer and anthologist in the world of children's books. He has written numerous plays, stories and poems for young children. His book 'Here come the Heebie-Jeebies and Other Scary Poems' was short-listed for The English 4-11 Awards for the Best Children's Illustrated Books of 2000.