Holly Webb - Lily - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £5.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781408313497
    • Publication date:06 Oct 2011
Books in this series

Lily

Book 1

By Holly Webb

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Magic will always find a way...

In a world where magic is outlawed, Lily runs wild and neglected. Once rich and powerful magicians, now Lily's family hide away in their crumbling house, while her older sister, Georgie, is trained secretly in magic.

But when Lily discovers her parents' dark plan to use Georgie in a terrible plot to restore the country to its magical glory, she knows she must rescue her sister - and flee...

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781408316405
  • Publication date: 06 Oct 2011
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orchard Books
Hodder Children's Books

A Boy Called Ocean

Chris Higgins
Authors:
Chris Higgins

One boy stranded at sea. One girl back on land. One ocean between them. The only thing willing him to survive is the thought of her. A romance with bite, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Nicola Yoon. Sometimes you have to lose yourself, to find each other.Kai has always been best friends with Jen; ever since he and his mum moved to Cornwall when he was small. But now his feelings are deepening. It's ridiculous to imagine Jen would feel the same, especially since she has been hanging out with surf-pro Macca, the guy everyone fancies. Frustrated by his feelings, Kai makes a snap decision that will put his life in great danger. Stranded at sea, time is running out. With only his thoughts to occupy him, he must face some buried truths about his past. And confront his future with the girl back on shore, if he can reach it ... if the ocean doesn't take him first.

Wayland

Pirates

Annalees Lim
Authors:
Annalees Lim
Wayland

The Royal Family: William and Kate

Annabel Savery
Authors:
Annabel Savery

This book tells the story of Prince William's life concurrently with that of his now wife, Kate Middleton. It highlights their different backgrounds and concludes with their marriage and birth of their children. The book answers questions such as, How do you become a prince? and When might William become king?

Wayland

The Royal Family: The Queen

Julia Adams
Authors:
Julia Adams

Everyone know that Britain has a Queen, but who is she and what does she do? How do you become a Queen and who will be Head of State next?This book answers these questions as well as looking at the roles of other royal family members, such as the Duke of Edinburgh, Prince Charles and William and Harry.A timeline at the back of the book shows the full history of the British Royal Family.

Franklin Watts

Health and Disease

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Health problems have a significant impact on the wellbeing and even the life expectancy of many people in low-and middle-income countries. This book looks at the factors that influence life expectancy and at what constitutes a healthy lifestyle. It explores the fight against disease throughout the world and the role of healthcare industries. It asks readers to think about what they can do to promote good health, in their own lives and the lives of others.

Franklin Watts

Emotions and Me: A Mindfulness Guide to Exploring Emotions

Paul Christelis, Elisa Paganelli
Contributors:
Paul Christelis, Elisa Paganelli

Everyone notices the weather outside, right? But did you realise that weather occurs inside of you too? In fact, it is here right now... Outside it is hot and sunny, but Billy's internal weather is different. His gran is very sick and in the hospital. He notices that he is experiencing an emotion - sadness. Sadness, like other emotions, comes and goes. It is normal and natural, even though it might not feel pleasant. For Billy, sadness feels like a dark, cloudy day inside his body. Betty's internal weather is a little different. She also feels sad but there is a worry inside too. Worry feels like a wind that blows around in her belly making her feel scared. 'What will happen to gran? Will she get better?'The children and their friends all experience different kinds of weather: Anger (burning hot sun); Relief (a cool breeze); Delight (sun breaking through the clouds); etc.Weather is always changing. Just like emotions. And just like Billy, Betty and their friends, we can watch the changing weather inside us. Pause and look now! What's the weather doing?Mindfulness practices (exercises) are integrated into each story, and expanded on in the 'Notes to Parents and Teachers' section at the end of the books. Readers are invited to PAUSE at various points in the story to notice their own present moment experience. The four stories in the 'Mindful Me' series explore how a mindful attitude to life can enhance enjoyment, promote a sense of calm and confidence, and provide young people with a 'friend for life'. The books can be used at home or in the classroom, for storytime or as part of the PSHCE curriculum.The other titles are:Just Breathe: A Mindfulness Guide to Keeping Anger at BayIt's Beautiful Outdoors: A Mindfulness Guide to Noticing NatureSleep Easy: A Mindfulness Guide to Getting a Good Night's Sleep

Franklin Watts

Civil War and Genocide

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Since the end of the Second World War in 1945, most wars have been civil wars. This book considers how civil wars start, how they are funded and fought and the catastrophic effects they have on the civilians living in the countries involved. It also looks at the atrocities described as genocides, the attempts to destroy an ethnic, religious, national or racial group. It asks readers to think about what they can do to help victims and their families, such as supporting charities who help people to find sustainable ways of living in the aftermath of a civil war.

Franklin Watts

Global Pollution

Rachel Minay
Authors:
Rachel Minay
Orchard Books

Falcon of Fury

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

X-Men meets Beast Quest at the school for superheroes! An epic new adventure series from bestselling author Adam Blade - with amazing comic-book style illustrations. Welcome to Hero Academy! Join Jack and your other new classmates at this secret school, where the lessons are more exciting than Maths and PE. When a portal from the evil underground realm of Noxx is discovered beneath the school, Team Hero needs your powers. The next invasion is upon us ...There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Book 1: Fight for the Hidden City, Book 2: Scorpion Strike, Book 3: Falcon of Fury, Book 4: Rise of the Shadow SnakesAnd don't forget Adam Blade's other series: Beast Quest and Sea Quest

Orchard Books

Rise of the Shadow Snakes

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

X-Men meets Beast Quest at the school for superheroes! An epic new adventure series from bestselling author Adam Blade - with amazing comic-book style illustrations. Welcome to Hero Academy! Join Jack and your other new classmates at this secret school, where the lessons are more exciting than Maths and PE. When a portal from the evil underground realm of Noxx is discovered beneath the school, Team Hero needs your powers. The next invasion is upon us ...There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Book 1: Fight for the Hidden City, Book 2: Scorpion Strike, Book 3: Falcon of Fury, Book 4: Rise of the Shadow SnakesAnd don't forget Adam Blade's other series: Beast Quest and Sea Quest

Wren & Rook

Rebel Voices

Louise Kay Stewart, Eve Lloyd Knight
Contributors:
Louise Kay Stewart, Eve Lloyd Knight
Wayland

What is Terrorism?

Annabel Savery
Authors:
Annabel Savery
Wayland

Who is Donald Trump?

Julia Adams
Authors:
Julia Adams

On 8 November 2016, some 130 million people in the USA cast their vote to decide who should become their next President. The candidates, Hillary Clinton and Donald Trump, had fought a campaign that had divided their country more than any previous election. The resulting Trump presidency would not only affect the citizens of the USA, but billions of people around the world. This book gives readers a balanced and accessible account of Donald Trump's campaign for the presidency and his uncompromising and highly controversial policies and behaviour as President.

Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell

From the bestselling author of How to Train Your Dragon comes an exciting high-adventure series - set in an ancient, magical time, full of Wizards, Warriors, Giants and Sprites. This is the story of a young boy Wizard and a young girl Warrior who have been taught since birth to hate each other like poison; and the thrilling tale of what happens when their two worlds collide.Perfect for boys and girls who love fantasy adventure...Once there was Magic, and the Magic lived in the dark forests. Until the Warriors came...Xar is a Wizard boy who has no Magic, and will do anything to get it. Wish is a Warrior girl, but she owns a banned Magical Object, and she will do anything to conceal it. In this whirlwind adventure, Xar and Wish must forget their differences if they're going to make it to the dungeons at Warrior Fort. Where something that has been sleeping for hundreds of years is stirring...

Orion Children's Books

Chase

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay

Get ready to run . . . an edge-of-your-seat thriller with bite from international bestselling author Linwood Barclay, in his first novel for 9-12 year olds.Chipper is a very special dog. As part of a top-secret, multi-million dollar experiment to create the ultimate canine spy technology, Chipper's whole life has been spent within the walls of a secret organization known only as The Institute. Chipper is supposed to be more machine than mutt, but something's wrong and The Institute knows it. He's about to be terminated.Across the state, twelve-year-old orphan Jeff Conway is working all hours at his aunt Flo's lakeside cabin business. He misses his parents, his old life, and the dog he had to leave behind.When Chipper escapes and Jeff finds himself part of the chase, The Institute's most ruthless agent is hot on their tail, and he wants Chipper dead . . . at any cost.Danger, secrets and thrilling suspense collide in Linwood Barclay's action-packed first novel for children.

Orion Children's Books

Death in the Arena

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence

Third in a new historical adventure series from million copy selling Caroline Lawrence, set in Roman Britain during the reign of the evil Emperor Domitian.Eleven-year-old Ursula is happily learning to be a Druid in the woods of Britannia. But then she is asked to go on a quest to find a boy who was abducted as a baby. Will her mystical training equip her for life on the road - with a troupe of Roman pantomime dancers and beast hunters? Her task: to adapt to life in the arena Her quest: to find the boy everyone is seekingHer destiny: to protect children and animalsFrom the bestselling author of THE ROMAN MYSTERIES, perfect for children studying at Key Stage 2.

Hodder Children's Books

How to Seize a Dragon's Jewel

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Hodder Children's Books

How to Betray a Dragon's Hero

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Hodder Children's Books

How to Fight a Dragon's Fury

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Hodder Children's Books

Five Run Away Together

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton