Brian Keaney - Jacob's Ladder - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Jacob's Ladder

By Brian Keaney

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The story of a nightmare that will not cease and a journey through fear towards hope. It's a choice between a past you cannot remember and a future you cannot predict. Does Jacob have the strength to take the journey and the courage to make the right choices?

A boy wakes up in the middle of a field. He cannot remember how he came to be there or even who he truly is. All he knows for certain is his name, Jacob.

This is the story of a journey through fear towards hope, a choice between a past you cannot remember and a future you cannot predict.

Biographical Notes

Brian Keaney's parents are Irish, although he grew up in and still lives in London. He was once a teacher, but now writes full time. He is also currently writer-in-residence at a London college. His other books for Orchard include Family Secrets, The Private Life of Georgia Brown, Balloon House and Bitter Fruit, which was shortlisted for the South Lanarkshire Children's Book Award.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781408315330
  • Publication date: 07 Apr 2011
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orchard Books
A truly haunting and beautiful book — Books For Keeps
This is extraordinarily powerful writing — The Guide to Literary Resources 2006
A dramatic, thought-provoking novel — Publishing News
This well-written, original novel is more than an exciting adventure in an unusual setting: it raises important questions about the nature of death and he importance of hope and courage when faced with another world — Carousel
Hodder Children's Books

The Liars

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu

The highly anticipated new novel from Jennifer Mathieu. Two siblings wrestle with the secrets and lies that threaten to destroy their future. Perfect for fans of We Were Liars.How can one family have so many secrets?It's the summer of 1986. Joaquin and Elena, two teenage siblings live in a toxic environment with their alcoholic mother on an island off the Texas Gulf Coast. Elena falls for a new boy who has just arrived from California. Joaquin must wrestle with his decision to stay on Mariposa Island to protect his sister or flee from his mother's abuse. As both teenagers struggle to figure out who they are and want to be, they are caught in a web of family dysfunction and secrets from their mother's past. Can fierce love save them, or will their truth tear them apart?

Orion Children's Books

A Strange Kind of Brave

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Orion Children's Books

Becoming Dinah

Kit de Waal
Authors:
Kit de Waal
Hodder Children's Books

The Paper & Hearts Society

Lucy Powrie
Authors:
Lucy Powrie
Franklin Watts

Max is Cooking

Jackie Walter, Valentina Bandera
Contributors:
Jackie Walter, Valentina Bandera
Franklin Watts

Teen Pioneers

Ben Hubbard
Authors:
Ben Hubbard
Hodder Children's Books

The Colour of the Sun

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond

A darkly twisted detective ghost tale, from the winner of the Guardian Children's Book Prize.Davie travels his small town in search of a supposed murderer. But the landscape soon starts to blur into something dark and twisted. He must make sense of the landscape, if he has any chance of finding answers. The people he encounters on his travels don't seem entirely real either. Then he meets the victim of the murder ... but, is he dead, or alive?

Quercus Children's Books

Never Fade

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Beyond the Kingdoms

Chris Colfer
Authors:
Chris Colfer
Wayland

The Frog Olympics

Brian Moses, Amy Husband
Contributors:
Brian Moses, Amy Husband

Laugh out loud with this wonderfully funny and charming picture book story about frogs coming together from around the world to particpate in and celebrate their 'Frog Olympics'. The rhyming text is brilliant to read out loud at home or in the classroom.Great for discussion starters about the Olympics and to talk about inclusion and how people, or frogs, of every size and ability can take part in the Olympics.Humorously illustrated by Amy Husband, the frogs will really leap off the page.

Orchard Books

Book of Lies

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry

Who lies? Who tells the truth? Death hangs on the answer... 'Highly recommended, especially for those who like their fantasy subtle but chillingly effective, and populated by characters they can believe in' (Starburst Magazine)Tell a lie and the darkness will find you.Quinn and Piper are twins, but they've never met. A tragic event bringsthem together, and draws them into a family curse that stretches across centuries.One twin can command the darkness; the other could hold the key to breaking the curse.But when lies become truth and truth looks like lies, who can you believe?Don't miss this startling new book from Teri Terry, queen of the YA psychological thriller!They are trapped, frozen. Waiting. Straining against the wood that holds them. The unwary catch a glimpse now and then - feel their desperate hunger, see a glint of red eyes - and scurry out of the shadows of the wood, back to the light. She's coming; it will be soon.They will run free on the moors again. The Hunt will return. And the ground will run with blood.

Franklin Watts

Tiger Has a Tantrum - A book about feeling angry

Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

A Grimm Warning

Chris Colfer
Authors:
Chris Colfer

Conner Bailey thinks his fairy-tale adventures are behind him - until he discovers a mysterious clue left by the famous Brothers Grimm. With help from his classmate Bree and the outlandish Mother Goose, Conner sets off on a mission across Europe to crack a two-hundred-year-old code.Meanwhile, Alex Bailey is training to become the next Fairy Godmother . . . but her attempts at granting wishes never go as planned. Will she ever be truly ready to lead the Fairy Council?When all signs point to disaster for the Land of Stories, Conner and Alex must join forces with their friends and enemies to save the day. But nothing can prepare them for the coming battle . . . or for the secret that will change the twins' lives forever.The third book in the bestselling Land of Stories series puts the twins to the test as they must bring two worlds together!

Orion Children's Books

The Glory

Lauren St John
Authors:
Lauren St John
Orion Children's Books

The One Dollar Horse: Fire Storm

Lauren St John
Authors:
Lauren St John

Orion Children's Books

Rendezvous in Russia

Lauren St John
Authors:
Lauren St John

Orion Children's Books

The One Dollar Horse: Race the Wind

Lauren St John
Authors:
Lauren St John
Orion Children's Books

The Strongest Girl In The World

Sally Gardner
Authors:
Sally Gardner

Orion Children's Books

The One Dollar Horse

Lauren St John
Authors:
Lauren St John

Hodder Children's Books

The Viewer

Gary Crew, Shaun Tan
Contributors:
Gary Crew, Shaun Tan

Young Tristan, a curious boy who rescues all sorts of objects from the rubbish dump, finds an old Viewmaster in its elaborate box, complete with a set of disks. He finds that these represent the ages of humankind, seen as a cyclical structure in which patterns of growth and decay are repeated. Tristan becomes more and more drawn in to the world of the disks, and eventually disappears. The book is full of metaphors and symbols of seeing and watching, circularity and never-endingness, in a complex, fantastical tale, which was Shaun Tan's first picture book.